Customer Reviews


93 Reviews
5 star:
 (53)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


44 of 46 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good button-mashing ninja fun now with new bosses, playable female characters, and less blood
By now, you are familiar with the infamous Ninja Gaiden double-dip. Released a little over a year ago on the XBOX360, Ninja Gaiden II comes to the PS3 as Ninja Gaiden Sigma 2.

After a lengthy 8 minute install, you begin the game. The wait is made a little better (or worse, depending on your perspective) by a series of comic book stills with cheesy voices and...
Published on October 4, 2009 by BBP

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great single player but dreadful multiplayer
This game is all about action, and it has a highly addictive combat system; which is based in the numerous weapons that Ryu can hold. The single player campaign is polished, and the huge amount of mid-boss and bosses is a very nice touch for this genre. Despite the fact that the PS3 version has less blood and gore, it shouldn't be a detriment for not considering this...
Published on August 7, 2010 by Sergio Oses Puchkov


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

44 of 46 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good button-mashing ninja fun now with new bosses, playable female characters, and less blood, October 4, 2009
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ninja Gaiden Sigma 2 (PS3) (Video Game)
By now, you are familiar with the infamous Ninja Gaiden double-dip. Released a little over a year ago on the XBOX360, Ninja Gaiden II comes to the PS3 as Ninja Gaiden Sigma 2.

After a lengthy 8 minute install, you begin the game. The wait is made a little better (or worse, depending on your perspective) by a series of comic book stills with cheesy voices and sound effects while it's copying. The improvements are vast and numerous, starting with the graphics. As good as the 360 version was, Sigma 2 is better. Enemies are lavishly detailed, moves are flashy and spectacular with terrific lighting effects, and bosses are absolutely HUGE. Some levels, gameplay mechanics and enemies received small tweaks, and some are completely revamped. I beat the 360 version and now having completed Sigma 2, I can say that playing the PS3 version is almost like a new experience, especially because of the introduction of several new bosses, online play, mission mode, and 3 new playable characters: Momiji, Rachael, and Ayane. There are a total of 17 levels, 2 or 3 of which are totally new (1 level each for the playable characters). There is none of the slowdown that plagued the 360 version, although I noticed that some bodies now vaporize in order to save processing power. Story is pretty much nonsense and a lot less focused than Ninja Gaiden/Sigma, having you jump around the world, so just ignore it.

First of the changes is the oft-mentioned easier difficulty. I played on "Path of the Warrior" ("Path of the Acolyte" is the other starting difficulty) and found it very easy to defeat many of the bosses. You can just brute-force attack many of them and spam with the same moves over and over. This is how I defeated most of the bosses, even the later ones in the game. The last 3 bosses are especially easy. Arrows and projectiles are on auto-aim. Often you can just jump up and shoot blindly while facing in the direction of opponents. Pushing L1 also snaps to targets, making it very easy to kill attackers from a distance, especially those annoying archers or rocket launcher soldiers. Arrows (and all projectile weapons, including Ayane's exploding shuriken and Rachel's sub-machine gun) are now unlimited, removing a lot of the tactical decision-making and conserving you need to do. You can also move now while aiming, which is a plus. Gone are Ryu's windmill shuriken and incendiary shuriken. I miss the windmill shuriken.

Powering up your Ultimate Technique now is a lot faster it seems. The controls are very forgiving and don't require precise timing as they did in the past. Many of the combos also seem easier to execute and often times, I wonder if I've been triggering combo fatalities by accident. Items and save points are much more numerous. This is the first game in the series where I've actually had a problem with too many items. You can only carry a max of 3 of each of the restore items (small health restore, big health restore, magic restore). Items don't increase in price each time you buy them from Muramasa like they did before. Also, a big change is that he now upgrades your weapons for free. There is usually one or two upgrade statue per level. You can upgrade one weapon once per shop. Previous versions allowed you to upgrade whenever you wanted, as long as you had the money (very expensive), forcing you to save up and strive for more ultimate technique kills because they rewarded you with more essence. The abundance of items and the free upgrades makes collecting essence now rather pointless, because you'll have all this money but nothing to buy. Lastly, load times after dying have been greatly reduced to a few seconds, removing a lot of frustration experienced by players in previous NG games. The downside is that menu load times are inordinately long. If you find a magic scroll or technique scroll, it can take several seconds for the demo video to load, and several seconds after pushing X to close the screen.

