Industrial-Sized Deals TextBTS15 Shop Women's Handbags Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Melanie Martinez $5 Off Fire TV Stick Labor Day Sale in Wine Shop Popular Services pivdl pivdl pivdl  Amazon Echo Starting at $99 Kindle Voyage Nintendo Digital Games Shop Back to School with Amazon Back to School with Amazon Outdoor Recreation Deal of the Day

No Prayer For The Dying [Enhanced]
Format: Audio CDChange
Price:$8.99+Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

55 of 59 people found the following review helpful
on April 7, 2002
I am just writing before all the other people start talking about what a horrible album this is. What is so horrible about it? Absolutely nothing. The production is great, you can hear every instrument just right. There is someone else on guitar with dave, someone who is crazy on stage, and has a very mean guitar sound, it isnt adrian thats for sure. It is the most highly underrated guitarist probably to date, mr. jannick gers. The song writing is powerful, really deep, and is based on alot of personal issues.
If you think this album is not very good, then you shouldnt be a fan of killers, the # of the beast, piece of mind, and powerslave. Because this is the exact same concept with those albums, only there is a different outstanding guitarist on ending of the golden years for maiden. This is a simple album, it isnt a very complex one, yet it is filled with power driving riffs, and greatness. Nicko's drums are unstoppable, bruce is very heavy, I can understand if some people do not like his singing in this, I dont think it sounds like there is acid in his throat, but is just very raw.
Harris delivers his intense songwriting and bass playing as usual. Every song on here is worthy to listen too, there are favorites but every song is enjoyable. Last note, for all of those who are jannick haters, lets see if you can play the solos from tail gunner, holy smoke, run silent, run deep, and bring your daughter to the slaugher. Just try to play these 4 solos, and you will see what im talking about. I have been playing guitar for awhile now, and I know that gers is an awesome guitarist, and clicks with dave so sensationally. Thats why they recruited this man, it should be obvious. Anyway, im ready to see how unhelpful my vote is, ect. Just wanted to try and prove a point, hopefully at least 10 out of 100 people will see my review helpfull,and to the rest of you who dont, just try to play gers's riffs, and really listen to this album better. Cause yes it is definitely up to the normal maiden standards. UP THE IRONS!!!
1212 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
on October 8, 2005
I have been a Maiden fan for a long time(since i listened to Powerslave and got hooked.) Everyone who has reviewed this album are not true iron maiden fans. All the puny two and three stars that you guys gave this cd are screwed up. I had this albunm burned for me a couple of weeks ago and I was hooked as soon as I put on the headphones. From Tailgunner to Mother Russia (a should have been greatest hit) all 10 songs are sweet. Killer solos, catchy verses and chorus', and pounding drums, this cd kicks huge butt. Here is a review on this cd from number 1 to number 10:

Tailgunner: This song is really sweet! The killer intro goes for a 1:20 or so and the rest is maiden all the way. Its got interesting lyrics, driving riffs, and pounding drums. While not the best song on the cd, tailgunner is a great opener to NPFTD. 9 out of 10 stars.

Holy Smoke: This greatest hit is definetly deserved! the verses, chorus', and everything about this song is insane! The driving riffs are catchy, the lyrics are Bruce at his best, and the solos are Maiden All The Way! A 10/10!

No Prayer for The Dying: When the screwed up reviews were naming th "ok" songs on NPFTD they forgot to mention this one! This title track is my favorite song on the whole cd! Its slow, its meaningful, its got sweet solos, its got great lyrics, the drums aren't "Phil Rudd" funky primers, and i cant beleive its not a greatest hit! 11/10

Public Enema Number One: Its a good song, but not a great one! I think this song is pretty good, but lets just say its not the first song i go to when I pop in the cd. I listened to it once: Ok, moving on. Then I listened to it again: When is this song over again? I think you get the picture! 6.5-7/10.

Fates Warning: This is a pretty cool maiden song, but its hard to hear the vocals on a lot of the parts. It was definetly a releif from Public Enema, but its not like th title track. Its got strange but cool lyrics and great guitar riffs. 8.5/10

Assassin: I love this song! Its my top three on the album and I think it should have been a hit. I love the solos and the lyrics are sneaky Bruces style completely. You better Watch Out, cause this song will grab you by the ears and pull you in! 10/10

Run Silent Run Deep: Another great song that has an incredible intro! Even after I listened to the song, I replayed just to hear the intro again. The lyrics are meanfulful, though this is not a slow song, and the guitars are awesome! The drums are good and its one of my top five on the cd! 9/10

Hooks in You: This song starts off good, but theres something about the chorus that just doesnt "hook me in." I like it, but then i dont. It could have been a lot better if Bruce would have come a little stronger with the vocals. Still it has a sweet solo and good guitar riffs. 7.5/10.

