Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A story that needs to be told and a book that needs to be read.
No Higher Honor: Saving The USS Samuel B Roberts In The Persian Gulf is a "sea story". As any sailor will tell you a good "sea story" has to be bigger then life, full of adventure, and have an unbelievable outcome. Most sea stories start with a kernel of truth that is embellished over countless beers and countless years in waterfront taverns and bars. You can always tell...
Published on July 12, 2006 by Thomas Mowry

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars $150 ???`
I was aboard Enterprise at the time this happened. We were not informed of this incident. I found out about it on the CBS evening new while watching day old news footage in berthing. That evening Capt. Spane came over the 1MC and told us it was time for payback. If anyone has a copy I would love to buy it from you for a reasonable price. As I use a Kindle I really think...
Published on May 17, 2012 by Hilow


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A story that needs to be told and a book that needs to be read., July 12, 2006
This review is from: No Higher Honor: Saving the USS Samuel B. Roberts in the Persian Gulf (Hardcover)
No Higher Honor: Saving The USS Samuel B Roberts In The Persian Gulf is a "sea story". As any sailor will tell you a good "sea story" has to be bigger then life, full of adventure, and have an unbelievable outcome. Most sea stories start with a kernel of truth that is embellished over countless beers and countless years in waterfront taverns and bars. You can always tell a sea story by how it starts; "this is a no xx!!//**" (if your a sailor you know what that means if your not ask one.) Unlike most sea stories No Higher Honor does not begin like that. And unlike most sea stories No Higher Honor is true. This is the story of a ship and the people who built and later repaired her. It is the story of her crew and how they came to love and depend on her. It is the story of a ship that did not want to die and how her crew fought to save her and themselves.

No Higher Honor was written by Brad Peniston. Brad is an excellent author and dedicated researcher. He knows the Navy, it's ships and its traditions. Most importantly he knows its sailors. He skillfully takes all of this knowledge and understanding and guides the reader on a journey that goes back almost twenty years and half way around the world. Brad has done a wonderful job of taking a long and complex yarn with thousands of threads and weaving a tight, readable and fast moving tale. You do not have to be a sailor to enjoy or understand this book. You just have to want to read a good sea story.

This is a good sea story. It is bigger then life, full of adventure, and has an unbelievable outcome. After you have read it you will know what the Navy of the 20th and 21st century does. You will know the dangers that sailors face, the moments of utter boredom and the moments of fear. You will know what a mail call and a liberty call are like. You will feel the closeness of the ship and the tensions and camaraderie that closeness creates. You will feel the loneliness of being away from home and the excitement of new adventures in foreign lands. You will understand what it is like to sit in the middle of a war zone while others fight around you. You will know what it feels like when your ship hits a mine and you wonder if you will ever see your family or friends again. You will understand what it means to be a sailor in the United States Navy. You will understand what it meant to be a sailor on the USS Samuel B Roberts. However that is not why you should read this book.

You should read this book because it more than just a sea story. It is the story of young men who did not sit down when they were growing up and say "I want to join the Navy and be on ship that hits a mine so I can save it". It is the story of ordinary guys who worked hard, trained hard, lived hard, played hard and just wanted to go home when it was over. It is the story of the kid down the street, the neighbor next door, your father, your mother, your son or your daughter. This is the story of everyone and anyone who has ever made a difference in this world without meaning to. It is our story. Thank you Brad for telling it.

No Higher Honor is a story that needs to be told and a book that needs to be read.