Next is the toned-down violence. The menu system is now painted blue instead of red blood splatters. Arms, legs and heads can get chopped off, but they disappear in a wisp of blue ether instead of rolling onto the floor. In the 360 version, heads rolled everywhere and buckets of blood sprayed out from severed limbs. It's all gone here.

New bosses include a giant Buddhist statue at the end of the first level, a pair of tengu, and even the Statue of Fricking Liberty! Some of the bosses have their special attacks removed and made a lot less aggressive about attacking and blocking. You no longer have to time attacks perfectly. Just button mash.

Thankfully, a lot of the "cheap" moments players complained about from Sigma are gone. The piranha ghost fish are still here though, but those extremely annoying exploding jellyfish are gone. Gone also is the ridiculous ability to swim in lava. "Invisible walls" are also a lot less apparent. In the previous game, areas that looked like you could walk around are unreachable, destroying the illusion of depth. In Sigma 2, it's not as noticeable.

Weapons are fun to use, with some being very flashy and cool to see in action, like the tonfa, which turns Ryu into a lethal whirlwind of skull and limb cracking goodness. I don't ever get tired of powering up Ryu and seeing him go berserk on a group of bad guys. Locales include a futuristic Tokyo, NYC, Venice, South America, Mt. Fuji, some non-descript sewers and tunnels of hell or some other demonic dimensional warp. Sky City Tokyo is beautiful and lovingly rendered. NYC is less so. Times Square, Brooklyn, and Liberty Island look bland and inauthentic (because I live here). Some of the levels feel recycled directlty from Sigma (Airship Daedalus = airship stage from previous, Draga Dai = Vigoor city, sewers, lava levels).

Verdict:

Are all the gameplay changes good? No. Is Ninja Gaiden Sigma 2 fun? Yes, without a doubt. I enjoyed playing the new sexy female characters and the mission mode. It's a shame you can't play the entire game as one of the girls and you lose all your weapons when you begin a new game. One of the weirdest, most juvenile and sexist things you can do is jiggle the girls' goodies with the SIXAXIS.

Replaying on Path of the Mentor (unlocked by beating the game), I found it a lot harder and I got killed several times on level 1 by even minor enemies. They are a lot more lethal and harder to kill. Too bad this difficulty wasn't available at the very beginning to choose from. Chapter Mode also opens up, which lets you choose any chapter to replay.

All in all, a fun game with good replay value, and I'm glad I bought it. It's a stunning display of the PS3's capabilities and a blast to play as everyone's favorite ninja.

My rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The wait is over., September 30, 2009
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Ninja Gaiden Sigma 2 (PS3) (Video Game)
I almost bought an Xbox 360 just to play Ninja Gaiden 2.

Luckily, if you only have a PS3 you can have this not-so-new, but improved game. I'm a huge fan of the series and this one bears the Ninja Gaiden name proudly. You can get an overview of the game in better places then my review, so I'll just get to the point:

- Game looks and plays fantastic. No slowdown, which 360 owners were reporting, but just a minor occurence of screen-tearing, barely noticeable and does not affect the experience.

- Difficulty. This is no easy game, but it's by far the easiest Ninja Gaiden I ever played. Veterans will find their challenge in difficulty settings that will get unlocked after you play through the game the first time. Newcomers to the series will enjoy the action without smashing their controllers when playing on Alcolyte and Warrior modes offered from the beginning. I think it was a smart decision on part of developers.

- Blood and Gore. Many people have complained about the removal of over-the-top blood and gore that Ninja Gaiden 2 on Xbox was famous for. I'd say the level of depiction of violence in Sigma 2 is on par with Sigma 1 - some blood, but nothing like the Xbox version. What I don't understand is why this game is still rated M.

- New Characters. These are actually fun to play with, not just thrown in for the sake of putting them on the game cover.