Bring Your Daughter...To The Slaughter: This song is a greatest hit but i dont think its better than NPFTD or Mother Russia which were not hits! Dont get me wrong, the riffs, drumming, and Bruces vocals are sweet and Iron maiden at their finest, but like i said, a little over-rated. Still a classic, and a perfect song for a horror movie. 9/10

Mother Russia: I love the intro, the drums, the insane solos, the short but strong lyrics, and the humming. This song ends No prayer for the dying very strong. You will love it and will want to learn the words quickly. 10/10 all the way!

Hoped you like my review. Dont listen to anyone if they say this cdis bad and if they say im a fool, just look at how long it took me to write this review! *** UP THE IRONS!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
20 of 25 people found the following review helpful
on April 2, 2003
THE BAND: Bruce Dickinson (vocals), Dave Murray (guitar), Janick Gers (guitar), Steve Harris (bass), Nicko McBrain (drums & percussion).

THE DISC: (1990) 10 tracks clocking in at just over 44 minutes. Included with the disc is a 14-page booklet that contains band pictures, song credits/titles, song lyrics, and thank you's. Recorded at Steve Harris' Barn somewhere in England on the Rolling Stone Mobile. Cover art by Derek Riggs. Label - Epic. *The digitally remastered version (on Sanctuary Maiden label) released in 2002 offers more in the way of liner notes and videos for your PC.

COMMENTS: It's hard for me to write this review, since I've been a fan of Iron Maiden from the beginning. I have their entire collection on disc - Iron Maiden has so many great releases. Some of those ("Number Of The Beast", "Powerslave", and "Piece Of Mind" to name a few) are all-time British metal classics... as well as all-time heavy metal classics. However, there are so many things wrong with "No Prayer For The Dying". What the heck happened after 1988's "7th Son Of A 7th Son" (less than 2 years prior)? The sound (production) is flat. Much different from previous albums - Steve Harris' Barn and the Rolling Stone Mobile I'm sure has something to do with it. This was a first for the band recording here (most of their classic 80's material was recorded in the Bahamas or France). Guitar wizard Adrian Smith is gone... working on solo projects and beckoning Dickinson to join him (a few years later he got his wish). For the most part, the melodies are forgettable. And most importantly, the lyrics are silly, or don't fit with the song. Several reviews here trash Dickinson's vocals. I disagree - I think he sounds fine, but the lyrics just don't go with the guitar licks and melodies... leaving an awkward feel to most of this album. "No Prayer For The Dying" is also missing a trademark epic song. It doesn't have to be a 13-minute "Rime Of The Ancient Mariner", but something lengthier than "Mother Russia" (the longest song on the album at 5:31) would have been nice. Steve Harris is an amazing bassist, but the questionable bass playing on "Run Silent Run Deep" simply baffles me. The original album cover artwork features Eddie reaching out and choking a man... on the remastered edition, the man is gone and (background) colors are slightly changed. The band's most recent "live" albums ("Death On The Road" and "Rock In Rio") feature NO songs from "No Prayer For The Dying"... what's that tell you! On the plus side, the songs "Holy Smoke" and "Bring Your Daughter... To The Slaughter" made it to their "Essential" (2005) and "Edward The Great" (2002) best-of compilations. The latter of the two also made it to "Best Of The Beast" (1996). While these two songs are easily the best songs on the disc, that's not saying much... they're both weak compared to anything the band did in the 80's. The 3rd best song is "Tailgunner" - good tune with unconforming lyrics. I've kept the original disc and opted not to trade in for the remastered version - even with better sound quality, it's still an album I won't listen to much. In my opinion, Iron Maiden really struggled in the 90's... two sub par albums with Bruce ("Fear Of The Dark" was the other one), and two with sad replacement singer Blaze Bailey ("X Factor" and "Virtual Xi"). I've tried repeatedly to get "into" this album over the years... and I simply can't do it (2.5 stars).
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on March 6, 2008
"No Prayer For The Dying" is just one of many great albums by this band. It's no different than any other classic IM record. I'm giving it 4 & 1/2 stars. To compare, and break down every detail of it to the albums that came before or after, is trivial. The bottom line is the end result: did it rock? Does it have songs that I consider to be some of their best material? Do I continue to enjoy listening to it, over a long period of time? Does it sound like classic Iron Maiden? A big YES to all these simple questions.
If you look at most of the some 200 Listmania reviews where fans rank the band's catalogue, you'll see "No Prayer For The Dying" at the bottom of almost every list. Most fans made too big of a deal out of guitarist Adrian Smith leaving, and Jannick Gers replacing him...who cares? You still have Dave Murray in the band, letting loose with some killer solos, and Janick does just fine. Truth is, as famous as they are, I don't listen to this band for the guitar solos, it's all about the songs. Mr. Gers is good enough to get by, and that's "close enough for rock and roll". Another thing, fans make a big deal of Dickinson's vocals on this album, to my ears, he sounds great, and not any different from their other albums...but hey-that's just me. Again, this album rocks. Also, who could argue with Martin Birch as the producer? While being a little more raw, a familiar, yet classic Iron Maiden sound is evident on this album. Good riffs, tight, concise arrangements, and there's an economy of song craft here, nothing is epic, overblown, or drawn out. The style is a little different than the 2 or 3 previous Maiden records, being not as progressive, rather it's more of a return to "classic", early days Iron Maiden, consise and more direct, and that's why this album is effective. Favorite songs are, "The Assassin", "Public Enema #1", "Tailgunner", "Run Silent, Run Deep", and the brilliant title track. "Holy Smoke" is a great rocker with awesome lyrics. Oddly enough, the only "least favorite" for me, is the single "Bring Your Daughter...", which is the most well known track on this record. So in closing, I'll say this- before you discard this underrated gem from 1990, give it a good, loud listen. Rock out, and forget about how it compares to any other Iron Maiden cd. Keep it simple.
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on February 15, 2005
No Prayer For The Dying, Iron Maiden's 8th studio album. If anyone has read my review on Fear Of The Dark, you will understand how this album ties in with their follwing one. After a huge tour for Seventh Son Of A Seventh Son, I felt that Iron Maiden were worn out, tired mentally and physically. It showed more on Fear Of The Dark, but it was on this album where you could start to see a few changes.

