Customer Reviews


229 Reviews
5 star:
 (110)
4 star:
 (69)
3 star:
 (23)
2 star:
 (13)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


547 of 561 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great optics for a low price
First off, let me tell you that this lens only works fully with the latest Nikon SLRs because it has no aperture ring to set f/stops. You must do that electronically using a D100, D2H, D70, N80, N75, F5 or F100. However, Nikon does provide a nice compatibility chart telling you how to use this lens on older Nikon cameras. So you can use this lens on S and P modes with the...
Published on September 6, 2004 by R. Rosener

versus
94 of 97 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 300mm at an affordable price
The 70-300 G is definitely one of the least expensive lenses to get you to 300 mm, but there are some tradeoffs with the low price tag. I've found my lens to be pretty soft throughout the zoom range (mine is soft even stopped down) and relatively slow to focus (D70). The lens performs best in well lit environments and is capable of taking high quality pictures, but may...
Published on December 27, 2005 by Ben


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

547 of 561 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great optics for a low price, September 6, 2004
By 
R. Rosener "Photomatic" (St. Louis, MO United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nikon 70-300mm f/4-5.6G AF Nikkor SLR Camera Lens (Camera)
First off, let me tell you that this lens only works fully with the latest Nikon SLRs because it has no aperture ring to set f/stops. You must do that electronically using a D100, D2H, D70, N80, N75, F5 or F100. However, Nikon does provide a nice compatibility chart telling you how to use this lens on older Nikon cameras. So you can use this lens on S and P modes with the N90s, N8008s, N 6000, and N4004. This backward compatibility of lenses and bodies is one of the strongest points of the Nikon system. Even a 24 year old lens can be used with a new Digital SLR, to some extent.

The lens is very light for it's zoom range. It has a reasonably substantial feel, unlike some of the Sigma lenses I've used. It's made of polycarbonate, which is the same stuff the F117 Stealth fighter is made from.

If you shoot lots of portraits, this is the lens to get. The telephoto allows you to throw the background out of focus with relative ease. The lens has a 9 bladed iris, so out of focus elements are rendered in very subtle and beautiful forms. The Japanese call this "Bokeh" and much has been written about it. It's very nice that the Nikon engineers took this aesthetic principal into account when designing this economy lens. Once again, Nikon proves to be a design driven company.

The zoom ring has a nice feel with good manual dampening. Zooming is precise with no "slop" or wobble. Manual focus is about average for a lens of this caliber. It's possible, but no great joy. Since I'm used to the silky feel of Nikon's old AIS lenses, I doubt anything could rate higher. Autofocus for this lens is much better, and seems to be quick and precise. About the only time it balked was when shooting delicate cloudscapes. This is common for AF lenses and simply requires you to quickly disengage the AF on your camera body and rack the lens to "Infinity" setting.

My D70 DSLR made this lens handy to grip and insanely light. The great thing about using this lens on a DSLR is that you end up with a 450mm zoom lens! great for bringing in distant objects. Watch out when shooting against strong backlight, however. This lens seemed to have more than a little "Purple fringing". Shots done in normal lighting conditions exhibit zero fringing, and superb sharpeness. So that's the good news.

Overall this lens is a great bargain and worthy of the Nikkor name. Don't let the low price fool you. Although it's not a Nikkor 80-200 f/2.8 by any means, this lens is highly capable and a great second lens for your D70 Digital SLR or N series 35mm SLR. Nikon USA offers a 5 year warranty FREE if you mail the registration postcard in within 10 days of purchase. So be sure to get that in the mailbox right after buying!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


616 of 637 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compatibility,, June 17, 2010
Please note this lens AutoFocus system is not compatible with NIKON D40, NIKON D60, NIKON D3000, and Nikon D5000.
This lens will fit above models, the focus system will only work manually.