In short, I recommend this to anyone who likes action games. Previous Ninja Gaiden games were not for everyone due to their crushing difficulty. The only exception to my recommendation: if you already played Ninja Gaiden 2 on Xbox, you may not find that this game is worth the full price. If not - get it, it's one of the best games this year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just as difficult yet as fun as ever, September 30, 2009
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Ninja Gaiden Sigma 2 (PS3) (Video Game)
As far as action games go, I consider Ninja Gaiden games to be definately the best as far as not only have the controls responsive but delivering an actually fun combat system that, to coin a really old cliche, is easy to learn but hard to master. Well, I wouldn't say easy to learn because one thing people fully well know about Ninja Gaiden is that these games are tough, maddeningly and frustratingly tough at times and more than once you will yell and you will want to throw your controller. Ninja Gaiden Sigma was basically a more HD version of the original and Black from the original Xbox and Sigma 2 is the same thing only it deals with Ninja Gaiden 2 for the Xbox 360. The game hasn't gotten a huge overhaul so much as the occasional re-tooling as far as difficulty, enemy encounters and even certain mechanics but like Ninja Gaiden 2, Team Ninja has a habit of sneaking in things that sour the experience. Not enough to fully ruin the game of course but it does make it a release that's still not as fully perfect as it should despite the second try with Sigma 2.

Story: Ninja Gaiden games aren't that well known for their stories and we have a tale concerning the Archfield, a really powerful demon from way back when, Ryu and the Dragon Lineage's ties to it, the Black Spider Clan and the 4 Greater Fiends as well as Sonia, a CIA agent Ryu works with. Unlike the original, Sigma 2 allows 3 new characters to play as in addition to new missions for them: Momiji from Ninja Gaiden: Dragon Sword for the Nintendo DS, Ayane from the Dead or Alive series and Rachel from Ninja Gaiden Sigma.

Graphics: The original wasn't really a graphically stunning game but there were certain sections that did stand out but the main draw is the character animation for all the characters from their move lists, special abilities and the Ultimate Techniques where they completely go off on an enemy or 2 (or 3). They're smooth and fluid and just look cool. As for the backgrounds, they're just okay. They're really barren and it's only in certain stages does it really get shown off. As far as slowdown was concerned or framerate dips, I barely saw any though the "now loading" screen did pop up quite a bit. One last thing: the gore is still present but it's not as obvious. Meaning when you decapitate an enemy, you will cut off their head but it's not going to be as obvious as it was on the Xbox 360, instead the blood is replaced by purple mist.

Sound/Music: Not exactly the most stellar soundtrack but it does its job well though I doubt anyone would wanna buy the OST for it. The voice acting is workable but in games like this or Valkyria Chronicles which add the option to use either English dub or Japanese with subtitles well, I always picked the subs. The sound effects are also quite visceral and the sound the Tonfas make when smacking against the enemies is just awesome but thanks to the changed gore, slices and dices don't have the satisfying kick when you know your moves are really doing damage on people but oh well.

Gameplay: Gameplay remains largely unchanged: you get weak and strong attacks with various combos to use (I highly recommend learning the Izuna Drop for each weapon, it'll come in handy a lot), Obliteration techniques where you permanently kill a de-limbed enemy and Ultimate Techniques where you charge up and you can unleash a really powerful attack on an enemy or a group. The on-landings are back (thank god) but the bow UT's are not (boo). One thing that has been changed though is enemy encounters so for example in one level instead of fighting those weird steel fish things they'll be...nothing but then what should've been a simple fight against normal werewolves will have a different fight altogether against something new so it keeps you on your toes since you can't go "okay this is where those guys show up and....wait, where'd they go?" and when you least expect, boom, enemies.

Certain other things have been altered as well: essence, which is basically your money, is strictly for items like potions, magic-refilling mushrooms and revival scrolls. Your weapon upgrades instead of being tied into essence is free, the change being you can only upgrade one at a time. So no longer can you upgrade 2 handy weapons, you have to choose: upgrade this guy...or that guy? Arrows are now infinite and some boss fights have been altered a bit and there's even some new ones. It was strange fighting a boss and wondering "why was he so easy?" and suddenly I get attacked by the Statue of Liberty (and no I'm not kidding) which turned out to be surprisingly hard and I went "ah, that's why". Unfortunately, Team Ninja didn't want to completely nerf the game so we have certain bosses that still feel cheap like Momiji going up against 2 guys at once with incredibly powerful attacks and while I thought this game was supposed to fix the move spamming from NG2, 2 bosses in a row literally did their most powerful attacks back to back without any pause.

