Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Do You Know What Time It Is?"
When ya go see Motorhead Lemmy has just one question for ya when he walks on stage: "Do you know what time it is?"...
A classic from start to finish. From the opening bass chords on "Ace Of Spades" to the all out paint peeling of "Bomber" this is what a live album SHOULD be. A live album is NO GOOD unless it makes you want to be there.This one does. A MUST HAVE for...
Published on May 1, 2003 by John

versus
28 of 40 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars They screwed up this album!!!
As a Motorhead fan, I have to say I was really disappointed with how they've adapted the LP for this CD. The original LP was from a single live show, so the entire LP flowed like a live show -- a song, applause in the middle, then another song. You almost felt like you were there.
To adapt this for the CD, they've created breaks in between the songs to correspond to...
Published on September 29, 2003 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Do You Know What Time It Is?", May 1, 2003
By 
John (Ridott, IL.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: No Sleep Til Hammersmith (Audio CD)
When ya go see Motorhead Lemmy has just one question for ya when he walks on stage: "Do you know what time it is?"...
A classic from start to finish. From the opening bass chords on "Ace Of Spades" to the all out paint peeling of "Bomber" this is what a live album SHOULD be. A live album is NO GOOD unless it makes you want to be there.This one does. A MUST HAVE for ANY Metal fan!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Speed Metal, May 24, 2006
By 
This review is from: No Sleep Til Hammersmith (Audio CD)
God, I love Motorhead. They are one of the best rock/metal bands of all time, and one of my favorite bands as well. Their 1981 classic live album "No Sleep 'Til Hammersmith" was the first Motorhead album that I ever bought, and I just freakin love it, it's so addicting just like every Motorhead album I've listened to. This album showcases the classic lineup of Kilmister/Clarke/Taylor performing their early classic songs from "Ace of Spades", to "Overkill", to "Bomber", and doing it all in true Motorhead fashion: Loud, Fast, Dirty, and IN YOUR FACE! The songs on here are more faster and more heavier live than on the studio albums. Lemmy Kilmister's vocals are totally awesome, and his bass just makes the floor shake. "Fast" Eddie Clarke's guitar riffs and solos just makes your hair spin and your head banging happily. "Philthy" Phil Taylor's drumming is more faster live as well. Please read on for the song list and ratings.

Jeremy's song ratings:

1. Ace of Spades - 5/5

2. Stay Clean - 5/5

3. Metropolis - 5/5

4. The Hammer - 5/5

5. Iron Horse/Born to Lose - 5/5

6. No Class - 5/5

7. Overkill - 5/5

8. (We Are) The Road Crew - 5/5

9. Capricorn - 5/5

10. Bomber - 5/5

11. Motorhead - 5/5

Bonus Tracks

12. Over the Top - 5/5

13. Capricorn (Alternate Version) - 5/5

14. Train Kept-A-Rollin - 5/5

Overall Score: 100/100

Grade: A+ all the way man!!

