Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: No Sleep Til Hammersmith
Your Garage Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer roadies roadies roadies  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis UniOrlando Best Camping & Hiking Gear in Outdoors

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars63
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 24, 2006
God, I love Motorhead. They are one of the best rock/metal bands of all time, and one of my favorite bands as well. Their 1981 classic live album "No Sleep 'Til Hammersmith" was the first Motorhead album that I ever bought, and I just freakin love it, it's so addicting just like every Motorhead album I've listened to. This album showcases the classic lineup of Kilmister/Clarke/Taylor performing their early classic songs from "Ace of Spades", to "Overkill", to "Bomber", and doing it all in true Motorhead fashion: Loud, Fast, Dirty, and IN YOUR FACE! The songs on here are more faster and more heavier live than on the studio albums. Lemmy Kilmister's vocals are totally awesome, and his bass just makes the floor shake. "Fast" Eddie Clarke's guitar riffs and solos just makes your hair spin and your head banging happily. "Philthy" Phil Taylor's drumming is more faster live as well. Please read on for the song list and ratings.

Jeremy's song ratings:

1. Ace of Spades - 5/5

2. Stay Clean - 5/5

3. Metropolis - 5/5

4. The Hammer - 5/5

5. Iron Horse/Born to Lose - 5/5

6. No Class - 5/5

7. Overkill - 5/5

8. (We Are) The Road Crew - 5/5

9. Capricorn - 5/5

10. Bomber - 5/5

11. Motorhead - 5/5

Bonus Tracks

12. Over the Top - 5/5

13. Capricorn (Alternate Version) - 5/5

14. Train Kept-A-Rollin - 5/5

Overall Score: 100/100

Grade: A+ all the way man!!