Guitarist Adrian Smith calls it quits in early 1990, before this album was made, but a song he did co-write beforehand did make it to the album (Hooks In You). Enter new guitarist Jannick Gers.

What I noticed from this album are the more simpler lyrics/music, and the shorter songs. Gone are the long 6-9 minute epic tracks we've heard in the past. The longest song on this album is only 5:32. But despite all that, they seem to get away with it due to great songs and few fillers. This indeed is an underrated album.

Tailgunner starts off this album, and it's a great opener. Reminds you of Aces High, but nowhere near that classic song. Great solo and great guitar riffs. Holy Smoke is next, and here is where we see the lyrics change a bit from what we are used to hearing. The song itself is good and these different lyrics would continue later.

The title track comes next, a semi-ballad which speeds up for a brilliant solo towards the end of the song, another standout track on this album. Public Enema Number One follows the title track. Nothing special here, just a typical Maiden track, but it just works. It just gets better as it goes on.

Fates Warning is next, again nothing special and is just an OK track. I've noticed that almost all the tracks so far all have the same type of structure and most go for the same length of time, which I think is the result of their tiredness. For Iron Maiden, these are easy songs, without too much creativity or challenge, yet with most of the songs, they get them to work.

The poorest track on the entire album is next, The Assassin. It's totally a filler and disappointing that master song-writer Steve Harris is the one who wrote it.

Run Silent Run Deep is next, one of the best songs on the album so far, along with Tailgunner. The erie beginning is a great start, with a galloping thundering riff throughout the track makes it a standout song.

Hooks In You would be the 2nd of the OK to average songs on this album. It's another song where the lyrics are quite different, and it's only the catchy chorus which saves this track.

The best song of the album is easily Bring Your Daughter...To The Slaughter. A crowd favourite and always played in live shows, the song is an instant Maiden classic.

The album finishes off nicely with Mother Russia. In the vein of To Tame A Land & Alexander The Great, Mother Russia is a fitting end to this album. With Russian type guitar sounds during the verses, the song is catchy and leaves you satsified.

Overall, although this is no way Iron Maiden's best album, and it does seem uninspired at times, it is an underrated, good album, where they do seem to get away with making great songs and working them well. In parts, especially with lyrics and song structure, I believe Iron Maiden were wearing thin, tired from long and lengthy tours and No Prayer For The Dying shows that in parts. It shows even more with their following album, Fear Of The Dark.

