Customer Reviews


65 Reviews
5 star:
 (48)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


154 of 162 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunningly Good! An Insane Value!
I got this camera as an upgrade to my beloved D5100 so the bar was pretty high and so this review is often D5100 vs. D5300. I'll be frank. The D5300 outclasses the D5100 so substantially that it has utterly obsoleted the D5100. Ignore those who say that the D5300 merely provides an opportunity to pick up a D5200 or D5100 for a bargain price. No. The D5300 is now the ONLY...
Published 4 months ago by 7

versus
25 of 31 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as Good as Expected
The D5300 was an upgrade purchase for me from a D50 that I have used for 7 years. I have had very good luck with the D50 and wanted to stick with the Nikon brand, looking to use the add on accessories that I have purchased. There were enough feature differences, and the standard kit lens change, between the D5200 and D5300 that I felt spending the extra money was worth...
Published 3 months ago by Brad


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

154 of 162 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunningly Good! An Insane Value!, November 25, 2013
By 
7 "7" (Planet Earth) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nikon D5300 24.2 MP CMOS Digital SLR Camera with Built-in Wi-Fi and GPS Body Only (Black) (Electronics)
I got this camera as an upgrade to my beloved D5100 so the bar was pretty high and so this review is often D5100 vs. D5300. I'll be frank. The D5300 outclasses the D5100 so substantially that it has utterly obsoleted the D5100. Ignore those who say that the D5300 merely provides an opportunity to pick up a D5200 or D5100 for a bargain price. No. The D5300 is now the ONLY camera in the Nikon D5xxx line. It has changed the game. Don't bother counting pennies, this camera is underpriced at full price. The fact that I am sincerely comparing images from this $800 camera body to my D800E's images truly says it all.

Please allow me to just get into the Pros and Cons:

PROS:

1) PHENOMENAL IMAGE QUALITY! AT LOW ISO THE D5300'S IMAGES ARE ON PAR WITH THE BEST CAMERAS IN THE WORLD AND THAT IS NO EXAGGERATION WHATSOEVER. I can't believe there is still a debate going on about the efficacy of Anti-Aliasing filter removal. I'm sorry, but the difference is so noticeable there is no debate. And moire was a myth even on the D800E, which I do also own. I guarantee you that you will find more moire in a D5100's or D7000's images than you will on the D5300. Color and saturation from the D5300 are exceptionally good versus ANY camera at any price point. Now, I will still take the D800E's images over the D5300's but it is not at all night & day. They are actually surprisingly close at low ISO.

EDIT 2013-12-09: Photographing cats a lot I am catching a little false color on shiny fur. Nothing of concern to me though.

2) Focus point spread (area of image with AF sensor coverage) is MUCH greater than in FX ("full-frame" sensor size) cameras. The D5300's AF point coverage extends left-right top-bottom much farther than FX cameras. I would estimate the D5300 covers probably double the area that FX cameras do and this is an ENORMOUS advantage. I always leave my D800E's focus point glued to Center because the AF coverage is only in the center area anyway so why bother with the other 50 AF points when they just don't cover anything? I actually do use my focus points on my D5300 because they cover the frame pretty well. I'd still like to see even more coverage, but vs. the FX bodies, APS-C cameras have a tremendous advantage.

3) Minimum shutter speed in Auto ISO now has AUTO setting that adjusts based on focal length! This is SO much better than a fixed shutter speed regardless of lens length.

4) Hard to quantify but the HDR images look much nicer than the D5100's and the Extra High setting is intense and beyond the D5100's abilities. I have not been able to verify this but it *appears* as though there is now image alignment for the 2 photos used for the HDR image as my handheld HDR shots nearly never look like 2 images whereas they often did on my D5100 at full or nearly full magnification. HUGE improvement!

5) Great-for-DX and pretty-good-versus-FX ISO performance. I'll put this to bed right now; the D800E smokes the D5300 for high ISO performance. Sorry, this is a different league. However, the D5300 substantially outperforms the D5100 at ISO 1600+. The improvement in the D5300 over the D5100 is readily noticeable.

6) Much more intuitive i Menu. The D5100's i Menu being J-shaped was ridiculous and totally awkward. I never got used to it after thousands of photos. The D5300's standardized 2-lines-across-the-bottom Nikon style is a drastic improvement.

7) GPS! I don't know what Nikon was thinking with that clunky expensive GP-1A. Did anyone ever buy one? The D5300's internal GPS works great and hooks up quickly and I'm big on geotagging so I am super stoked to have this on a REAL camera!

EDIT 2013-12-09: I spent a day in the country (wide open clear sky) with this camera outside of my normal metro town area and despite using A-GPS data, it took somewhere between 30-60 minutes to get GPS lock. Surprised, disappointed. But that was the only time I have had trouble with hookup.