Bottom Line: This album is a true and pure thrash/speed metal masterpiece, and it represents the way heavy metal is supposed to be. A definite must have for any fan of Motorhead, Hard Rock, Heavy Metal, or just good music in general. Buy it now!! MOTORHEAD RULES!! LEMMY IS GOD!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have for any true motörhead fan, March 28, 2003
This review is from: No Sleep Til Hammersmith (Audio CD)
This album captures the strength of old classic Motörhead tunes in it live show with all the greats like The Hammer, Stay Clean, No Class, (We Are) The Road Crew, Capricorn, and on and on played by the bands original members this album is a must have for any true Motörhead fan. Not only that but the bands influence on al sorts of Metal and Punk like legends Metallica Megadeth and punk music itself (existing before the sex pistols) why wouldn't you want to buy the live album of one of the greatest bands in history playing hard fast and loud Heavy Rock N' Roll the way it should be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Live Metal Album Ever!, May 21, 2007
This review is from: No Sleep Til Hammersmith (Audio CD)
In my opinion the best live heavy metal album ever made. I should qualify this by saying that I'm by no means a Metal devotee but I've never heard anything faster, tougher, nastier, stronger or sonically clearer from any other Metal band than this wonderful onslaught to my ears. It's a beautifully violent speed assault to the senses. `Ace of Spades', `Motorhead' and `Bomber' are all more impressive here than the studio versions and there's absolutely no filler tracks on this album. I remember that this was a massive success in the U.K. when it first came out to a lot of people's surprise and then people couldn't really figure out if `Motorhead' were a Metal/Punk, Punk/Metal or purely Metal band. In the end people decided that they couldn't care less and all types from the Punks (before they became extinct) and the hardcore metal-heads for a time celebrated one of the few bands who embraced both the styles so effortlessly. Lemmy's ultra-gruff voice is in full force here and hold's it's own with the mad-fast power guitar riffs and maniacal drumming that accompany for instance `Ace of Spaces' which is for my money the best Metal song bar-none. This is hard-metal, not the soft puffy crap that populated the 80's and with this album alone `Motorhead' are assured as one of the top 10 Metal bands of all time. This is their best album and to my mind the most adrenaline pumping kick in the face record maybe ever made. Clearly a band at the height of its powers, this is Motorhead's high-point and if you'd like to reacquaint yourself with some raw metal power mayhem this is the place to go. Anybody claiming to be a Metal fan who doesn't have this album well......just isn't a metal fan. This is essential.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 40 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars They screwed up this album!!!, September 29, 2003
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: No Sleep Til Hammersmith (Audio CD)
As a Motorhead fan, I have to say I was really disappointed with how they've adapted the LP for this CD. The original LP was from a single live show, so the entire LP flowed like a live show -- a song, applause in the middle, then another song. You almost felt like you were there.
To adapt this for the CD, they've created breaks in between the songs to correspond to the different CD tracks, and it sounds totally artificial. It really destroys what had been an amazing live peformance.
If you can't find the LP (or don't have an LP player) I guess you should settle for this version (the music still rocks!). But if you're a Motorhead purist like me, prepare to be a little disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vintage Live Motorhead, July 7, 2011
This review is from: No Sleep Til Hammersmith (Audio CD)
You want a great live album that captures Motorhead in all of its hammering, braincrushing power and underground grit? This one's it. Featuring the vintage lineup of "Fast" Eddie Clarke, Phil "Philthy Animal" Taylor and Lemmy, the Sanctuary remaster offers 3 bonus tracks(Over the Top, Train Kept-a-Rollin' and an alternate take of Capricorn) along with the original 11 track master culminating in a classic offering that transcends heavy rock and would influence countless bands(especially the thrash metal movement in the early-mid eighties) throughout, well into the next decade. I'm not going to dissect this any further. This release, No Remorse and the Ace of Spades album are the core discs to own if one thinks of Vintage Motorhead. Essential. 5 solid stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heavy Metal the way it was meant to be!, January 15, 2002
This review is from: No Sleep Til Hammersmith (Audio CD)
Few heavy metal bands have been more influential to the metal landscape of the past twenty years than the godfathers of thrash metal, Motorhead. And few live albums are as intense as the No Sleep 'Til Hammersmith. This is Motorhead in all this raw, simple, nasty glory. This is live music the way it was supposed to be; forceful, in your face, and without the overdubs of a studio recording. This is Motorhead playing all their classics better than ever. This is the predecessors of Metallica, Megadeath, Anthrax, and others proving that metal is best performed fast and furious.
So if you want your rock 'n' roll fast (very fast), loud, intense, nasty, in your face, mixed together with punk and heavy metal, stirred up right and served up as kick a** speed metal then I urge that you buy No Sleep 'Til Hammersmith right away. You shall not regret it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It can't get more live than this, May 1, 2002
By 
This review is from: No Sleep Til Hammersmith (Audio CD)
So You like hard rock n roll, and you have'nt heard this classic live recording? Motorhead took the energy and speed from punkrock and mixed it with a very hard and dirty rock n roll. You can't call yourself a hardrock fan before you have heard this cornerstone of brutal music...As dirty and unpolished as it gets, pure energy and lots of untamed marshall watts. I don't listen to this CD so often nowadays, but when I do, I always get blown away. One of the most "energy packed" recordings of all time...Kids, listen and learn..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Motörhead tonic, November 22, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: No Sleep Til Hammersmith (Audio CD)
If you're new to the band, this is a great live album for the library and a window to an earlier era: If you're feeling blue try this Motörhead tonic, you'll be grinning by the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential live Motorhead, December 15, 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: No Sleep Til Hammersmith (Audio CD)
I normally shy away from live albums, since they are mainly re-worked retreads of old material, and usually with inferior sound. It's a quick way for a band to fulfill contract obligations without going to much effort.
However, some bands live for the stage, and to not own some of their live material is missing an essential piece of the picture. This list of must have live CD's includes the Who's "Live At Leeds", KISS' "Alive" (not the godawful "Alive II"), Cheap Trick's "Budokan" CD's, which now feature the whole concert, and Motorhead's "No Sleep 'Til Hammersmith".
We get the real essence of the Fast Eddie era Motorhead with this gem, and the band pounds through its first four albums, taking cuts like "Iron Horse", "Overkill" and "No Class" and turning them into sonic assaults worthy of the bomber that donned their stage show at that time. Of course, "Ace Of Spades" and "The Hammer" are here, and the most demented scream you'll ever hear at the end of "Overkill", courtesy of one of Motorhead's looniest road crew members, which, of course, morphs into the roadie anthem "We Are The Road Crew".
The sound is great, the audience was in pure freakout mode, and the Odeon probably had to have major foundation repair done after this show. It's what metal/ultra hard rock 'n roll is all about, and a great testament to one of rock's greatest bands, ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

No Sleep Til Hammersmith
No Sleep Til Hammersmith by Motörhead (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.