Another big new addition is Team Missions, the co-op aspect of the game where you and computer-controlled AI or an online buddy take on enemies for high scores. It's quite fun and with the ability to play as any of the 4 characters, it's a blast but not really revolutionary for the series and probably won't have big lasting appeal unless you're a high-score seeker. However there's one flaw in this is that you can't filter incoming fight requests by region so you can literally be fighting with a guy from halfway around the world and you're going to have lag like you've never been lagged before. I do have 2 complaints aside from the aforementioned cheapness of some bosses. One is that the camera is still not that dependable and more than once I almost lost because I couldn't see whoever jumped on me because he was offscreen and 2 is that the game for some reason wants you to be on PSN the whole time and if you sign out or your connection briefly goes, it literally cuts you off and brings you back to the title screen so you could be playing on Master Ninja, about to get to a save point and BZZT, your internet connection decides to screw with you and you're sent back to the menu. Unbelievably frustrating this is and a really stupid move on Team Ninja's part.

I still consider Ninja Gaiden Sigma to be the most balanced of all the games. If I was terrible at that game it wasn't because of cheap AI or BS attacks or glitchy programming but it's because I needed to improve. Sigma 2 on the other hand is waaaaay more balanced than the original Ninja Gaiden 2 but there's still a couple of moments that stand out as being strangely difficult despite the toned-down difficulty. But if you want that visceral satisfying action, arguably nobody does it better than Team Ninja.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great sequel, if slightly less difficult than the original, October 13, 2009
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Ninja Gaiden Sigma 2 (PS3) (Video Game)
After I purchased my PS3 back in 2007, the very first game I purchased was Ninja Gaiden Sigma. At the time I was new to the Ninja Gaiden franchise; I never played it on Nintendo or in any other form prior to this slick, action packed, 1080p re-invention of the classic franchise. What I discovered was a truly challenging, exciting and time-consuming adventure replete with numerous enemies, weapons, attack combos and bosses. I am far from what you'd call a hardcore gamer; I use the PS3 primarily as a media hub for my entertainment system, and less often as a gaming console. However, I found the original so engrossing that I simply had to see it through. By my count, it took me 3 weeks of constant deaths, trial and error, and careful strategic maneuvering to finally overcome the game on normal difficulty. I considered this a major achievement considering my gaming credentials and skill-level, or lack thereof. This was no button-masher that could be beaten in a day like Heavenly Sword or the like, and I liked that aspect of it.
To say I was disappointed when I heard the new NGII was destined to be an exclusive XBox360 release would be an understatement. Needless to say, when I heard about this port to the PS3, I immediately purchased the game. Having just beaten it yesterday, I thought I would compare the two titles as there are some differences worth mentioning to those who have already played the first game.
First of all, this game is substantially easier. It took me about 5 days of fairly time-intensive playing to get through all 17 chapters. Still a challenge, but less so than the previous game. However, I don't consider this a bad thing at all. The previous game and the immense level of difficulty even on the easiest setting would be an immediate turnoff to most casual gamers. If the game was not so beautiful and engaging, the same probably would have applied to me. This game is still difficult though. You can't expect to just charge into a crowd of enemies and hack them all to bits or you will suffer a quick and greusome death. Dodge, counterattack and parry moves are imperative if you want to get through this. So while the game is easier, it certainly does not detract from its entertainment value or the amount of "fun" you will have. I actually think I enjoyed this game more than the original, as there was definitely less frustration and less replaying of levels. I was near my wits end when I beat the old game, and I actually welcomed the drop in difficulty level. I'm sure some of the diehards will take issue with this, but for the casual gamer it should make you take a second look at this game since it's probably not the epic challenge you've come to associate with the words "Ninja" and "Gaiden". For the more hardcore gamers, I just unlocked Path of the Mentor, and while I haven't played it, I'm sure it ratchets up the difficulty level to something close to the original, but I have yet to play it so I can't confirm that.
Secondly, the graphics have improved, albeit slightly. The level of detail in the backgrounds and levels is roughly equal to the first game, but the level of detail in the rendering of enemies (and bosses in particular) is beautiful. I think the lighting is slightly less realistic than the original, and while everything here is slick and shiny, things seems just a touch less realistic - read: more plasticky - that the first game.
Third, gameplay is roughly the same, with some minor tweaks. Swimming uses a slightly different set of controls, as does running on water, but for the most part the basic command list is unchanged. Animation is extremely smooth, and enemies seem to be a touch smarter due to variable AI. You won't get hordes of enemies attacking you with the same patterns, but rather randomized attack strategies based on the way YOU play. It seems that Ultimate Techniques take a bit less time to power up than in the previous game as well. They have also set some limits to the number of items (healing potions, etc.) that can be carried in your inventory that never existed in the previous game, but this is pretty minor and not a huge concern since the game will not require as much healing. Each time you finish off a horde of enemies, your character gets back some of his energy, making the potions a bit less important than in the past. When you reach save points, you will also be fully healed at each new checkpoint. And if you do finding yourself still needing to buy potions, you should have plenty of money for that now since the shop will now upgrade your weapons for free (which used to be extremely expensive and your biggest money drain in the old game.) Bottom line, if you are familiar with the previous NGS, this game will be extremely easy to cutover to.
Finally, there are a number of upgrades to this game, even in comparison to the 360 release. New levels, new attack combos, new playable characters, new or improved bosses and new weapons abound. Ryu (our hero) now has 8 different melee weapons at his disposal, as well as a new projectile weapon and some new spells. And when you beat the game, you can unlock chapter mode, a welcome addition that has never been an option in any of the previous releases. EDIT: Just tried Team Mission mode and it's fantastic...the online play is very smooth.
Overall, a great sequel to NGS which I thoroughly enjoyed. Whether or not you enjoy this game will probably come down to your level of gaming experience. For me, the challenge was adequate, the graphics were gorgeous, the animation was fluid, and the action and gameplay were excellent. If you are looking for an entertaining ninja platformer, this is the cream of the crop. And it is now more accessible to the masses than at any other point in the franchise's history. Worth a serious look if you are looking for an enthralling, engrossing and challenging action game for PS3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This ninja's getting softer, in a good way, October 7, 2009
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ninja Gaiden Sigma 2 (PS3) (Video Game)
I got the game yesterday and I'm up to chapter 4 now. Ninja Gaiden Sigma 2 is the softer and more accessible game than the first Sigma, without losing any elements of fun.

