Customer Reviews


57 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "My Second Favorite All-Time TV Drama"
"Nip/Tuck-The Complete Series" hits DVD store shelves November 2, 2010. For six amazing seasons Julian MacMahon and Dylan Walsh made viewers laugh, cry, and be anxious as we watched week after week the trials and tribulations that Christian and Sean got themselves embroiled in. Never before had television so graphically and intellectually dramatized people's infatuation...
Published on August 13, 2010 by Terrance Richard

versus
14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Buy the first two seasons - you may not want the entire series.
First, I would like to start off by saying that the first two seasons of Nip/Tuck is some of the best television drama of all-time. It is gritty, real, intense, absolutely crazy without being too over the top, and the characters are relatable. The acting is so superb and the "bromance" between Sean and Christian is one of the best I have ever seen on television. If you...
Published on April 21, 2012 by D. C. Obraztsov


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "My Second Favorite All-Time TV Drama", August 13, 2010
By 
Terrance Richard "Terry Richard" (Fredericton, New Brunswick, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Nip/Tuck: The Complete Series (DVD)
"Nip/Tuck-The Complete Series" hits DVD store shelves November 2, 2010. For six amazing seasons Julian MacMahon and Dylan Walsh made viewers laugh, cry, and be anxious as we watched week after week the trials and tribulations that Christian and Sean got themselves embroiled in. Never before had television so graphically and intellectually dramatized people's infatuation with looking beautiful by "going under the knife". Christian and Sean were not only intelligent and gorgeous-looking doctors, but were real human beings who sometimes had more problems than their patients.

Ryan Murphy, the creator, writer, and executive producer of "Nip/Tuck" proved he was a total genius with this series. His writing was always entertaining, yet educational and some of the cases depicted were actually based on real-life people. It is no wonder that Ryan would go on to helping create another hit show with FOX's "Glee".

"Nip/Tuck" also had a supporting cast that was as good as the leads and included Kelly Carlson, John Hensley, and Joley Richardson. Some huge Hollywood names were added to the cast as the years progressed in guest-roles including Vanessa Redgrave, Rosie O'Donnell, Mario Lopez, Joan Rivers, and most importantly Sharon Gless who played a psycho, based on Annie Wiles, in the fifth season.

This wonderful box set includes all 100 widescreen episodes of the series, along with all the bonus features that were part of the individual sets. These bonuses are gag reels, deleted scenes, and featurettes. Unfortuantely, no new bonuses are included in this "complete set", but if you haven't bought any "Nip/Tuck" DVD's this is a great place to start: the pricing is very affordable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Buy the first two seasons - you may not want the entire series., April 21, 2012
This review is from: Nip/Tuck: The Complete Series (DVD)
First, I would like to start off by saying that the first two seasons of Nip/Tuck is some of the best television drama of all-time. It is gritty, real, intense, absolutely crazy without being too over the top, and the characters are relatable. The acting is so superb and the "bromance" between Sean and Christian is one of the best I have ever seen on television. If you are into shows with more "gray" characters than black and white, break lots of taboos, and have quite a bit of graphic plastic surgery in it, then you will love this.

However, after the first two seasons, everything went downhill. While the first two seasons were filled with bizarre story lines, they were backed by real emotions and motives. From season 3 forward, it turned into more of a very odd plastic surgery soap opera. The crazy story lines seemed to come out of nowhere and felt really forced; like they were begging for attention. The magic was just *lost.* I continued to watch the rest of the series because of my dedication to the show, but it just continuously got worse. The move from Miami to LA didn't help either.

The first two seasons are worth every penny, but I would not recommend buying this entire six series collection. Buy the first two, and then try to rent or Netflix the rest of the seasons, because even if you are able to stand them, you may not have a desire to ever re-watch them again. This show going from the top of its game to the bottom was so depressing. But definitely give the first couple of seasons a shot - you won't reget it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 32 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant First Two Seasons - Went Downhill From There Until a Sad, Abysmal Ending, October 22, 2011
By 
This review is from: Nip/Tuck: The Complete Series (DVD)
Seasons 1 and 2 of Nip/Tuck were brilliant. And I mean it. I think the writing was one of the best in television history: intelligent, engaging, thought provoking, edgy and just breathtaking. It set the standard for TV dramas and writing in all subsequent years if you ask me. The story lines were believable yet provocative and the topics picked were right at the heart of the matter. Because the characters were written with so much depth, layer and nuances, their struggles were believable and the audience could identify and often sympathize. For the first two years I really believed this to have been the best TV drama I had ever seen.

