Customer Reviews


100 Reviews
5 star:
 (45)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


75 of 77 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Inspired by Heyer, but not plagarized!
I don't often write reviews, but I am compelled to due to the couple of negative reviews this book received. Yes, I agree, Ms. Brant was obviously inspired and guided by Ms. Heyer's earlier writings (particularly These Old Shades, which I think is Heyer's best). However, I do stop short of the cry of "plagarism"! Ms. Brant weaves a tale that takes place during the...
Published on October 7, 2011 by JLR

versus
19 of 25 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars No wonder there was a French Revolution
This is my least favorite type of historical novel. The hay scenes just keep coming while the author leeringly tries to top the last one. I gave up about a third of the way through, amazed that these characters have nothing on their minds but sex. Not for them, the roiling issues of this tumultuous era. No art, no politics, no sports, culinary arts, fashion or...
Published 22 months ago by S. Parenio


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

75 of 77 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Inspired by Heyer, but not plagarized!, October 7, 2011
By 
JLR (Washington, DC) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Noble Satyr: A Georgian Historical Romance (Roxton Family Saga Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I don't often write reviews, but I am compelled to due to the couple of negative reviews this book received. Yes, I agree, Ms. Brant was obviously inspired and guided by Ms. Heyer's earlier writings (particularly These Old Shades, which I think is Heyer's best). However, I do stop short of the cry of "plagarism"! Ms. Brant weaves a tale that takes place during the Georgian period and does it so skillfully that I found myself enthralled as I followed the tale of Roxton and Antonia. Her two main characters are drawn similarly to Heyer's Satanas and Leonie (of These Old Shades)and both stories take place in France around the same time period, but from there the stories diverge. There is an English Duke who is hauty and cold, an innocent but daring and intrepid heroine, wonderful secondary characters, a contemptible and disgusting cousin (the Comte), his monstrous son and two whippets who round out the story. Ms. Brant obviously did her research and was able to pull the reader into the very pages of her story by adroitly applying layer upon layer of descriptive narrative that placed you in the middle of the lives of these fascinating characters. I enjoyed this first book so much that I have purchased and read all five of her stories available on Kindle. I would rate all five books as superior to what is generally available in the romance genre. This author is a gifted storyteller and each of her books are well worth reading and not to be missed. I would also add this caveat: I usually do not care for the Georgian period, much preferring the Regency period; however, these books are so enjoyable, I find myself overlooking this minor flaw (which isn't a flaw after all). Ms. Brant is a gift to her readers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Homage rather than plagiarism, October 16, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Noble Satyr: A Georgian Historical Romance (Roxton Family Saga Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I would like to thank the 1 star reviewers. As a long-time, devoted reader of Georgette Heyer, (over 40 years) your negative reviews coaxed me into buying this book. And I am so glad you did! These Old Shades is my favorite and, to me, the best of Heyer's books. Brant has taken the concepts and given us a very different book with a completely different atmosphere. I loved it but not for the reasons I love TOS. Noble Satyr is almost a romp and great fun to read. I highly recommend it and can't wait to download the rest of Brant's books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Taming of a Profligate, October 9, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Noble Satyr: A Georgian Historical Romance (Roxton Family Saga Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed this book for its historical setting and accuracy, for its rich characters both villain and hero, and for its good plotting. It bears striking resemblance to another Georgian era historical romance by Georgette Heyer, but it is only a resemblance- and this resemblance is a high compliment.
The story is split between Paris and the French court, Georgian London, and the English countryside. The writer allows several characters including her villains to have Point of View time which add suspense. It has the suspenseful swashbuckling qualities of Three Musketeers with romance for more than one couple to give satisfaction.
I can recommend this and it's definitely worth the small cost for the kindle version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New must-read author, March 27, 2012
At first that my local library couldn't acquire any copies of Lucinda Brant's books frustrated me. Spending any of my limited book budget on a new author isn't my preferred plan. Toss in a $0.99 e-book sale, with a 5 star review by Emery Lee and the risk dissolves into being pleased with another book for Keeper Case.

