No Mercy (A Jonathan Grave Thriller Book 1) and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

No Mercy (A Jonathan Grave Thriller) Mass Market Paperback – July 1, 2009


See all 7 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Paperback
"Please retry"
Mass Market Paperback, July 1, 2009
$56.60 $0.86

The Night Crew
Protagonist Lieutenant Colonel Sean Drummond, a U.S. Army lawyer, is teamed up with fiercely anti-war Katherine Carlson, when he realizes they're caught up in a conspiracy that reaches the highest levels of government. Learn more about the book

Editorial Reviews

From Publishers Weekly

Bestseller Gilstrap (Nathan's Run) launches a thriller series following PI Jonathan Grave. Much like Bruce Wayne, Grave is single and rich, uses expensive gadgets and has a vigilante alter ego. Hokey dialogue (I respect anyone willing to die for a cause.... My goal is to help [terrorists] die for their cause. But I still respect them) hampers an otherwise entertaining read as Grave investigates the disappearance of investigative reporter Tibor Rothman, husband of Grave's ex-wife, Ellen. Sheriff Gail Bonneville of Samson, Ind., is chasing Grave in turn, since a hostage rescue mission he fronted turned into a shootout. Thriller fans may not mind the cheesiness or flat characters like brutish pilot Boxers and sassy computer specialist Venice (pronounced Ven-EE-chay, by the way), as this fast-paced tale of violence and revenge is all about plot, of which there is plenty. (July)
Copyright © Reed Business Information, a division of Reed Elsevier Inc. All rights reserved.

Review

"In the tradition of Lee Child and Stephen Hunter, New York Times best selling author John Gilstrap delivers a page-turning, action-packed thriller filled with "rocket-paced suspense." - (Jeffery Deaver)"
NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

"The Sellout" by Paul Beatty
A biting satire about a young man's isolated upbringing and the race trial that sends him to the Supreme Court, Paul Beatty's "The Sellout" showcases a comic genius at the top of his game. See more

Product Details

  • Series: A Jonathan Grave Thriller
  • Mass Market Paperback: 464 pages
  • Publisher: Pinnacle; 1 Original edition (July 1, 2009)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0786020873
  • ISBN-13: 978-0786020874
  • Product Dimensions: 4.4 x 1.2 x 6.9 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 14.4 ounces
  • Average Customer Review: 4.4 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (323 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #374,701 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

John Gilstrap is the New York Times bestselling author of Against All Enemies, End Game, Soft Targets, High Treason, Damage Control, Threat Warning, Hostage Zero, No Mercy, Nathan's Run, At All Costs, Even Steven, Scott Free and Six Minutes to Freedom. In addition, John has written four screenplays for Hollywood, adapting the works of Nelson DeMille, Norman McLean and Thomas Harris. He will write and co-produce the film adaptation of his book, Six Minutes to Freedom.

A frequent speaker at literary events, John also teaches seminars on suspense writing techniques at a wide variety of venues, from local libraries to The Smithsonian Institution. Outside of his writing life, John is a renowned safety expert with extensive knowledge of explosives, hazardous materials, and fire behavior. John lives in Fairfax, VA.

Customer Reviews

The characters were well developed and interesting.
JustJanice
These books are edge of your seat thrillers, lots of action, fast paced books that once I start I cannot put down.
N. Gargano
It was my first John Gilstrap book but it won't be my last....great read.
Shari Bookwalter

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

112 of 118 people found the following review helpful By Sharon Kennedy on July 9, 2009
Format: Mass Market Paperback
Gilstrap's newest thriller "No Mercy" grabs the reader from page one, and holds tightly right to the finish. Cleverly written, with engaging twists and turns, along with a smattering of humor, this is a novel you won't want to put down. The story begins quite simply with the kidnapping of a college student. But quickly, it turns into a good guy, bad guy intrigue. You'll be on the edge of your seat, and perhaps a little queasy at times, as you follow Jonathan Grave, along with his friend and employee "Big Guy" as they work through the murk that comes from pure greed. As the story develops, one looming question is who are the good guys. Is it Grave who's job can force him to kill? Or is it, Irene Rivers, the FBI Director who wants the "incident" to disappear? Perhaps it's Gail Bonneville, the Sheriff of Samson, Indiana. When she took office, she promised to fulfill her duties without fail. Can she ignore the fact that she knows who saved the college student from his kidnappers, and who now has blood on his hands? At first, it appears that the kidnapped boy's parents, Stephenson and Julie Hughes are good guys. As the story unravels, however, not only are they responsible for something terrible, but their actions endanger their lives and many others. As in real life, it's not always easy to discern good from evil, but by this book's end, the good guys will leave an indelible mark on the reader's mind.

