Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just a Cup of Tea
Barbara Hamilton has written a wonderful book to kick off her new mystery series. "The Ninth Daughter," set in Massachusetts in the 1770's, is a book about a serial killer loose in Boston and its environs, a case where a smart and somewhat progressive woman is the sleuth. That woman is Abigail Adams, the wife of John Adams, who will be the second president of the United...
Published on February 25, 2010 by Jim Duggins, Ph.D.

versus
8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cozies make me uncomfortable
This book is written by a seasoned pro, Barbara Hambly, under a new name, so I don't feel guilty about complaining a little.

It's an excellent cosy with a fine sense of historical place. You can see -- and smell -- pre-Revolutionary Boston from the very first sentence.

At the same time, it's a twentieth-century serial killer novel dumped into the...
Published on March 15, 2010 by James M. Rawley


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just a Cup of Tea, February 25, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Ninth Daughter (An Abigail Adams Mystery) (Paperback)
Barbara Hamilton has written a wonderful book to kick off her new mystery series. "The Ninth Daughter," set in Massachusetts in the 1770's, is a book about a serial killer loose in Boston and its environs, a case where a smart and somewhat progressive woman is the sleuth. That woman is Abigail Adams, the wife of John Adams, who will be the second president of the United States. With Abigail as protagonist, the novel introduces a handful of other illustrious Colonial Americans: Tories and Whigs, Colonials and Royals, Calvinists and Catholics, etc.

The strength of this novel, in my opinion, is its historical accuracy and the delightful unfolding of the plot and its back stories. The story begins on the eve of the revolution and key players are representatives from the Crown and the "Sons of Liberty" (John Adams, Paul Revere, et al.). We are treated to visits to a small village a day away from Boston inhabited by Christian fundamentalists and see the protestant hatred for "papists". The Abigail Adams of this book relates well to a great variety of people sometimes using her gender as a buffer against hostility. Her friendship with a Redcoat Lieutenant and his Sergeant allow her a source, sometimes entre, to clues in solving the murders. Those characters sometimes are a backdrop when her husband (a prominent member of the Sons of Liberty) is in the room. Author Hamilton weaves these personalities and their points of view together in a living drama with great finesse and the real "feelings" of a nation in turmoil. We are aware that the preparation for the famous Boston Tea Party is a constant background throughout the book.

It is, however, how the book "works" as a novel that is the proof of the pudding in historical fiction. I admire the way in which author Hamilton crafted this book, i.e., sentence structure and the historical authenticity of language. Ms. Hamilton uses language to great advantage in that way. This is a book in which you'll frequently look away from the page and think, "what a great way to say that": e.g.,"with an Irish brogue that could have been cut like cheese with a wire;" "yet outside of Boston, the veneer of England vanished like an early frost," and "Wind as sharp as broken oyster shells." There are just a few of the many many examples of figurative language that keeps the prose so fresh and imaginative.

The denouement, the ending solutions, are so hidden and surprising, you'll be amazed at that twist, too. "The Ninth Daughter" by Barbara Hamilton is a great new book and I look forward to the next in the series. If you like American Colonial Historical Fiction, this is one that should be next on your reading list.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A bridge to the past, November 4, 2009
I have had a longstanding passion for John and Abigail Adams and the colonial period in general. This wonderful mystery has everything--details of the times, a great sense of the complexity and ambiguity of the politics of revolution, a well constructed mystery, and resonance between the present and the past. Abigail is an indominable feminist, but within the context of her times. The characters are as real to me as John Adams was after reading McCullough's biography. This was a great read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What a Blooper!, March 10, 2012
By 
Holly Adiele (Sunnyside, WA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Ninth Daughter (An Abigail Adams Mystery) (Paperback)
I just recently discovered Barbara Hamilton's mystery series featuring Abigail Adams, have read two of the first three books, and am enjoying them very much. Skimming the many reader reviews of the first title (The Ninth Daughter), I agreed with much of what was said -- both positive and negative. Yes, the plot is a bit over-complicated, the cast of characters is quite large, the characters often think in modern ways, etc. But her re-creations of 1770's Boston, pre-Revolutionary politics, Adams family life, and Abigail's character are colorful and engaging.
However, just as I was really enjoying the book, I began to notice what seems to me to be a huge historical blooper! (No, it's not important to the plot, and yes, I am a retired junior high history teacher, but come on, Hamilton, you obviously did a lot of historical research! How could you get this so wrong?)
The author falls into a common pattern of softening John Adams's rather thorny character (after all, he's Abigail's beloved) and exaggerating the equally thorny character of his cousin Sam Adams. Okay, I can live with that -- but I can't swallow Hamilton's making Sam Adams a slave owner -- and an owner who uses his slave Surry as his concubine to boot! [See pages 162 and 173 of the paperback edition.]
Quoting from the latest, extensively researched biography of Sam Adams (Samuel Adams, by John K. Alexander, a professor at the University of Cincinnati, 2011, Rowman & Littlefield Publishers) -- "One of his relatives recounted how Samuel responded in the mid-1760s when his wife received a young black female slave as a present. He said that no slave could live in his house; if Surry came, she must be free.... Surry entered the Adams home as a free woman, and, as another Adams relative testified, she lived as a servant in the Adams family for decades."
I really appreciate the Hamilton's inclusion of gender, class, and race in her narrative, but I think when an author uses historical characters in her novel, she has an obligation not to misrepresent them. Sam Adams might have been a radical revolutionary, but he was not a slave owner!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cozies make me uncomfortable, March 15, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Ninth Daughter (An Abigail Adams Mystery) (Paperback)
This book is written by a seasoned pro, Barbara Hambly, under a new name, so I don't feel guilty about complaining a little.