This book is a perfect example of why, in my early teens, I fell in love with historical romances written by British and Australian authors. Lush, exotic settings, courtly manners, the interactions echoing dance of coming together, then apart, while maintaining focus. The whole book is a delicious, restrained minuet with every person in the cast weaving in and out through the dance steps.

The characters are vibrant, vivacious, passionate, intelligent, yet subtle, imbued with that je-ne-sais-quois of memorable people. Descriptions of moments, rooms, attire all seemlessly blend into a moving portrait of a moment in time. The loving detail never overshadows the story, providing the setting for the jewels made of each scene, snippet of conversation. Link by link embellishing the tale until it glows.

As a heroine Antonia is wonderful balance of outrageous, innoccent but wordly, and delightfully smart. She's focused on what she wants, not waivering from her goals, no hysterics, or any of the ridiculous self inflicted conflicts or misunderstandings that plague lesser tales. Very believeably human, young and without being anochronistic. Her full range of intelligence, playfullness, teasing, and self confidence are still present when she's distraught and devestated, plotting to save herself from the villian and live life the way she wants to.

Hero Roxton is the virile, swoonworthy Duc, whose unwillingness to suffer fools or be in denial about all his qualities, both attractive and not, makes him believeable. No tortured soul, Roxton. His times of introspection, which not all are alcohol driven, provide a glimpse into his humanity and result in a new fortitude to achieve his goals. He recognizes he's changing without fighting it tooth and nail. If only the Bronte sister's had written such worthy Heroes.

I loved that the reader is only given glimpses of the intimacy between Antonia and Roxton. Instead of detailed descriptions passionate nights and days, there are vignettes from various character's memories, bolstering the intensity, magic, time-out-of-time interludes. Emphasizing this couple's nuturing of their love, protectiveness of each other, and how happily they give themselves over to their joy when they are in private. When vilians or petty, spiteful characters work to create rifts, even without absolute proof the hero and heroine believe each other, assume the best of each other; apology acccepted, eyes turned toward thei future.

Cannot wait to read more by Lucinda Brant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Praise from a Georgian Junkie, December 2, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Ms. Brant was a previously unknown author to me but after reading the first book in the Roxton Series, she has won my heart. I love that the author is not afraid to bend the genre rules that have become so stifling to authors and writes what inspires rather than conforming to formulas. What first attracted me to the book was the Georgian era setting and the plot similarity to the Georgette "the Great" Heyers' These Old Shades, one of may favorite GH titles. I was a bit skeptical at first whether another author could live up to my idol's fantabulous dialogue and OTT characters but Ms. Brant did not disappoint. I actually liked her herione, Antonia better than the somewhat irritating Leonie. Although this book is by no means graphically sexual, I liked the higher level of sensuality compared to the much tamer GH titles. I won't go into plot as anyone can read the book blurbs. Suffice to say if the rest of the series is as good, I've found another favorite author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Georgian Romance, May 8, 2014
By 
Cindy DeGraaff (Scotts, Michigan) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Noble Satyr: A Georgian Historical Romance (Roxton Family Saga Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
This book is the first in a series and the first I've read by this author but I quickly picked up the next one. The plot is very well researched and rich in the atmosphere and political power plays of the French and British aristocracies. The hero is the Duke of Roxton, who is at first a singularly unlikable individual, a confirmed rake and bachelor concerned only with himself, his immediate family, his wealth, politics, comfort and little else. The heroine, Antonia Moran, at first also seems as if she is a thoughtless young miss, intent on only doing as she wishes, regardless of consequences, but then the author reveals that she is in dire circumstances and is orchestrating her own rescue.