8) Nikon's had truly exceptional built-in flash performance since at least the D90. The D5300 does not disappoint and bests or matches its predecessors at any price point. This could be a result of image processing more than flash performance but whatever it is, using flash is a joy, not something to dread.

9) The red body paint color is super-gorgeous! It's like a candy apple red Corvette color and it is way sexy.

10) The new bigger, higher-pixel screen is REALLY nice. It is not insignificant like many reviewers dismiss it as. I like it a LOT. :)

11) EN-EL14a battery with 19.4% more capacity is a nice treat and helpful when running GPS and/or the silly WiFi. I have not spent a full day shooting hundreds of photos with the D5300 yet but I have shot perhaps 100 shots in a day with GPS on and flash here and there and a lot of reviewing and in-camera editing and not gotten below 2/3 battery level in a day.

EDIT 2013-12-09: GPS was on from about 8:45am to 5:30pm, WiFi was off all day, I shot 362 photos (almost all were 14-bit RAW+Large Basic JPEG so roughly only about 170-190 shutter clicks) and probably 15 of those photos had flash, 2 minutes of video, edited 6 photos and had a couple of review sessions during the day. Battery level fell to 1/3 remaining. Not bad but could be better. If you're a heavy shooter and will use GPS and/or pop-up flash, carry a spare battery.

12) Here's a gem for the old-school film guys like me. ;) Or a little "secret treat" for digital-era photographers with a true creative streak. In Manual exposure mode, the "T," or "Time" setting has returned! Want to take a 5-minute or 5-hour exposure but you left your plug-in intervalometer/timer at home? Lol, as if you even have one... No problem. Turn your shutter speed dial all the way past 30-seconds, past Bulb and click on into good ol' Time at the end of the dial. Press the shutter button to open shutter, let your wristwatch or phone tell you when exposure time is up and then press shutter button again to close the shutter. Seriously?! Yes, seriously. How cool is that?! I miss this so much and guess what? Even my D800E does not have T and the D5100 does not either. According to the Nikon info page for the D5200 (Yes, D5200. Not a typo), T is there but you need the ML-L3 remote to use it.

CONS:

1) EDIT 2013-12-09: I have found that focus points other than THE Center focus point are somewhat frequently inaccurate. Focus points at or near the left and right edges are rarely accurate and almost never dead-on. If you use ONLY the Center focus point, focus accuracy is quite good and consistent. As Center AF point AF-S is almost always how I shoot, this is not a deal-breaker for me but it is certainly a handicap. If you use multi-point AF tracking or regularly venture away from Center AF point, you had better experiment with different AF points at a local camera store before buying one from any store, Amazon included. I am beginning to think my camera may be defective and will likely send it to Nikon for repair or exchange it with Amazon for a new one. Honestly, I expect this to be a performance trade-off that Nikon will not remedy. Though $800 is not cheap, this caliber of image quality for $800 is going to come with trade-offs and I bet being forced to use Center AF point is one of those trade-offs.

2) EDIT 2013-12-09: I had a chance this past weekend to use Live View in some beautifully sunlit countryside. Sorry, even with truly ideal lighting Live View is horribly slow and constantly hunting. Don't use it for anything other than manual focus confirmation with screen zoomed for precise focusing. And focus VERY slowly as screen update time has substantial lag. I'm not really concerned about video, but this camera cannot focus worth a darn for video. It really is that bad, sorry.

3) When reviewing a photo on my D5100 and even the D5200, I could just press the OK button to get into Retouch Menu and then get into RAW processing of that image in another click of OK. Boom, 2 presses of OK and I am RAW processing the image I'm looking at. Well, not anymore. Now I have to press the "i" button to get into Rating/Retouch/Send Menu and then click OK to get to Retouch Menu and then another click of OK to get to RAW processing. Hardly a nightmare but takes an extra button press and, more importantly, is ergonomically awkward and more prone to mistakes.

4) Noisy Multi-Controller. I like having solid clicks, but man, clicking Up, Down, Left or Right on this Multi-Controller is literally enough to wake someone up. My gf grumbles at me for reviewing/RAW processing in bed because of that. It's also not so great in public areas as it intrudes on the conversations of neighboring tables, etc. It's really an irritating higher pitch that grabs attention. I know this complaint sounds whiny, but it truly is an intrusive noise problem.

5) WiFi is rubbish. You can't upload full-resolution images to your smart device via WiFi. And I don't believe (but I could be wrong about this) that you can WiFi upload at all to a PC. I wanted to have instant constant file backup via WiFi. Nope.

6) Slow RAW process Menu navigation. Perhaps it's the sheer file size but things like scrolling Picture Control modes in RAW processing is very slow relative to the D5100.

7) Slow photo review after taking a picture(s). Takes too long for the D5300 to gulp down one or a few RAW+Large Basic JPEG shots (my standard resolution).

