Customer Reviews


180 Reviews
5 star:
 (127)
4 star:
 (37)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


41 of 41 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars No End in Sight (2008)
You ask yourself, another Foreigner compilation? Yes, indeed! No End in Sight is a double disc set covering 31 years of Foreigner, including a couple of live tracks from the current lineup. Yes, there are a couple of double disc sets out there, but this one has the best price, and sounds good. I wouldn't go out and buy it if you already had one of the previous double...
Published on October 5, 2008 by Gitters

versus
14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Definite Collection is a Better Choice
Rhino for some reason decided to delete The Definite Collection" to pave the way for this one. The additions to this one are two new "Foreigner" tracks and a few live recordings. The omissions are the Mick Jones and Lou Gramm hit singles and a few album tracks.

The math is simple, this is an OK compilation but Definitive Collectionwas better. If you get your...
Published on December 10, 2008 by gnagfloW


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

41 of 41 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars No End in Sight (2008), October 5, 2008
By 
Gitters (Allendale, IL United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: No End in Sight: The Very Best of Foreigner (Audio CD)
You ask yourself, another Foreigner compilation? Yes, indeed! No End in Sight is a double disc set covering 31 years of Foreigner, including a couple of live tracks from the current lineup. Yes, there are a couple of double disc sets out there, but this one has the best price, and sounds good. I wouldn't go out and buy it if you already had one of the previous double compilations, but if you were new to Foreigner or want to replace your old albums or tapes without buying each individual title I would go for "No End in Sight". Check a great classic rock band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


51 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Compilation that Covers all of the Hits & Much More., July 15, 2008
This review is from: No End in Sight: The Very Best of Foreigner (Audio CD)
As a Big Foriegner fan from the beginning over 30 Years ago I'm very happy to give this Two CD compilation a much deserved 5 Star Rating. This is the kind of release that all listeners can enjoy song to song from longtime fans who know all Foreigner's material to listeners who only know the hits. All songs being arranged in chronological order by album release perfectly shows the progression of the band from 1977 up to 2008 and every studio album released by the band is represented on this Best-Of release. The songs are all complete versions and not shortened radio single versions found on some hits compilations and Rhino/Atlantic did a great job mastering the sound quality of each track. Inside the CD Booklet you get six pages of insight of the songs included as well as other interesting "Inside Information" about the band Foreigner and a few pictures showing different band members over the years. Overall this compilation is a great showcase of the classic Mick Jones and Lou Gramm era of the band hits and extra songs from each album to the new lineup of the band with Mick Jones, Jason Bonham, Jeff Pilson and Vocalist Kelly Hansen with a catchy new song "Too Late" and three recent live versions of classic Foreigner tracks.
Well Done & Definitely Highly Recommended !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 35 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An Improvement But Could Have Been Better, March 23, 2009
This review is from: No End in Sight: The Very Best of Foreigner (Audio CD)
A new compilation by this group - surprise, surprise! However, this does have a few improvements over 2002's single disc "Complete Greatest Hits."

First, it has remastered sound that sounds about the same as the 2002 set except a slightly greater volume (to keep up with AC/DC's very loud remastered albums no doubt!).

Second, it contains the longer 4:26 minute version of "Hot Blooded" while the 2002 set only had a shortened 3:04 minute version. For me this is an important difference as the longer version is one of the most perfectly balanced "in your face" rock songs ever recorded.

On the down side, I can't for the life of me understand why Rhino and the group wouldn't go ahead and include all the songs from the 2002 single disc set. Instead they removed "Girl On the Moon" first found on the "4" album. This is a great, moody and cool sounding song. The 2008 2-CD set has 5 songs from "4" not including this one but why not keep it? Plus, Disc 1 is only 61:13 minutes long so there was plenty of room for "Girl On the Moon" as well as a few other overlooked songs. I mean why not fill up both CD's with 75+ minutes of music? It's stupid to have unused disc space on an umpteenth greatest hits release.

