Automotive Holiday Deals Books Gift Guide Books Gift Guide Shop Men's Athletic Shoes Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Prime Music Sweepstakes egg_2015 All-New Amazon Fire TV Grocery Gifts Under $50 Amazon Gift Card Offer cm15 cm15 cm15 $30 Off Amazon Echo $15 Off All-New Fire Kindle Voyage Entertainment Collectibles Outdoor Deals on Tikes

Format: Blu-rayChange
Price:$12.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
TOP 500 REVIEWERon December 5, 2012
Who says an indi-film can't be a run of the mill soap opera? That's pretty much what we get here in this brief (85 minutes) look at sexual desires, infidelity and questionable morality. The best thing director/writer Ry Russo-Young ("You Won't Miss Me") has going for her is the cast.

John Krasinski stars as Peter, a Hollywood sound technician who is married to Julie (Rosemarie DeWitt), a therapist. Julie has a teenage daughter (India Ennenga) who has a crush on her step-dad's assistant (Justin Kirk). A twenty- something documentarian named Martine (Olivia Thirlby) shows up to get some help with special effects and sound for her film about bugs.

Martine is a friend of a friend and once Peter first meets Martine, everybody's hormones kick into high gear. Like all good soaps we've got the hunky ex-hubby (Dylan McDermott) coming around for dinner. We've got Julie accepting flirtatious advances from a patient. The daughter has her eyes on the assistant and the assistant is goo-goo for Martine and Martine for Peter. Whew!

While there is at least one scene of a sexual nature, nothing is overly graphic and little skin is ever shown. The script is OK and while I was buying all the coy looks for a while it just started to get a bit silly. While the film has its moments, it will likely be forgotten pretty quickly.
33 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
18 of 23 people found the following review helpful
on January 7, 2013
I could go into a lot of detail, but I just don't feel it's necessary. Not when this one point kind of sums everything up: who, in god's name, would say something like, "You betrayed me!" in real life?

If someone said this directly to me, as in the context of this movie (i.e., supposed sexual betrayal), or really any context, I would laugh. Because no matter how dramatic my life has gotten (Ooh, I'm starting to get older and I have a teenager and pre-teen via my marriage to someone with kids, so I should probably cheat on my spouse with someone younger and more passionate than me in a sad, sad attempt to recapture my 20s, and when, in a shocking turn of events, that same temptress isn't that serious about me and doesn't even attempt to understand how serious this is for me, I will throw a tantrum that shows, not only am I selfish and deluded, I'm also not really mature enough to have kids, let alone sex), I refuse to be around people who talk like this. People who speak in a way that makes it seem as if their life is so important and serious that it requires dramatic words like betrayal. Unless you're accidentally sleeping with your mother, and thus are betrayed by fate, or have found yourself in some Shakespearean coup to take over your kingdom, please don't talk about betrayal. Let's just assume the audience can figure something like that out implicitly through the characters' actions.

Good sex scene though.
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on April 17, 2015
The motion picture begins with Martine (Olivia Thirlby), a pint-sized Liza Minnelli type, who postures herself as an experimental filmmaker from Hells Kitchen, arrives @ LAX. Within the airport’s parking structure a guy only known as Dude, who appears to be an acquaintance of hers, tries to take her pants down before driving her to Silverlake. Is this Dude’s attempt @ conceptual art? Who knows?

Next we’re in a classroom with sweet little 16-year-old Kolt (AKA Seahorse) played by India Ennenga—who had a significant role in HBO’s award winning series: ‘Treme’. Kolt recites a fragment of her “victim poetry” to the class, “Every day I say drive away, I’m reaching back for you. It’s a helpless feeling…” Her enraptured teacher proclaims, “Sylvia Platt would be proud!”

Martine arrives in Silverlake and is met by sound artiste Peter. Disappointed Dude takes his leave.

Suddenly we’re in a psychiatrist’s office with a smiling doctor that looks a lot like Tom Hanks wife and a self-indulgent guy who looks like a 1950s teen idol time traveler. He’s slouched on the sofa unspooling all of his dirty thoughts about her until the session thankfully ends.

Inside the house Peter (John Kransinski) and Martine are watching a black & while film on a very professional looking Moviola set-up, starring a couple of bored scorpions. This is the film she flew 3,000 miles for? More hip dialog: Peter, “What would it sound like if you could hear the bug’s heartbeat?” Matine, “Or it’s heartache. What would that sound like?” And on it goes.