Unfortunately, it all went downhill starting Season 3. I dont know if they changed writers or just got blinded by their success and didnt try as hard, but Nip/Tuck made a downhill run starting in Season 3 until the abysmal failure which was the last season: increasingly improbable, far fetched situations that take the notion of suspending disbelief to new heights, bad to no character development (at least not one that is believable), unimaginative writing that is all over the place, everyone acting supremely out of character...I could go on with more examples. There just wasn't much depth in the characters later on and in fact at some point they became a parody of themselves it seems. The writers took the "sudden twists" in plot development that were gripping and enticing in the first two seasons and sprinkled them excessively in every episode to the point where it became almost ridiculous. While in the beginning they used those sparingly to get the desired effect, it was just overdone in later seasons - ultimately causing the show to lose exactly what it tried to accomplish.

As mentioned above, people behaving out of character was another prominent feature of the later seasons:

Yes, Christian Troy is a womanizer and playboy who loves luxury, hot girls and shiny cars, but he is also a wounded soul, a caring man who deep down has demons to fight while at the same time trying to hold on to certain principles he would never relinquish. In later seasons, they just turned him into a vile, ruthless, unsympathetic, one dimensional animal who is lacking a moral center. While he had some endearing qualities in the beginning, he had none in the end. He was a weak, mean coward who lost his edge and humanity.

Sean, who was always the thoughtful, loyal, dedicated and responsible person and especially father, was turned into a big time jerk and sex maniac in the later seasons - a man who had no interest in his family and his children and who slept around and used people.

The same is true with most of the characters really. Julia, (Joely Richardson), was a driving force in this series. Her struggles of wanting to go to med school and being more than just a house wife, as well as her subdued, unspoken love and attraction for Christian were an important relationship and plot element. Gradually, she made fewer and fewer appearances, however, became a lesbian at some point (yeah right) - stating she had always been one - and then she sort of disappeared for extended periods of time without explanation or closure. Her passion for medical school and her own life were never even touched upon again and she herself disappeared into obscurity. That was sad, because Julia's presence and the tensions that had developed between her, Christian and Sean were at the heart of the show and its drama. They spent two years building all that up just to drop the subject altogether and never revisit it again.

Speaking of unresolved: Gina just completely disappeared at some point without explanation and then came back just to die in the most absurd, ridiculous way you can imagine: she fell during sex out of the balcony. I really thought they were kidding and this was just someone's day dream or imagination but lo and behold, that was it: she really fell off the balcony during sex. Not only was that ridiculous but also sad in a way and just insulting to what the writers had done with the character in the first place. I always found Gina very fascinating and tragic; the self destruction, low self esteem, the fact that she was Wilbur's mother and her battle with HIV. Her character was filled with potential and they just let her fizzle out and then die in this embarrassing, trashy manner. Totally insulting. I wonder what Christian will tell Wilbur when he asks about his mother one day.

There is also Kimber, another deeply tragic character who ended up being very underutilized given the potential the writers had with her. They did an amazing job exposing her self destructive tendencies and low self esteem, but then just like that, they dropped her and she too became a two-dimensional paper doll and a cliché. Christian marries her on and off over the seasons, but nothing in their dynamic with each other changes. She doesnt develop as a character for either the better or the worst. I saw a glimpse of hope when she got that abortion and it turned out she could never have kids again - gosh that entire plot segment was filled with potential for her character and the implications of that for Christian - but instead of keeping going on that strong note, they just dropped it and let it fade away. The same thing happened when she died. Did she commit suicide? Is she dead? Is she alive? What exactly happened? We never find out. Her death was not remarkable to anyone - which it should have and could have been had the writers not been so busy making up far fetched bogus stories.

There is also that entire plot of Christian marrying Liz. Speak of behaving out of character: Liz always held herself and others to the highest standards. She had a disdain for Chrstian's superficiality and how he used and treated women and she was fully aware of it too. She would *never* have stooped to his level and married him. That was just not her. But they put it in the script and made her whine after Christian and it was ridiculous.

If these were changes in plot and character the writers intended, they should have gone about it in a different way (even though there is no excuse for some of the outlandish plot twists they introduced). People dont just change overnight and fiction or not, you still have to adhere to certain rules such as character consistency within a plot. Sean was portrayed from the beginning on as a hard working, ethical, dedicated father. It is completely out of character for him to suddenly turn into a vile jerk who uses women and doesnt care about his kids. Liz would never have fallen for Christian's sweet talk and married him and then pine away after him, that is ridiculous - not to mention that she is a lesbian.

Of course it is possible for people to change but there has to be evidence for it in the story and plot and not simply because the script says so. The later seasons are drizzled with even more such inconsistencies, which is a sign of bad writing more than one of just things having changed due to the circumstances the characters find themselves . Acting out of character is not character development.

Finally, changing the setting from Miami to L.A. aided in ruining the show completely. The L.A. setting made them be nothing but a bunch of cheap, trashy, run of the mill Beverly Hills plastic surgeons trying to find a way to sell out to the media by humiliating themselves - sort of like the Kardassians. There is some kind of a mystery, sexiness and just boldness to Miami which L.A.'s theme-park commercialism lacks. In the show, L.A. was portrayed as a den for greedy TV producers and dumb people with non-existent moral codes willing to do anything for a dollar, a d-- ck and a dream. McNamara and Troy just became pawns in that scheme and the stories shifted from them to Los Angeles, the dirt of that town and the despicable people roaming it (to the point of stereotyping the city). That was a bad move which, in my opinion, pretty much sealed Nip/Tuck's ruin and reduced its quality to just any other forgettable TV show you hope to end.