It's an excellent cosy with a fine sense of historical place. You can see -- and smell -- pre-Revolutionary Boston from the very first sentence.

At the same time, it's a twentieth-century serial killer novel dumped into the eighteenth century. Though there are no blatant anachronisms, the characters speak of what "the killer" would do, discuss (in other language) how serial murderers can't quit, and freak out about cults of religious fanatics in a modern urban agnostic -- not an eighteenth century deistic -- way.

MILD SPOILERS FOLLOW

On at least two occasions the plot is forced to the point of near-explosion. Early on Abigail Adams is caught burglarizing the home of a self-righteous Tory, with the help of his own house slave. Because she has turned up some letters that show the owner trusted his daughter too much, he spares both Adams and the slave, and indeed changes his entire character just because the plot needs him to do that. Later on, Abigail Adams wanders through a dreadful wilderness in a way no woman of her class, feminist or not, could have managed. The author barely mentions what clothes Adams is wearing; if the clothes had been focused on, Abigail Adams's trudge through dark, wet woods in them would have appeared even more absurd than it does.

Meanwhile, with the Boston Tea Party coming up and every main American character in the book under suspicion of capital sedition, Adams and a conveniently plot-forced British lieutenant investigage a murder as if they were partners on CSI or LAW AND ORDER. There is no way in heck the murder investigation (which the author is right in saying would be the official concern of the military or no one) would not have been put on the back burner while the lieutenant decided if his "partner" -- Abigail Adams -- should be served tea or sent directly to jail.

The author ducks or works around all these problems intelligently, and it's pleasant to feel old Boston and see the cosy crime get solved. But the plot-carpentry is always obvious, and every time the reader sees it, the plot gets boring. That's the problem with most cosies, if not with all of them, so I can't complain too much, and I still think the book is worth three stars. I liked it better when I thought it was a professional historian's first try at a mystery novel. As a seasoned genre novelist's work, it's a tiny touch cynical.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars the Ninth Daughter by Barbara Hamilton, December 2, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Barbara Hamilton sets her first in a series of historical mysteries, The Ninth Daughter, right in the middle of an emerging new nation in revolutionary Boston. All the historical figures are placed in this setting including Sam Adams, Paul Revere, John Adams and of course Abigail Adams. The Sons of Liberty, a secret group fighting against the taxation of the British and for their freedom play a prominent role in this enjoyable mystery. Abigail Adams on her way to visit a friend, Rebecca, who is associated with helping the Sons of Liberty group, discovers Rebecca missing and the body of a dead woman. The woman is later identified as Perdita Pentyre, the mistress of a British Colonel. What was she doing at Rebecca's place of residence? What happened to the list of the members of the Sons of Liberty and their aliases? When Abigail's husband, John, is accused of the murder Abigail must use her acute observation powers and do everything possible to find the murderer and her friend Rebecca. Barbara Hamilton's first in this series of historical mysteries will leave you looking forward to the next book, especially if you are an aficionado of the Revolutionary Period in our history and Abigail Adams.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Abigail Adams Plays Sleuth, February 27, 2011
By 
L. M Young (Marietta, GA USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Ninth Daughter (An Abigail Adams Mystery) (Paperback)
Abigail Adams arrives at the home of Rebecca Malvern and knows immediately, frighteningly, that something is wrong. Rebecca, a woman who contributes to the causes of the Sons of Liberty, and who lives in poverty since being driven away from her wealthy husband by his jealous children, has vanished and another woman is murdered and horribly mutilated in her kitchen. Later the Sons of Liberty cover up the murder evidence because Rebecca knew too many secrets about them--and John Adams himself becomes one of the suspects in the murder. It is up to Abigail and British Lieutenant Coldstone to find the murderer as well as Rebecca--if the latter is still alive.

Despite some of the slightly improbable situations Abigail is involved in, including scoping out a strict religious colony with faithful Sergeant Muldoon, Hamilton brings daily life in Revolutionary-era Boston and the outlying towns of Massachusetts Bay come alive. Aspects of everyday living, politics, and religion are vividly portrayed. Hamilton's Boston is populated by characters both good and bad, some facing universal problems: people who marry into a family who resent them, spoiled children, abusive religious leaders, adults with problem parents. She creates British characters who are fully realized, not just two-dimensional enemies of those who seek a break with the British monarchy. Abigail is also an appealing protagonist who must juggle her investigations, her friendships, her household duties, and her role as wife and mother.

