Customer Reviews


154 Reviews
5 star:
 (94)
4 star:
 (32)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


45 of 48 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "You ain't got no call to be afeared of the bells...if you follow righteousness."
Set in the remote village of Fenchurch St. Paul, this 1934 mystery involves an unknown body, which has been disfigured and mysteriously buried in the same grave as a local woman, shortly after the New Year. Many years before, a magnificent necklace of emeralds was stolen here, though it was never found. Two men and a local woman were implicated in the theft, and both...
Published on June 30, 2006 by Mary Whipple

versus
13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Bells Toll
Lord Peter Wimsey, sleuth extrordinaire, assists the Police Superintendent of Fenchurch St. Paul to identify the body of a man buried in the recently deceased Lady Thorpe's grave. The grave was meant to be shared by Lady Thorpe's husband, who recently died during an influenza epidemic. Wimsey and the Superintendent also endeavor to find out who so sadistically defaced...
Published on July 2, 2003 by IRA Ross


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

45 of 48 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "You ain't got no call to be afeared of the bells...if you follow righteousness.", June 30, 2006
This review is from: The Nine Tailors (Paperback)
Set in the remote village of Fenchurch St. Paul, this 1934 mystery involves an unknown body, which has been disfigured and mysteriously buried in the same grave as a local woman, shortly after the New Year. Many years before, a magnificent necklace of emeralds was stolen here, though it was never found. Two men and a local woman were implicated in the theft, and both men served time in prison. Now the unknown body, the fate of the two men involved in the theft of the emeralds, the whereabouts of the necklace, and the involvement of seemingly upright citizens of Fenchurch St. Paul are all under investigation.

Lord Peter Wimsey, accompanied by his "man" Bunter, becomes involved in the investigation when their car runs off the road on a snowy New Year's Eve. Lord Peter ultimately agrees to substitute for an indisposed bell-ringer when the rector attempts to set a record of more than 18,000 rings in nine hours as a New Year's Eve celebration. The bells are an integral part of the mystery, with the "nine tailors," a pattern of bell ringing, figuring prominently in the action. A coded letter suggests that the bells themselves may be connected to the emerald necklace.

Author Dorothy Sayers creates vivid characters--the somewhat arrogant Lord Peter Wimsey, his faithful manservant Bunter, the "forgetful" rector of the local church and his wife, the French wife and children of one of the thieves, assorted odd characters from the town, and local law enforcement. The opportunity to locate the emeralds and ascertain the fate of the thieves, one of whom escaped shortly after being sentenced to jail, intrigues Lord Peter, and some townspeople have much to gain (or lose), depending on the identity of the man in the grave and his possible killer. Sayers's complex mystery and the equally complex interactions of the various characters keep the reader guessing to the very end.

Ingenious and clever, this mystery is full of dry humor, as Lord Peter and Bunter engage in word play, hilarious who's-on-first dialogue, and multiple absurdities as they try to solve the case. The characters go beyond stereotype, eliciting sympathy and often respect, as they contrast with the sometimes stuffy and aristocratic Lord Peter. A mystery which is as satisfying in its conclusion (resembling the divine intervention of classical Greek tragedy) as it is in its immediate action, The Nine Tailors is one of Sayers's best and most intricate mysteries. n Mary Whipple
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


