Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


45 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How much more can a poor boy take...
Most of the reviews for this record, whether on Amazon or in other print, tend to point out the supposed mediocrity of the post- Michael Schenker years for UFO. I feel this is both inaccurate and irresponsible. Schenker is a legend no doubt, but he was one fifth (or fourth, before 1976)of the band when he left after 1978. The most important part of the band, the Mogg/Way...
Published on June 7, 2002 by Mark H.

versus
11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars UFO Finding their way Post-Schenker............
I bought this album with trepidation because of the landmark personnel change which had befallen UFO the year before.
I was wondering how ANYONE could replace Michael, the architect of so many of my musical memories. And, while a good album, I can't rate it in my UFO top five, even though there are 4 or 5 very good to great songs. Lettin' Go is one such great song,...
Published on December 17, 2002 by Cameron Traviss


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

45 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How much more can a poor boy take..., June 7, 2002
By 
This review is from: No Place to Run (Audio CD)
Most of the reviews for this record, whether on Amazon or in other print, tend to point out the supposed mediocrity of the post- Michael Schenker years for UFO. I feel this is both inaccurate and irresponsible. Schenker is a legend no doubt, but he was one fifth (or fourth, before 1976)of the band when he left after 1978. The most important part of the band, the Mogg/Way song writing partnership, was still intact. Paul Chapman proved to be more than capable of continuing the honored UFO traditon of potent lead guitar. "No Place to Run" took up where "Obsession" and "Strangers in the Night" left off. Consistency was a UFO trademark from "Phenomenon" through "Making Contact" and "NPTR" was just one in a string of these classic lps. "Letting Go" kicks off the album just fine, a showcase for Chapman as well as Phil Mogg's melodic singing. Other key tracks include the title song (moody street anthem with its "Jungleland, jungleland" chorus), "Young Blood", "The Fire Burns Tonight" and "Anyday". Two of my alltime favorites include "Mystery Train" (along with Montrose's "Good Rockin' Tonight" the greatest Elvis cover ever) and "Money, Money" (why the heck wasn't this song played on the radio in the '80s.??) UFO plunged into their second decade moving from strength to strengh, Schenker's loss not withstanding. Next to Thin Lizzy, UFO were the greatest hard rock band ever not to get significant radio airplay or US album sales. Ripe for discovery in the 21st century!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Peakin' post-Schenker!, March 14, 2005
By 
This review is from: No Place to Run (Audio CD)
Like many fans who had followed UFO prior to this release, I was curious and kind of skeptical of what was to come once Mr Schenker departed. Unfortunately, upon first listen, I think I was too sketical, as I was initially disappointed. However, once I gave this one a real listen I realized how good it actually was. I originally owned this on LP, and it has HONESTLY been one of my personal fave's ever since. In fact, like Mr. Der Kommissar before me, I too think that this and Obsession are two of UFO's best, although unlike my predecessor, I actually prefer this one to Obsession. I think UFO was peaking right at the point Schenker left, but they didn't skip a beat with this one. Sadly though, their quality would start to deteriorate over the next few releases, and although I like the next couple of albums that followed, especially selected tracks, I don't think any of them can stand up to this one as a whole. The tracks on this album range in style throughout and the pace changes throughout as well, just like the last track (Anyday). I can't really point out any standout or favorite tracks, because I truly like every track on this album, something that I can't say about too many albums, although "Take It Or Leave It" is one of my all time favorite UFO tracks. Just like with any album by any band, it's always a matter of preference for each listener, but if you like UFO (and not just because of Schenker) I don't think you can't like this one at least a little.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars UFO Finding their way Post-Schenker............, December 17, 2002
By 
Cameron Traviss (vancouver, BC Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: No Place to Run (Audio CD)
I bought this album with trepidation because of the landmark personnel change which had befallen UFO the year before.
I was wondering how ANYONE could replace Michael, the architect of so many of my musical memories. And, while a good album, I can't rate it in my UFO top five, even though there are 4 or 5 very good to great songs. Lettin' Go is one such great song, as is the title cut with its canny springsteen references.
Produced by the legendary George Martin, it just doesn't jump out and bludgeon you like the Nevison efforts do.
So, I was slightly concerned that UFO had peaked. My fears were put to rest when, in 1981, UFO released the awe-inspiring The Wild, the Willing and the Innocent. Chapman sounds much more comfortable on that album, and it's the guitar tour-de-force we were waiting for from him. No Place to Run is still worth buying, because a middling UFO album is still light years ahead of the competition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Early 80's UFO - Ripe for Rediscovery, February 14, 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: No Place to Run (Audio CD)
The album "No Place to Run", as well as UFO's two follow-up albums "The Wild, The Willing, and the Innocent" and "Mechanix", have at the time of this writing been repeatedly selling to the point of "out-of-stock" for a least a couple of reasons.

