No Exit

June 10, 2008 | Format: MP3

Song Title

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought

Product Details

  • Original Release Date: May 13, 2008
  • Release Date: May 13, 2008
  • Label: Eleven Seven Music
  • Record Company Required Metadata: Music file metadata contains unique purchase identifier. Learn more.
  • Total Length: 58:33
  • Genres:
  • Average Customer Review: 4.3 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (194 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #58,987 Paid in Albums (See Top 100 Paid in Albums)

Customer Reviews

If you only give it one listen, you will not be drawn in.
Although the album mixes a variety of musical styles, it still has the underlying sound that is Blondie.
There are really no filler songs on the album, they're all really good.

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful By A Customer on March 1, 1999
Format: Audio CD
'No Exit'
Take a bunch of New Yorkers, give them instruments and you get some theatre. The opening 'Screaming Skin' channels Joel Grey of 'Cabaret' through the ghost of Marlene Dietrich singing ska. They are here to put on a show, now listen. The next track takes up where 'the Hunter' left off except at warp speed ahead of that album. There is percussion reminiscent of one of my favorite Hunter tracks, 'Orchid Club.' The next track 'Maria' introduces us to the star, BLONDIE (Debbie, the band, you choose). No one else could have made this.
The title track 'No Exit' exists seperate musically from the album up to this point yet is one of three songs which sums up "Life is Harsh." Seems the urban landscape of lost souls was material for grade B horror film references ala George Romero, including 'Dig Up the Conjo' and 'Screaming Skin' and 'No Exit'.
After a unmemorable 'Double Take' we return to a streak of vintage BLONDIE. 'Nothing is Real But the Girl' could have been lifted off 'Parallel Lines.' Here we arrive midway with my favorite track 'Boom Boom in the Zoom Zoom Room'. This is like music for 'Twin Peaks', the tv show, as sung by Ms. Harry channeling Joni Mitchell. The instrumental shows off Ms. Harry's influences including the band 'Morphine' and her time well spent with 'the Jazz Passengers.' This song should be the next single.
Like good epic theatre, we now come to the intermission. 'Night Wind Sent' and 'Under the Gun' is where I exit to relieve myself and refresh my drink. On second thought, I might be missing something!
Any successful show knows the showstopper is at the beginnig of Act 2, so here we have BLONDIE's fresh take on their own take of the Shangri-La's 'Out in the Streets'.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
8 of 10 people found the following review helpful By Kurt Olav Helle on June 21, 2006
Format: Audio CD
This is a great CD. Woooa, what a comeback from Blondie. To make it short, she`s back in business again. It`s like a joyride into a time machine. Much of here personality and style is not lost over the years. Track 1 Screaming Skin has an up tempo "ska rythm" which swings your soul in the right direction to make it a happy listen altrough. The sound picture are very 70 ths, and it works quite good nowadays too. Track 2 Forgive and Forget is theme wise an another cup of tea. It`s more into the sound of the 80 ths, with it`s more widespread and very open sound picture. It`s an enjoyable listen, with Blondie`s voice cold and clear that makes chills deep into youre soul. Not easy to forget,this one.

Track 3 Maria is the really hit song on this CD. It`s very melodious . This is the one that every note and tone fits perfect in every department, so to speak. It`s a real kickstarter, and the big hit song that should have been back in 1998/1999. Track 4 No Exit, is the title track, and has a classical music theme in the opening, which later on is mixed into rock&roll. This is the weird one on the CD, where many different musical styles is brought together as a whole. Track 5 Double Take, has a talking vocal. It`s a minor letdown, and not really up there whit the rest of the tracks. Debbie`s voice is the best thing. cold,clear, and chilling as always. Track 6 Nothing is real but the girl, is an up tempo pop song, which is well done in every department all trough. Track 7 Boom Boom in the Zoom Zoom room, is the jazzy one with it`s sauntering rhythm. Some reggae and ska rhythm helps too. Track 8 Night wind sent, is the laidback one with an open sound picture, and Blondies voice as good as ever. A touch of intellectual lullaby atmosphere on this one.
Read more ›
1 Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful By Kevin H. Dudley on September 27, 2006
Format: Audio CD
Blondie's self titled debut came out in 1976, followed in 1977 by Plastic Letters. But it wasn't until 1978's Parallel Lines that the band exploded in terms of commercial and critical acclaim. They would release one more equally great album in the form of 1979's Eat to the Beat. But by 1980's good but flawed Autoamerican, it seemed like the band was striking out in a bit too many directions and they weren't quite the seasoned group at that point to really pull it off. The less said about their final 1982 album The Hunter, the better.

After 17 long years, Blondie surprised everyone by coming out with No Exit in 1999. Some accused them of jumping on the whole reunion craze of the mid to late 90's, but it's really just a case that the band got back together and found out that they still had a lot to say musically and enjoyed playing with each other.

No Exit shares a lot of similarities to AutoAmerican, but it succeeds in all of the areas where Autoamerican faltered.

The album sees the group striking out in everything from their trademark pop-rock to rap (with a guest appearance by Coolio) to swing, to country and pretty much everything in between.

Most of the time the album works. Out of the 14 tracks, there are only about 4 that I would call fillerish, but the remaining 10 tracks are strong, strong stuff.

Anybody who is a long time fan and gave up on them with 1982's The Hunter, would do wise to check this album out as it was kind of ignored by the general public (at least here in the states) when it came out.

While not as front to back strong as their next album (2003's Curse of Blondie), this still represents a return to form for the inimitable Deborah Harry and the boys.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Recent Customer Reviews

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?