Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely hilarious (unless you take them seriously)
Kill yourself, stay in school, do drugs, kill cops... just some of the inspiring messages featured on No Gods/No Managers. However, there are two ways of looking at this album: it's either a brilliant satirical masterpiece or a serious danger to society. Either way, you gotta give these guys credit for being completely honest and damn funny too.
This album really has...
Published on September 7, 2003 by The Greatest

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Album
The Album was great only thing wrong was one song on side B skips at a certain part and I know its not my record player as it does not do that with any of my other records.other then that,Fast shipping little damage to album corners in shipping process.
Published on January 1, 2012 by Alex


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely hilarious (unless you take them seriously), September 7, 2003
By 
This review is from: No Gods No Managers (Audio CD)
Kill yourself, stay in school, do drugs, kill cops... just some of the inspiring messages featured on No Gods/No Managers. However, there are two ways of looking at this album: it's either a brilliant satirical masterpiece or a serious danger to society. Either way, you gotta give these guys credit for being completely honest and damn funny too.
This album really has everything: ska riffs, thrash-punk riffs, great lyrics, screamed vocals, thought-provoking sound bites. I'll admit, the screaming can get a little grating at times ("Living the Laws"), but overall is used to great effect.
The highlights are "500 Channels," "Crack Rock Steady," "Five Finger Discount," "Suicide," and the creepy, mostly-instrumental "Praise to the Sinners."
Overall this is a great album I would recommend to fans of Op Ivy, Link 80, Against All Authority, and maybe early Suicide Machines.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars nyc squat punk, October 21, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: No Gods No Managers (Audio CD)
this is probably the best album i have heard since operation ivy's "energy" and minor threat's "complete discography". if you like operation ivy, but wish they were both harder and darker, then this is for you!!!! and if you dont like it there is something seriously wrong with you!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the finest punk/ska albums ever, September 25, 2001
By 
Raldante McGillis (Laurel, Montana United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: No Gods No Managers (Audio CD)
I'm not a huge fan of punk or ska, in fact I only really like AFI and Boy Sets Fire besides Choking Victim. I usually find the whole genre soaked in an overabundance of mediocrity and unoriginality (just like what's becoming of nu metal) they mix several different genre's of music and like Mr. Bungle they mix perfectly. A little ska, punk, hardcore, reggea, death metal, and even lounge are the main ingredients included on No Gods/No Managers. The lyrics range from Athiesm, Politics, Satanism (very funnily done too I might add), and Stealing. Creating some of the funniest (Suicide, Crack Rock Steady, and 5 Finger Discount) songs I've ever heard and some best true punk anthems (War Story, F*** America, 500 Channels) I've ever heard.
While they were great, they have broken up and have formed a new band called Leftover Crack and have an album out now on Hellcat. Definatly pick that up too if you like Choking Victim.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Punky Ska at it's best!, July 9, 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: No Gods No Managers (Audio CD)
The band Choking Victim was recommended to me, so I decided to check it out. ... It's a great mix of ska and punk that really got me hooked. If you like ska, and you don't mind the punk that Choking Victim blends in there, you will love this album. If you listen to the whole CD you are bound to find a few more songs that might stick with you for awhile, and if you forget them, you're sure to remember them some day. Overall I rate this CD a four out of five stars. Great job Choking Victim.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Skacore, December 23, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: No Gods No Managers (Audio CD)
Great combination of ska, hardcore, punk, and freedom of speech. Keep making albums and I'll keep buying them.OH, great backwards messages guys.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ya don't hafta be chokin to become a victim, May 5, 2006
This review is from: No Gods No Managers (Audio CD)
As much as I love LoC, I have to say its really impossible for anything to compete with Choking Victim. Unlike LoC this is straight punk/ska no experimental death metal and stuff. This CD is so incredible its amazing. 500 Channels, Crack Rock Steady, Suicide, F--ked Reality, Hate Yer State, F--k America, War Story, and Five Finger Discount are the highlights of the album. The music is incredible and catchy and the scummy vocals work perfectly for this band. The lyrics are violent, nihilistic, and downright seditious which really seals the deal for me. 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>..........., October 2, 2005
By 
Man In A Bag (Ottawa, ON, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: No Gods No Managers (Audio CD)
Quite possibly one of the most underrated, but greatest skacore albums of all time. Choking Victim have a much angrier and heavier sound than most other bands and definitely succeed in conveying some of their personal views (i.e do drugs, kill cops etc.).

One of the greatest albums HellCat (Epitaph) has ever put out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cracks me up!, November 6, 2002
By A Customer
If you say ska-punk to anybody, the first thing most punk fans come up with is "Operation Ivy", so let's clear up from the start that this album blows anything Operation Ivy ever wrote clean out of the water. No Gods/No Managers manages to be funny, eerie, thought-provoking and entertaining, which is more than the vast majority of albums even get close to. Some of the lyricism on show here is amongst the best around. Check out the lyrics to "500 Channels" or "F--k America" for some thinking-material, or if you fancy a laugh try "Crack Rocksteady" or "Suicide". Musically, this is more ska-metal than punk, with little of the dry grunting of Operation Ivy and more out and out throat-shredding howls and roars with twin distorted guitars. This record has so many nice touches, from the backwards messages at the start of "Hate Yer State" to the eerie "oooooh-ooooooh" vocals behind the guitars on "In My Grave". If you want an album that makes you think, makes you laugh and will make your parents worry for your moral upbringing, try this. It's great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Choking Victim, February 18, 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: No Gods No Managers (Audio CD)
Imagine if Op Ivy had a love child with Anti-Schism and Old Rudimentary Peni. This cd is pretty good. Got that Op Ivy ska punk feel with vocals and socio-political squater Marxist rhetoric punk rock that we loved so much from Anti-Schism and RP. I think they try to hard to associate themselves with squat punk... they are on HellCat Records (ie Epitaph) so you have to lose lots of street cred right there. You should buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars forget everything you know about music and BUY IT!!!, October 4, 2003
By 
Amazon Customer "pvdmike" (Coventry, Rhode Island United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: No Gods No Managers (Audio CD)
If you're looking at this and thinking about buying it, chances are you won't be let down. An album more original than anything you'll find out there today. NYC'S beloved squatters teamed up to bring this masterpiece to the table. A fresh punk sound, blending a healthy dose of crust and just a touch of ska (don't let that stop you) Social and political lyrics dominate this album along with plenty of alienation and self doubt yet somehow positive. If you're bored with whats out there, try this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

No Gods No Managers
No Gods No Managers by Choking Victim (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.