Thomas Mowry

Operations Specialist 1st Class

USS Samuel B Roberts (Plankowner)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A detailed study of a ship, it's crew and battle damage, July 5, 2006
This review is from: No Higher Honor: Saving the USS Samuel B. Roberts in the Persian Gulf (Hardcover)
"No Higher Honor" is written in the mold of two other fine books about the bravery of sailors in action during severe damage control situations: [...]. The book is a multi-faceted study of the history of the procurment and design of the OLIVER PERRY CLASS frigates, the formation of a crew to commission a ship, command philosophy and leadership, a detailed, gripping description of the mine explosion and the response of the crew, and the national response to the attack on a Naval Combatant, closed out with a tribute to the engineering skills of the shipbuliders of Bath Iron Works during the repairs that put a ship back to sea in time for DESERT STORM. Covering many levels, from the personal views of crew members, to the decisions carried out at the highest levels of the Government, there is good reading for anyone who would like a greater knowledge of what the Surface Ship Navy is all about. It is a fast read, with plenty of engaging details, but not bogged down with "navy-ese." The progession of the story is well laid out, with the major components of the discussion neatly encapsulated.

A "must read" for any ship's company in or enroute to a leadership position. I thought to type a list of who should read this, but the ROBERTS was saved by officers and men of all types and ratings, which is the core message of life at sea: Everyone is part of the dmage control effort, like it or not. This book brings that point home clearly.

This book is also good reading for anyone studing the details of routine life at sea; for marine engineers and architects; for military leaders; for leadership instructors, both military and non-military; and historians studying the conflict in the Middle East in the late 1980s.

Having commissioned one combatant, been a shore based instructor for the FFG-7 crews, deployed to the Persian Gulf on one of ROBERTS sister ships, and later a ship readiness inspector, I can attest to the accuracy of this book. As I read the book, the descriptions of the places were so detailed I could place exactly where the action was, or at the pieces of equipment Brad described, easily recalling the details of the environment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read for all FFG sailors, July 15, 2006
This review is from: No Higher Honor: Saving the USS Samuel B. Roberts in the Persian Gulf (Hardcover)
If you have ever served on a Perry class frigate or just have a love of the sea this is a must read. No Higher Honor is about a ship and crew from commissioning to their tour of duty in the Persian Gulf. Brad Peniston did not use just official records but used information gather from interviews with the crew as he has created the picture of what it was like to serve on this type of ship. This book is about a well-trained crew that would not give up in anything they did. Second place was never an option.

As a crew member at the time this takes place, reading the book I could picture everything that was going on in the pages of this book and found it amazing how well Bradley pieced together all of the facts. Brad not only captures the facts but the crew's real feelings and how they felt about serving aboard the USS Samuel B. Roberts or how we call her the (Sammy B).

To see if you should read this book you have to go no further then the foreword written by Admiral William J. Crowe Jr., USN (Ret). This book does offer something for everyone who has an appreciation of the sea.

Thank you Brad you did a great job telling our story.

Gunner Reinert

No Higher Honor
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Bravo Zulu" for No Higher Honor - A must read for Sailor or Landsman, July 24, 2006
This review is from: No Higher Honor: Saving the USS Samuel B. Roberts in the Persian Gulf (Hardcover)
This is a story about a brave crew that knew no limits on what it could do. When faced with a daunting challenge they met it head on and with a spirit that would not quit. Nothing was impossible and they proved it.

In this book, Bradley Peniston accurately depicts a significant event in our history. He does it in such a straightforward and common sense manner that the reader is practically part of the story itself. Regardless of the readers background, land-lubber to crusty old navy salt, they will find themselves completely immersed in life on a modern naval warship. This book brings you to understand the daily routine of training, why it is necessary and how it saved an otherwise doomed vessel.

If you've never sailed anything bigger than the rubber duck in your bathtub, this book is for you. You'll feel the salt and the rush of life and death at sea. Brad brings it to you in a way that explains it all.

And for those of you that've got salt water running in your veins, this book's for you. You'll nod your head wisely as you read how close they were to meeting Davy Jones. You'll marvel at the resourcefulness of a crew put in harms way. It will bring back fond memories of long quiet watches at sea. As well as the realization of how quickly it can all change.

I commend Bradley Peniston on his accurate depiction of these events. Not that this story needed any embellishment. But it is obvious to a reader that has first hand knowledge of the Navy and the "Sammy B." that his efforts should not go unnoticed.