Bottom Line: This album is a true and pure thrash/speed metal masterpiece, and it represents the way heavy metal is supposed to be. A definite must have for any fan of Motorhead, Hard Rock, Heavy Metal, or just good music in general. Buy it now!! MOTORHEAD RULES!! LEMMY IS GOD!!
22 comments|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 1, 2003
When ya go see Motorhead Lemmy has just one question for ya when he walks on stage: "Do you know what time it is?"...
A classic from start to finish. From the opening bass chords on "Ace Of Spades" to the all out paint peeling of "Bomber" this is what a live album SHOULD be. A live album is NO GOOD unless it makes you want to be there.This one does. A MUST HAVE for ANY Metal fan!!!
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 2, 2016
Killer live comp of Bronze era material, from the classic line up of Lemmy, Fast Eddie Clarke, and Philthy Animal Taylor. Super fan of group, but somehow never got around to getting this until now. Blown away right out of the box! Some people like to debate over how authentic or modified or produced a live CD is, all I can say is this Kills! Recorded super loud and heavy, yet the sound is clear. Lemmy never sounded better. Top notch musicianship. Every track is a winner. Nice fold open inner sleeve included. Enjoy Motorhead - No sleep'til Hammersmith alongside AC/DC - If You Want Blood You've Got It and Judas Priest - Unleashed In The East, the holy trinity of late 70s/early 80s live hard rock/heavy metal discs. Motorhead rules! Ian Kilmister RIP(rock in peace).
11 comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 21, 2007
In my opinion the best live heavy metal album ever made. I should qualify this by saying that I'm by no means a Metal devotee but I've never heard anything faster, tougher, nastier, stronger or sonically clearer from any other Metal band than this wonderful onslaught to my ears. It's a beautifully violent speed assault to the senses. `Ace of Spades', `Motorhead' and `Bomber' are all more impressive here than the studio versions and there's absolutely no filler tracks on this album. I remember that this was a massive success in the U.K. when it first came out to a lot of people's surprise and then people couldn't really figure out if `Motorhead' were a Metal/Punk, Punk/Metal or purely Metal band. In the end people decided that they couldn't care less and all types from the Punks (before they became extinct) and the hardcore metal-heads for a time celebrated one of the few bands who embraced both the styles so effortlessly. Lemmy's ultra-gruff voice is in full force here and hold's it's own with the mad-fast power guitar riffs and maniacal drumming that accompany for instance `Ace of Spaces' which is for my money the best Metal song bar-none. This is hard-metal, not the soft puffy crap that populated the 80's and with this album alone `Motorhead' are assured as one of the top 10 Metal bands of all time. This is their best album and to my mind the most adrenaline pumping kick in the face record maybe ever made. Clearly a band at the height of its powers, this is Motorhead's high-point and if you'd like to reacquaint yourself with some raw metal power mayhem this is the place to go. Anybody claiming to be a Metal fan who doesn't have this album well......just isn't a metal fan. This is essential.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 15, 2015
At least 4 stars for the music, but this vinyl reissue is not so great. Muddy and dull. Older vinyl or a CD version are probably better. This is a great live album, but missing some of the crispness of the album versions of these songs.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 20, 2016
Pulled from performances of material from their first four albums it's easy to see and hear why this live album has reached legendary status. The actual performances themselves are amazingly tight and unlike other bands they don't drift too far from the original tempo. The few times they do it's for added impact or power and only adds to the song itself. If you're a fan of any of the early Motorhead material you'll be able to appreciate these recordings.*****
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 25, 2013
Put simply, this CD absolutely rocks. I've been a longtime fan of Motorhead, and have their entire catalogue of studio albums, but had never gotten around to buying any of the live albums. I'm wary of live albums in general, as many of them are just awful sounding, but No Sleep Til Hammersmith is definitely the exception. The sound is great, Lemmy's gravelly voice as clear as day, each instrument easily discernible above the noise of the crowd. All in all, this is a fantastic collection of the best of early Motorhead, and is a must for every Motorhead fan.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 28, 2003
This album captures the strength of old classic Motörhead tunes in it live show with all the greats like The Hammer, Stay Clean, No Class, (We Are) The Road Crew, Capricorn, and on and on played by the bands original members this album is a must have for any true Motörhead fan. Not only that but the bands influence on al sorts of Metal and Punk like legends Metallica Megadeth and punk music itself (existing before the sex pistols) why wouldn't you want to buy the live album of one of the greatest bands in history playing hard fast and loud Heavy Rock N' Roll the way it should be.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 2, 2015
I'm not much of a live album fan overall, but sometimes a truly great one comes along that captures the spirit of a band and is far more a real live album than a phony greatest hits CD that some bands do as contractual obligations. Alongside "The Jimi Hendrix Concerts", a long out of print double album of the master at his best, "Band of Gypsies", the Who's "Live at Leeds", KISS' "Alive!" and the Cheap Trick Budokan CD's, "No Sleep 'Til Hammersmith" shows a band at its powerful best, so good it's ridiculous.
Motorhead were at the top of their game with this album, coming off the legendary "Ace of Spades". It features all the Eddie/Philthy/Lemmy standards in fine form. From the opener "Ace of Spades", the band furiously pounds out brutal versions of some of the best rock and roll up until that time for Motorhead. We get pounding renditions of "Overkill", "The Hammer", and many more, including one of my faves, "No Class", which, despite being an obvious ZZTop cop, is as slamming as it gets.
There are more recent Motorhead live CD's too, and some repackaging CD's, including "Bomber" and "Iron Fist" have live extra CD's, but sonically, "No Sleep" is the standard for one of the greatest metal bands in a live setting ever. Live performances are Motorhead's domain, and you can see the crowd responding enthusiastically, frothing at the mouth and probably having the time of their lives. This energy can't be faked in a studio. This is what live rock and roll is all about.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 7, 2011
You want a great live album that captures Motorhead in all of its hammering, braincrushing power and underground grit? This one's it. Featuring the vintage lineup of "Fast" Eddie Clarke, Phil "Philthy Animal" Taylor and Lemmy, the Sanctuary remaster offers 3 bonus tracks(Over the Top, Train Kept-a-Rollin' and an alternate take of Capricorn) along with the original 11 track master culminating in a classic offering that transcends heavy rock and would influence countless bands(especially the thrash metal movement in the early-mid eighties) throughout, well into the next decade. I'm not going to dissect this any further. This release, No Remorse and the Ace of Spades album are the core discs to own if one thinks of Vintage Motorhead. Essential. 5 solid stars
33 comments|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.