Please note that this book, while looking like a "cozy" because of its setting and protagonist, does contain some strong, unflinching scenes of violence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More history than mystery?, July 3, 2012
By 
Jean H (North Carolina) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Ninth Daughter (An Abigail Adams Mystery) (Paperback)
I thought this was going to be a "cozy" mystery, which I define as being a light, quick read, with a relatively small cast of characters, and an unfortunate murder that takes place off-stage. Instead, we open with the main character finding a body that has been mutilated with gory precision. In short: this and other details make this book NOT a cozy mystery. As another reviewer mentioned, there are too many characters to keep track of easily, and the plot is so convoluted that a trail of bread crumbs is needed to find the way back.

The author obviously knows the time period very well, and the description of 1773 Boston is very detailed. However, even this fact is overplayed. Historical detail and description is like seasoning to a chef: used sparingly and judiciously, it gives the dish a wonderful pinch of spice. Used too strongly, it overwhelms the food and buries the natural flavors. In this book, excessive historical detail overwhelms the story and distracts the reader from the mystery; I was wondering if I was reading a novel or a primer on life in colonial Boston.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars History and fiction at their best!, February 15, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Ninth Daughter (An Abigail Adams Mystery) (Paperback)
I greatly enjoyed this novel, picking it up because of its main character, Abigal Adams. Midway through I realized that my knowledge of the period was built upon a foundation aquired when just a child. I googled the sons of liberty and began to re-acquant myself with this very important time in my country's history. My early pictures of the people and times were very black and white [British the bad guys and colonists the good guys]. I had not understood those historical figures as people of that era struggling with some of the same issues that we deal with today. Barbara Hamilton does this so well and took me to the streets of Boston as a most momentous event was to occur, yet reminded me that regular life and events were occuring at the same time. It is always the sign of a great book that we are moved to broaden our knowledge and to reorganize our thinking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I Wanted to Like This Historical Mystery More than I Did, January 18, 2013
By 
Mark Baker (Santa Clarita, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Fall is turning into winter in 1773 Boston. Tension is in the air thanks to the new tax on tea and the patriots who are now refusing to pay it or drink it.

In the midst of this tension, Abigail Adams goes to see her friend Rebecca Malvern and discovers a dead woman on the floor of Mrs. Malvern's house. The woman is a stranger. Who could she be? Why was she killed here? And where has Mrs. Malvern gone? When Abigail's husband John becomes the chief suspect, Abigail begins to hunt not only for her friend but the killer to clear her husband's name.

I love historical mysteries and the American Revolution, so as soon as I heard about this series, I knew I'd enjoy reading it. Unfortunately, it didn't live up to the promise. While the main characters were interesting and felt real, I had a hard time getting into the book. The writing, while trying to capture the feel of the time, was actually a bit of a deterrent to me.

And the plot wasn't as strong as I was expecting either. I didn't feel it was overly complicated. In fact, I found it annoyingly simple, and I kept reading hoping to be proved wrong. While I didn't see the motive coming, I felt like I should have.

Having said that, the ending was tense, and I was pulled into it. That's why I'm giving it 3 stars instead of 2.

And, despite the look, I agree with the others that this is not a cozy. There are some pretty intense descriptions of violence over the course of the book.

I don't think I will give this series another chance, which is very disappointing. And it leaves me wondering if I want to try the series she writes as Barbara Hambly, which has been on my to be read list for years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First in mystery series about Abigail Adams is engrossing read, January 12, 2010
The Ninth Daughter by Barbara Hamilton is the first in a historical mystery series starring Abigail Adams. Abigail stumbles upon a brutal murder of a mysterious woman when she stops to visit her friend, Rebecca Malvern. Before alerting the watch to the death, she informs Sam Adams and the other Sons of Liberty because Rebecca was a contact within the organization. In the course of ensuring that the British authorities won't discover any information about the revolutionary group, they destroy much of the evidence. Abigail is so enraged at the idea of the murderer escaping justice that she starts investigating the crime herself, especially when she discovers that Rebecca has disappeared and may have fled the scene because she recognized the man. Perhaps he is a Son of Liberty, putting the entire group under suspicion. Abigail must work with a British lieutenant when her husband John is arrested for the crime. This murder may put the entire American cause in jeopardy. Hamilton has done her research about the life of Adams and fills the pages with many real people along with historical detail that brings 1774 Boston to life. Hamilton also portrays Adams remarkably well and by making the crime one that threatens friends and family makes her interference in the investigation realistic. Those familiar with Adams will be pleased by the portrayal, and those who aren't will be intrigued by this spunky, smart Founding Mother. I can't wait to read the next book in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Ninth Daughter (An Abigail Adams Mystery)
The Ninth Daughter (An Abigail Adams Mystery) by Barbara Hamilton (Paperback - September 29, 2009)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.