Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: No One Writes to the Colonel: and Other Stories (Perennial Classics)
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer CafeSociety CafeSociety CafeSociety  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
40
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$8.02+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on October 28, 2003
Marquez has done it again, to weave a story of pathos and vividness which, even a gifted painter would find it difficult to portray. Set in a small Mexican town, the world of the Colonel and his wife along with the memories of his lost son and his parting rooster, become a symbol of defiance, a triumph of human spirit amidst the ruin and the debris that has come to haunt the Colonel in all possible forms.A pension that never comes, an asthma of his wife that never cures and a life that does not have enough food, confront the world of the exploiter.The memories of the Colonel's dead son and his rooster become the living example of bravery which may have deserted many hardened Colonels. This bravery unfolds itself as the Colonel defies everything in life, even the approaching depriviation and death, as the Col. zealously protects his honours and values. The sale of his rooster, possibly his only option for continuance of his life, is heroically opposed, despite a clear possibility of stark and naked death knocking at his door. In thus defying death the Col.has sought to immortalize his life and possibly all that life stands for - hope.
A million such examples abound. What is brilliant is that the pathos of a lonely life, devastated by a crumbling world, and the undaunting spirit of a man fighting against everything from insensitivity to disease has been so movingly portrayed in the novella. Beneath this brilliant portrayal of human pathos lies a subtext that is deeply political and social. Politics of the country and its victims are most tellingly described through the Col. and his travails. Marquez is a writer who is a dreamer and an activist too. In his Col.who is both the hero and the anti-hero, Marquez has punched politics and sufferings in a brilliantly conceived character and has invested him with a realism that transcends nations and nationalities and speaks a language which is moving and absorbing.
33 comments| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 15, 2004
This story, about an old, sad Colonel who spends his time waiting for a pension that, deep down, he knows he will never receive, is simply heart-breaking. Every paragraph is laced with sadness - sadness that his circumstances are how they are and sadness that it won't ever really change, not even in the promised January when the rooster will finally pay off for him and his wife and they can finally put the memory of their dead son behind them.
It was a short story, only ~60 pages long, so I'd highly recommend it to anyone who wants to read something quickly. It is rather depressing, probably made more so by the fact that the Colonel is a dignified man and that he knows that the misfortunes of his life are not his fault at all. Unfortunately, even at the end, there isn't any real hope. It does end with a great last line, but there is no retribution, no deliverance, no satisfaction to be had for the Colonel and his wife. I think that if Marquez had solved all of the Colonel's problems, it would have been a weaker story, so I'm not too upset about that.
22 comments| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 12, 2010
A set of short semi linked stories set in and around the wonderful Latin American Kingdom Maquez created in '100 Years of Solitude' including the novella of the Colonel, who fought in the revolution and has been betrayed;relying on a Cock to win him some money to keep starvation at bay.
This is a superb collection, each tale in some way telling of the futile revolutions that never end up benefiting the people; the stiffling bureaucracy, the corruption, nepotism and autocracy of Latin American politics and life in a small town.
Stand out stories ; 'There are no Thieves in this Town' where a pointless theft of the billiard balls from the pool hall affects the whole life of the town and reaps an innocent victim;the lyrical fable 'One Day After Saturday' and 'Montiels Widow'; a Town changes when the local tyrant dies...
But the whole book is superb. Garcia Marquez just doesn't do 'average' and reading him is a pleasure.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 21, 2015
Even though Marquez considered it as his best novel, I do not think it can be compared with his 100 Years of Solitude or Love in the Time of Cholera. No matter what Marquez's works are "magical".
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 10, 2009
Every time when I'm feeling lonely, I always say "No one writes to the Colonel". That's the feeling that you take away from this book, I def would not recommend this book if your standing on the edge of the rooftop cause you probably will jump (then again i don't recommend reading on edges of rooftops either). The book tells a story of a aging, dying, old man, who fought alongside General Buendia in his heyday, who is waiting for pension from the war day after day. He lost his son, his wife is dying everyday from asthma, he sold all his belongings to pay for food including his son prize fighting cock, all he have left is the hope that one day all his troubles will end when finally receive his pension.

One of the central theme in this book is "money isn't everything unless you don't have any".
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 7, 2014
The novella and eight short stories in this collection share the same setting, some of the same characters, and the same themes, but each story is independent. The setting is in or near Macondo, the imaginary town representing the author's Colombian birthplace in many of his works.

In No One Writes to the Colonel, a retired officer and his asthmatic wife wait for years in poverty for the Colonel's promised pension. As they near starvation, the only thing of value left to them is a fighting cock that once belonged to their now-dead son. They sell their last possessions to feed the cock while they, themselves, go hungry.

The other stories are similar depictions of people who are impoverished and powerless but not without pride and hope. In "One of These Days" the local dentist gets his revenge on behalf of the people when the town's mayor develops an abscess. In "There Are No Thieves in This Town" a desperate man with a pregnant wife tries to rob the local pool hall but comes away with nothing but three billiard balls. And in "One Day After Saturday" a strange plague of dying birds convinces the local priest that the end of the world is at hand.

With just a hint of the magical realism that would soon become his trademark, these stories would be a good introduction to the work of Gabriel García Márquez.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 19, 2014
The short story itself is quite typical of Marquez - wonderful writing and evoking in great detail, the atmosphere of a faraway culture in times past. However, this is a short story which is sold at the price of a novel, albeit padded out with pages of descriptions of all Marquez's other writings. I would have been happier if there had been more than one short story, but as it stands, it seems to be cashing in on the passing of a great writer.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 2, 2015
I just finished reading "No One Writes to the Colonel", and I highly recommend it. I was already a fan of Gabriel Garcia Marquez after having read "One Hundred Years of Solitude", and now I admire him even more. It's a short, easy read, but it's filled with emotion. You suffer along with the protagonist as he waits every Friday for a letter that never comes, a letter that will finally save him and his asthmatic wife from the incredible poverty they live in.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 22, 2014
This small book hosts a collection of interlinked stories that superbly reflect the qualities of Gabriel Garcia Marquez's richly atmospheric writing. The setting is a poor village in a dysfunctional Latin American country where poverty and criminal power-plays dominate the lives of the residents. This could make for sombre reading, but Garcia Marquez captures a different reality, allowing his reader to laugh and cry along with the quirky individuals whose hopes and fears he exposes in critical moments of their lives. It is in the smallest details - the matter of a rooster or some billiard balls - that the power of the stories vests, rather than the big dramas, making them all the more memorable.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 28, 2016
This is my first written in spanish book in a long time and I’ve had it on my bookshelf for a few years now never really having time or desire to pick it up, but thanks to booktubeathon I was finally “forced” to read it. The book is very short, my version was only 100 pages long with a big font. I wasn’t sure I was going to like but I really did, it tells the story of a Colonel who is waiting for a check to come in the mail, he has been waiting for many years and nothing comes. This is bit of bittersweet story but one that rings true to this very day.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.