First of all, they are finally affordable at $16.98/each, whereas before they were mainly available as expensive Japanese imports costing well over $30/each. A significant number of UFO fans still paid these kinds of prices anyway (including myself), both on Amazon and online auction sites, and I'm guessing someone at EMI France wisely took notice of this before they decided to reissue these albums. Secondly, the music is simply really great. UFO was somewhat written off in the press (and by many fans) when these albums first came out in the early '80's, largely because star guitarist Michael Schenker was gone and probably because UFO was not pursuing the "harder, faster" approach that many of their hard rock/metal peers were at the time. They took a more diverse approach, and in retrospect the quality of these songs is very good, and sometimes even excellent.

This diversity is particularly apparent on "No Place to Run". Opener "Alpha Centauri" has a spacey, ethereal feel to it, similar to what Tangerine Dream were doing at the time. It segue-ways nicely into the next track "Lettin' Go", an explosive number that was a minor hit at the time of release. "Mystery Train" is an incredible cover version of an older tune, opening with some really tasty acoustic guitar work by Schenker's replacement Paul Chapman before the song rips into high gear with Chapman now playing scorching electric leads while Phil Mogg sings his heart out. The next two tracks lay back somewhat with mid-tempo rock, yet are still creatively arranged. "Young Blood" is another cover, generally well interpreted, but it is the following title track where the album really hits its stride. Containing elements of powerful dynamics, creative arrangements, and great lyrics, this track shows what the new line-up of UFO was really capable of. "Take It or Leave It" is a nice ballad, while "Money, Money" sports a propulsive riff and displays some interesting flange effects. The album ends on a particularly strong note with "Anyday", a track which powerfully alternates between mysterious, quite sections featuring Pete Way's bass guitar and explosive heavy sections.

Ripe for rediscovery almost 30 years later, this is a highly recommended purchase for those who appreciate melodic hard rock which creatively employs hard/soft dynamics to great effect. Vocalist Phil Mogg is also one of the best in the genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Unbeleivable!, February 12, 2009
This review is from: No Place to Run (Audio CD)
No, not the music. It's pretty darn good, though.

It's unbeleivable that:

1. This CD is out of stock(at the time of writing)
(same thing happenned to "Force It", a vinyl
release from 1975, when demand outstripped production)

2. These guys are hardly played on radio'cept for "Lights Out"

3. The media constantly ignores them.

4. One of the best hard rock/metal bands of all-time is
number 84?, or somewhere like that,on VH1's list of
best hard rock bands.

5. Some reviewer on another website, where the "critics" review
the music we listen to, bashed this album completely,
comparing them to Bad Company. PLLLEASE!!! No disrespect
to Paul Rodgers who is one of rock's most treasured voices,
but UFO blows those guys away. (Rodgers is phenomenal with
Queen. Check them out).

So what's going on?!

HMMMMMM!

Is it an evil plot? An oversight? Bad management, perhaps?
Maybe the band themselves don't care if they are famous or not?

Don't really know.

I mean, even if the band themselves don't care, somebody in the
media must know a good thing when they see it. Try to push it
a little bit. Get the word out. WE HAVE UFO CDS. This is great
music that, ITSELF, merits listening, too. Why don't DJ's and
others get it?! Do they need MTV and VH1 to tell them who WE want
to listen to.

If you like 70's hard rock, please pick this up (some of the songs are
so hot they will melt your cd player) and any other seventies
recordings made by these guys. You will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Chapman Era Begins, June 12, 2009
This review is from: No Place to Run (Audio CD)
First off enough of the "oh Chapman is not Schenker stuff". Please get over it, nobody is asking you to buy this if you are such a Schenkerphile. Put on MSG 1 or 2 and have at it!

As it was pointed out by others Phil and Pete and Andy were still there. And, if you don't know, Chapman had filled in for Herr Schenker in 74 when he'd gone on earlier walkabout. If you can find the BBC live collection (someewhere) there are 3 or 4 tracks with both Schenker and Chapman playing, including "Rock Bottom" where they split the solo!

Herr Schenker, to be polite, is mercurial. He was not thrown out of the band, there was no bad blood, he split (again), plain and simple, for whatever his reasons were, and the band turned, once again, to the man who had bailed them out before. A logical decision.

Obviously this effected the band in terms of radio play and live shows, as following the 1-2 of "Obsession" and "Strangers", they were indeed poised for the breakthru.

I saw UFO on nearly every tour with Schenker and Chapman and I can tell you there was no let up in intensity or sheer live power. For my money the only other band in their class at that time as a live act was Thin Lizzy.

As others have mentioned, and I agree, UFO and Lizzy were the best of the era, period. I would take them live or in studio over anybody else in the style that you want to toss up there.

OK...on to the disc. This LP was dismissed a "light" at the time. It was produced by George Martin, so it had his feel. Ron Nevison ("Lights Out" thru "Strangers") was more of a hard rock hand. This is addressed in the liner notes as the band points out that it was also the island location, they were relaxed and partying a lot.

Lots of good songs on here tho'. No Place to Run and Money stand out to me. Letting Go is a good one too.

Overall, the package is excellent, continuing with what they started with the "Phenomenon" remaster. Great booklet, interviews with all involved, pix, etc., from the time period and some extra trax. Long overdue and worth the wait.

4 of 5 stars only because WWI is the best of the lot with Chapman on the six string.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Phil & the boys made a strong comeback...., January 31, 2010
By 
Ultra Magnus (Autobot City, Earth) - See all my reviews
This review is from: No Place to Run (Audio CD)
No Place To Run was a strong comeback record that surprised a lot of UFO fans and established a stellar new line up much to the shock of everyone. This was a big deal because EVERYBODY thought that UFO was dead when Schenker left the band and as a result fans dwindled and public attention diminished. UFO was on a upward climb that peaked with the intensity of Strangers In The Night and the subsequent loss of both Schenker and Ron Nevision was viewed as a critical blow the band could never recover from.

However, despite these challenges Phil and Pete gather the boys up and bring in an old friend Paul Chapman to revitalize the UFO machine with a new album that will prove the nay-sayers wrong. No Place To Run is still classic UFO doing what it does best which is delivering solid straight forward rockers with tough, honest lyrics, emotionally stirring ballads and as always astonishing guitar work. The line-up and producer change is not as drastic to the band as most fans (Shenker-fan boys) will lead you to believe. The only real difference between this and the previous album Obsession, is that the production of George Martin gives these songs a more commercialized pop quality to them, which is obviously different from Nevision's hard rock and guitarist Paul Chapman. That other "big difference",Paul Chapman, is one of the reasons I feel that this record (and this era of the band) is so darn underrated. I feel that Chapman makes this album. His style and attitude, while vastly different from the Kraut, totally revitalized UFO's sound and approach to songwriting.

Chapman has been the target of unfair criticism and insults with comparisons to Schenker. Whatever camp you are on, you can't deny that Paul Chapman was the right guitarist at the right time for UFO at this point and fit the band like a glove for their entrance into the 80s...his magic is felt all over No Place To Run. He is a more versatile guitarist and has better rhythm work then his predecessor, which means the whole group benefits from his presence on much more of a songwriting level

Phil Mogg and Pete way take a step up too. Realizing that they can no longer rely solely on guitar pyrotechnics, they opt instead to compensate for that fact in the song writting department. LETTING GO, YOUNG BLOOD and the title track all could of been big radio hits in the early 80s. MYSTERY TRAIN is an excellent Elvis cover w/ acoustic guitar and a megaton main riff. My favorite track on the entire record however is the closer ANYDAY. This is a vintage UFO ballad/power rocker right here and Mogg's lyrics really hit home on an emotional level.

No Place To Run is not perfect by any means, as this new line up was still working out the kinks and still in it's teething stage. However with those facts in tow it proved that UFO was not the "Micheal Schenker Band" and could venture on without him, proving to still be a formidable rock group as well as lay the foundation for a superb new line-up and formula that would produce a follow up record (TWWATI) that rivaled anything UFO EVER did and surpassed anything the "Wunderkind" did on his own by miles.

This was a great solid record that sadly got passed over in favor of newer wave of heavier&faster groups just starting to emerge. Even sadder is the fact that UFO become almost completely forgoten in the following years all throughout the 1980s, losing a majority of fans who felt that Schenker's departure was the end of the band. Even with the these difficulties Phil Mogg and his men still toughed it out and put out top notch music despite lack of air play and critical and fan disdain.

