Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Makes crust beautiful!
I have had good luck with this cutter. I was a little nervous based on some of the reviews. I used a round, zippered pastry bag to roll out the dough (as suggested by someone else) and then flipped it over with the cutter inside. I lightly rolled my rolling pin over the bag and then carefull removed the cutter. I flipped the lattice crust onto my pie and finished...
Published on June 30, 2010 by E. Shoemaker

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars So so
The apple side worked well. It was easy to get the cut out pieces off the cutter and use them on the crust, but the leaf side doesnt work as well. Its too intricate and the dough doesnt come off or cut easily. Youre better off getting small cookie cutters for leaf shapes.
Published 6 months ago by xinespen


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Makes crust beautiful!, June 30, 2010
By 
E. Shoemaker (Coshocton, OH USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nordic Ware Lattice & Hearts Pie Top Cutter (Kitchen)
I have had good luck with this cutter. I was a little nervous based on some of the reviews. I used a round, zippered pastry bag to roll out the dough (as suggested by someone else) and then flipped it over with the cutter inside. I lightly rolled my rolling pin over the bag and then carefull removed the cutter. I flipped the lattice crust onto my pie and finished sealing it. I had one or two areas that pulled a little to the side but was able to gently push them in the direction they needed to go. The final product impressed my husband so much he took a picture and sent it to his mom!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pie top cutter--Lattice and Hearts designs/Amazon, April 26, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nordic Ware Lattice & Hearts Pie Top Cutter (Kitchen)
This pie cutter is the easiest thing in the world to use in order to make pies with fancy cutouts. It is so sturdy, I don't think it can be destroyed with normal use.
The finished pie looks like you slaved over the crust before it was baked, plus you can use the cutouts for more decoration.

I loved ordering it from Amazon because with the other items I purchased which couldn't be found at the stores near me, I got exactly what I wanted and my order was shipped free.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars pie top cutter, May 22, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Now this invention is totally lovely. I use a round of dough and put this cutter on top, then use a rolling pin to press it down firmly. It cuts better that way. Then I take the cutouts and brush them with milk and sugar and bake them to further decorate the pie. I have oohs and aahs using this pie top cutter and the hearts one too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works well with these tips!, April 29, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nordic Ware Lattice & Hearts Pie Top Cutter (Kitchen)
The first time I used this it was a disaster....so I balled up the dough, washed the mold and started over with MUCH better results. You have to flour EVERYTHING, the mold, the bag, the dough, before rolling it out (I used one of those zippered dough bags to quickly roll out a perfect circle ...very nice!). Once I had the 9" round flat part I laid the dough onto the floured mold and rolled it onto the pattern. It has to cut all the way through or else the little bits will stay stuck to the lattice when you try to pull them out. The center of my mold is a bit concave so I had to use the edge of the rolling pin to get it to cut all the way. Then I used a knife to pick out the little bits of dough. If the dough lattice is too warm it will pull and stretch like crazy when you try to remove it so (on my second attempt) I chilled the mold in the freezer for a few minutes. Then I turned the mold upside-down onto the filling and was able to carefully pull off the dough lattice in an undeformed way. I made a Rhubarb-custard pie which was a bad choice for a lattice top as you need some contrasting color to make the lattice stand out. Next time it's going to be cherry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pie cutter made a great Christmas gift, February 12, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nordic Ware Lattice & Hearts Pie Top Cutter (Kitchen)
We gave this to our daughter for a small gift. She tried it out the next day and it worked very well using the hearts side. The lattice side has a lot of design and it is a bit difficult to get all the pieces separated after cutting them. Overall, she was happy with this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This is GREAT!!, September 15, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nordic Ware Lattice & Hearts Pie Top Cutter (Kitchen)
I Love this!! Not only is it double sided to save storage space but it is also very sturdy!! Its a hard plastic which is great!!
I am only giving this 4 stars because it you use it like a stencil and push the design down on the pie crust it does not pierce all the way through or at all in the middle..However if you put the design side up on a flat surface that place the pie crust on top of it and push the pie crust down on the design.. it works just fine!!

I love the lattice style design!! The hearts are cute too i just wish there was a heart in the middle of the design.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars makes such a pretty pie, November 24, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nordic Ware Lattice & Hearts Pie Top Cutter (Kitchen)
so easy to make the top of a pie look so pretty. I did find it easier to put the dough on top of the cutter, then used my rolling pin across the top to make the cut outs much easier to remove... then just put it on the top of the pie and pinched the ends together...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worked well, November 28, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nordic Ware Lattice & Hearts Pie Top Cutter (Kitchen)
I've only used this once so far to make a lattice topped pumpkin pie but it worked very well and I look forward to using it again soon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works great, April 21, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nordic Ware Lattice & Hearts Pie Top Cutter (Kitchen)
This really dresses up a pie! Make sure to follow the instructions. You need to press down gently, but firmly and it should work just fine. I don't make pies very often but this tool makes it look I know what I am doing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic and Useful for My Pies, February 1, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nordic Ware Lattice & Hearts Pie Top Cutter (Kitchen)
Just about a month ago, I bought a Pro 600 Kitchenaid mixer from Amazon
as a graduation gift to myself because I have recently been baking pies,
cakes, cookies, breads and pizza, all from scratch. I wanted to dress up my
double-crust pies in a more artistic and professional way. So, I ordered
two pie top cutters along with some other items last month. It took a long
time for them to arrive because of Post Office problems-- I had to pick
them up a few days ago-- but I am quite satisfied with the Hearts and
Lattice pie top cutter.
First, it's a terrific deal that it's two pie cutters in one. I honestly
can't tell you which one I like better, the lattice design or the hearts. A
10-year warranty is a pleasant surprise, but no surprise, as the cutter is
well-made of heavy plastic. The wide handles are only for looks to me-- I
always dust the cutter with flour and press all over to make sure the
cutouts are well done and release easily. I do the same thing with biscuits
Either the picture or the description is not doing justice to the
Hearts pattern because there are two different sizes of hearts in the
design. A small heart is given at every 90 degrees and a medium heart is
given every 90 degrees between those. A minus point for not having a
central vent hole, but that's a minor concern.
The fact that the outside of the pie top cutter is raised and tapered
to a edge for cutting is a real plus-- roll out your pastry dough, then cut
out the design and cut it to size in one step! It's 12.25" (31.3 cm) wide,
so you may not need to trim any pastry from the lip of the pie pan. It fits
my 10" stoneware pan just fine, but your results will depend on how high
you pile on the apples, pears, etc.
The lattice design is a wonderful, unsimplified implementation of those
rosette designs that I made with a pencil compass and colored as a pre-
teen. They were so fascinating that I drew hundreds of them. This design is
based on an eight-point star, which makes it more interesting. It's a far
cry from the all-too-common diamond lattice or basket weave, that's for
sure. I made a lady laugh when I told her it was "man" enough for me-- no
frilly lace or flowers for this manchild's kitchen! Okay, okay, the Hearts
pie cutter looks like a violation, but that's for my Mom or the ladies in
my life to get mushy on me. (At least "try" to believe that one.)
This one is a good deal. I'm glad to have it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.