You can select the easy mode, 'Acolyte path', right from the start (without an insult from the producer like the first one, which the easy mode 'Ninja Dog' came with an insulting dialogue from a female ninja, Ayane). Also, the difficulty level of the normal mode got pushed down quite a bit. Normal difficulty doesn't really give you a hard time. You may die a few times in one chapter if you're cheap on healing items, but if not, you could pass a chapter without dying. You gain some amount of health back after finishing off each fight. Some boss fights are just downright easy.

However, it doesn't mean you can beat enemies with button-mashing and your eyes closed. Considerable amount of tactics and quickness are still required. Combos, weapons, spells are getting a few tweaks here and there and they are fun to use. So, fans of the first Sigma shouldn't feel that the game has sacrificed any good thing. Well...at least I don't.

In conclusion:
Anyone who was intimidated by the difficulty of the first Sigma, but still interesting in this game, should definitely pick Sigma 2 up. All the fun is there, while a big chunk of frustration was removed. And when you feel up to the challenge, I recommend you get the first Sigma too.

As for the old Sigma fans, no need to say much, there's a high possibility that they own this game already :)

EDIT:
Now I've found one major flaw. Camera sucks!!! Cheap deaths happen from time to time just because the game force you to use low angle camera and don't allow you to rotate at times. I fought two Tengus (the birdmen in Momiji stage). While I fought one of them, the other one can just swoop in from out of frame and attack me with the unblockable move.

Also, enemies with big body or wings tend to block the camera often.
It's pretty lame to keep dying, not from difficulty of the game, but because of the camera forces me to fight in the angle I'm not comfortable with :P

