Customer Reviews


428 Reviews
5 star:
 (288)
4 star:
 (77)
3 star:
 (31)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (21)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Addicting and well-designed
Very well-designed game - everything is done right: the level design; the short but complete tutorials; the level difficulty progression; intuitive controls; unlimited undo; unobtrusive request for review only after you've completed all levels. If this was truly done by one guy in his spare time, I hope he makes enough off this one to do more.

As for the game...
Published on November 18, 2012 by David

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Makes you think
I like the game but still trying to figure out how to make 4 become 2 and become four again
Published on February 10, 2013 by k. shinn


‹ Previous | 1 243 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Addicting and well-designed, November 18, 2012
By 
David (Mercer Island, WA USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Trainyard (App)
Very well-designed game - everything is done right: the level design; the short but complete tutorials; the level difficulty progression; intuitive controls; unlimited undo; unobtrusive request for review only after you've completed all levels. If this was truly done by one guy in his spare time, I hope he makes enough off this one to do more.

As for the game itself, it consists of drawing track on a grid of squares to route colored engines from their source to their destination. As you progress, you can merge engines to change color (e.g. blue and yellow make green) or split engines into two. Puzzles are rated from two to eleven stars, and the later ones are difficult enough (tricky to move those trains around in the space available without tracks running into each other) that you feel a real burst of satisfaction on reaching the solution. Highly recommended for anyone who likes puzzle games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


64 of 83 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not a bad game, but the hype is a little much..., November 12, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Trainyard (App)
I must say I was a little surprised at all of the 5-star reviews over this game. Trainyard is not a bad game by any means but all of this hype may raise your expectations a little too high. Trainyard is a puzzle game and a slow paced game at that. This is not a game that requires fast reflexes so it is accessible for most skill levels. I had no problems playing this on my Kindle Fire and the touch controls worked most of the time. When they didn't work I was able to repeat my move and it worked the second time. This won't set you back because as I noted, you don't need twitch reflexes for this game.

In Trainyard you literally just draw traintracks so that your trains go to stations of a matching color. Then you push a button and watch the little trains travel along your paths. If everything works out you earn stars which unlock subsequent levels. That's it. The challenge comes from drawing multiple tracks around obstacles and timing the trains so that they go to the correct station. For example, an orange train and a purple train may share a section of track so you design the track so that it switches and leads both trains to the correct station.

There is a color-blind mode which is nice. Trainyard also has achievements with Amazon Gamecircle if that matters to you. I just find Trainyard to be a little too slow for my tastes. If you're looking for a more cerebral challenge or know someone who has difficulty with fast paced games then this would be a good pick up. I was tempted to give Trainyard 3 stars but I am leaving 4 stars because there isn't anything wrong with the game and it accomplishes what the developers wanted to do. It's just not my ideal game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Addictive and Fun!, November 17, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Trainyard (App)
Once you beat that level you've been working on for the last 10-20 minutes you feel like a genius, or at least I did. highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars When Games Were Just Games, March 2, 2015
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Trainyard (App)
I have fond memories of this game as it was one of those that I bought as soon as it was released back in 2012. It only cost a dollar on discount & previous experiences with their other games were good back then. Nowadays I'd wait until a few users have shared their thoughts before deciding whether to buy, but I digress.

This is a puzzle game in which you draw tracks for trains to reach their correct destination. There are over a hundred levels. It starts out easy but it can get pretty complicated soon enough. Graphics are basic but adequate.

I like how this game, as with most games in the first few years of the Android era, focused on the game itself - its playability & user experience, rather than trying to get more money out of you through various means. For instance, the 'trains' are colour-coded for differentiation, but there is a colour-blind mode for those who need it; there are no IAPs, but instead you can simply Unlock All Levels in settings. It also support multiple profiles, so different family member can take turns to play without disrupting the others' progress. And it exits cleanly too.