8) After assigning HDR function to the BKT button (D5100)/Fn button (D5300), activating HDR now requires holding the Fn button and turning the dial until you get the setting you want before letting the Fn button go. On the D5100 you set your HDR preference one time in the Menu and then activation via BKT button only took a single press. Now it's a process. And my favorite setting (High) takes the most clicks (3 to the left or 3 to the right) to get to. The Auto HDR mode should simply be removed so we just scroll Low, Normal, High, Extra High and should be permanently Menu-set to facilitate 1-press activation a la D5100.

9) To get autofocusing you MUST use an AF-S or AF-I lens. D5300 body has no focus motor for AF or AF-D lenses. Metering requires a CPU lens.

CONCLUSION:

The D5300 is not a camera for sports, when rushed or in demanding conditions and you are gambling when you change away from Center AF point. Many consumer cameras like to claim performance in this fast-action realm, but no. If it's not pro gear it will suck at sports and tracking a subject. Always has been and likely always will be the case. However, for general photography, landscape, portraiture/still life, macro, time-lapse, etc. the D5300 creates stunningly sharp and colorful images able to be painlessly enlarged to enormous proportions. I wouldn't hesitate to print 3-foot x 2-foot (that is 36x the size of a 4-inch x 6-inch) prints. And that would be essentially pixelation-free. 6-foot x 4-foot would still look fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


92 of 97 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DRAMATIC upgrade from D5100, SURPRISING image quality improvement from D5200, December 1, 2013
By 
Paul Christensen "gadget geek" (West Chester, PA United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
I've owned every "compact-format" Nikon from the D60 to the D5000, D5100, D5200, and now D5300. And while my D5200 is less than a year old, I chose to upgrade to the D5300 for two reasons: convenience (built-in WiFi and GPS removes 2 devices I had to carry / attach) and improved video (60fps). I chose the new grey body which is a nice departure from the traditional black, although the glossy finish is a bit of a fingerprint magnet around the back of the articulating display. Luckily, the rubber grips are still in place around the rest of the body.

What I didn't expect from the D5300, but actually blew me away was the stunning improvement in image quality over my D5200. First, and some would say finally, Nikon appears to have dramatically improved the auto white balance for incandescent lighting. Secondly, in side-by-side comparisons with the same lenses, focal distances, and shots, the D5300 shows dramatic improvement in image sharpness over my D5200. I'm not sure this can be attributed only to the lack of a anti-alias filter on the sensor, especially when using my Nikon 16-85VR (F3.5-5.6). But when viewed at 100%, the photos are dramatically sharper in both RAW and JPEG versions on the D5300 over the D5200. Given the dramatic improvement in image quality that the D5200 brought over my D5100, I wasn't expecting such a marked improvement that the D5300 brings. Although the D5300 boasts a higher ISO range than the D5200, I haven't noticed a dramatic improvement in low-light performance (the D5200 was already outstanding).

Other notable improvements from the D5200:
- new 24.2MP image sensor without anti-alias filter
- higher ISO sensitivity (100-12800) and low light performance
- new larger 3.2" articulating display is also much brighter, although still not a touch screen like others offer
- built in WiFi is much more reliable and faster with my iPhone than the Nikon WiFi dongle I used with my D5200
- built in GPS, although I found it slow (several minutes) to acquire a lock outdoors
- autofocus time in LiveView is noticeably faster, but sadly Nikon still relies on contrast detection so focus is slow
- video can now be captured in 1080P resolution at 60 frames per second
- slightly smaller and lighter camera body, without (in my experience) sacrificing handling
- higher capacity battery (EN-EL14a) provides 600 CIPA shots per charge vs 500 on the D5200/EN-EL14 (but if you turn on GPS and WiFi, the battery drains much faster)

And, if you're upgrading from a D5100, the D5300 carries over these improvements from the D5200:
- dramatic focus improvement: 39-point AF, 9 cross-type AF points, and 3D focus tracking
- Nikon EXPEED 4 image processing engine
- 5 fps continuous shooting (JPEG); if you're shooting RAW you can shoot up to 6 images at 5 fps
- stunning HD video capture, including live output of uncompressed video through the mini HDMI port
- built in stereo microphones for video capture

If you own a D5100, the new autofocus system (taken from the higher-end Nikon DSLRs such as the D7000) is stunning. With 39 autofocus points, it quickly identifies the subject and locks focus. With my D5100, I had some instances of out-of-focus shots (especially in low-contrast subjects or greater distance). With the D5200 and now D5300, focus has been perfect for every shot.

So what could be improved? The GPS sadly disappoints. Given how horrible the reviews are of Nikon's external GPS unit, I wasn't expecting much from the built-in unit. But even outside, it takes several MINUTES to get a GPS lock. And when you switch off the camera, the GPS doesn't keep its last position, so it must hunt AGAIN when you power on. I have read that there are workarounds (you can manually download GPS assist data but you have to keep it up to date every 7 days) to improve performance of the built-in GPS.

