Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!
First, I just want to say this is just in my personal opinion, I am a Pokemon fan and for other Pokemon fans I would definitely recommend this game I still can't put it down. If you love to capture Pokemon and battle trainers I would recommend this as well.
Published 9 months ago by Dani

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars bad packing on my stuff
love the product but the game was in the same book as 36 cans of muscle milk and a little tablet....the cans were all bent and one of them was busted and was all over the box and the tablet is no good and the box was split at one corner and the game was sticking out by one corner........
Published 6 months ago by suggamomma6


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, May 9, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nintendo Pokemon White Version DS (Video Game)
First, I just want to say this is just in my personal opinion, I am a Pokemon fan and for other Pokemon fans I would definitely recommend this game I still can't put it down. If you love to capture Pokemon and battle trainers I would recommend this as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect Condition, December 19, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nintendo Pokemon White Version DS (Video Game)
Not a scratch or speck of dust on the game nor the case. I'm going to really enjoy playing this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Coming into play after the general disappointment of the 4th Generation, February 12, 2015
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nintendo Pokemon White Version DS (Video Game)
A very positive entry into the series, with a welcome collection of new pokemon, this game does suffer from some serious flaws. Coming into play after the general disappointment of the 4th Generation, 5th Gen. starts off with a lot of expectation, and While I personally enjoyed 4th Gen, I can understand why people felt upset by it. The 4th Gen. was the first pokemon game on the new DS console, and as such, was expected to bring a lot of new material to the table, due to the graphical capacity and dual screen ability of the DS. However, while many were disappointed by 4th Gen, I don't believe that 5th Gen. is the great redeemer of the pokemon franchise, nor the next drop into the depths of bad pokemon games, as many like to believe it to be.

Starting off, the game is beautiful, and utilizes the new 2.5D perspective to show off massive set pieces. not only that, but the sprite art, pokemon, and props are all polished and beautiful, and the new addition of the seasons adds a nice variety to areas. This gives the game a fresh appearance for a new Gen, and leaves the game feeling crisp. The mechanics have also been updated, as the battle system is now much quicker and streamlined, making most battles last only about 10-20 seconds. The leveling system has also been tweaked, and gaining experience and leveling has been made easier, dealing with a large complaint of Gen. 4 about slow gameplay. The introduction of two rivals is also nice, as it presents two characters who you become emotionally attached too, and who help immerse the player. And despite the gripes of many that the pokemon are unoriginal or poorly designed, I found many of the pokemon to be nice addition to the line-up. All of these factors help to create a crisper, quicker, and more immersive game, and it really does set up for a good pokemon game. However, while these are all strong points, the game is not without fault.

To start off with, my biggest gripe is the story. As expected, you start off in a small town and are given a pokemon, with the goal of becoming the very best trainer and completing the pokedex. However, where in other games your rival is very antagonistic from the start, your rivals are now passive. While this does make them more likeable as characters, you don't feel any sense of competition, as you will always be slightly stronger than them, as opposed to other games where your opponent would always be one step ahead. This could've easily been avoided by having Cherin, whose very competitive to start with being slightly higher level than you constantly, he is left weaker, and it really dulls the experience. Not only that, but the main enemy, Team Plasma, isn't very interesting, and while their ideal of pokemon liberation is a nice deviation from the norm, their actions come off as hypocritical and whiny. Not only that, but many of their actions seem contrary or aimless, and their dialog ends up being mostly repetitive and nagging. By the end, the story, outside of the gym leaders and rivals, seems intrusive and forced, and the excess of dialog weighs the game down severely. Not only that, but the inability to fish until the Elite Four has been beaten is a glaring flaw, as this leaves few water pokemon before surf is acquired. Not only that, but the much higher spawn rate, while not as bad due to fast battles, becomes annoying as the player is bogged down constantly when backtracking.

Still, the game does provide some nice new mechanics, interesting characters, and pretty areas, and while it is flawed in someways, it's still a good game. I would recommend it for any fan of the series, and although in many ways the sequel is better, this game is still very good for the price. This game gets my rating of "Finish It!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No Complaints, February 20, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nintendo Pokemon White Version DS (Video Game)
I gave this as a gift. Recipient says it works great & she enjoys the game a lot. It came with a bonus Pokémon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I like that he doesn't get frustrated while playing this game ..., July 3, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nintendo Pokemon White Version DS (Video Game)
My 10 year old can't put this down. He really enjoys playing the game. I like that he doesn't get frustrated while playing this game unlike most new games he gets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!, June 24, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nintendo Pokemon White Version DS (Video Game)
This arrived so quickly, I wondered if the supplier lived in the same state (but didn't)! It was packaged well and included an invoice. The product's condition (collectible, like new) was exactly as described, and my son was THRILLED that the previous owner had caught so many awesome Pokemon that would have taken years for him to catch! All in all, this was one of the best video game purchases I've ever made, esp. for the price! (Game Stop and Hastings both wanted $10 more, and that didn't include anything but the game disc.) This was BETTER than buying a new game by far!!! THANK YOU!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars bad packing on my stuff, August 10, 2014
This review is from: Nintendo Pokemon White Version DS (Video Game)
love the product but the game was in the same book as 36 cans of muscle milk and a little tablet....the cans were all bent and one of them was busted and was all over the box and the tablet is no good and the box was split at one corner and the game was sticking out by one corner........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Solid plot for the first time, August 28, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nintendo Pokemon White Version DS (Video Game)
This is probably the first Pokemon game where I've actually enjoyed the plot. Every other Pokemon game is just, snag all of the pokes, and then make a boss team. This one was different though. I wish more Pokemon games followed this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars White 1, February 28, 2015
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nintendo Pokemon White Version DS (Video Game)
I have White 2 and had been looking for White 1 online and at the game stores in my area, this was the best offer and so I got it. Like all pokemon games, so not much of a need for recaping the story. Love it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just amazing. It left an event Pokémon, September 23, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nintendo Pokemon White Version DS (Video Game)
Just amazing. It left an event Pokémon, Keldeo, in Box 1, so I was able to get unable-to-get-now Pokémon! Lagless, glitchless, so it is awesome!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Nintendo Pokemon White Version DS
Nintendo Pokemon White Version DS by Nintendo (Nintendo DS)
$46.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.