If I'm not mistaken, I didn't have to fight with camera this much in the first Sigma. So, my overall score of this game has dropped to 4.5 now, due to the serious camera flaw.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 41 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ninja Gaiden Sanitized 2.. I mean Sigma!, October 1, 2009
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Ninja Gaiden Sigma 2 (PS3) (Video Game)
I have been looking forward to this release ever since I first heard it was coming out at this year's E3. I own an Xbox 360 and Ninja Gaiden II is still my favorite game for that system.
I still play the Xbox version like it was new, so when I heard an exclusive expanded version was coming out for the just reduced price PlayStation 3 120 GB, I had to buy both the system
and the game the day it came out. Since I own both versions, I wanted to compare both and let owners of both consoles decide if this latest version is worth picking up.
First, the Xbox version has better graphics for the most part. Some character models on the PS3 version have been improved, which is nice, but the backgrounds which were highly detailed on the Xbox 360
version are slightly downgraded here. For most, this wont be an issue, but I wanted to point it out. There were slowdown issues on the Xbox 360 version and the only time my PS3 game slowed down, was when
I was awarded a trophy during in game play, otherwise, the PS3 version is clean and fast paced. Sigma in many ways has improved the game over it's original Xbox 360 version. Some of the levels have been
redesigned and have better layouts than in the Xbox version. Also, lame bosses from the Xbox version have been replaced with all new enemies that are a million times more fun to fight than the previous bosses.
For example, the two gold dragons at the end of Chapter 9 have been replaced with one awesome looking black dragon. The double armadillo fight from Chapter 12 has been replaced with a new fiend, awesome!
Enough has been changed from the Xbox 360 version to keep veteran players like myself on our toes. Enemies you're use to facing in one section of the game, have been replaced with others, that kind of thing.
Plus, the ability to play important side missions as Rachel, Ayane and Momiji really add to the game. For example, in Ayane's segment you get to play as her and discover how she obtained the jewel she gives
Ryu to create the true dragon sword, cool stuff! Playing as the female characters makes me wonder why Tecmo has never released an action game staring the female characters from DOA, it would
be great to see that someday.
There have also been several surprising subtractions from the original Xbox 360 game, the biggest is the reduction in blood and gore. All blood and gore have been removed from the cut scenes
and while there is still a little bit of blood present during battles, most of it has been replaced with what I can only describe as a magic purple mist. Basically, the game went from reminding me of Kill Bill Vol. 1, to
an episode of Inuyasha. The game has a more anime feel to it now because of it, while the original was more visceral and pulled the player in. Also missing are: Incendiary Shurikens for Ryu (Ayane has them), the Tests
of Valor (one of my favorite things about the original game) and the ability to save your Spirit of the Devils, Lives of the Gods and Lives of the Thousand Gods items. They are now used as soon as you find them instead of
being able to save them and use them at will. Also, one of the original game's coolest moments has been watered down. Remember the massive fight against a seemingly never ending horde of ninjas up the steps to the temple
in Chapter 10? Well, it's not quite such a horde now, it's more like just a few dozen guys. Now, I'm hoping the number of ninjas increases as the difficulty goes up, but who knows?

I've beaten the game on Acolyte and I've gotta tell you, it's a million times easier now. Maybe it will get harder as I defeat the other difficulties, but I'm shocked at how much easier this game is. When I saw the credits,
I understood why. Tomonobu Itagaki was absent from the credits. Itagaki quit or was fired from Tecmo, depending on who you believe, last year and he was responsible for designing the DOA & Ninja Gaiden games, along with
Team Ninja, for Tecmo. He was very adamant about how difficult his games should be, some say he took it too far, and I guess Tecmo agreed because it's a cake walk now. I proudly defeated Master Ninja mode on Ninja Gaiden
2 on the Xbox, so to see the game become so easy now is a little bit of a let down, but hopefully it will get more challenging. With the Sigma version, the playing field has been leveled out. For example, you can now hit Genshin
with magic, the drawback is that now he uses it on you as well. The designers must have thought the Eclipse Scythe was too powerful because now it takes more than one ultimate attack to bring down characters that previously
only took one. And characters that could come close to killing you with one of their combos, now only take away a small amount of health. So, this is radically different from Itagaki's original vision, for better or worse. If you're
like me and enjoyed the challenge of the original, you may be disappointed. If you played the original 360 version and was frustrated beyond belief with it, here's your chance to simply enjoy the game without wanting to smash
your controller.

With all that said, let's pretend for a moment that there was never an Xbox 360 version. So, is this a great game? Absolutely! PS3 owners craving some hardcore ninja action should pick this one up asap. It's one of the most action
packed and addictive games I've ever played and wont disappoint! The only reason I gave it 4 stars was because of the subtractions that were made from the Xbox version. Otherwise it would've been perfect!
However, if you also own an Xbox 360 and have this game, the addition of the 3 new playable characters, new game modes and overall changes may not justify your purchase, but I was very pleased overall with the game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than Ninja Gaiden Sigma 1 but..., October 6, 2009
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Ninja Gaiden Sigma 2 (PS3) (Video Game)
Im gonna get right to the point:

Pros:

* The new online feature is SOOO COOOL!!! (you can even play the team mode without been connected to the internet).
* Two new female extra characters for you to control instead of just that stupid blonde girl.
* MUCH more battle environments (Im talking about Tokio city, New York city, Feudal Japan, airplanes, castles, jungles ect...)
* FASTER gameplay (you can access faster to the weapons, health, menu and stages).
* FASTER action and MUCH MORE excitement.
* MORE cool challenges.
* MORE movements and stunts.
* MORE different cool dresses (the original blue ninja dress is still here).
* MORE and COOLER weapons.
* MORE special effects.
* Better story and concept.