As I mentioned earlier, LiveView focus performance, although notably improved with the D5300, still disappoints. Nikon is one of the last camera manufacturers to rely only on contrast detection for live autofocus. So while the articulating screen is great, don't expect to capture an action shot in LiveView.

Finally, while the display is greatly improved in brightness and clarity over the D5200/D5100, it does not support touch, which can be useful for choosing focus points for example.

Also important to note is that some Sigma lenses are incompatible with the D5300 (no autofocus in LiveView, no optical image stabilization). Sigma has issued an advisory, and has said they will correct these problems in a forthcoming firmware update. But Sigma is not issuing updated firmware for discontinued lenses.

That being said, the negatives are easy to overlook when you consider the stunning image quality, autofocus and scene detection, shooting performance, and HD video capture. Taken together, Nikon has a real winner in the D5300. It is definitely for their target buyer - someone like me who is not a professional photographer but who demands top image quality without taking up a lot of physical space in the camera bag.

*** UPDATES:
Nikon has released updates for both ViewNX 2 (v2.8.2) and Capture NX 2 (v2.4.5) that support the D5300 RAW image format. Make sure you have installed these updates.

For a truly outstanding GPS unit, I can confirm that the Solmeta Geotagger N3 external geotagger is supported by the D5300 via the accessory port.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


124 of 137 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GPS function is useless!, November 19, 2013
This review is from: Nikon D5300 24.2 MP CMOS Digital SLR Camera with Built-in Wi-Fi and GPS Body Only (Black) (Electronics)
The primary reason for me to upgrade from Nikon's D5100 to D5300 was new GPS location recording function. A secondary reason was hoping a sharper image without the low pass filter. After a few thousand shoots in a recent trip, I would say it is a reasonable but not necessarily compiling upgrade from the D5100 and probably even less an upgrade from D5200.

Pro:
* It is slightly lighter than D5100. I like it but others may not.
* LCD screen is bigger than D5100.
* There is an added single/continues/self-timer selection button. Although the button position could be better, but it is still better than D5100 has go through quick menu to change it.
* Day time outdoor image is marginally better with Nikon's 18-200 lens that I use as walk around lens. Night time performance improvements are more significant. Although the "Auto" and "Night scene" modes are still bad for night landscape shoots.
* Auto focus under bright light is marginally quicker than D5100 but under dark conditions it still hunts.
* LiveView although still sluggish, at least it is much improved over D5100.
* Although it includes the new En-EL14A battery, old EN-EL 14 battery still works! This means I can keep my spare batteries.
* Wi-Fi function was not important to me but with Nikon's Wireless Mobility Utility I can sync the camera's clock with my phone. This is important for using the phone as GPS logger. The utility also functions as remote with ability to turn Live View on/off.

Con:
* When I first got the D5300 three days after it was released, the GPS's performance is just awful! Then there was talk about update the camera's GPS file. With the update, the GPS function improved somewhat but there is catch that we the owner need to download and applied new updates every two weeks! Even with the update, it is still near useless in the field! First, even with the update it still take time to lock on satellite signal! To make matter worse is even with the GPS logging function on, the camera will not maintain the lock once it goes to standby mode and upon wake up, it needs to rescan and lock! Further more, even after it locks, any movement can cause it to loose the lock even by just walking a few steps! I even have many shoots just seconds apart without moving and yet the camera still could not maintain the lock! I would say the outdoor shoots managed to get GPS data is only about 50% and one can forget any hope the GPS can track indoor or inside cars.
* As the GPS not able to lock quickly not bad enough, it is also not very accurate!! While some pictures that I shoot so far are accurate, most of them are at least 50ft-100ft off and many are even more than 1,000ft off!!
* Not only the GPS is close to useless, it also drain battery much quicker! With the GPS on, the battery can be drained with as little as 200-300 shoots! When changing battery with GPS "on", sometimes the GPS came back resumed to "on", but other times it came back as "off"! I found it very frustrating as most of time I need to change battery in a hurry and do not have time to check all the status.
* D5300 has an AF assist lamp as the D5100 and it has the same problem. While this lampmay be good for some cases, it is inappropriate for others. The way Nikon implements it is not very flexible. The default setting is have the lamp on all the time for Auto and PASM mode with some pre-programmed scene modes will disable it. The only way for user to turn it on/off for PASM is to go through custom setting menu and it applied to all modes. One cannot program PASM differently that made this function less useful or even annoying.
* Wi-Fi function was not important to me but it seems I have to use it for some functions only the wireless utility offers, it matters now and I was surprised to find out it can only be connected to smart devices with either Android or iOS AND with Nikon's Wireless Mobility Utility running. It does not connect to PC or router. It is a two stages job. First to connect the two with Wi-Fi and then start the utility on the smart device. For some Android devices that supports WPS, the connection is secure. Otherwise by using SSID to connect, it is unsecured with SSID broadcast wide open that some one else can possible to connect to the camera.
* The wireless utility has a function to use smart device's GPS tag which is very good. But, my test so far seems it will only embedded the tag as picture been transferred from the camera to the device not directly to the SD card in the camera. Although I can understand the logic in view of possible unsecured link, it is another two stages job first to transfer the image to device and then to PC or somewhere else. It also made this function not very practical to use when travelling as the smart devices' memory are much smaller than the SD card and the prolong use of Wi-Fi seems draining the battery quickly.

