Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Golden Rule: Daptone & Dunham Can Do No Wrong!
Another fantastic entry in the Daptone/Dunham catalog, and this time it's Charles
Bradley's time to shine, backed up by Dap-Kings guitarist Brenneck and his
supersoulsolid Menahan Street Band.

A voice doesn't come much rawer than Bradley's. The man has definite soul power,
sometimes he hits like a roll of thunder, and it's easy to understand that...
Published on February 22, 2011 by Hilton Royale

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's good- not great
This album has some gems- why is it so hard- is great. The other songs I haven't found quite so catchy, but I'm trying. His voice is great. Very real, very harrowing. But sometimes, he should just song and quit takin so much.
Published 13 months ago by Jenna Mckinney


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Golden Rule: Daptone & Dunham Can Do No Wrong!, February 22, 2011
This review is from: No Time for Dreaming (Audio CD)
Another fantastic entry in the Daptone/Dunham catalog, and this time it's Charles
Bradley's time to shine, backed up by Dap-Kings guitarist Brenneck and his
supersoulsolid Menahan Street Band.

A voice doesn't come much rawer than Bradley's. The man has definite soul power,
sometimes he hits like a roll of thunder, and it's easy to understand that he
once fronted a James Brown tribute band. The man sure can holler!

In the end I think it sounds a bit too similar to get top honours, and maybe
The Menahan Street band could have taken a more adventurous approach to
some of the songs, but that is a negligible complaint, as you will find a lot
of truly great songs on it.

Standouts: the soul classic The World Is Going Up In Flames, I Believe In
Your Love(with sweet horn stabs, and backing vocals from The Gospel Queens),
No Time For Dreaming, the truly amazing How Long and the album closer,
Heartaches And Pain, a sad, autobiographical tale about a family member
killing his brother.

Put in in the basket. Payday is long overdue for Charles Bradley. Amazon should
even charge you over prize for this one, so we can be assured the man drive
according to his class, in a golden limo soulsmobile.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars REAL SOUL!!!!!, May 25, 2011
By 
This review is from: No Time for Dreaming (Audio CD)
I can't believe how few reviews there are on Amazon for this fantastic CD.
Real, authentic soul. Gets better with each listen.
You can hear the trials of Bradley's life in every note. This surpasses anything by James Brown in my opinion.
There's Sam Cooke, Otis Redding, Al Green and now Charles Bradley is ready to take his place alongside them.
Buy this and you will not regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic Talent, January 3, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: No Time For Dreaming (Re-Issue) (MP3 Music)
I was introduced to this record by a former colleague of mine. This is classic soul from a wonderful talent. You can tell Charles Bradley sings from the heart and means every word he sings. What is delivered is a classic sound full of feeling. Credit is also due to the incredible backing band and producer that recreate the sound and vibe of some of the best albums of the 60's / 70's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GET THIS ALBUM!, December 18, 2011
This review is from: No Time for Dreaming (Audio CD)
My Favorite CD of 2011.
If you like Soul - GET THIS ALBUM! If you like Funk - GET THIS ALBUM! If you like James Brown - GET THIS ALBUM! Real R'n'B, Real Emotion, Real Hard and Real Pretty - GET THIS ALBUM!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful!, November 4, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: No Time for Dreaming (Audio CD)
One of the best album on the gender. I wonder where was Charles before this...
I recommend
Samuel Cester
Brasil
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars OUTSTANDING, May 26, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: No Time For Dreaming (MP3 Music)
This cat sings with so much conviction! Every song is a brief glimpse into his life and its a great journey to go through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Throwback Soul, July 11, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: No Time For Dreaming (Re-Issue) (MP3 Music)
Any fan of REAL Soul from the 50's & 60's will love this release, I wish I'd found it earlier!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Soul has never been dead, March 19, 2012
By 
This review is from: No Time for Dreaming (Audio CD)
Real sixties Stax/Atlantic soul has been pronounced dead for a few decades now but with the meteoric rise of Daptone that claim can be shoved back into the ground for hopefully a long time. Charles Bradley is the latest perfect offering coming out of their studios. The man's soulful voice seems lifted out of the Memphis studios into the cradle of the warm Dap King sound. Horns that soulfully blow on `Golden Rule', a female chorus gospelling the chorus on `I Believe In Your Love' or the hammond's staccato riff on `Trouble in the Land' that also features a beautiful hornriff making you wish they would have made it a 5 minute instrumental and not a 1 minute interlude. `Lovin' You Baby' is the real classic 60's song which could have been sung by Percy Sledge. Soul is still coming back!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a great singer that most people don't know about, January 19, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: No Time for Dreaming (Audio CD)
I had never even heard of Charles Bradley when i noticed his CD was in the Rolling Stone's list of the top 50 in 2011. I read their review and decided to take a chance on his CD. A great decision. This guy can really sing with emotion. Plus his back-up band knows how to play many different instruments. Which is something u don't hear often enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good music, August 23, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: No Time for Dreaming (Vinyl)
If you like Charles Bradley, its a no brainer, if you don't it's a brainer? Is that even a thing??
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

No Time For Dreaming (Re-Issue)
Buy MP3 Album$8.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.