Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pack Your Bags + your sketchbook
I really enjoyed this book. Both of Court's earlier books were given to me as gifts, from artist friends, and those books set the stage for my anticipation for what she would do next. I thought this book was a viable and interesting follow-up to her earlier projects.....not simply a mere
"warmed over" version of them, as offered by some reviewers. I was not...
Published on March 7, 2012 by LKP

versus
29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nothing New
If you have Etcetera (first book of this type) then you pretty much have Nomad, the same ideas are rehashed except she used 5 countries of inspiration Mexico, Italy, Syria, India and Japan (about 10-15 pages each, some pages more jumbled than others). Her ideas or sources of ideas are repeated in parts, and her instructions on design is small. A few sentences per a page...
Published on December 5, 2011 by ufobooks


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nothing New, December 5, 2011
By 
ufobooks (Plano, TX USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Nomad: A Global Approach to Interior Style (Hardcover)
If you have Etcetera (first book of this type) then you pretty much have Nomad, the same ideas are rehashed except she used 5 countries of inspiration Mexico, Italy, Syria, India and Japan (about 10-15 pages each, some pages more jumbled than others). Her ideas or sources of ideas are repeated in parts, and her instructions on design is small. A few sentences per a page (not a big deal as this is her style of writing), but a note if you are expecting deeper information on nomad life and wares, this is not the book. This is more a travel log of what she has seen and about herself (an excessive use of "I" overload). If you are new to Sibella Court or like the countries mentioned this may be an okay book, but I think Etcetera is the better book as it has more design and better use of props and objects in home design. Some good things about the book include the choice of paper and binding, and the Japan chapter was a nice start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 46 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars So beautiful. So awkward., December 19, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nomad: A Global Approach to Interior Style (Hardcover)
First, the good:
The book is beautiful and hefty. The cover is thick and ornate, and the pages are a pleasure to turn. Beautiful photographs with beautiful lighting illustrate beautiful ideas. This is the kind of book you want to snuggle down with at the end of a long day, in your deepest armchair, with a glass of wine.

The average: I bought it because I live in Japan (the first country featured) and was looking for new ideas. I learned a few new things, but this book is primarily to indulge the senses and not to inform. You won't find explanations of most items featured. So if you want to search on ebay for the Japanese bamboo ladle pictured on page 56, you had better already know that it is a bamboo ladle used in tea ceremony. As another reviewer mentioned, the book reads like Sibella Court's travel diary. If the navel-gazing becomes too much, you can just skip the text (there's not much) and enjoy the eye candy.

The bad: Unfortunately, the 4th country profiled is Syria. I'm going to guess this is just very unfortunate timing and that the book was already well on its way to being published before the uprising. The chapter is well-photographed and fascinating, but definitely uncomfortable to read in light of current events. Hopefully, in a few years time, there will have been a happy ending and readers will be able to follow her travels there. There is also some awkwardness with her romanticized views of these countries ("I have had a longtime love affair with the romantic side of colonialism...", etc). Obviously, this is a book on design and not history, but her failure to even hint at the problematic caused a bit of squirming. On my part, at least.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pack Your Bags + your sketchbook, March 7, 2012
By 
LKP (Ancram, NY) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Nomad: A Global Approach to Interior Style (Hardcover)
I really enjoyed this book. Both of Court's earlier books were given to me as gifts, from artist friends, and those books set the stage for my anticipation for what she would do next. I thought this book was a viable and interesting follow-up to her earlier projects.....not simply a mere
"warmed over" version of them, as offered by some reviewers. I was not expecting some kind of ultra-practical Design Manual from her -- I think she has built her brand on her role as an inveterate collector, gatherer, "a person who notices", and uber stylist/stager of Great Stuff. The writing style is,
alas, a bit off-hand and spontaneous -- but text is hardly the point with a book like this. To me, the strength of this book is......Once you look through it, you will be reminded of the joys of travel, and how wonderful it is to spend some time in a different culture and hit the "Refresh" button. Her solutions for decor and staging are about bringing things out of the drawers, placing them around in new fresh ways, and then re-vamping and re-imagining it on a regular basis. This book isn't for people who feel they need to follow a Manual for decorating -- but I would recommend it to creative people who want to live in a home that has verve, individuality and authentic vibrancy. (In addition, I really thought the production aspect of the book was excellent with more-than-usual care given to page design, paper stock, embossed covers, etc. A treat for the eyes.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nomad by Sibella Court, February 14, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nomad: A Global Approach to Interior Style (Hardcover)
This book has a beautiful quality about it, it is printed on beautiful paper and the photographs are beautifully shot. The only complaint I would have is that for an interior decoration book there aren't many photographs of completed rooms, it is more like design mock-ups. I would have liked to have seen more interior shots.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointing, February 23, 2012
This review is from: Nomad: A Global Approach to Interior Style (Hardcover)
The front page and the title of this book seemed so promising but essentially this is nothing but what appears to be a published ibook of someone's travelogue. Court refers to herself over and over again and "I" is used on every other page. The ways in which she talks about some of the countries seem fairy-talish and a little naive at times with a very romanticized overload. For design advice it is not useful at all as it is mainly pretty pictures. A close up of a pair of shoes or a cute picture of a half a bicycle does nothing to understand how to create interesting interiors. Other ideas are not very functional - like pretty wall paper rolled out on the floor by a bed or a cute wood sofa covered with prizes. This book reminds me of a book you would make for a friend after your trip to show off where you went - but as a global approach to interior design? I don't think so. A lot of pretty pictures, on pretty paper in a nice binding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Eye candy that strains the eye, October 12, 2012
By 
This review is from: Nomad: A Global Approach to Interior Style (Hardcover)
Nomad is a handsome book with an interesting concept: home as travel memento repository.

But, I'm surprised that no one has yet mentioned my main issue with this book: the text -- what little there is -- is virtually unreadable. Literally. The print is very small, and on most pages there isn't enough contrast between the text and the background. Also, as others have pointed out, Court's writing "style" leaves much to be desired.

That said, this is not a book to be read so much as it is a book to be looked at. But the photos, intriguing as they are, have a murkiness that does not do them justice.

I'm hoping that the production values of her upcoming book, Bowerbird, will be better. I also hope that she will choose to have the book produced somewhere --ANYWHERE -- other than China. With all the publishing houses in the world, why go to one in a country where human rights are routinely suppressed? I expect better from a world citizen such as Ms. Court. (Of course her sometime employer, Anthropologie, is equally guilty in this regard, with many of their overpriced products imported from China.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great book, March 11, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nomad: A Global Approach to Interior Style (Hardcover)
Love the Nomadic style and inspiration from this book.
Lots of great ideas for the home, office and beyond. Pick it up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A trip without leaving home, May 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nomad: A Global Approach to Interior Style (Hardcover)
A gorgeous book with beautiful photos, it's like a worldwide trip in your armchair, if you have access to some eclectic shopping this will give you good ideas
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love Sibella Court, February 13, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nomad: A Global Approach to Interior Style (Hardcover)
Really enjoy her books, their textures, their photos, her ideas, I have both her boos, Etc... and Nomad, can't get enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Coffee table book, not design manual, January 3, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nomad: A Global Approach to Interior Style (Hardcover)
This book has nice pictures and makes for a decent coffee table book, but reading the text is a waste of time. This book cannot be considered a design manual, nor does it point you to any sources for the objects it features; the pictures may provide inspiration to an experienced and/or self-made designer, but will not help a novice to design.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Nomad: A Global Approach to Interior Style
Nomad: A Global Approach to Interior Style by Sibella Court (Hardcover - November 23, 2011)
$40.00 $29.17
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.