At the entrance to Peter’s Silverlake home the attractive psychiatrist now appears. She’s revealed to be Peter’s wife Julie (Rosemarie DeWitt), who also played a continuing character in the ‘Madmen’ series). Julie happens to be friends with Miriam, who hooked “Bug Auteur” Martine up with Peter. (Are you following so far—it gets worse.) Julie also happens to be one of the founding members of Miriam’s Post-Feminist Wolf-Pack…

Well, suffice it to say, this indie goes on and on; and the viewer continues to care less and less about all these self-indulgent souls—until Martine finally gathers-up all of her scorpion footage and wings her way back to The Big Apple. The End (thank goodness).
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on August 2, 2014
A very hot mess. I kept thinking it would get better and was curiously trying to hang in there. I understand some of the subtle messages, and on that level it could have been good if pursued. But as it is, a very slow, boring film. Didn't connect with the characters or care about any of them - least of all Martine. I should have walked rather than watched.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on August 15, 2013
This is an honest look at normal, every-day people, living their inter-connected lives. They messing it up and, in some cases fix it and then continuing to live their life. It's not great and it's not's just fine.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 21, 2014
Another portrait of the metro sexual generation.
Melora plays the one character with some maturity and ethics. The men are uniformly overgrown, whining brats without a trace of ruggedness. The lead actress plays a part almost sociopathic in her utter disregard for the consequences of her actions. There is little to admire here. Film is technically well made.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 19, 2015
Really bad, couldn't get through more than half of it. Sorry Mr. Krasinski, I love you as Jim but this movie just was bad.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
7 of 11 people found the following review helpful
on May 8, 2013
This movie sucked. I only rented it because John Krasinski is hott. I was very disappointed. When the movie ended, I just sat there waiting for something exciting to happen. Booo.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
Given the screenplay was co-written by Lena Dunham, creator and breakout star of HBO's Girls, I was hoping this 2012 indie relationship drama would resonate strongly like Lisa Cholodenko's acclaimed Los Angeles-set films (Laurel Canyon,The Kids Are All Right), especially with such a smart cast of actors. However, something feels amiss in director Ry Russo-Young's coolish approach to a familiar story of adulterous deception and family dysfunction. The pacing feels glacial, and the characters are just not that involving emotionally. Perhaps that was the intention in showing the shallow nature of the lifestyle being portrayed, but it rubs off on the film's inertia leaving it feeling quite flat. The setting is LA's funky-chic Silver Lake neighborhood where sound engineer Peter lives with his psychotherapist wife Julie along with their young son and her teenaged daughter from a previous marriage, Kolt. They epitomize the laid-back, everything's-cool attitudes one associates with affluent Southern Californians.

Enter Martine, a New York acquaintance of Julie's college friend who happens to be an attractive 23-year-old experimental filmmaker. She has agreed to work as Peter's assistant in exchange for him helping out on her latest project, an arty video installation revolving around close-ups of ants. How Martine emotionally invades the family is the crux of the story, and to the credit of Russo-Young and Dunham, she never comes across as an unrepentant interloper like more commercially driven exploitative films have done in the past. It's just that the plot pretty much goes the way you would expect it would go from the outset, although the characters carry decidedly ambiguous natures that make some of the story turns feel more complex than they really need to be. For instance, the inevitable tryst between Martine and Peter lacks believable passion because it feels almost matter-of-fact. In hindsight, I feel like it should have been the driving force in pushing each character toward self-examination.

The cast is not really at fault here as the acting, for the most part, is sensitive and assured. Olivia Thirlby (the best friend in Juno) provides the requisite gamine quality needed to make Martine credible as an object of obsession even if her character remains a cipher throughout. The always becalming Rosemarie DeWitt (Rachel Getting Married) delivers a thoughtful balancing act between earth mother and jealous wife as Julie. John Krasinski has a bit harder time escaping his amiable good-guy image from The Office and Away We Go, but he does provide some surprisingly heated moments as Peter that make you wonder if he could do a greater variety of roles onscreen. As the constantly yearning Kolt, India Ennenga appears to be channeling early Claire Danes, but she makes the character's unrequited love palpable. In smaller parts, Justin Kirk as a horned-up Hollywood screenwriter and Julie's attentive patient and Dylan McDermott as her self-possessed ex-husband bring much needed alpha energy to the proceedings. A late meltdown scene with Kolt's smarmy Italian tutor (Emanuele Secci) feels very out of place. Lethargic viewing.
33 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on August 31, 2013
This movie was kind of different, but was a good one to watch. The actors were good at their craft and I would recommend this film to others.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this also viewed
Away We Go [Blu-ray]
Away We Go [Blu-ray] by John Krasinski (Blu-ray - 2009)

Deadfall [Blu-ray]
Deadfall [Blu-ray] by Eric Bana (Blu-ray - 2013)

A Royal Affair [Blu-ray]
A Royal Affair [Blu-ray] by Alicia Vikander (Blu-ray - 2013)

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.