(rating each song is as follows: 0.98-1= killer track, 0.95-0.97= awesome track, 0.90-0.93= very good track, 0.85-0.88= OK/good track, 0.80-0.83= poor/average track)

Tailgunner: 1

Holy Smoke: 0.92

No Prayer For The Dying: 0.95

Public Enema Number One: 0.93

Fates Warning: 0.90

The Assassin: 0.85

Run Silent Run Deep: 1

Hooks In You: 0.88

Bring Your Daughter To The Slaughter: 1

Mother Russia: 0.95 = 9.38 divided by 10 (tracks) = 93.8%

Give this album a go, you'll either like it or hate it...
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
I'm a Maiden from from just about the beginning. Although 'No Prayer for the Dying' pales in comparison to classics like 'Number of the Beast' and 'Piece of Mind', this is not what I would call a ;bad' Iron Maiden album.

This was Janick Ger's first appearance with Iron Maiden. Although a lot of fans do not like his sloppiness in live shows, he brings an energy to the band. Janick will jump around with Steve Harris while Adrian and Dave stay pretty much still and concentrate on their instruments more than the audience. This chemistry has worked very well for a metal band with three guitarists. But I'm getting off track, No Prayer did not have Adrian and it was Janick and Dave.

I like the songs "Tailgunner', 'Holy Smoke', and 'Bring your Daughter'. These are agreed on by most fans. However I also like the last song 'Mother Russia'. Maiden was never a 'Sex, Drugs, and Rock n Roll Band'. They are a thinking man's metal, on a higher level of writing. I think Mother Russia fits in the Maiden song catalog well along with other songs relating to history, myth, and legends.

Public Enema #1 may leave something to be desired, but an album where every song is good is rare, no matter who the band is. If you are into 80's Maiden, maybe this album from the early 90's can satisfy you. Steve is still galloping on bass, and I don't know about other reviewers, but Bruce's voice sounds fine to me.

I have the original cover where Eddie is choking the guy with the lantern. I wonder why they changed it. A kinder and gentler Eddie? What gives?
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on January 14, 2011
i always liked this album. i never really understood the backlash it gets from the maiden fans. what's the problem? it's a great album! is it their BEST album? no. but it's not their worst, by far. sure their are a few filler tracks on this album, but as a whole, it's a very good maiden album. it has all the hallmarks of the maiden sound and a lot of killer tracks.
'tailgunner' 'holy smoke' 'bring your daughter..' 'run silent run deep' and the EPIC 'mother russia', among them. again, not a perfect album, but a damn good one.
most maiden fans point to albums like NUMBER OF THE BEAST and PIECE OF MIND as maiden classics, but even those albums have their filler tracks. can anyone honestly tell me that songs like 'quest for fire' 'sun and steel' and 'gangland'(among others) aren't filler? come on now. those are some weak tracks.
my point is this, every album has its filler and every album has some killer. this album has more killer than filler. NO PRAYER FOR THE DYING is a great album that is criminally underrated by most maiden fans. give it a shot, you wont be disappointed.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
on August 10, 2000
THE BAND: Bruce Dickinson (vocals), Dave Murray (guitar), Janick Gers (guitar), Steve Harris (bass), Nicko McBrain (drums & percussion).

THE DISC: (1990) 10 tracks clocking in at just over 44 minutes. Included with the disc is a 14-page booklet that contains band pictures, song credits/titles, song lyrics, and thank you's. Recorded at Steve Harris' Barn somewhere in England on the Rolling Stone Mobile. Cover art by Derek Riggs. Label - Epic. *The digitally remastered version (on Sanctuary Maiden label) released in 2002 offers more in the way of liner notes and videos for your PC.