This lens is Compatible with NIKON D50, NIKON D70, NIKON D80, NIKON D90, NIKON D200, NIKON D300. The Autofocus system will work on those models.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


295 of 305 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good lens for this price, January 5, 2005
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nikon 70-300mm f/4-5.6G AF Nikkor SLR Camera Lens (Camera)
Weighing in at about 15 oz., this Nikkor AF zoom lens is a lot of bang for the buck. The zoom range is 70-300mm; if you use a Nikon digital SLR like my D70, the effective range is 106-456mm due to the 1.5x crop factor. 300mm or 450mm, this is a very powerful zoom lens for relatively little money.

The maximum aperture of the lens is f4 at 70mm and one stop slower at f5.6 at 300mm. These are of course slower than more expensive Nikkor's which can go to f2.8, but for that you'd be shelling out many times more money. For most outdoor daylight photos as well as well-lit portraits, this lens does the job. At f5.6 and 300mm, you'll get a nice shallow depth of field that will give you that "professional" portrait you've been looking for. Just make sure you use a tripod.

This Nikkor sports excellent optics (despite not being an ED -- see below), and is a full auto-focus lens when mounted on Nikon SLRs that can do AF on G-type lenses. To switch into manual focus on one of these cameras, be sure to set the focus switch on the camera body to M (manual) first, before engaging the focus ring. Because this is *not* an AF-S (S for silence) lens, it does not have the "ultrasonic" built-in motor and is completely driven by the camera, that's why you want to set the focus mode switch on the camera to M before turning the focus ring.

Because this is not an AF-S lens, it's noisy when hunting for focus. Being an economics lens, it focuses pretty fast when there's plenty of light, but in low light situations, it can "hunt" for focus for a long time. In fact, where there's little light, you'll need to half-press the shutter button several times before the lens autofocuses properly; and don't be surprised if you have to switch to manual focus. (Just remember to set the camera's focus mode to M!)

Other features missing from this low-priced lens are a macro mode and low-dispersion (called ED by Nikon). Of course, it doesn't have vibration reduction, either.

Oh, if you have a digital SLR, you'll get an additional benefit of using a non-DX lens on a d-SLR: because only the central part of the image from the lens actually hits the sensor, you won't have to worry about aberrations that affect the edges, esp. when using low-cost lenses. From corner to corner, side to side, your picture will be sharp.

In short, for a little over $100 you are getting a genuine Nikon-designed (but made in China) lens with excellent optics, a long zoom range, fast autofocusing in bright light, and relative light weight but solid construction. On the other hand, the low, low price means you won't get macro, ED, ultrasonic focusing mechanism, or the very best optics that much more expensive Nikkor lenses have.

If you have enough money, I recommend getting a high-quality zoom lens that covers the wideangle to telephoto focal lengths. My favorite is the compact and lightweight Tamron 28-300mm Di XR LD lens sold here on Amazon (although you do give up aperture speed).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


119 of 122 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very nice zoom lens, not for low light or dark indoor though, January 9, 2009
First, I'm giving this 70-300mm lens a 5 stars rating partly because the price is inexpensive (which is good in my opinion). Usually you get what you paid for, however in this case you get much more than what you paid for.

If your primary objective is to take pictures in low light situation such as wedding and concert, then get the 80-200mm f/2.8 or the 70-200mm VR f/2.8 instead.

Get this lens by any means unless you already have those alternative and more expensive zoom lenses that I mentioned above.

Pros:
1. Inexpensive
2. You can get up close and personal (300mm which is equivalent to 450mm if you attach it to a DSLR)
3. Very sharp and fast in bright light situation (outdoor etc), though it gets a bit softer as you get closer to the 300mm
4. Very light
5. Bokeh is suprisingly good
6. Great for portrait

Cons:
1. Plasticy build and looks cheap (but I don't think you should care on this)
2. Very bad on low light situation especially if the object is moving/sports photography, but still works fine for long exposure with tripod like photographing fireworks or night light building/city/car lights.
3. Focus seems to be slower on low light situation (focus hunting a bit more)

Bottom line: this lens loves a lot of light.

If you give this lens a lot of light, it will take good care of you.