There are no ads (nor should there be any). There is a "More Games" button on the main screen which will list other Noodlecake games, and you can tap on any & go to its corresponding Appstore page from there; since it's a two-step process & won't load in the first place when offline I don't see it as a sin. It also has undesirable components such as Chartboost & PlayHaven, but they seem to be inactive, and likely just leftovers from the free & limited version. Although the game asks for the Full Network Access permission, it runs fine offline.

If you like puzzle games, I'd recommend you give Trainyard a try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ( Fun and addictve. Not working though after update to 4.2, November 20, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Trainyard (App)
Trainyard is an entertaining diversion. I have enjoyed playing but after the recent update to Jellybean 4.2 on my Nexus 7 I only receive an error about unfortunately having to close immediatly after opening. I reinstalled, but no change.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superior Evolution of the FREE FLOW: BRIDGES Puzzle Mechanics, March 2, 2015
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Trainyard (App)
FREE FLOW: BRIDGES was the very first game I ever downloaded (and quickly upgraded with a premium pack) on Android, so I am a particular fan of this style of puzzle game. Noodlecake Studios Inc. take the theme and mechanics, like countless others, and rearranges them in an astonishingly fresh way, unlike countless others. Even when I recognized and knew the correct solution to certain color patterns, the actual mechanics ratcheted up the complexity with mechanics such as track switching off the same line, train crossover timing, multiple departure points... I sincerely feel TRAINYARD is a positive, superior evolution of the FREE FLOW genre. Even the optional tutorials, which you can easily access again at any given time, are very well done and explanatory in both text and visuals.

The drawing mechanics aren't 100% fluid. Occasionally, I do have to struggle with trying to get a track segment to register on the screen, especially when trying to do two curved ones on the same square. That's the only game mechanic issue though. As for code and permissions, they are generally okay. Permissions have nothing of concern, and although there are two advertising modules present, AdMob and Chartboost, they seem to be leftovers from the normally free version, TRAINYARD EXPRESS.

However, take note that the [More Games] link is actually a in-game browser window pulled from Noodlecakes "News" webpage, which in turns leads you into the Amazon Appstore. I am sure this probably works in hand in getting their "new release" webpage more hits, as well as direct, real-time feedback in which games seem the more appealing as consumers tap into individual game entries. Flurry Analytics, which is also present in the code, will be doing the tracking and reporting. Flurry, in itself, won't be reporting on anything beyond anonymous data usage/interactions due to the minimal permissions/code from within the game itself, yet there is some concrete tap behavior/marketing data reporting. I also got two different popups when I went back to the main menu two different times - one for a "Rate/Follow Us on Facebook", another for a "50% Sale" on one of their apps. At least the popups waited till I was heading back to the main menu, ostensibly to exit the game itself. Other words, not enough to make me grimace...

Game does run OFFLINE, and it installed under 28MBs. I did move it manually off my Device Memory, leaving 13.30MB there. Back-key does exit cleanly. And one last note, it seems to be pretty easy on the battery life. I played quite a bit on my normally monster of a tablet, and experienced no real battery drain beyond what it uses when active but idle.

Nevertheless, there are no major play derailments, and it seems the periodic crashing issues reported in earlier reviews have been resolved with an addition of a Lollipop 5.0 patch. As for the rest, the sheer fun and interest generated by the increasingly complex mechanics generously make up for what minor blips there are in this "take your time" puzzle journey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great puzzles; doozies at the end., November 17, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Trainyard (App)
Great challenge progression. Lots of number principles can be learned here. I feel like I can build computer circuits after going through this game :). If you extended the puzzles, you could help computer science students with logic gates courses :).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Puzzler, December 15, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Trainyard (App)
This is a great puzzler. It starts out very easy and becomes harder. Eventually it takes some thinking to figure out the right pathways.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Makes you think, February 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Trainyard (App)
I like the game but still trying to figure out how to make 4 become 2 and become four again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent puzzle game, February 7, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Trainyard (App)
But the app closes automatically after every 6 or so puzzles. I like this variation of the flow style game. I think it's a nice innovation to the genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 243 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Trainyard
Trainyard by Noodlecake Studios Inc
$2.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.