Bottom line is if you overlook the poor GPS performance and need a DSL camera, D5300 is a good choice. If you are like me already own a D5100, it probably is worth to upgrade if you shoot a lot night scene and indoor without flash shoots. If on the other hand, the GPS is your main reason to get this camera, you should pass.

Edit 11/20/2013:

* Because of the AF assist lamp setting was so inflexible, I turned it off when I first got the D5100 and did not even remember it also has the lamp until I am comparing it with the D5300. Too bad Nikon has not done any improvement on the settings.
* Tried the GPS on another open space, it was even worse than before! It seems this GPS function is worthless as is. If GPS function is an important buying factor, I would rate the D5300 THREE STARS or less. If you are like me already have the D5100 or D5200 thinking about upgrading to D5300 for the GPS, you probably should stay with what you have.
* Added comments about Wi-Fi

Edit 11/22/2013

S. Fox mentioned SSID for Wi-Fi. Although I have seen it before, never thought I will use it because it is unsecure. But since Fox mentioned, I gave it a try and that is when I found out it can not even connect directly to PC or router!

Edit 11/23/2013

* Mercury Coach mentioned updating A-GPS data might help. Well, it did! Although the GPS is still inconsistent that took from 10s to 1 min. to lock on at same location, it is at least far more usable now. The problem is it seem we have to update this GPS file every two weeks to keep it happy.
* Tried Wi-Fi and the Wireless Mobility Utility a bit with mixed feeling.
* Although the GPS is faster now , it also seems less accurate. Those pictures taken before the update were very accurate but those taken after the update were at least 200ft off. I will test some more to see if indeed the update traded accuracy for speed.

Edit 12/1/2013

Just came back from a trip. I am very disappointed with the GPS even with the update! Most of the time it could not lock on or maintain lock to signal when we walk around a handful of cities in Germany. Not only it is useless for the trip, it also drain the battery much faster than I like or expect! I will give more details later.

Edit 12/3/2013

Added more details about the GPS.

Edit 12/5/2013

Added comments about image quality.

Edit 1/10/2014

Now that I have used the D5300 from US to Europe and Asia with multiple A-GPS file updates, there is no doubt in my mind, the GPS is less than useless because not only it can not lock on signal in reasonable time, it also drain the battery way too fast!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


60 of 65 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars From an amateur's perspective, November 23, 2013
By 
This review is from: Nikon D5300 24.2 MP CMOS Digital SLR Camera with Built-in Wi-Fi and GPS Body Only (Black) (Electronics)
No, I'm not a professional photographer. No, I'm not a semi-pro photographer either. I'm just a guy who likes to shoot beautiful pics when I hang out with my friends and family. On the other side, I don't want to drag around 5 lbs of equipment when I travel/go out with my friend. This Nikon baby has everything I want/ever need. I use the 18-140 mm kit lens and I'd like to share some thoughts.
_ Picture quality is top notch (on par with my friend's D7100).
_ Low light performance is also top notch (on par with D7100). Even at ISO 6400, photos are still very clean. No noise at all. Maybe if you're a professional photographer, you'll see it. But for me, the pics are perfect.
_ Focus is extremely fast, even in low light.
_ Camera is light even with the 18-140 lens.
_ Battery life is very good. I usually get about 500-600 shots every charge (with about 30% with flash).
_ Never tested wifi before, so can't comment.
_ Handling is okay, not impressed. Due to the small body size, the grip is a bit small. Bigger cameras (like D7100) have better grip, but also weigh a lot more.
_ No touch screen. However, most of the times, I shoot in P mode, and I'm not a pro photographer, so I don't need to change settings a lot.
_ Videos quality is very good. However, it's not silent. The lens creates noise when focusing. If you want silent video focus, go for Canon (t4i, t5i, 70d). People complain about not being able to change aperture during video mode. Well, it's nice if you have that feature, but at least for me, at my level, I don't need that feature.
_ If you want a walk around lens, get the 18-140 mm. It's an excellent one. Sharp, quick focus, light weight, and reasonable price. If you buy it with the body, it's only $300. Since the camera performs very well at high ISO, you don't need really larger aperture (f2.8 or f.18). The lens also has VR - vibration reduction which is a very nice feature.
_ Build quality is good, not excellent. But hey, it's lighter and cheaper than the D7100.
Overall, this is an excellent camera for hobbyists. The camera performs very very well in most shooting situations (except action in low light). If you're reading this, chances are you are like me, a hobbyist, and this camera is all you need.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 38 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars As with all new technology.. there are always some glitches., November 19, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I decided to add my own review which I will continue to update as I have been commenting on the others here. I received the D5300 on Saturday (got the Grey and have to say I really like the subtle color) and have been taking several test photos with my Sigma 18-250 Macro lens that I purchased only a few weeks ago. I noticed that something wasn't right with the stabilization and the live view (I typically never use live view anyway) but initially thought it was the camera. I may change my review to 5 stars once that issue is resolved and I know exactly what is working correctly. Sigma is doing a firmware update on the lenses so I am going to return mine that does not work once the new ones are released which is supposed to happen in a few days. If you purchased this lens and are not able to return it any longer - contact Sigma and they will have you send it in to update the firmware.