The bottom line is that after the success of the first two seasons, the show's producers and writers put the characters into increasingly more improbable situations to the point of turning them into clichés of themselves and the show as such; coupled with the issues mentioned above - such as character inconsistency and poor, chaotic plot development - the result has been that over time a serious disconnect has been created and once you have too many of those disconnects, you lose credibility. And I think that is the main breaking point in the end: the show lost a lot of credibility, unintentionally became a farce of itself and with that it lost the edge and brilliance that made it so amazing and intense in the first place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best Show of the 2000's, December 18, 2014
By 
J.F. (Montebello, ca, US) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Nip/Tuck: The Complete Series (DVD)
This has to be one of the best shows produced in the 2000's decade. Real life situations with real life decisions. If you are new to the show I advise to start watching from Season 4 to the Finale. You can go back to Season 1-3 . Season 1 and 2 were relatively entertaining but too slow. Season 3 had a nice murder twist plot added to story line. With Season 4 you witness a new Christian Troy and Sean McNamara. Once is calm and the other is wild. I actually think the first 2 seasons were slow but a good way to get to know the characters. Season 4 took the show into a new avenue of entertainment. Christian Troy's narcissism is in a new dimension but he still maintains his gentleman class. Overall the greatest components to this show are the characters experiencing real life situations and not always doing the fairy tale right decision. You can say a positive attribution about the show is that it has many layers of plots and a season for anyone to enjoy. One commentator hails the first 2 seasons as the greatest while I say the show really gets better and entertaining from Season 4 to the finale. Keep in mind the show plays great 70's and 80's music so if you are from that generation the music entices the scenes that much more. Christian Troy is a bad ass! I miss this show!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars what can I sat about this show but/wow holy crap, November 30, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nip/Tuck: The Complete Series (DVD)
This show took cable television waves by storm It was Like watching a mature Porn that not only had actors willing to bare all but act really good in the provacative drama
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Troy/McNamara - Great Duo!, December 30, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nip/Tuck: The Complete Series (DVD)
This series had me from episode one! All the seasons were great, EXCEPT the last 4 episodes of the last and final season. It felt rushed and it just seemed the writers were tying up lose ends with no rhyme or reason The last 2 episodes were drawn out in the last season and it ended with a whimper and not a bang. Personally, the series started and progressed with bangs, but the last season kinda whimpered out for me (even with the great acting), but I still love the series. Troy/McNamara was a terrific yin and yang duo!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This show is nuts!, May 22, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nip/Tuck: The Complete Series (DVD)
I watched this series through highschool and college. It's dark and very few of the characters possess too many redeeming qualities. The stories get crazy, providing a nice break from reality. It;s a good show though. Definitely out of the norm.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Seasons 1-4---ADDICTING, May 20, 2014
By 
This review is from: Nip/Tuck: The Complete Series (DVD)
My five star rating is for seasons 1-4, ONLY. I would rate season 5, & probably season 6, too, with negative zeros.
I never heard of or watched this show while it was on TV, but I'm currently unemployed & found the entire series, all six seasons, on Netflix. I was literally addicted to the first four seasons--could not stop watching.
Seasons 1 & 2 were the absolute best. Seasons 3&4 were also very good, although by mid season 4 I began to feel it was starting to be a bit over the top with the whole "Carver" story investigation. However, I began watching season five--barely getting through the first few episodes-- and I simply can not watch another minute because it's like an entirely different show, NOT AT ALL like the previous seasons. Not even close. From what I've seen, season 5 was more like an incredibly BAD daytime soap. The characters were completely unrecognizable, not at all even close to the same people they were during the previous seasons. In addition, the entire atmosphere & setting were completely "off" as well-- not at all close to the "feel" of the first 4 seasons--It literally even "looked" like a different show to me.
I was very disappointed because I was really looking forward to watching the last two seasons, but, since I can't bring myself to watch even one more minute of a really great show gone horribly wrong--I'm going to try to forget what I've seen of season 5 and pretend it ended at the end of season 4 & call it a day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nip/tuck, May 5, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nip/Tuck: The Complete Series (DVD)
Thanks love the series lots of twists and turn and after each esipode is like what!!! Ready to go to the show love the series thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Series!!!, February 8, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nip/Tuck: The Complete Series (DVD)
i have watched this whole series now wher i couldnt before and i loved every second!! the price was amazing compared to other online places and plan on watching it again real soon. it your looking for a great show to get into then this is the one!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Nip/Tuck: The Complete Series
Nip/Tuck: The Complete Series by Various (DVD - 2010)
$198.70 $100.20
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.