Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Prepare to get your mind blown away, January 9, 2012
By 
Per Hĺkansson (San Francisco, CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: No Straight Lines (Perfect Paperback)
Alan Moore explains today's political, social and economical upheaval and crisis by an industrial revolution got awry and overextended, resulting in the chaos that most us feel today. "No Straight Lines" explains how we allowed ourselves to get lost as human beings among autocratic agendas, economies-of-scale and hyper-capitalism and how that era is now coming to a painful end. It's a very refreshing big picture explanation to our jaded everyday complacency and the never ending doomsday prophesies from politicians to broadcast media. It made me realize that we live in the best of times with an incredible opportunity to design a new better and braver world if we only can muster the leap from linearity to connected dots.

The only way out of this dead-end is to rethink and redesign the way we live, work and play - from top to bottom. Alan Moore offer us his creative game plan for rediscovering humanity via natural human participation where craftsmanship, entrepreneurship and self-mastery will eventually replace hierarchies, lack of transparency and business as usual. Prepare to get your mind blown away - you will never look at the world in the same way again. I sure don't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars We're probably not doomed!, February 19, 2012
By 
Christopher Slowe (Somerville, MA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: No Straight Lines (Kindle Edition)
It's refreshing to read a work which so clearly identifies technology as a cause and cure of the societal disruption that we are currently experiencing without degenerating into discussion of technological fetishism or an impending singularity. My biggest complement and main complaint (which, incidentally, makes this statement not so much nonlinear as downright quantum) is that Moore's downright encyclopedic with his anecdotes, examples, and citations. Every point he makes is thoroughly backed up, and his reference list has only served to increase the back log on my kindle (unforgivable! :)

Having so many examples to present acts as a wonderful counterpoint to what little discussion there is outside of tech circles, which seems to be centered on how new technology is ruining "society": a child committing suicide after being cyberbullied (no one mentions the dozens who did so after being bullied the old fashioned way); twitter and facebook coordinated riots in London leading to discussion of censoring/monitoring both services (though everyone forgets Egypt and Tunisia...). I found the fact that Moore was able to synthesize so many concrete, successful examples of the positive impact of new technologies as well as to identify the underlying threads which bind such nominally disparate innovations quite buoying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Communities, The Future Way for Production, Goods and Service Delivery, January 4, 2012
By 
William Greenberg (Toronto, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: No Straight Lines (Kindle Edition)
Alan Moore is a thought leader in the use of social networks for business, government and communities. In "No Straight Lines" Alan provides a thorough understanding of how a community of common interests is created and the impacts that are disrupting old methods for production of goods and delivery of services. Until the dawn of the Industrial Revolution civilization was centered on local communities for production of goods and delivery of services. Mass production reorganized society to a new model which Alan characterizes as "Linear". Linear systems have dominated for the past 150 years.

The great Canadian theorist Marshall McLuhan predicted that the world would become a "Global Village". With the rapid growth of mobile networks with 5 billion users and high speed broadband the Global Village has arrived. This interconnected global platform is the underpinning for a revolution to new and generally low cost models of business and services.

In "No Straight Lines" Alan connects us with the wave of social community centric developments causing disruption yet underpinning fascinating new ways to spur growth. For people like myself focused on the future Alan's insights provide a rich window onto the new wave of the "Social Networked Economy" and the many opportunities being created.

William Greenberg, Entrepreneur
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars On my all-times top 5, February 6, 2012
This review is from: No Straight Lines (Kindle Edition)
Alan has a unique understanding of the next generation business-platforms and organizational DNAs. This book is an excellent gathering of the most promising examples and cases - from which Alan spots the patterns, models and methodologies that can be extracted and unfolded - to be applied in another (own) context. An amazing book when you want to make a shortcut to learn new ways to succeed in complexity. Definitely a 2012 MUST read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compelling Book, Brilliant Thinker, June 30, 2012
This review is from: No Straight Lines (Kindle Edition)
Alan Moore is a dynamic speaker and brilliant thinker. His book reflects the same positive attitude and stimulating connections.

I'd recommend this to everyone who is interested in original ideas and thought provoking solutions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A "Must Read" from a Visionary Thinker, May 1, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: No Straight Lines (Kindle Edition)
I've known Alan since we both presented as authors at SXSWi. We'd written books on "social media" and had secured speaking slots based on our respective works. I was really interested in what Alan had to say, and to compare his views with my own.

I was blown away.