As far as picture quality (the lens does work with the exception of the two things mentioned) I have been very happy. I do feel like adding a few steps of sharpness helps the images (custom picture settings are available for user to define), but I am wondering now if that may also be the lens issue. I do like the ability to retouch in the camera (straighten is very useful) but I wish the file that was created from the retouch kept the file name sequence of the original file so that the photos would stay in order that they were taken.

I was afraid that after moving from the D90 that I would be missing the dedicated controls on the back of the camera, but I actually find that the menu system is pretty intuitive and easy to manage from the LCD. I am a hobby photographer who takes most of my photos on vacations twice a year besides family events and holidays. I have taken several photography classes and I do use most of the controls on the camera to set my shots. I found that having some of the "scene" modes can be a good refresher when you are trying to remember the correct settings for different situations and can actually be a learning tool if you pay attention to the changes that the camera makes for each situation. The lighter weight and smaller size of the D5300 are certainly a plus for me.

I was happy that the function button on the front of the camera can be set to control the ISO and works by holding down the button while dialing the thumb wheel which I am familiar with. There is also a dedicated button on the front of the camera to change to burst mode shooting, timer (10 second delay) and remote settings. This button works by pressing and then selecting from the display screen via arrow keys to select. The other button that I frequently use is the exposure compensation which also has a dedicated button on the top right that works via thumbwheel.

The wifi setup was a bit confusing only because the instructions were a bit vague. I searched the app store on my Ipad for the Nikon Wireless Mobile Utility and nothing came up. I did a search through Safari and it did bring it up in the Itunes store (probably because it is really an Iphone app). To connect the camera via wifi - after downloading and installing the app - go to the Menu on the camera and select the Setup Menu - Wifi is on the second page of the menu. Choose to enable the Wifi on the camera and the camera will begin to send out an SSID signal. Go to the Ipad/Iphone into the Settings menu and in your Wireless configuration choose to connect to the Nikon SSID. Then open the app and in the top left corner there is an antennae looking icon that you have to click on to get the camera to connect. I was very happy that the camera worked in this manner as it means that if you are in an area where you have no public wifi that you can still transfer photos to the device through the wifi signal that the camera broadcasts. The transfer rate was good considering these are 24 megapixel images and I had no complaints except that the app is designed for the Iphone and it would be nice to have the app designed for the Ipad for better clarity.

The one drawback I had initially was trying to get a program to work with my raw files. I did find a way to update my NX2 software (involved searching the internet to find a download as there were no updates listed in the program) and then I realized that my CS5 software will not work with the new camera raw and I may need to upgrade my Lightroom as they did release a beta version that supports these raw files, and the upgrade costs much less than the CS6 upgrade. Rather irritating of Adobe to not offer updates to older software for raw support in my opinion considering the cost of that program. Lightroom has very similar raw editing though and once the raw files are converted I can always open them in CS5 again.

I will add to this once I have the lens change and have had some additional time..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Camera For Me!, January 14, 2014
This review is from: Nikon D5300 24.2 MP CMOS Digital SLR Camera with Built-in Wi-Fi and GPS Body Only (Black) (Electronics)
OK! Lets keep this short and sweet (as possible). I am not a professional photographer so no big, cool sounding words are coming from me. First, if you are new to the DSLR (like me) DO YOUR HOMEWORK! Know and at least try to understand what you are buying and what the product offers before you make your purchase. What works for me, may not work for you. Anyway, I've had this camera about 2 months so here we go-

Pros-
Awesome picture quality! I am using the 35mm 1.8g lens (The only lens I have, not made of money here) and I am able to take a picture of someones face (at a normal distance) and crop zoom to look at their eyelashes if I want (after using the little zoom button then focusing in really well). What would be normal family photos, looks like a magazine shoot. Really great quality (at least with this lens. I have been advised against the kit lenses!) and under the right settings, I get awesome photos even when the subject is moving at normal speed.

Great Video! Love the video on the 1080p60 it has a nice real speed feel that I like and I can switch to other options if later I understand the reasoning for them. But for now, using this camera for home videos in a dim lite house or bright sunny outdoor video works great.