Cons:

* The production, graphics and movements are not sooo realistic as the fisrt Ninja Gaiden Sigma.
* The camera angles are not to close to the characters as in the first game.
* This one is a little more easy than the first one.
* The blood and gore was really tuned down.
* Ryu doesn't transform into an "ultimate ninja" like in the first game.

P.S: I don't know anything about the XBOX versions so I only reviewed the Playstation versions.

Adios.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Dragon Ninja Returns..., February 21, 2010
By 
M. Ram (San Jose, CA, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ninja Gaiden Sigma 2 (PS3) (Video Game)
Though I previously played all three iterations of the "new" Ninja Gaiden (Ninja Gaiden and Ninja Gaiden: Black on Xbox, and Ninja Gaiden Sigma on PS3 - which was just prior to playing Sigma 2), I didn't get very far on the 360 version of Ninja Gaiden 2. Ninja Gaiden Sigma 2 keeps many things from the 360 version, but also changes and enhances the experience.

I'll just list a few things I noticed while playing:

-Ryu now does a sort of "dash" to the side to dodge attacks (rather than rolling). I don't know why this was changed, but it's annoying - the dash is slower than the roll, and half the time Ryu either doesn't respond, or worse, goes in the wrong direction. This is sometimes due to the camera angle...

-The camera does a pretty good job for the most part, but there are times when it gets in too close or gives a horrible angle of the action. Many times when fighting a group of enemies (especially those that appear in waves), there will be an enemy right behind you and you won't know it, or you'll be hit by a fireball from way off screen. I actually think it's worse here than in NGS. You learn to deal with it by moving it yourself as the game goes on.

-I might as well get into the graphics issue now. The game is gorgeous overall, both in the new areas and the (few) places you revisit from NGS. The new characters (Rachel, Ayane and Momiji) and enemies look amazing. The bosses, both regular and massive (Statue of Liberty!) are impressive too. As you probably know, much of the blood was removed from the game and replaced with a "purple mist," but there is still a lot of blood here, and at least the mist makes sense (the black spider clan is related to the fiends, right?). You get used to it after a while. Finally, the cinemas in NGS looked bad (as they were ported over from the Xbox versions), but here the cinemas look amazing.

-There is some screen tearing in the game, but it's only occasional. The frame rate is a more frequent problem. Some fights slow down to a crawl. This mainly happens when many enemies are on screen, or when there's a lot going on (ie, if a boss is charging you and you use a ninpo attack to avoid it). It's not a game-breaker, but it does tend to happen a few times in each level.

-I know some players don't like the new weapons, but I really enjoyed them. I never used most of the weapons in NGS other than the Dragon Sword and maybe the Lunar Staff, as most of the rest were too weak or too slow. Here, every weapon has its purpose - I used the scythe on bosses, the chain/sickle on fast/small enemies, the tonfa on human enemies...there are many different attacks and moves you can choose from to suit the situation.

-You now heal most of your damage after every fight, and are limited to a max of three of each curative item (small healing, large healing, and recharging ONE ninpo field). Most chests contain essence, and the save statues heal you the first time you use them, so you should be able to go through the whole game without too much trouble as long as you play intelligently.

-The inferno ninpo is back, and there are three new ones in the game. One summons phoenix to attack your enemies, another fires an energy sphere, and the last shoots wind blades out from your position. As in NGS, you'll mainly use these when surrounded by enemies (wind blades) or in a boss fight to avoid an attack (as you're invincible while you cast magic). Many chests contain red essence to recharge these (the statues only recharge health, not ninpo).

-Most of the new enemies are pretty cool, though you could tell there were constraints in creating them. Many of the same enemies appear over and over, level after level with little variation. A few are carried over from NGS, too; the ghost fish are back, as are the purple fiends and Marbus (the devil-horned boss from the end of the last game). On the one hand, they're easier to defeat thanks to "obliteration techniques": once you slice off a limb, you can kill them with one attack. On the other hand, they can attack you the same way, and many times they appear in several waves of increasing difficulty. Blocking is less successful, and dodging doesn't always get you out of the way of their attacks. Thankfully, the cannon/missile spam has been reduced from NG2, as has the number of enemies in certain sections (which could cause the slowdown).