A hearty "Bravo Zulu" to the Author, and my highest recommendations for those considering reading this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A lesson in management that is also a ripping good tale of the sea, November 4, 2007
This review is from: No Higher Honor: Saving the USS Samuel B. Roberts in the Persian Gulf (Hardcover)
I am a librarian at a Navy library and a patron recommended this book for purchase as a management book. It is the most exciting, well written and gripping management book you will ever read. It is a tale of heroism, competence and pride.

The first management lesson you will learn is that instilling pride in your workers will get you very far. Captain Paul Rinn worked on this from the day he learned the not yet built guided missile frigate was to be named the Samuel B. Roberts. He researched the first two ships with the same name and the sailor it was named after. He made sure the pre-commissioning crew knew all the history instilling pride in their ship as she was being built.

The second is even non-glamorous jobs are important, sometimes the most important. I suspect that not too many people go into the Navy with the idea of being the best damage control officer in the service. Rinn knew the importance of damage control and had his men trained, drilled and equipped to the best of his and his officer's abilities. He wanted them to be good at all tasks on the ship and gave them the appropriate training and encouragement.

Above being a book about leadership, it is also a gripping tale. The first lines of the book describing the initial spotting of the mines that were to damage the frigate are as gripping as any in any novel about the sea. It also brings into remembrance a dangerous time in our planet's history with Iran, Iraq and the US face to face in the Persian Gulf.

The author's style is both journalistic and literary, making the book a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The real modern Navy, January 9, 2007
This review is from: No Higher Honor: Saving the USS Samuel B. Roberts in the Persian Gulf (Hardcover)
I was there and this book captured the entire ordeal as well as it could be captured. Bradley did a wonderful and thorough job collecting data and memories. I now know far more about the whole incident than I knew when it happened. I'm grateful that our story got told, but more grateful that it was told so well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Book, August 25, 2006
This review is from: No Higher Honor: Saving the USS Samuel B. Roberts in the Persian Gulf (Hardcover)
Tom Reinert is my nephew so I had heard a lot about the "Sammy B" and its accident. However, there was so much more that I was unaware of. Pres. Reagan's response was much greater than I originally thought (at the time I wondered why he only went after 2 oil rigs). There was also a lot of interesting info about details of the Gulf that I was unaware was happening at the time. Kudos to the author for a story that needed to be told!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No Higher Honor: Saving the USS Samuel B. Roberts, August 18, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: No Higher Honor: Saving the USS Samuel B. Roberts in the Persian Gulf (Hardcover)
I really enjoyed this book. My son is now serving on the USS Samuel B. Roberts, so that made it even more interesting. I also bought the book for him and he is looking forward to reading it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars nicely done, January 13, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: No Higher Honor: Saving the USS Samuel B. Roberts in the Persian Gulf (Hardcover)
My Brother-in-law was on the Roberts when she hit the mine. The story was well written and is a fascinating example of what men can do when properly trained, motivated and well led.

I believe the author does a good job of relaying the type of atmosphere that persisted on this ship from it's construction through deployment. My only critical point would be he doesn't spend enough time with the common sailors' point of view.

I also found it interesting that he covers Operation Praying Mantis. I was unaware that this was declassified.

All in all, nicely done and an informative and gripping account of one of the forgotten chapters of our continued presence in the gulf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I was there!, March 10, 2010
This review is from: No Higher Honor: Saving the USS Samuel B. Roberts in the Persian Gulf (Hardcover)
As the Navy Program Manager that was responsible for both the STARK and the ROBERTS repairs, I found this book extremely accurate and readable. While I was a little put off by the large number of footnotes, it did show that the author had done his homework.

I wish he had contacted me during the writing as I could have contributed a lot to his efforts! The quote attributed to me was not accurate but it was taken from a newspaper report and you know how those are!

The repair of a ship in this condition is more taxing than the new construction efforts.

Charles Vinroot
Captain USN Ret
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

No Higher Honor: Saving the USS Samuel B. Roberts in the Persian Gulf
Used & New from: $23.90
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.