Buttons are relitivly easy to adjust, and the camera feels good in the hand. Not too bulky, not too thin. Go into a store and touch it yourself (dont touch yourself...) and see how you like it. Everyone is different.

Nice add ons and functions! I use the Wifi a bit to save photos directly to my phone and to use my phone as a remote for the camera. I don't use the GPS setting so can't help you there. Cool little effects come with it, not going to use them often but it can be fun to play with at times.

CONS-
It can be slow at times... Not to focus, but in processing the photos in live view. And when using some effects and when using the "zoom" button in live view there can be a good amount in lag. Is it a huge issue to me? nope. Most times I use those settings Im looking at a stationary object and I'll be using a tripod so lag is not a huge issue, but the "issue" is there and may bother some people.

Pop up flash always returns to auto. Not sure if I simply haven't learned how to do so, but everytime I change the rotation dial to a new option or back to the option I was on, I have to remember to turn off the flash as it always puts itself back to auto even once I have turned it off. Not a huge thing, just annoying... More than likely it is an error on my side, so take this "con" with a grain of salt.

Thats about it though. I could complain it is difficult to learn all these new things but that would be with any DSLR or new operating system. Gotta put in the time and effort to understand how to use the machine properly. All and all, I say it's a good buy. It has good battery life, great photos (when you know what your doing and are on the right settings), good video, and a good fit and finish (for me). I advise you fittle with one in a store first and see what camera fits you best. But I will say this camera produces some fine photos! and at the end of the day, thats what its all about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Mid-Price SLR Camera, January 11, 2014
By 
Bill (Atlanta, GA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Nikon D5300 24.2 MP CMOS Digital SLR Camera with Built-in Wi-Fi and GPS Body Only (Black) (Electronics)
I won't copy over all the online reviews and product materials but I want to share a few comments of my own:
- this thing takes incredible pictures - a huge step up from my D3100
- the shutter speed is particularly impressive
- the iPhone app is really useful and well done - fast, easy, perfect way to work with pictures while away from your computer
- still can't the GPS to work - it may be user error but I haven't been able to get the GPS coordinates embedded in JPG files
- lightweight, great battery life

Without a doubt, this is the best money I've ever spent on a camera
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Do NOT buy for GPS, December 11, 2013
This review is from: Nikon D5300 24.2 MP CMOS Digital SLR Camera with Built-in Wi-Fi and GPS Body Only (Black) (Electronics)
I had a hard time deciding if I wanted to rate this a 3 or a 4 because I am really unhappy with the GPS.

I will not go into the details of the D5300 itself, the other reviews and info you can find online (like [...] should be enough.

I was trying to decide if I should buy the D7100, or the D5300. I think that you should ignore words like "pro" vs. "enthusiast" because you should get what works for you, not what the marketing pitch is.

I decided to go with the D5300 because I wanted to get the wireless and GPS built in so I didn't have to buy them as accessories. When I received my camera, I set up GPS and went to take some photos. I couldn't get a GPS lock, so I walked around outside, all in the open, and with an iPhone and handheld GPS to boot. For the whole 30 minutes, I only had GPS for about 2 minutes. I was annoyed, but decided to wait to visit other locations before I declared it a dud. After going to a couple different locations, I had no success. I googled for GPS issues and couldn't find anything, but a note in the Nikon rumors forum recommending that you update the A-GPS file, which I did. It didn't help. After posting some comments on Nikon rumors, re-reading the manual, and reloading the A-GPS file several times, I contacted Nikon directly, I decided it was defective, I RMA'd it to Amazon. I promptly received a replacement, and obtained the same results.

I understand GPS. I use a lot of different devices for hiking, and know how satellite triangulation works. I understand an iPhone uses cell data and updates A-GPS on the fly. What I do NOT understand is how such a reputable company as Nikon cannot get GPS right. I can appreciate that this is new for them, but it is unacceptable to market this as a unit that can perform GPS inline.

I hope others have had better luck, but I haven't found anything to support that so far.

If you are willing to pay a little more for the D5300 accepting that GPS is useless, I would go for it. This review probably isn't helpful if GPS is deal breaker, but the fact of the matter is that GPS is useless on this model. I am sure they will refine this in future models, or better yet, as a firmware update in the near future.

Aside from that, the pictures taken are more than satisfactory, especially if you have already invested into some good glass.

In the end, that is why I gave it a four star. I don't care for the articulating viewfinder, it seems like a liability to me, but for costing a couple hundred dollars less than the D7100, I went for it.

In comparison to even the D5200, the image quality is much better. I had purchased the D5200 and when I found out the D5300 was coming out, I returned it, so I did have the ability to compare. If you are looking for a cheap camera, I would go with the D3100 instead of the D5200 to save a couple extra dollars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 31 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as Good as Expected, January 4, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The D5300 was an upgrade purchase for me from a D50 that I have used for 7 years. I have had very good luck with the D50 and wanted to stick with the Nikon brand, looking to use the add on accessories that I have purchased. There were enough feature differences, and the standard kit lens change, between the D5200 and D5300 that I felt spending the extra money was worth it.