Where my books are skills-oriented, Alan's provide foundational insight on what "social" really is, about what it means on a global scale and where we're all likely to be ten years on. (If we're lucky!) Talking with Alan and diving into No Straight Lines (I got a manuscript preview before purchasing a release copy) changed a lot of what I thought I knew. No Straight lines is an amazing look at the past, present and future as society (and the workplace!) is reshaped by social technology. Rote process replaced with collaboration, maximization of individual gain replaced by a collective that benefits all participants. Ultimately, No Straight lines is a book about the world we all wanted to live in: The best part of it is that we still can.

I highly recommend this book, and sincerely appreciate the effort that Alan put into writing this.
Thank you, Alan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars From industrial to networked society, February 28, 2012
This review is from: No Straight Lines (Perfect Paperback)
Mr. Moore writes "On September 11, 2009, a Frenchwoman who worked for France Telecom sent an email to her father, she wrote: 'I can't take the new reorganisation. I prefer to die.' Then she threw herself out of a fourth'storey office window. She had worked at France Telecom for nine years. Her story is, that after constant re'organisations, her suicide was a welcome relief from the stress of her daily working life.", "These co'joined unhappy triplets of recent history speak truth to the notion that free market capitalism enabled people to become socially mobile; that banks served the needs of local communities and business and that parliament was a paragon of virtue, dedicated to ensuring the well being of all citizens. What strikes me most of all is the absence of the idea of the "morality of enough." Although Dick Fuld, CEO of Lehman Brothers, knew his company was in financial crisis, he refused six times to sell Lehman Brothers because the price was never high enough." and "Our discussion then evolved into what does a VC know? How do they get their knowledge? Surely they should have an ability to know how to run that company better than the entrepreneurs themselves? Am I wrong? Or at least know how to add value - not just cash?".

Those are all samples from this book, and they demonstrate, how the book illustrates many daily issues of our business life. But it is not only about the business life. It is about the life of human beings and the whole society. This book puts you to think, how business, ethics, economy and fairness can work together in today's life. People are frustrated in their daily work, some huge financial institutions with very complex instruments prevail the world, and the industrial era model doesn't work anymore, it doesn't create jobs and it doesn't offer sustainable solutions.

The book also demonstrates many new models to live and make business. They are e.g. models that are not based on huge corporations, but on networked models of individuals and smaller companies to make business together, including crowd-sourcing and crowdfunding. Internet and mobile typically have an important role in these new models. People don't need hierarchical organizations and many middle-men, people can do things directly with other people. It also change the way to make daily work.

Let's be honest, this is not an easy book to read. And it doesn't offer easy solutions. But it forces you to think. I don't agree on all points and opinions in this book, but it gave seeds to think more and find better models to tackle the challenges. This book is especially about the end of industrial era and how we enter to a new 'digital networked society', but we don't know yet, how to live and make business in this new era. But now is the time to think about it. I recommend to read this, and start to think.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Must read for all., August 14, 2012
This review is from: No Straight Lines (Kindle Edition)
Alan Moore is a completely revolutionary thinker, author and speaker. His book No Straight Lines will absolutely disrupt your perspective on global networks-- from social to economic to political. Disruption being key here. His explanation of the way we used to think about technology, society, interaction, business, and life-- and how we need to think about them in today's new super-networked world-- is valuable for all, not just the business-minded. No Straight Lines is robust with anecdotes and examples that hammer home Moore's arguments for the benefits of using technology collaboratively and innovatively. Technology is not killing us, but we need to use it better, together.

-Richard Ross, photographer and Professor of Art, UCSB
[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Stimulating Debate, July 13, 2012
This review is from: No Straight Lines (Kindle Edition)
This is a mammoth undertaking, epic in scope, which took Moore seven years to research and write. There is something for everyone interested in grassroots action and the emergence of non-linear, global, networks. The book considers how these patterns and connections are beginning to disrupt traditional ways of doing business, politics, media...life. There is a presumption that we are all likely to want to adopt such practices, and sometimes a non-linear flow to the structure of the book itself. Overall, Moore offers a timely, highly interesting, and very rich mulch of ideas which is sure to stimulate vigorous debate on an important topic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring, July 4, 2012
This review is from: No Straight Lines (Kindle Edition)
Alan Moore's No Straight Lines is inspirational. Caustic and realistic, the prose makes for a great read with anecdotes peppered throughout a text that is a journey to a better way of living. Moore's disarmingly charming demeanour when talking about No Straight Lines makes him a valuable key note speaker in almost every circumstance. He talks about the stuff we want to know, the world we live in, and makes it understandable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

No Straight Lines
No Straight Lines by Alan Moore (Perfect Paperback - November 3, 2011)
$24.99 $21.70
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.