Please check out No Place To Run, you'll be pleasantly surprised.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No Place To Run - Remaster 2009, July 18, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: No Place to Run (Audio CD)
Mr. Chapman arrives. With the departure of Michael Schenker, UFO had some big shoes to fill and Paul was just the Man for the job. His playing and writing skills were a great addition to the Band and this debut of the new line up sounds better than ever. The remastering has added a little more punch to the original production by George (not Sir yet) Martin. If you are a fan of UFO and have never heard this album, you need to give it a listen, especially at this price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still a solid, guitar-based "classic rock" album, May 7, 2012
By 
Mike (San Jose, CA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: No Place to Run (Audio CD)
On the May 5, 2012 episode of VH1 Classic's "That Metal Show," host Eddie Trunk sat next to his idol, Michael Schenker. Trunk has long called UFO...the Schenker edition in particular...his favorite band of all time. Putting things in perspective, he said that he's enjoyed the 4 Vinnie Moore albums, as well as the Paul Raymond years, but that Schenker's tenure was "iconic." I don't know if it's even possible to write a UFO review without mentioning Schenker in passing. But I do agree with Trunk. If you'd NEVER heard of Schenker...if he'd NEVER been a member of UFO...if he hadn't participaed in one of the most memorable strings of classic rock albums of all time (Phenomenon, Force It, No Heavy Petting, Lights Out, Obsession, and the mighty Strangers in the Night)...you MIGHT even pick up a copy of "No Place To Run" and love it to death. You see, Mogg and Way...along with Paul Chapman...have written a pretty decent set of tunes here. You might not immediately lock onto a standout track like "Doctor Doctor" or "Love To Love," but there is a rock-solid consistency that runs from start to finish, and Chapman wails on a number of solos. He's just not Schenker. Schenker is a guitar god. Chapman is a great guitarist...it's not the same. And there are many Brit bands from the 70s / 80s / 90s who never had a guitar god at the helm...Whitesnake, for instance. Heavy guitarists, some good, some great, no gods (and no, I haven't forgotten Steve Vai).

So the challenge becomes enjoying this album without making comparisons to the albums that preceded it. Not an easy task, but one that will be rewarded a set of songs that is worthy of its place in the UFO catalogue. You can also purchase the upcoming The Chrysalis Years Vol 2 (1980-1986) box set...which contains all of the Chapman studio albums, along with live tracks and rarities, and decide for yourself. I don't feel the quality of the material is as consistent as the first "Chrysalis Years" set, which contained all of the Schenker albums listed above, but it is UFO, there are tracks that wail, it's just that "No Place To Run" MAY be the crown jewel of the Chapman years. Start here, and if you agree on any level with what I've written here, by all means consider more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Take it or Leave it!", July 29, 2011
By 
Carlisle Wheeling (The World of Diversity) - See all my reviews
This review is from: No Place to Run (Audio CD)
I won't even go near all the obvious distinctions between guitarists Michael Schenker or Paul Chapman, except to say that maybe Schenker's classical influence had a lot more to do with the fact that he was somewhat more creative than his replacement. All I can say is that I discovered this album in the winter of 1980 as a high school freshman, it was my first UFO album, and it has remained near and dear to me since. One mistake people often make about this great British band is terming them "heavy metal." Uriah Heep always seemed heavier to me, and there's no question at all about Black Sabbath. UFO have always been labeled as a guy's band by SOMEBODY, but I have never listened. They have always had a heightened sense of melodic pop based song structures wrapped around great powerchords and a driving rhythm section.

So as not to compare this album with what came before and what came after--honestly, Walk On Water is the only later album I've purchased due to diversified musical preferences--so all I can say is that Chapman is not brilliant on this album, but he does a fine job. So maybe Phil Mogg and Pete Way haven't written some of their best lyrics here, but the music itself is topnotch and diversified instead of a one trick pony like so many other bands they've been lumped together with. Let's face it; "Alpha Centauri" is a great way to intro a blisteringly kickass opener like "Lettin' Go," and if you don't think this track is worthy of the UFO name, you need your ears checked! "Mystery Train" is covered very nicely and shows Chapman in a more comfortable element with his bluesy style. "This Fire Burns Tonight" easily reminds one of something off Obsession, while "Gone in the Night" is a nice, mellow closer to side one.

The surprise of what used to be side two on vinyl is the 60s Brit Invasion-sounding "Young Blood," and it is both especially good, with a catchy singalong chorus, and Chapman's guitar is incendiare here on so poppy a cut. I admit that the title track, "No Place to Run" has never been my most favorite, simply because so many other bands have either knowingly or unwittingly ripped it off. "Take it or Leave it" is both sad, beautiful, and a welcome break between the last five tracks. "Money, Money" is another piece similar to "Youngblood" with the exception that it is bluesier and has a slight Foreigner element to it. Sorry about the comparison, but you can hear it! Closer, "Anyday" is a ballad with great bass lines that alternately rips your head off with the chorus and ends with a blistering fadeout guitar solo, rounding the album out nicely. Mogg's voice has always been interesting to me, very distinct, and once I discovered Penomenon, began to pan out the influences of Mick Jagger and Rod Stewart in his delivery, yet he could be nobody else. High praise indeed.

So, in wrapping this up, I stand by my review title. This is a good, solid post-Schenker effort that succeeds if you want it to. It is hard to accept new band members when you have been loyal to a certain lineup for so long--sort of how I feel about the early 70s Heep albums, but a group can often pleasantly surprise you down the road. By the way, I bought this on compact disc (Japanese import) for a mere 17 bucks, and that didn't seem as outrageous as the prices I've had to pay for other albums. Take it or leave it, people, but if you leave it, you're missing out on a great record!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

No Place to Run
No Place to Run by UFO (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.