COMMENTS: It's hard for me to write this review, since I've been a fan of Iron Maiden from the beginning. I have their entire collection on disc - Iron Maiden has so many great releases. Some of those ("Number Of The Beast", "Powerslave", and "Piece Of Mind" to name a few) are all-time British metal classics... as well as all-time heavy metal classics. However, there are so many things wrong with "No Prayer For The Dying". What the heck happened after 1988's "7th Son Of A 7th Son" (less than 2 years prior)? The sound (production) is flat. Much different from previous albums - Steve Harris' Barn and the Rolling Stone Mobile I'm sure has something to do with it. This was a first for the band recording here (most of their classic 80's material was recorded in the Bahamas or France). Guitar wizard Adrian Smith is gone... working on solo projects and beckoning Dickinson to join him (a few years later he got his wish). For the most part, the melodies are forgettable. And most importantly, the lyrics are silly, or don't fit with the song. Several reviews here trash Dickinson's vocals. I disagree - I think he sounds fine, but the lyrics just don't go with the guitar licks and melodies... leaving an awkward feel to most of this album. "No Prayer For The Dying" is also missing a trademark epic song. It doesn't have to be a 13-minute "Rime Of The Ancient Mariner", but something lengthier than "Mother Russia" (the longest song on the album at 5:31) would have been nice. Steve Harris is an amazing bassist, but the questionable bass playing on "Run Silent Run Deep" simply baffles me. The original album cover artwork features Eddie reaching out and choking a man... on the remastered edition, the man is gone and (background) colors are slightly changed. The band's most recent "live" albums ("Death On The Road" and "Rock In Rio") feature NO songs from "No Prayer For The Dying"... what's that tell you! On the plus side, the songs "Holy Smoke" and "Bring Your Daughter... To The Slaughter" made it to their "Essential" (2005) and "Edward The Great" (2002) best-of compilations. The latter of the two also made it to "Best Of The Beast" (1996). While these two songs are easily the best songs on the disc, that's not saying much... they're both weak compared to anything the band did in the 80's. The 3rd best song is "Tailgunner" - good tune with unconforming lyrics. I've kept the original disc and opted not to trade in for the remastered version - even with better sound quality, it's still an album I won't listen to much. In my opinion, Iron Maiden really struggled in the 90's... two sub par albums with Bruce ("Fear Of The Dark" was the other one), and two with sad replacement singer Blaze Bailey ("X Factor" and "Virtual Xi"). I've tried repeatedly to get "into" this album over the years... and I simply can't do it (2.5 stars).
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
18 of 24 people found the following review helpful
on October 15, 2002
No Prayer for the Dying is Iron Maiden's 1990 follow-up album to the Seventh Son album, a hugely successful album. Steve Harris wanted to take a step back to the basics and produce more of a "Garage" type sound, instead of expanding on the huge and progressive nature of their last two albums, "Somewhere in Time" and "Seventh Son". Adrian Smith disagreed with this approach and left the band. Janick Gers was brought in, and indeed brought a much more raw and hard edge to the rhythm and overall sound. The contrast between Gers and Dave Murray on guitar is extremely big. The two styles are extremely different, almost two much so. Harris' vision is understood, but the result is a rather poor and lackluster effort from a band that we came to expect so much from. Not that it's a bad album in anyway, just not up to the calibur of their previous seven albums. The first three songs are actually pretty good. "Tailgunner" is this albums fast paced energetic opener, followed by "Holy Smoke" one of the two singles from this album, a very good song with a great back to back solo where you can clearly hear the differences in style of the two guitarists. The title track follows and is a more melow but good song, similar to "Children of the Damned" from the "Number of the Beast" album. The album now proceeds to descend into a series of songs not worth mentioning. Assasin is just not a good song, not up to Maiden calibur. It does, however, pick up towards the end with the last three songs. "Hooks in you" is indeed a catchy song, with a cool chorus, and characteristic creepy vocals from Bruce Dickinson. Great guitar work as well. "Bring your Daughter to the Slaughter" in next, and was the other single released. A very catchy chorus with hysterical lyrics. "Mother Russia" is a descent attempt to end the album with a Maiden characteristic epic finale, but it falls short compared to "Alexander the Great" or "Hallowed be thy name". In general, it's a good album as far as Rock and Roll goes, but the worst Maiden album up until that point.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
on April 1, 1999
I gave this album another listen the other day, and I remembered why this is my least favorite Maiden album. While albums like Piece of Mind and Powerslave offered intelligent, imaginative lyrics, Maiden often resorts to cliche here. Subject matter varies from the atypical heavy metal attack on televangelists ("Holy Smoke") to an uninspired song about aerial combat ("Tailgunner"). By the way, "Tailgunner" is a carbon copy of "Aces High" from Powerlave. "Mother Russia" is Maiden's inevitable attempt at a history lesson. It is even more formulaic than "Alexander the Great" from the Somewhere in Time album (another stinker), and is definitely tacked on. They are not nearly as musically ambitious as they were on past efforts. It used to be that Maiden kept you guessing, but the music on No Prayer for the Dying is so predictable it is depressing. This album lacks hooks, melody, and Bruce Dickinson's formidable vocal range is never even challenged. The only reason to buy this album is to fill out a collection. If you are looking for great music, get Piece of Mind, Powerslave, or Live After Death. Listen to Maiden in its glory, and you will realize why this album is so embarassing.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
     
 
Customers who viewed this also viewed
Brave New World
Brave New World by Iron Maiden (Audio CD - 2000)

The Final Frontier
The Final Frontier by Iron Maiden (Audio CD - 2011)

 
     

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.