-The bosses are more interesting than in NGS, but they require less strategy. If you die, you can continue at the beginning of the fight (rather than going back to the save statue). By the third or fourth time, you should have memorized every attack and figured out which weapons/tactics to use, and end up beating them using a minimum of potions. Most of them can be beaten by dodging their charge attack, followed by attacking with your most powerful weapon (the staff, and eventually the scythe). They will still frustrate you though, as dodging is difficult and they will often use a long grab/slam attack that does massive damage. As with the enemies (and a couple of the bosses in NGS), you have to fight them again (yes, ALL of them) in the last few levels, which becomes really tedious.

-The developers added a few levels to NGS where you got to play as Rachel (to spice things up a bit), and have done the same here. Each of three female characters have a dedicated level in the game. In NGS, Rachel's levels were the same as Ryu's (only backwards), and only one enemy was new (the boss, Gamov). In NGS2, the levels are similar to Ryu's, but have branching off points and some new enemies and bosses. The three women play differently - Rachel is slow and is armed with a hammer and gun, Ayane is fast and uses short swords and incendiary shuriken, and Momiji is average and wields a spear and bow. Only Rachel and Ayane's stories are related to the main plot, but Momiji's is interesting to play. Having said that, I wonder why we never get to play as Sonya (the main woman in the plot). There are opportunities where they could have inserted levels featuring her (the airship, and before fighting Alexei - how did he get her anyway?), so this is a disappointment (especially since she starts out strong but ends up as the "damsel in distress"). Also, a mysterious woman appears twice in the game, but we never see her face or are told why she's following our ninjas (in the game at least...I had to look online to find out who she was).

I know I've complained a lot here, but aside from all that, I did find NGS2 an enjoyable experience. It was a good companion piece to the first game, and though the first few hours took some getting used to, I'm glad I decided to give the game another chance...once I was a few chapters in, I found it highly addictive and fun to play! I do think that is there is a third game, there needs to be less slowdown, more enemy variation (and no reused bosses!) and better integration of any other characters you play as (besides Ryu).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars it's worthy, October 2, 2009
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Ninja Gaiden Sigma 2 (PS3) (Video Game)
NG, Black, Sigma, NGII: Team Ninja always delivers and this time Ryu can breathe underwater! Seriously, this is a great game. NGS2 (note the switch from Roman to Arabic numeral) arrives as a true actioner with 17 stages, multiple boss battles, playable Momiji & Ayane, online co-op, and lots of blood spray...wait they removed that. Well, I'm not certain what the thought process was regarding the decision to tone down the violence from the 360 version. It's as nonsensical as the game's story to remove this element, at least from the player's perspective. Nevertheless the experience is fast, fluid, challenging, and just damn fun.
There are issues of course. Screen tearing is much too prevalent for such an otherwise polished game. Also, the level environments are a little sparse meaning the level of detail seems to be showing the age of the game when compared to other recently released titles. However, it's still impressive looking overall. Finally, while I found the difficulty acceptable, some NG fans might think this slightly too forgiving. It's tough, but not punishingly so, presumably to widen the audience a bit. Regardless, if you enjoy straight up, tightly controlled action games with sharp visuals, then look no further. No stealth, no inventory management, and no puzzles, just a lot of unrelenting, satisfying action.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great single player but dreadful multiplayer, August 7, 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ninja Gaiden Sigma 2 (PS3) (Video Game)
This game is all about action, and it has a highly addictive combat system; which is based in the numerous weapons that Ryu can hold. The single player campaign is polished, and the huge amount of mid-boss and bosses is a very nice touch for this genre. Despite the fact that the PS3 version has less blood and gore, it shouldn't be a detriment for not considering this game, especially if you have never played the Xbox 360 version.

Sigma 2 has a co-op multiplayer that in a brochure sounds wonderful, but for some reason the speed connection is very slow, and it can get to a point that it's unplayable. I've played other multiplayer games and have never experienced the lagging that this game has; I really had fun with this game even with its flaws, and would recommend to anyone that enjoys games like God of War and Devil May Cry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Ninja Gaiden Sigma 2 (PS3)
Ninja Gaiden Sigma 2 (PS3) by TechnoMarine (PlayStation 3)
$49.99 $22.90
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.