57 of 63 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review, December 6, 2001
This review is from: The Nine Tailors (Paperback)
This novel, Dorothy L. Sayers' best-known, is, without doubt, one of her best-if not the best. Sayers takes the customary English village, and makes something new of it, by setting it in the Fen country, and by giving to it a church, which, as the well-drawn rector describes, "East Anglia is famous for the size and splendour of its parish churches. Still, we flatter ourselves we are almost unique, even in this part of the world." The church services show great feeling and power, and neatly tie in with the theme of religion. The church possesses bells, the book being best-known for the bell-ringing, described in such powerfully beautiful descriptions as:
"Out over the flat, white wastes of fen, over the spear-straight, steel-dark dykes and the wind-bent, groaning poplar trees, bursting from the snow-choked louvres of the belfry, whirled away southward and westward in gusty blasts of clamour to the sleeping counties went the music of the bells-little Gaude, silver Sabaoth, strong John and Jericho, glad Jubilee, sweet Dimity and old Batty Thomas, with great Tailor Paul bawling and striding like a giant in the midst of them. Up and down went the shadows of the ringers upon the walls, up and down went the shadows of the ringers upon the walls, up and down went the scarlet sallies flickering roofwards and floorwards, and up and down, hunting in their courses, went the bells of Fenchurch St. Paul."
The bells are also eerily threatening-"Bells are like cats and mirrors-they're always queer, and it doesn't do to think too much about them."-which is fitting, as the plot hinges on bells: both an ingenious cryptogram (again, to quote the rector, "I should never have thought of the possibility that one might make a cipher out of change-ringing. Most ingenious."), and an ingenious murder method.
The whodunit aspect of the story is not neglected; for once, it is a genuine problem. The body is buried in a grave, and involves a complicated problem of identity, and an unknown method. The victim, as Wimsey describes, is "a perfect nuisance, dead or alive, and whoever killed him was a public benefactor. I wish I'd killed him myself." Wimsey is engaging here, and not the parody of Bertie Wooster he sometimes is-he is a human being, without being the equally obnoxious creature found in Gaudy Night and Busman's Honeymoon. The detection is excellent, and, as was to be the trend in nearly every detective story following (especially Nicholas Blake's), the detective "felt depressed. So far as he could see, his interference had done no good to anybody and only made extra trouble. It was a thousand pities that the body of Deacon had ever come to light at all. Nobody wanted it." These tie in with the burden of guilt and innocence, redemption and repentance.
Finally, the book comes to its powerful climax in a flooded village, "with an aching and intolerable melancholy, like the noise of the bells of a drowned city pushing up through the overwhelming sea."
This is not a detective story-this is, if anything, a novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perhaps the finest of Sayers' Lord Peter Wimsey mysteries., May 26, 1996
By A Customer
This review is from: The Nine Tailors (Paperback)
Unlike some of her Lord Peter mysteries, this novel can be read by itself, and it is a delight. About a murder done in an old church in the English countryside, you will learn more about the ringing of church bells than you thought possible. Lord Peter is at the top of his form, literate, intelligent, and a thinker beyond being just a mystery novel detective. None of the characters are one or two dimensional, and each of them is developed fully and delightfully. When it comes to mystery fiction, you can't do much better than Sayers...which may be one reason her novels appeared on PBS' MASTERPIECE THEATRE rather than MYSTERY! They are indeed, masterpieces
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic period piece, and a spiritual meditation, June 13, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Nine Tailors (Paperback)
When I first read this book, I was in high school. Having encountered the phenomenon of change ringing in Groves Dictionary of Music and read that "The Nine Tailors" was a novel which involved it, I assumed at first that something so old and specialized would be long out of print and unavailable. Imagine my delight when I found that the local college library had it! Presumably unable to borrow it, I felt very daring smuggling it into the 24-hour reading room and leaving it on a coat rack so that I could read it even when the library was closed. It was exciting again to discover later that it was actually in print and I could buy it for myself. This I have had to do several times over the years, because my copies keep disappearing-- probably loaned to friends.
