Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Nokia BL-5C Extended Li-Ion Battery (Discontinued by Manufacturer)
Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Explore Premium Audio Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro STEM Your Garage Best Books of the Month

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on March 7, 2011
For less than two bucks I was expecting a cheap knock-off that would not hold a charge for five minutes, especially given the "mixed" reviews of replacement phone batteries. Instead I got what appears to be a new Nokia OEM battery that holds a charge for over a week, depending upon usage of course. The battery has the hologram but the "scratch off" is actually a code number, X762U6A if anyone is interested in bird-dogging it, stamped over the hologram. So perhaps Nokia has changed the way they code their replacement batteries. Or not, who gives a crap, for what the ATT store or Batteries Plus wanted to ream me for I can buy twenty of these, not counting shipping of course. If I can complain about anything it is that I paid almost three bucks to ship an item that costs less than two bucks. But the packaging was good (almost too good, I had a hell of a time getting into it) and it arrived in a timely fashion. So for less than five bucks I have a good battery back in my phone. Which is a good phone for talking, much better than my POS Blackberry, where everything sounds like it is coming out of a barrel and which drops more calls in a week than my Nokia has dropped in five years.

P.S. I guess I should note that I purchased this item from AccessoryOne. It seems that this item gets bounced around from vendor to vendor and your experience may be different from mine due to your having purchased your battery from a different vendor. Could this possiblly account for the wide variations in the experiences of various customers with what appears, on the surface at least, to be the same item??
11 comment|42 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 30, 2011
There are many different sellers here on Amazon selling what is supposed to be the same exact battery. I bought one from Amazon itself for about 10 bucks, and am happy. Though it cost more than buying from other sellers, frankly it's still very reasonable.

The battery came in a simple plastic sleeve and I was a bit alarmed at first, but it looked new, very clean with no scratches at all and Nokia hologram sticker looked genuine (to read Nokia's explanation for this, search using "nokia genuine battery", unfortunately it seems that amazon doesn't want me to provide the direct link).

And most importantly, right now it's in an old Nokia 6600 which is only used for 2G calling once in a while, and it holds charges for several days (not one day).

And to some of the reviewers, thank you very much for writing the sellers' name explicitly in your review. I hope others follow, like "I bought from seller XXX and it worked (or didn't work)". That way, we will eventually know which seller is better than others at providing genuine, new, good batteries.
11 comment|21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 31, 2011
Bought one for $5 from Accessory One and that one barely held a charge. Tried the $10 one from Amazon LLC and I'm getting 24 hours. So it's a split review, but really it all depends on if you get a good one or a bad one.

I first bought this battery for $5 from Amazon vendor Accessory One and that one barely held a charge (2-3 hrs total idle time for IPEVO Skype Phone). But I started reading the reviews where people were saying some of the batteries could have been reconditioned or just "bad apples" in the bunch. I ended up buying the one for $10 that was being sold by Amazon LLC directly and after conditioning the battery (letting it charge full then leave on battery to drain, then charge full - rinse and repeat 1 or 2 more times) I'm now consistently getting about a full day out of this battery. That's more like it. I can't say whether the one from Accessory One was a reconditioned battery but it sure was a bad one of the bunch. It's your call which vendor you want to buy yours from.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 6, 2007
I just received the battery, fully charged, and it was obvious from the fingerprints on the battery and the contact scratches on the gold contacts that this is a USED battery. I guess I'm one of those "funny" people who think truth in marketing is essential to repeat business. The battery may (or may not--I don't know yet) perform as well as a new product, but that's not the point. I will not order from AccessoryOne again. My advice, pick a different marketplace vendor. Ideally, one that specifies "new" in the description. Note that some of the reviews of other vendors specifically say that the battery they received came in sealed Nokia packaging. Try one of them--one was even cheaper, as I recall.

Update: After a few days' use, it's clear that this used replacement battery works marginally better than my worn out one. It's an improvement, but not like "new." Might pay to order a new replacement from your carrier and save the headache of not getting what you thought you'd ordered. Definitely look for the word "new" on whichever one you order.
0Comment|22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 1, 2008
It was because I could no longer obtain good quality BL-5C's that I finally gave up my Nokia phone.
I think the last battery I tried in it was one of these, it actually had worse performance than the battery I had used for a year and was trying to replace.
These might be phonies from China or just so old that they are chemically inert, but I am afraid I can't recommend these.
33 comments|28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 22, 2011
I bought this battery in May 2011 via Amazon from "The OEM Shop." The battery completely failed in less than a month and would no longer take a charge. I suspect that the battery was reconditioned rather than new. Needless to say, I wasted my money.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 3, 2010
I purchased one from OEM and it was supposed to be new, but came in open plastic sleeve. It has almost zero capacity, lasts about 2 hours after charging full overnight.
11 comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 12, 2009
the product is great,I had to buy it from Nokia. the company Webtec never sent me my order. I gave them four weeks to sent it, but I never got it and they didn't give me any support when I contacted them about the order. NEVER BUY ANYTHING FROM WEBTEC!!!!!
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 20, 2014
I have ordered this battery (two at a time) four times in the past year from different vendors each time. They work fine for about two months at the most then they start failing to hold a charge for any length of time. They even drain within several hours of charging and the phone not being used at all. I have a Nokia flip phone which is several years old. I like the phone very much and is all that I need (don't want a smart phone), so I am trying to keep it going because I will be moving soon to another area and will be having a different cell phone service provider. Will have to get a new phone then. In the mean time, I continue to be frustrated with these batteries. I just installed a brand new one 3 weeks ago and it's already giving me problems. The original battery that came with the phone lasted 3 1/2 years. The replacement at that time lasted another 2 1/2 years. Can't understand why I can't get a little more life out of these newer ones. Several were made in China and the most recent one was made in Viet Nam..........was hoping for a better result with this last one but it's worse than the others.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 16, 2015
I just purchased this battery because my vintage Nokia cell phone would shut off after being on for a matter of seconds. This will be the third battery for my phone. I figured that I would try replacing the battery before buying a new phone-for $5, what did I have to lose? And somehow in the deal wasn't charged for shipping. Let me say that this battery was just what the doctor ordered. My phone has been fixed and doesn't cut off anymore. This battery is stamped, Nokia. The battery it replaced was white and unlabeled--my second replacement.
This battery is genuine Nokia and its packaging states that it can not be overcharged. I would highly recommend this product.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 20 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.