Last but not least, after you get this lens, go and buy the nikon 50mm f/1.8 AF-D prime lens for $100 or less (equivalent of 75mm if used with DSLR which is very good for portrait and semi-zoom). This is a very fast lens and works extremly well in low light situation even without using flash. This lens will complement your 70-300mm lens very very well.

Happy photographing!

Sidarta Tanu
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


102 of 105 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT lens for the novice user (I have D50, the digital SLR), August 8, 2005
This review is from: Nikon 70-300mm f/4-5.6G AF Nikkor SLR Camera Lens (Camera)
For the money, this lens is a GREAT deal in my opinion. I have taken some unbelievable photos with this camera, ranging from animals to motocross. Many of the photos look like they are magazine quality. If you aren't used to a pro-quality lens (which I am not), you'll think this lens is the greatest thing since sliced bread. In my amateur opinon, it seems to focus quickly (of course that depends on whether the item is close-up, lighting etc; can range from instant to a couple of seconds ... if you are trying to capture a fast-moving object, I DO recommend that you already have the focus in the approximate focus range, and then the lens will focus in about a 1/10th of a second). So don't take a picture of a flower that is 5 feet away, and expect to instantly snap a picture of an Indy car flying by 50 feet away at 200MPH ... be ready for the Indy car, focus on the track before the car comes by, and you'll probably get an awesome shot!

I'm not saying that every single shot turns out great - when zoomed to the max (especially if the conditions are cloudy or dark), a good number of my action shots were somewhat blurry. Since I have the new Nikon D50 (digital SLR), if I snap 5 pictures and 3 of them are blurry I can instantly delete them (or delete them when I get home). But if I had a film camera, I might not be quite as happy if I had to pay for developing some blurry pictures.

The actual zoom level is very good - I don't know the exact magnification level, but it is as much as you could want if you don't have the camera mounted on a tripod. The construction seems very sturdy and "professional" looking - included is a nice "hood" that goes over the end of the lens, and makes you feel like a pro!

If you are professional wildlife photographer, and are seeking out the perfect photo of the extremely rare and endangered African-duckbilled-yellow-breasted-warbler, then pay $1,000 for a true pro-quality lens that can stabilize images, etc. But if you are a weekend-warrior photographer who wants to be able to capture some pro-quality shots (but your income doesn't depend on it) at a fraction of the price, then this is THE lens for your Nikon camera.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


94 of 97 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 300mm at an affordable price, December 27, 2005
By 
Ben (Pittsburgh) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Nikon 70-300mm f/4-5.6G AF Nikkor SLR Camera Lens (Camera)
The 70-300 G is definitely one of the least expensive lenses to get you to 300 mm, but there are some tradeoffs with the low price tag. I've found my lens to be pretty soft throughout the zoom range (mine is soft even stopped down) and relatively slow to focus (D70). The lens performs best in well lit environments and is capable of taking high quality pictures, but may require more post processing and effort than faster lenses to achieve these results.

I bought the lens mainly to get the zoom range at an affordable price, but plan to replace it in the near future (probably will sell the lens). The build quality isn't the best, but it is still pretty durable. Recommended for beginning photographers or photographers on a budget (like myself), but others may be left wanting more. Still, it is sold at a great price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


66 of 70 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good second D-70 lens, February 7, 2005
By 
This review is from: Nikon 70-300mm f/4-5.6G AF Nikkor SLR Camera Lens (Camera)
First, the negatives:

1. It's not an ED Nikkor.
2. It's not terribly fast

The pluses:

1. It's the perfect compliment to the stock 18-70mm zoom
2. It's really cheap.

This lens will not resolve as many lines, or deliver as much contrast as a kilobuck Nikkor zoom. But it will deliver surprisingly good results in a 6 Mpixel D-70. Between this lens and the 18-70 supplied with the D-70, you'll be set until you decide you must have that exotic 12mm or 600m/2.8.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very nice zoom lens, not for low light or dark indoor though, September 4, 2006
This review is from: Nikon 70-300mm f/4-5.6G AF Nikkor SLR Camera Lens (Camera)
First, I'm giving this 70-300mm lens a 5 stars rating partly because the price is inexpensive (which is good in my opinion). Usually you get what you paid for, however in this case you get much more than what you paid for.

If your primary objective is to take pictures in low light situation such as wedding and concert, then get the 80-200mm f/2.8 or the 70-200mm VR f/2.8 instead.

Get this lens by any means unless you already have those alternative and more expensive zoom lenses that I mentioned above.

Pros:
1. Inexpensive
2. You can get up close and personal (300mm which is equivalent to 450mm if you attach it to a DSLR)
3. Very sharp and fast in bright light situation (outdoor etc), though it gets a bit softer as you get closer to the 300mm
4. Very light
5. Bokeh is suprisingly good
6. Great for portrait

Cons:
1. Plasticy build and looks cheap (but I don't think you should care on this)
2. Very bad on low light situation especially if the object is moving/sports photography, but still works fine for long exposure with tripod like photographing fireworks or night light building/city/car lights.
3. Focus seems to be slower on low light situation (focus hunting a bit more)

Bottom line: this lens loves a lot of light.

If you give this lens a lot of light, it will take good care of you.

Last but not least, after you get this lens, go and buy the nikon 50mm f/1.8 AF-D prime lens for $100 or less (equivalent of 75mm if used with DSLR which is very good for portrait and semi-zoom). This is a very fast lens and works extremly well in low light situation even without using flash. This lens will complement your 70-300mm lens very very well.

Happy photographing!

Sidarta Tanu
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nikon name at Wal Mart Price, January 5, 2007
By 
This review is from: Nikon 70-300mm f/4-5.6G AF Nikkor SLR Camera Lens (Camera)
Agree with fascination with this price point for a Nikon lense, and difficulties in marginal light situations. You do have to wonder at the optical quality when a teleconverter costs twice as much! Bought it to use with my D50 at my son's soccor games and for wildlife, and have been very pleased with advantage over 200mm on my other telephoto for this purpose. In daylight, it is plenty fast enough to hand hold, and inconspicuously compact at that. At this price, it is hard to pass up as long as you are clear about what you are getting. Family use--great. Pro--no way. A fine match for the D50.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 36 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Definitely worth $150!, June 14, 2006
This review is from: Nikon 70-300mm f/4-5.6G AF Nikkor SLR Camera Lens (Camera)
I bought the D50 with the 2 kit lenses (18-55 and 55-200). At the beach shooting surfers I came up a bit short. Photographing birds I came up short. Even photographing sunsets was a bit wimpy. So I knew I needed just a bit more "firepower."

So I did some research, including Amazon, and thought I'd give the 70-300G a try. I bought it from a local dealer in case I needed to return it. The first day was rainy, so the lens was shooting at f/4-5.6 and I wasn't impressed. But the next day I headed out to a local bird santuary, and wow! The extra power of a 300 makes a bit difference.

The reviews here are right on. If you need a low light lens, this isn't it. But if you're willing to live with a setting of f11 for the 300mm setting, the quality is superb. To be honest Nikon probably shouldn't even call this an f4-5.6, but a f5.6-f8 lens, and the settings shouldn't allow any larger openings (I usually set my camera in aperature priroty at f11 when I put the lens on). It is also very slow to focus in low light situations, if at all (the worst I've found is fireworks); in those cases I usually focus manually.

For me, a 300mm lens is a drastic improvement over a 200mm. If you find yourself usually shooting in daylight, this lens will do it for you. You'll be impressed by the power. Like another reviewer said, everyone with a D50 or D70 should own one. In fact I would recommend it over the 55-200mm. If you need to shoot in low light situations and you need the whole 300mm, you'll need to spend a lot more.

UPDATE: I've been using the lens for a couple of years now, and am generally still happy with it. I am still sold on the extra power. However, the lens was never as crisp as I would like. I don't know if I got a lemon, or the lens is nust naturally a bit soft. Since that time I have upgraded to the 18-200 which I keep on the camera ALL the time (no dust). I have found the 18-200 to be crisp. And the VR on the 18-200 is very nice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.