The continued availability of a novel on such an esoteric subject can only be testimony to the "the worth of the work" (one of Sayers's telling phrases in another of her books). It is, indeed, not as readily available as some of her other Lord Peter Wimsey mysteries. I have read most of them, believe that this is the best, and wouldn't be surprised if the author agreed. Yet many times I have noticed bookstores having several of the others in stock, but not The Nine Tailors. This has to be a sad commentary on the reluctance of many readers, even of mysteries, to venture into a quaint, abstruse subculture foreign to their own environments. Yet, happily, the real connoisseurs of the genre, who knowingly demand it even on special order, are numerous enough to keep it in print.
This is the kind of book to take up cozily by the fire, or while snuggled unter the quilts, in wintertime as the snow falls and the wind whistles outside; for such is the weather on a bleak New Year's Eve in its first scenes. The circumstances are important-- so intricately crafted is the novel that almost everything is important. Lord Peter and his valet, driving through the fens between the world wars, meet with an automobile mishap compelling them to venture forth on foot. Soon they encounter the vicar and other salt-of-the-earth folk in the nearest village, and circumstances draw them quickly into the life of this close-knit community of good, solid, honest people unanimous in the love of the mighty, exquisite old church which is their heritage from a long-dissolved medieval monastery.
Places like this really used to exist frequently in rural England. To read of them now, when they are so rare, is to meditate on what we have lost as time marches on. Although I doubt that Sayers was writing in this mode, the nostalgia which the book provokes in a reader today can be very poignant. But, beyond nostalgia, we can imbibe a gentle, abiding "wonder and delight" in these humble villagers' experience of their faith, and what it has wrought among them, which badly needs to be recovered in much of Christendom today. Fictional entertainment though it may be, if this book inspires and helps readers more than half a century later to recover this in their own lives, we can be certain that the author would be highly gratified. I would venture to guess, in fact, that this was her larger purpose, devout Anglo-Catholic that she was, in writing it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best of All Time, December 4, 2000
This review is from: The Nine Tailors (Paperback)
I would agree with some others that this is the best mystery of all time. It indeed is a book best to be read in the winter, in a big comfortable easy chair, in front of a roaring fire.
I have several copies, but am always on the lookout for another one. Sayers has her ace detective and consumate English gentleman Lord Peter Wimsey in an absolutely engrossing rural landscape. Like many traditional country areas, this one is dominated by a massive church. And the parish has some strong bell ringers, but also some members with dark secrets. The plot develops slowly, like fine wine.
I am sorry that the Masterpiece Theater version is not yet out in video. Then I could read the book and watch the video throughout the long, freezing winters we have in my home in Arctic Alaska. Enjoy this book. Cherish it and buy a few extra copies, including a few for very close friends. It is a book you will want to keep handy on your bookshelf for the rest of your days! Earl Finkler in Barrow, Alaska
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An authoritative dramatic-reading of a difficult mystery, October 13, 2001
This review is from: The Nine Tailors (Audio Cassette)
The 1934 Dorothy L. Sayers mystery titled "The Nine Tailors" is not about the garment industry. Instead it centers on the venerable tradition of "change ringing" still practiced in England in which a given number of church bells or "tellers" are rung in every possible combination. So nine of them would have to be rung in (what we call in math class) "9 factorial" or 362,880 different combinations. You can figure out how long that would take at one peal per second.
Well the combinations do play a part in the solution of a particularly involved plot concerning jewelry stolen considerably in the past, a freshly dug grave with the wrong body in it, a flood, a snowstorm, and a villageful of really interesting characters, one of whom might be a thief, another a murderer, and so on. However, I am not reviewing the book itself but a marvelously effective complete reading of it by Lord Peter Wimsey himself, which is to say character actor Ian Carmichael who played Wimsey so well on the television series (now available on both VHS and DVD from Acorn Media). Here is the novel, complete on 6 cassettes, from Audio Partners, which is increasing their catalogue of complete mystery recordings very quickly indeed.
Of course, Carmichael is the perfect Wimsey; but he is also very good at every other voice needed to make this an excellent reading. Some books-on-tape readers merely use their own voices throughout; and success depends on how interesting and appropriate that single voice is. Like David Suchet on the companion Poirot readings, Carmichael makes his reading into a full dramatization.
Highly recommended for those who love a really intricate mystery read by a terrific actor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the great novels of the century, March 27, 1998
By 
Jim Mann (Pittsburgh, PA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Nine Tailors (Paperback)