So, what's on this new release is great but it could have been better. It will be the last Foreigner Cd I'll buy. Well, stupid me, how can I say that? Two years from now there will be another "definitive" release and I will get it just like the Eloy marching like robots to be eaten by the Morlogs (Sorry I may have spelled this wrong).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Foreigner's Comeback, November 3, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: No End in Sight: The Very Best of Foreigner (Audio CD)
This is a totally awesome CD - if, for some reason you don't have any Foreigner CDs this one would be the one to purchase since it has almost all of their big hits on it (the exceptions being "Soul Doctor" and "Rev on the Red Line") which happen to be two big favorites of mine. I'm usually quite picky when it comes to a band reforming and going back on the road (especially when the orginal lead singer is missing) but Kelly Hansen seems to have slid right in and picked up where Lou Gramm left off and made Foreigner as good if not better. I recently saw the band in Jackpot, NV a few weeks ago and was so impressed by Foreigner that I purchased tickets to see them again in Tacoma, WA the first of January. Kelly can sing and dance and entertain plus he's really nice to look at - a great replacement and, of course, the fact that original member Mick Jones is still participating in the band is a real treat! Good value for the money - lots of music for a very reasonable price!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Definite Collection is a Better Choice, December 10, 2008
By 
This review is from: No End in Sight: The Very Best of Foreigner (Audio CD)
Rhino for some reason decided to delete The Definite Collection" to pave the way for this one. The additions to this one are two new "Foreigner" tracks and a few live recordings. The omissions are the Mick Jones and Lou Gramm hit singles and a few album tracks.

The math is simple, this is an OK compilation but Definitive Collectionwas better. If you get your hands on that one, buy it and skip this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ANOTHER hits collection from Foreigner (surprise!), October 31, 2008
This review is from: No End in Sight: The Very Best of Foreigner (Audio CD)
During the mid-1970s, groups like Bad Company and Humble Pie were slowly but surely dying down. The genre of music (more like blues/progressive hard rock) that fit their category was losing popularity, and it needed desperately some change of scenery. Enter Foreigner. Led by Lou Gramm and Mick Jones, Foreigner released some of the best music from the late '70s to '80s. They are still around and continue to tour as of 2008.

So, earlier this year, Rhino Records and Atlantic Records decided to release 'No End In Sight: The Very Best of Foreigner.' It spans two discs and features several new recordings.

Here are my thoughts on this:

It's yet another Foreigner compilation. That means, something else us Foreigner fans need to buy. Sure, the hits are here, but it's getting really old. Foreigner keeps releasing compilations, and while this one may be necessary, it's just getting to be a bad idea.

We already have 'Complete Greatest Hits.' We have 'Records.' We have 'Jukebox Heroes - The Foreigner Anthology.' We have 'Hot Blooded And Other Hits.' I could go on all day, but I won't. It's not that this is a bad idea, and the music is five stars all the way, but it's just getting to be very annoying.

Also, I say this a lot, but WHY THE HECK DIDN'T THEY JUST RELEASE A STUDIO ALBUM? It's a ripoff to buy plenty of songs we already own just to get some new tracks. Pure greed by Foreigner and the record company.

So, unless you are desperate to get hold of these new tracks, just buy 'Complete Greatest Hits' or 'Records.' Or, if you want a cheap little sampler (for new fans), might I recommend 'Hot Blooded And Other Hits.' But, it's not worth your money, really.

Three stars because of the fact that Rhino is milking the Foreigner name, and the fact that Foreigner was greedy enough to put the new tracks on a compilation. Five stars for the music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Compilation, July 19, 2008
This review is from: No End in Sight: The Very Best of Foreigner (Audio CD)
I bought this at their concert on 7/15 in Augusta, ME. They rocked the house that night. I already have the The Very Best of ... which they released in 92 and was disappointed with the new material and I didn't think that they included enough of their earlier material on that compilation. This double cd set certainly fills in the gap plus you get a the new song from them which is "Too Late". I highly recommend this compilation if you are a fan of Foreigner. Hopefully we'll get a new album next time around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Great Overview, September 30, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: No End in Sight: The Very Best of Foreigner (Audio CD)
Foreigner are/were one of the best bands of the late 70's/early 80's and this 2 CD set has all the hits and best album sides.There are a number of best of collections available,but,this is the most in depth and has superior sound so if you want more than just the hits,this is the collection for you.If all you want is the hits,choose the single CD compilation they released a couple of years ago.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Lineup, August 26, 2008
By 
Ernest John Brooks (Lake arrowhead, CA. United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: No End in Sight: The Very Best of Foreigner (Audio CD)
OK, this is my fifth Foreigner hits, very best, definitive collection, records, complete greatest hits. No End In Sight: The Very Best Of Foreigner has a great lineup. The first disc has the hits found on other collections. The second disc has more hits, live cuts, extended versions and a new recording "Too Late". The only thing missing is "Prisoner of Love, and Rev on the Red Line.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW!, August 9, 2013
By 
Calthine (Fairbanks, Alaska) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This album was something like 32 songs for FIVE DOLLARS. Easily my best music purchase this year! Foreigner Records was my first rock album ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

No End in Sight: The Very Best of Foreigner
No End in Sight: The Very Best of Foreigner by Foreigner (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.