Gilstrap did a masterful job with "No Mercy". Not only did he weave a story with amazing character development to capture, and hold, the reader's attention, but he also provided an ending to be applauded. Too often, reader's enjoy the journey of a story only to be disappointed by a sappy, or poorly written, conclusion. Not so with Gilstrap. The ending leaves the reader wanting more suspense, more intrigue, and more Jonathan Grave.
1 Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
49 of 54 people found the following review helpful By John C. Watts on July 30, 2010
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
This book actually started off with what looked like a good plot, however, there were warning signs early. A kidnapping victim is being held by two total morons in a cellar. Our hero who is a veteran of an elite army unit blows the doors off of a cellar door with a deafening blast. He bursts in and immediately starts talking to the kidnappers who have no difficulty hearing him! Then, even though he is pointing his weapon at them, this highly trained operative allows both morons to draw their weapons and fire shots at him before he finally shoots them.

Early on we are given an explanation of the state of the art security system employed at our hero's home/office fortress. However, late in the book bad guys easily break in and subdue one of his aides who is caught completely unawares and of course is unable to set off an alarm or grab a weapon!

In the concluding chapter our hero jumps from a moving helicopter from a height above the treeline, suffers a severe abdominal gunshot wound, still chases down the main bad guy and is engaged in a life or death struggle all while bleeding to death as the calvary arrives and saves the day.

To sum it up, imagine the worst B rated action movie you have ever seen and then imagine something worse.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
56 of 63 people found the following review helpful By BeachReader on December 26, 2009
Format: Mass Market Paperback
Like Nancy Martin, I first "met" John Gilstrap on the AOL message boards and loved all of his books, especially Nathan's Run, which I recommended to so many people.

I just finished No Mercy and wish I could recommend it too. But poor editing and a story full of holes has left me scratching my head and so disappointed. I expected better of John. This was a riveting and fast-paced story, but there were so many errors and omissions that the book was spoiled for me. Twenty hours of good editing could have tightened up the book and eliminated the holes.

I know that publishing money is tight, but I bet John could find five or ten faithful readers who would read his manuscript and make suggestions.
2 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
24 of 25 people found the following review helpful By John Ramsey Miller on July 7, 2009
Format: Mass Market Paperback
Few authors deliver a great read ...out of the gate ...every time. John is one of the rare ones. Jonathan Graves is one of the meatiest protagonists in years. Ex-Delta Force and Gilstrap is more familiar with Delta than most since he wrote the only book the secret force has ever cooperated with, and endorsed, "Six Minutes To Freedom." NO MERCY is one of those books where the words "joy ride" and "train wreck" threaten to become interchangeable at every turn. This is one exciting read, guaranteed. Don't pick it up unless you have enough time to finish it. Congrats, Gilstrap and congrats Gilstrap fans. I'm waiting for the next Graves offering.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
12 of 13 people found the following review helpful By Harriet Klausner #1 HALL OF FAME on July 8, 2009
Format: Mass Market Paperback
Wealthy private investigator Jonathan Grave takes on cases he finds interesting and using the state of the art equipment that no one else knows exists. He can afford to strive to meet his long term strategic vision of killing terrorists who he admires for their desire to die for their Cause. He hides his identity as he does not want kudos when he rescues innocent victims of predators.

His current case is a bit more personal than usual. He searches for missing investigative reporter Tibor Rothman, married to Grave's ex-wife, Ellen. At the same time Samson, Indiana Sheriff Gail Bonneville wants to bring in Grave for his role in a shootout during a hostage rescue mission of an Indiana college student that turned ugly.

Over the top of Hoosier Hill, NO MERCY is an enjoyable action-packed thriller starring stereotypical characters, villains and heroes, who turn the exciting tale into a fun Indy run. The story line is ultra fast-paced yet also loaded with non stop violence as vengeance is the name of the game. John Gilstrap provides an exhilarating accelerated thriller that lives up to its title as there is NO MERCY when it comes to revenging an alleged wrong.

Harriet Klausner
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Recent Customer Reviews


What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?