Some of the things that I like:
1. The 18-140 standard lens. It is very functional and covers a lot of picture options.
2. The large, movable, display screen.
3. The built in wireless feature.
4. The shutter speed.
5. Some of the setting options.

Some of the things that I dislike:
1. The size of the camera body. It is smaller than the D50 body and find it to be a little too small for me.
2. The button placement on the back right of the camera. There are too many buttons where your thumb naturally rests and find myself pushing them when taking the camera out of the case.
3. There are too many menu screens to sort through when you want to use some of the features such as the wireless remote, self timer, and wireless settings. They are not difficult to use, just cumbersome.
4. Using the Live View. The pictures are not as good as when using the View Finder.

Overall the camera is fine, but am just a little disappointed with the items mentioned above.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great camera... caution: a BIG leap from a simple Point-n-shoot (which is to be expected)., December 28, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nikon D5300 24.2 MP CMOS Digital SLR Camera with Built-in Wi-Fi and GPS Body Only (Black) (Electronics)
Tip #1: turn OFF the beep on your camera... immediately, no questions, just do it. NOW. It just announces to the world that you just bought it, and don't have a clue what you are doing. This may be true, but why advertise that fact, and annoy everyone around you with the annoying "beep...beep. Click. Beep...click. Beep, beep, beep....click". ;)

Moving on: Any DSLR is not for the faint of heart, nor for those unwilling to read the user's manual for any mode other than "auto". Yes, you can leave it in the Green "Automatic mode w/ flash" or the "Auto mode without flash" and you'll do fine for snapshots and some great photographs as those moments present themselves. The "scenes" modes are a quick way to shoot various conditions we all find ourselves in often, without having to slow the fun with deep menu changes, just set it for "party" or "beach" or "candlelight" (etc.) and you'll be shooting very good shots.

If you want to shoot huge RAW files, go full manual mode, alter the ISO settings, shoot time-lapse sequences, 1080p/60hz video, it is all there for the semi-professional, too. ISO goes to 12800 if you need it without too much noise. 3200 and 6400 ISO are much less noisy than my D70s model.

I have the D70s model from a few years back, and I **REALLY** miss the front sub-control wheel. The D5300 has only one control wheel on the back for your thumb to rotate, and the lack of the second one up front is mind-boggling, forcing the user to hunt-n-peck on the LCD screen or with other buttons to switch up a few settings on the fly. The trade-off for that wheel was the flip-out screen and built in Wifi (vs. the more expensive new cameras with two wheels and more controls, so you don't have to use the LCD menu system).

Remember, unless you are blowing up your photos to 30"x40", you can come down on the megapixel size to 6mpx or 12mpx without any drop in on-screen resolution. The files sizes are huge (11MP JPGs), so your hard-drive and uploads to facebook, twitter, etc will take much longer... so just shoot in 6MP "fine" or "normal" and you'll get fantastic pictures, without the bloated file sizes. Remember, MP only count if you do a lot of cropping or print enlargements. Google "Ken Rockwell megapixel myth" to learn more from the best about how "megapixels" are mostly hype. My D70s is a 6MP camera, and the pictures are gloriously beautiful (see the D70s group on Flickr).

The battery life is about 200 shots for me, but I've been using the LCD screen alot and playing with settings, menus, etc. If/when I just flip the LCD monitor closed, and shoot through the viewfinder...it will probably shoot 500 photos on one battery.

I do like that you can customize the "My Menu" for your most used settings, mine being: ISO, White balance, Set Picture Control, Release mode (timer/remote/continuous), Active-D Lighting, Image Size, Image Quality, Auto Information Display (on/off), Wi-Fi (on/off)

Nikon has a great little feature so that when you have highlighted a menu item, you can hit the "?" button, and an on-screen paragraph explains the feature and what it does.

Spend the few bucks to get a nice strap, camera bag and by all means the Nikon remote shutter control (under $10)...which is totally the best thing for tripod family shots and be in the picture. You can flip the LCD around to make sure you and everyone else is in the picture, hit the remote, and get a 2sec, 5sec or 10sec time delay to the picture (or instant, but then you can't hide the remote in time!).

The WiFi option is pretty cool, and when enabled allows you to hook to the camera via your smartphone, download pictures, or even see what the camera sees (!), and use the phone as a remote shutter release. Once on your phone, hop back on the 4G network or your home wifi, and upload to Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, etc. Pretty sweet. The phone can also act as a temporary backup to your camera memory card.

Hope that helps... I'm lovin' it, and still think the flip-out screen is what we needed for selfies and family photos. If you don't need the flip-out screen, need lots of manual controls, and have the budget, move up to a Nikon with dual control wheels.

Cheers,

Doc Rings
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa4d7924c)

This product

Only search this product's reviews
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.