Abandoned in Paris by her dying grandfather who has returned to England and left her with his longtime mistress, Antonia knows that her days of freedom are numbered. Her deceased father, a former physician to the King, made her aware that his distant relative, the Duke of Roxton was to be the executor of his will and her cousin in England to be her guardian. But without her father or grandfather, the Duke won't see her and her French cousin is pressing for a wedding to his son, knowing that she will be an heiress and wanting her for himself.He plans to put his son in prison once they are wed and have her as his mistress. She desperately needs to get to her English family and away from France. Finally, she pulls off a desperate plan and the Duke takes her to his Paris home to be chaperoned by his widowed sister. On the way there, though, highwaymen try to abduct her and she is shot, causing weeks of recuperation during which the Duke falls in love, ever so reluctantly, with a girl half his age.

This book was beautifully written and represents the time period very nicely. The reader can feel as if they are at court or in a drawing room quite easily. The characters are complex and interesting. The twists and turns of the political gamesmanship and currying for court favors is described so well and keeps the suspense going until the end of the story. The Duke becomes Reynard, at least part of the time, and a likeable hero. Antonia is charming and the valet, Martin may be the biggest hero of the story. The supporting characters are also rich and add to the story. I very much enjoyed this tale and look forward to the sequel.

There are sexual scenes and violence in this book with some mild profanity.

Heat factor hot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars None, March 10, 2012
This review is from: Noble Satyr: A Georgian Historical Romance (Roxton Family Saga Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
finally! an author in the style of georgette heyer that i really enjoy. it`s a love story set in the geogian era. with a spirited heroine, a hero that didn`t know he had it in him and assorted villians thrown in to make this book one you cannot stop reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I'm really sorry that I didn't buy this sooner, August 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Noble Satyr: A Georgian Historical Romance (Roxton Family Saga Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I admit to having been put off by all the reviews referring to an earlier Georgette Heyer book. I really missed out on a good book until today. I really enjoyed the story and the detail the author put into the book. I appreciated the fact that the author allowed us to see the H change for the better, to the point that we believed that a rake could be reformed.

I think the writing style of the author at the beginning of the story was a bit stilted but improved as the story went along. I can understand why some of the reviewers only read the first couple of chapters but they should have persevered.

***Spoilers***
I particularly loved the fact that the H never slept with another woman from the very time he met the h. Having read the second book now Midnight Marriage: A Georgian Historical Romance (Roxton Series), (which I highly recommend), I even understand why the H didn't immediately offer to marry the h. Usually the idea of an older, worldly H seducing an innocent and then sending her off, kills me and it did cost this book the 5th star, but reading about it in the second book gave me more perspective. I also like the fact that the author doesn't write graphic sex scenes but leaves things to our imaginations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 25 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars No wonder there was a French Revolution, September 9, 2012
By 
S. Parenio (Brookline, MA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Noble Satyr: A Georgian Historical Romance (Roxton Family Saga Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
This is my least favorite type of historical novel. The hay scenes just keep coming while the author leeringly tries to top the last one. I gave up about a third of the way through, amazed that these characters have nothing on their minds but sex. Not for them, the roiling issues of this tumultuous era. No art, no politics, no sports, culinary arts, fashion or religion -- nothing but seduction and sexual betrayal. It's a wonder that the tumbrils didn't come for them earlier than they did.

As a result, this book is about as far from Georgette Heyer as one can get. She was funny, smart and involving. This thinly-veiled porn is not, sorry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly Excellent !, June 24, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Noble Satyr: A Georgian Historical Romance (Roxton Family Saga Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I downloaded this novel because I love the Georgian era and I also adore 18th century France . I was in awe from the very beginning of the novel as the story of Antonia and the Duke began at Versailles and in grand style . Creepy courtiers and even highway men made this a fast paced , entertaining romp . This has to be one of my favourite novels and reminds me of the Angelique series by Anne Golon ( one of the best historical romance series ever ) I can't praise this book enough and I eagerly await the fifth book in the Roxton series!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.