It's a cliche to say that something "transcends its genre." However, any time I want to point to an example, I use The Nine Tailors. Sayers' best novel is far more than just a mystery novel. It is well written, with great characters, atmosphere, and a sense of place that rivals the best of Thomas Hardy. Even if you don't like mystery novels, you should read The Nine Tailors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Sayers novel even without "the gang", April 27, 2004
By 
Gracie (San Diego, CA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Nine Tailors (Paperback)
I'm a huge fan of the Wimsey novels and had read all of the books in the series--some twice--except for this one. I had been putting it off because 1) the subject of change-ringing sounded dull and unduly esoteric; and 2) I had heard that none of the usual characters appeared.
I must admit that I am still unclear on exactly what change-ringing is. Regardless, I loved this book, even though there was very little Bunter and no Parker, Biggs, or Vane. The writing is outstanding, and I found the mystery aspect of the novel deeply satisfying. Even though I guessed one asepct of the mystery early on (the identity of the man in the grave), the rest of it was a nice twist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Bells Toll, July 2, 2003
By 
IRA Ross (LYNDHURST, NJ United States 07071) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Nine Tailors (Paperback)
Lord Peter Wimsey, sleuth extrordinaire, assists the Police Superintendent of Fenchurch St. Paul to identify the body of a man buried in the recently deceased Lady Thorpe's grave. The grave was meant to be shared by Lady Thorpe's husband, who recently died during an influenza epidemic. Wimsey and the Superintendent also endeavor to find out who so sadistically defaced the grave's temporary occupant and why, and hope to uncover secrets related to the theft of a valuable emerald necklace and its connection, if any, to the unidentified body. On the way to the resolution of these misdeeds, I endured an endlessly tedious analysis of the crimes and possible perpetrators' motives. The introduction of a cryptogram allegedly sent by the unidentified victim is an over-elaborate plot device that I found more than a bit trite.
What gives this book a big boost, though, is Ms. Sayers' scintillating presentation of synchronized ringing of the Fenchurch St. Paul's bells by rope. Ms. Sayers creates imagery of sheer beauty and magnificence. I almost felt as if I were there experiencing such overwhelming loveliness. The names of two of the bells, Batty Thomas and Tailor Paul are colorful and also figure strongly in the plot. The actions of the heroic Mr. Venables, the church Rector, who assists the towns people and helps to pull them together during a horrific flood is very memorable. I also enjoyed reading various quotations from the Psalms and other parts of the Bible that were peppered throughout the book and gave it the poignance that it might not otherwise have had.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Identity Quest, January 12, 2004
By 
Mary E. Sibley (Medina, Ohio, USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Nine Tailors (Paperback)
Change ringing is an ancient craft. Lord Peter Wimsey and Bunter have been held up at four A.M. New Years Eve. A snow storm and a bridge cause their car to be upended in a ditch. The rector of the parish offers to put them up for the night. Wimsey thinks the church is impressive. He calls it a young cathedral. The rector claims that East Anglia is famous for the size and splendor of its parish churches.
The term tailors refers to bell ringing. Wimsey is solicited to engage in a very great task of nine hours duration, that of change ringing. It seems that additional manpower is needed since many of the men of the village have been felled by influenza.
Subsequently, at the death of Sir Henry, the local lord, nine tailors and forty six strokes are rung. Making plans for the burial, an unknown body is discovered. To clear up the mystery, Lord Peter's help is sought. The man is between forty five and fifty years of age. The face has been battered and the ankles may have been tightly bound. On the arms there are pressure marks. The cause of death is suffocation.
Wimsey speaks with the heir, Hilary, and learns that the body may have been placed in the crypt at the time of her mother's death. There is already a local mystery of considerable importance. Emeralds were stolen and have never been recovered.
The setting of the story is fictitious. Nonetheless the area in the vicinity of Cambridge and the inhabitants there receive compelling descriptions by Dorothy Sayers. A Frenchwoman, Suzanne Legros, writes her husband a letter using the English pseudonym of Paul Taylor. It is addressed to one of the village post offices in the fens, poste restante. Bunter comes into possession of it. It is passed on through Wimsey and the authorities and provides the basis for the unraveling of the mystery.
Another factor leading to the solution is an experience undergone by Wimsey, that of remaining in the bell tower at the time the bells are rung. There is additional excitement in fourteen days of flooding resulting in the death of one of the main actors of this tale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.