Prime Music Sweepstakes egg_2015 All-New Amazon Fire TV Beauty Gifts Gifts for Her Amazon Gift Card Offer cm15 cm15 cm15 $30 Off Amazon Echo $30 Off Fire HD 6 Kindle Cyber Monday Deals Entertainment Collectibles Outdoor Deals on DOTD Automotive Holiday Deals Books Gift Guide Books Gift Guide Shop Men's Athletic Shoes Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon

Price:$44.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on May 9, 2014
First, I just want to say this is just in my personal opinion, I am a Pokemon fan and for other Pokemon fans I would definitely recommend this game I still can't put it down. If you love to capture Pokemon and battle trainers I would recommend this as well.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on December 19, 2013
Not a scratch or speck of dust on the game nor the case. I'm going to really enjoy playing this.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on August 28, 2014
This is probably the first Pokemon game where I've actually enjoyed the plot. Every other Pokemon game is just, snag all of the pokes, and then make a boss team. This one was different though. I wish more Pokemon games followed this.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on February 28, 2015
I have White 2 and had been looking for White 1 online and at the game stores in my area, this was the best offer and so I got it. Like all pokemon games, so not much of a need for recaping the story. Love it
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on February 20, 2014
I gave this as a gift. Recipient says it works great & she enjoys the game a lot. It came with a bonus Pokémon.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 3, 2014
My 10 year old can't put this down. He really enjoys playing the game. I like that he doesn't get frustrated while playing this game unlike most new games he gets.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 24, 2014
This arrived so quickly, I wondered if the supplier lived in the same state (but didn't)! It was packaged well and included an invoice. The product's condition (collectible, like new) was exactly as described, and my son was THRILLED that the previous owner had caught so many awesome Pokemon that would have taken years for him to catch! All in all, this was one of the best video game purchases I've ever made, esp. for the price! (Game Stop and Hastings both wanted $10 more, and that didn't include anything but the game disc.) This was BETTER than buying a new game by far!!! THANK YOU!!!!!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 5, 2015
I missed 5th Gen so I was at least intrigued to see how it was.
Story was great, gameplay was good, as well as glad there were more steel and dragon types now, only thing that was eh was the weird 7 to 8 level jump in the post-game after beating the Elite 4(who were 48-54). Other than that, great game overall
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on February 12, 2015
A very positive entry into the series, with a welcome collection of new pokemon, this game does suffer from some serious flaws. Coming into play after the general disappointment of the 4th Generation, 5th Gen. starts off with a lot of expectation, and While I personally enjoyed 4th Gen, I can understand why people felt upset by it. The 4th Gen. was the first pokemon game on the new DS console, and as such, was expected to bring a lot of new material to the table, due to the graphical capacity and dual screen ability of the DS. However, while many were disappointed by 4th Gen, I don't believe that 5th Gen. is the great redeemer of the pokemon franchise, nor the next drop into the depths of bad pokemon games, as many like to believe it to be.

Starting off, the game is beautiful, and utilizes the new 2.5D perspective to show off massive set pieces. not only that, but the sprite art, pokemon, and props are all polished and beautiful, and the new addition of the seasons adds a nice variety to areas. This gives the game a fresh appearance for a new Gen, and leaves the game feeling crisp. The mechanics have also been updated, as the battle system is now much quicker and streamlined, making most battles last only about 10-20 seconds. The leveling system has also been tweaked, and gaining experience and leveling has been made easier, dealing with a large complaint of Gen. 4 about slow gameplay. The introduction of two rivals is also nice, as it presents two characters who you become emotionally attached too, and who help immerse the player. And despite the gripes of many that the pokemon are unoriginal or poorly designed, I found many of the pokemon to be nice addition to the line-up. All of these factors help to create a crisper, quicker, and more immersive game, and it really does set up for a good pokemon game. However, while these are all strong points, the game is not without fault.

To start off with, my biggest gripe is the story. As expected, you start off in a small town and are given a pokemon, with the goal of becoming the very best trainer and completing the pokedex. However, where in other games your rival is very antagonistic from the start, your rivals are now passive. While this does make them more likeable as characters, you don't feel any sense of competition, as you will always be slightly stronger than them, as opposed to other games where your opponent would always be one step ahead. This could've easily been avoided by having Cherin, whose very competitive to start with being slightly higher level than you constantly, he is left weaker, and it really dulls the experience. Not only that, but the main enemy, Team Plasma, isn't very interesting, and while their ideal of pokemon liberation is a nice deviation from the norm, their actions come off as hypocritical and whiny. Not only that, but many of their actions seem contrary or aimless, and their dialog ends up being mostly repetitive and nagging. By the end, the story, outside of the gym leaders and rivals, seems intrusive and forced, and the excess of dialog weighs the game down severely. Not only that, but the inability to fish until the Elite Four has been beaten is a glaring flaw, as this leaves few water pokemon before surf is acquired. Not only that, but the much higher spawn rate, while not as bad due to fast battles, becomes annoying as the player is bogged down constantly when backtracking.

Still, the game does provide some nice new mechanics, interesting characters, and pretty areas, and while it is flawed in someways, it's still a good game. I would recommend it for any fan of the series, and although in many ways the sequel is better, this game is still very good for the price. This game gets my rating of "Finish It!"
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 10, 2014
love the product but the game was in the same book as 36 cans of muscle milk and a little tablet....the cans were all bent and one of them was busted and was all over the box and the tablet is no good and the box was split at one corner and the game was sticking out by one corner........
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 6 answered questions

Customers who viewed this also viewed
Pokemon - Black Version
Pokemon - Black Version by Nintendo (Nintendo DS)

Pokemon White Version
Pokemon White Version by Nintendo (Nintendo DS)

Pokémon White Version 2
Pokémon White Version 2 by Nintendo (Nintendo DS)

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.