Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Nine Minutes on Monday: The Quick and Easy Way to Go From Manager to Leader
Safety Month BOTMKT Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums The best from Bose just got wireless Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks STEM Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Best Camping & Hiking Gear in Outdoors

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars48
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$14.57+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on October 5, 2012
Can you really be a better leader in just 9 minutes? That's the premise of James Robbins' new book, 9 Minutes on Monday.

Currently on Amazon there are 365,000 books in the leadership and management category. That's 1000 for every day of the year. Why should you care about another one?

James Robbins grew up at the base of the Canadian Rockies. Inspired by the mountains, he combined his love of climbing with his passion for people. Initially propelled to be a preacher, corporations became interested in his secular leadership seminars where he combined his honest, observation of the human condition with his experiences climbing mountains (both as mountaineer and guide). He has a program and now a book.

The title refers to a reflective and structured 9 minutes at the start of every week where leaders actively decide what actions they will take during the week when interacting with their subordinates. I like this approach, as it is habit-centric in that the focus is on the behavior.

Secondly, the content is good. Rife with mountain climbing stories, James deconstructs the elements of good leadership in today's world where thinking is the most important activity your people do.

James makes the case that humans, including you and your subordinates, are motivated by 4 primary and 5 secondary needs. The 4 primary needs are:
* Care
* Mastery
* Recognition
* Purpose

The 5 secondary needs are:
* Freedom
* Connect
* Play
* Model
* Grow

He has chapters for each of these needs and provides concrete behaviors for how to meet the need for yourself and your employees. Throughout the book are woven some more enduring themes such as trust.

I found the book helpful, practical, and coaching without pontificating. It's a welcome addition to any leadership library and would also serve as a supplemental text or workbook for organizations wanting to improve the leadership skills of their people.
0Comment|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 17, 2013
James Robbins book Nine Minutes on Monday is full of practical strategies (and examples) that managers can apply to become leaders of individuals and their teams. As noted in the book, our job as managers is to produce results and we achieve results through our people. Nine Minutes builds on what we know about human needs and motivation and positive company cultures. It provides a road map to follow weekly to ensure our employee's needs get met. The accompanying tools including the Nine Minutes on Monday Template and 8-Week Tracker make putting the nine strategies into practice on a regular basis both realistic and achievable. You will find Nine Minutes on Monday a good investment to grow your leadership skills, grow your people and grow your business.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 11, 2015
I'm not a manager, but possibly a leader as I related to everything said in this book. Unfortunately, law doesn't seem to have management classes for the attorneys which is a shame, because if they would follow the principles in this book, recognizing their employees, they might just have a firm they could be proud of. I am glad I read this book and think everyone should read it regardless if you are a manager or not.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 29, 2012
James has captured something very special in this compelling treatment of leadership: a content and format that "sticks to the ribs." Like most of us, I've read dozens of leadership management books, and have managed to retain a very small part of them in my own leadership skill set. I am more ambitious with this book. James writes with clarity, focus, humor, humility, and with a sense of mission. I can feel his belief in this way of leading, and when I read, I even feel his belief in me, in us. I love the integration of clear principles, larger stories that cement unforgettable context, apt illustrations, and summations we can hold onto and truly practice, step by step over time. Guess what I've put into my weekly calendar now on Monday mornings? (At least for nine minutes)
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 3, 2016
This is an excellent book for all Managers or Supervisors who want to become Leaders. The book is laid out in an easy to follow fashion, and I love the personal stories that are interspersed in the book.
If you can't find 9 minutes at the beginning of your work week to improve your leadership and most importantly enhance your relationships with those who work for you, then you might want to find another vocation.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 2, 2015
I bought this book on BookBub, and this gives great tips on how to manage people. I really thought the author made excellent points on how to effectively manage just by creating a 9 minute template. If managers did this effectively, workers would be more productive and happier.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 24, 2013
Having read several leadership books, I find this one to be the most straight-forward/practical. Nine minutes on Monday is all it takes to plan your week to ensure you're leading and not idling. Ideal for the novice manager, but enough here that even a seasoned pro can probably get a good refresher.

Pro:
+ Emphasizes practical leadership techniques
+ Good end of chapter synopsis with though-evoking questions
+ Concise text makes its points in about 200 pages
+ Decent number of references
+ Quite quotable
+ Teaches the reader a method for creating high-performing teams with minimal time investment
+ Good ideas for implementing the system a little at a time

Con:
- References their web site, which requires (free) registration using your email address... items there could (should) have be added to the book
- Doesn't offer much on the topic of barriers/barrier breaking, relying mostly on the time challenge of leading... some time spent on managing a hyperactive or controlling boss, among other topics, would be useful

Bottom line: Recommended. Very good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 27, 2012
James shares stories from a career in leadership that are easily relatable for anyone who has spent time managing or leading groups. His examples give a clear picture of what it looks like when leaders are focused on the most important aspects of there job: Getting great results from their people and taking their team up whatever mountain they face. His plan gives leaders time to focus on these things, and is simple enough that anyone can start putting it into practice immediately.

My organization treats Mondays as bad as any, and makes me think what great things could be possible if more leaders read and put into practice the principles James shares.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 17, 2016
excellent book. I use this to help all new managers establish a leadership presence. The approach helps to establish a consistent way of interacting with employees through specific leadership activities that are planned vs by chance
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 3, 2013
The suggestions can be implemented, regardless of your current position at work. You can apply it if you are leading a group, or if you are an individual contributor. Definitely worth reading a few times over, so it's good to buy this book, rather than borrowing it from a library/friend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse