Customer Reviews


809 Reviews
5 star:
 (564)
4 star:
 (121)
3 star:
 (46)
2 star:
 (34)
1 star:
 (44)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


197 of 206 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Norton 360 2013 Premier vs. Webroot Secure Anywhere Internet Security Complete 2013
*****
I've used Norton anti-virus products for years and currently use Norton 360 2013 Premier. Norton 360 2013 Premier is, imho, the best of the Norton products. I also use Webroot Secure Anywhere Internet Security Complete 2013, a relatively new product. (See, Webroot SecureAnywhere Internet Security Complete 2013 - 5 Devices). Both products are excellent, but...
Published 22 months ago by RWM

versus
99 of 111 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Renewing is such a hassle
I've used Norton 360 for a few years. Norton sells it in retail stores but it is such a hassle to renew once you are signed up. I think they do this to encourage us to renew on their web site at a higher price than you can buy it retail and then they don't have to share the revenue with anyone. Another thing to keep in mind is if your Norton license runs out, all...
Published 19 months ago by SMG


‹ Previous | 1 281 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

197 of 206 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Norton 360 2013 Premier vs. Webroot Secure Anywhere Internet Security Complete 2013, November 3, 2012
By 
RWM (New York, New York) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Norton 360 2013 Premier - 1 User / 3 PC (Software)
*****
I've used Norton anti-virus products for years and currently use Norton 360 2013 Premier. Norton 360 2013 Premier is, imho, the best of the Norton products. I also use Webroot Secure Anywhere Internet Security Complete 2013, a relatively new product. (See, Webroot SecureAnywhere Internet Security Complete 2013 - 5 Devices). Both products are excellent, but differ in several important respects. I have two Windows PCs, one running Windows XP Professional and the other running Windows 7. I have run both programs on both machines.

Footprint: Norton occupies about 123 mb of space on my drive, whereas Webroot occupies about .70 mb. Webroot's footprint is incredibly small; its entire program could probably fit on a floppy disk. However, Norton's 123 mb of space is insignificant on most newer machines, where hard drives often exceed one terabyte capacity.

Response Time: My primary issue with Norton is the fact that it slows the response time of certain functions, such as booting up, shutting down, loading desktop icons, opening word doc files, opening pdf files, and opening websites. Webroot does not slow my machine's response time as much as Norton.

Password Management Feature: Both Norton and Webroot offer a password management feature. In this day and age, when we are burdened with so many usernames, passwords and credit card numbers, this feature, which stores usernames, passwords and credit card numbers and then fills in the information when opening your password-secured websites, is very convenient.

Community Support: Webroot has a community support forum that's integrated into its web console. This is a convenient feature you don't find with most products. Questions that are posed in the forum are answered by experienced technical folks and users who are knowledgeable, prompt and helpful. Norton, likewise, has a community support forum. The Webroot community forum seems to me to be more accessible. Webroot's moderators, administrators and techies provide a high level of information which can be accessed by all members of the community. Discussions in the Webroot community support forum are not confined to Webroot products, but are open to all kinds of software and hardware products.

Backup Feature: Both Webroot and Norton offer 25 gb of backup, with the option to purchase more. The backup is stored on Webroot's and Norton's servers and, as far as I know, is encrypted to ensure security and privacy. You need to be careful when backing up with Webroot, which lists certain files it invites you to check off in order to back them up, including doc, docx, xls, xlsx, jpg, jpeg, png, mpeg, avi and mp4 files. However, not listed are pdf, tiff, gif, ppt, pptx and possibly other files, so, unless you know about those unlisted files and manually add them to the list via a customization feature, those files will not be backed up.

Tuneup Feature: Norton offers "PC Tuneup" and Webroot offers "Clean Up Now." Both features can be automatically scheduled. Norton's "PC Tuneup" cleans up Windows temporary files, Internet Explorer temporary files, Internet Explorer history cleanup, startup manager, registry cleanup and disk optimization (a/k/a "disk defragmenter"). Webroot's "Clean Up Now" cleans up Windows Desktop (recycle bin, recent document history, start menu click history, run history, search history and start menu order history), Windows System (clipboard contents, windows temporary folder, system temporary folder, windows update temporary folder, windows registry streams, default login user history, memory dump files, cd burning storage folder and flash cookies), Internet Explorer (address bar history, cookies, temporary internet files, url history, setup log, Microsoft download folder, media player bar history, autocomplete form information and cleanup index.dat), and specific applications (Mozilla, Adobe, Sun Java and Microsoft). Webroot's comprehensive list of cleanup items can be individually checked or unchecked.

Tech Support: Tech support for both products is good, but be prepared for a wait time with both, Webroot in particular. In my opinion, Webroot and Norton should employ a message system that allows the caller to leave a name and phone number to receive a call-back, rather than have the caller remain on the line for what can be an intolerably long wait time.

Norton uses live tech support with remote access, which means tech support will take over your machine and perform fixes, whereas Webroot favors a ticketing system, where you send in a written request and tech support will respond, with "fix" options that include a link that asks you to upload your computer logs to Webroot tech support for evaluation. These are two very different approaches to tech support. Webroot's ticketing system takes longer, because once you send a written request, you have to wait for a response from Webroot which includes a request to upload to Webroot's site your computer logs for analysis. Then, you have to wait for Webroot tech support to analyze your logs and send you a response. Sometimes, this takes more than a day. That kind of delay is unacceptable. While Webroot does have a live tech support/remote access feature, it is not available 24/7, only Monday through Friday, 7 a.m. to 6 p.m. MST, and it is my impression that Webroot's primary tech support feature is the ticketing system.

I prefer Norton's system of 24/7 live tech support/remote access because it not only is faster than Webroot's ticketing system, but I can watch while a tech representative works on the problem on my machine and learn from that experience, so that if it happens again, I can fix the problem myself. When Norton accesses my machine, I always ask the tech representative to walk me through the repair processes and take notes, and they always oblige. Webroot's live tech support/remote access is unavailable in the evenings and on weekends. These are the times I generally prefer to address technical issues with my machine, which means I am relegated to Webroot's ticketing system during those hours.

Malware Recommendation: I recommend that users of Norton and Webroot incorporate anti-malware software in their suite of internet security programs. In my opinion, anti-virus software, alone, is not sufficient to protect your machine; you need good anti-malware protection as well. Arguably, Webroot has good anti-malware protection in addition to its excellent anti-virus protection, but the company does not promote its anti-malware feature. Anti-malware software such as Malwarebytes or Super Anti Spyware are good choices. Freeware is available for both of these products. Neither of these products conflicts in any way with Norton or Webroot.

RATING: Despite the slow response time and the delay I've sometimes experienced with tech support, Norton 360 2013 Premier is an excellent, innovative product I feel comfortable endorsing with five stars. I have also endorsed Webroot Secure Anywhere Internet Security Complete 2013 with five stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


108 of 111 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Norton 360 is the way to go - Premier depends on your needs, January 12, 2013
By 
Karl (Bozeman, MT USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Norton 360 2013 Premier - 1 User / 3 PC (Software)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
My review below is mostly unchanged since the last release of Norton 360. The product I was provided with for review this time, the 2013 Premier edition, differs from the standard edition of Norton 360 by including 25 GB of online (cloud) storage vs only 2 GB in the standard edition. Considering that Symantec charges almost $60 just to add 25 GB to your Norton account, the minor price increase for 360 Premium makes it an economical choice for those people using the Norton online backup technology.

Note that Norton's online storage is accessible only by its backup (and restore) component of 360. You cannot drag and drop files there, as you can with other cloud storage services. To email people links to files in your storage, you must use a web interface - but you cannot upload files there.

Tip to all Norton users: the LiveUpdate process does NOT download free product updates to which you are entitled. From time to time, click on the Support menu and then "Check for New Version". Even if you are running, say, version 2012, when version 2013 comes out during your 12 month license term, you are able to download and install it free of charge.

The review:

You probably know somebody that everybody in the family calls to fix their computers when they slow down or have problems. Yeah, I'm that guy. Now that I've (finally) discovered Norton 360, I'll be spending less time with the relatives once they buy copies.

I've used Norton Internet Security for years and have recommended it often, particularly in recent years when Symantec made it run faster and leaner. I never went for Norton 360 before receiving a review copy because frankly I couldn't really understand what it was from a quick glance.

Norton 360 does everything Norton Internet Security (NIS) does, and more, but with a different interface.

It includes firewall and antivirus protection as well as Identify Safe, identical to NIS. (Your NIS settings and Identity Safe vault all migrate if you switch to 360 from NIS.) Identify Safe is primarily a password manager, saving and entering your passwords for you under the protection of a single master password so that you are more likely to use appropriate, complex and site specific passwords for the web sites that you visit.

360 includes features in two areas beyond NIS: Backup and PC Tuneup.

The PC Tuneup portion automatically cleans up things including:

1. Removal of Windows temporary files (no more searching %temp%, %tmp% and all of the other places that these things hide)

2. Removal of Internet Explorer temporary files

3. Startup Manager - controlling the many hidden programs that launch when you start your computer. Way easier than running MSConfig, the Norton 360 Startup Manager lets you mark non-essential startup items as "delayed" - so that your computer starts up in a jiffy, and then these things are launched somewhat later (reported to be 5 minutes) by 360 itself. For example, there is a Microsoft Office and Adobe Reader item in most people's startup group. These allow Office applications and Reader to launch faster when you need them, but at the cost of slowing down the time before you get control of your mouse when you start your computer. With 360, you get your desktop sooner - and these things can still get launched, just a little bit later. (Or you can disable them - which has no affect on the functionality of Office or Reader - just makes them launch slower.) Etc.

4. Registry Cleanup - the Windows Registry is a single, huge database that all software on your computer stores settings in. The bigger and more cluttered it gets, the slower the computer runs. 360 can find entries for software that has been uninstalled and did not clean up after itself and tidy things up.

5. Internet Explorer history cleanup - nothing special, other than it can be scheduled to run at times you choose

6. Disk Optimization - defragmentation is essential to fast disk performance on Windows machines. The defragger that comes with Windows itself is fine, but must be run manually. The Norton 360 one can be scheduled to run automatically, eliminating the issue on most computers of the user either not knowing how to defrag, or continuously forgetting to do it.

All of these tune-up activities can be set on a schedule to keep things running smoothly.

Finally, 360 adds a Backup service that can backup via the internet to the "cloud", or to local media. This is useful and adds to the completeness of the product, but the user interface is so poor, that I take one star away in this review.

Symantec gives you 25 GB of online storage with your Norton 360 Premier registration. You can purchase more, but at a hefty charge relative to competitors. You can access this storage through a Norton product or the n360.backup.com web site; you would have to upgrade your license annually to maintain this 'cloud' backup. But, the backup service can run automatically, incrementally uploads only files that have changed, and knows where they came from if you need to restore a file right back to its original location. This is an excellent option for off-site backup of really important files that would make your life miserable if the disappeared in a fire or explosion. But, of course, it is slow to transfer large files.

Note: your files backed up to online storage are only as secure as your Norton account login password - hackers could try to access your files via the web interface which is accessed purely with your Norton account login credentials. And, the web interface can be outrageously slow. On the plus side, the web interface to your online storage has a search function so that you can quickly find the file you're looking for. On the downside, the web interface is supposed to include a "Purge" command to allow you to delete files to free up space. This command does not appear for me, however.

You can also backup to thumb drive, optical media, a hard disk, or a network location (mapped to a drive letter).

The negative about the backup system is that you do not have a normal Explorer-like browser tree to select or exclude the files to be backed up. Instead you have a horrendously ugly long scrolling list of full path names to files - no enclosing folder, nothing, to make it easy to browse and find files that you want to exclude/include. There is not one person who I help with their computer troubles who would have a slight clue as to what these long file path names mean relative to their data. I just don't know what Symantec was thinking of, putting this in a program otherwise designed for everyday Windows users rather than tech geeks. It is not just this list, but the whole backup process which would confuse my less techie friends and relatives - they need a wizard to lead them through the process.

One last thing I like about 360 is that in the Activities and Scans window, there is a checkbox to shut down the computer when activities are complete. So, there's no excuse not to save energy when you leave the computer for the night - let 360 download updates, do backups and Tune-up activities, and then allow it to shut your computer down when it is finished.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


99 of 111 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Renewing is such a hassle, February 1, 2013
By 
SMG (Valley View, TX) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Norton 360 2013 Premier - 1 User / 3 PC (Software)
I've used Norton 360 for a few years. Norton sells it in retail stores but it is such a hassle to renew once you are signed up. I think they do this to encourage us to renew on their web site at a higher price than you can buy it retail and then they don't have to share the revenue with anyone. Another thing to keep in mind is if your Norton license runs out, all protection stops, it doesn't just stop updating like it used to, now it turns itself off until you pay them more money.

Last year I lost my Identity Safe file when it made me reinstall to renew. You have to be very careful to buy the exact same product each year. This year I bought a retail product online and got to spend an hour on Norton's web site because even though I clicked Renew, it set it up as a new product and didn't keep the days I had left. I had to go to several places on Norton's web site, through all the non help help, they want you to read first, before you talk to anyone,and finally after several tries to leave feedback, I got to Live Chat only to wait ten minutes to get a conversation started. They told me because I put in a new product key, (your only choice with a retail product), it started a new license vs. Renew like it told me it was going to do. So the days I had left were wiped out and I now have to enter the new product key on all three computers rather than renew it on one and have it flow to all three.

Of course if you have an hour to waste, navigating Norton's web site and plenty of time to wait to have a chat session, they will restore the days you lost on the license but you'll still have to go back and enter the product key on each system, (the license allows up to three PCs). Norton needs to find a better, simpler way.

One other thing to keep in mind is that if you use the Identity Safe, any Firefox update can break it and often will. If you let that happen to you and you don't write your logins and passwords down somewhere else, you won't be able to use them until Norton issues an update that is compatible with the new version of Firefox.

There has to be a competitor with a better product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


53 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great product. Vastly improved interface over previous Norton and other products for maintaining computer in top condition., October 13, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Norton 360 2013 Premier - 1 User / 3 PC (Software)
Over the years I have used a number of Norton products and similar products (anti-virus, etc.) from others. Personally I have generally preferred Norton over others.

Recently I upgraded from the Internet Security product to the Norton 360 primarily because I wanted the advantages that I used to get in the WinDoctor of Norton System Works that effectively checked the system registry and other areas for problems that affected system speed and reliability.

Norton 360 is a vastly improved product. It is extremely user friendly. You can easily see in graphic format exactly what has been done and the type of fixes that have been done by date. They all run automatically but you can ask any of them (say "run diagnostic report) to be executed at any time if you think there is a need.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Buyer beware!, August 25, 2013
This review is from: Norton 360 2013 Premier - 1 User / 3 PC (Software)
Norton is a very competent product. The antivirus system itself is very good at detecting viruses and keeping you safe.

Small con: this item uses a large amount of system resources and really slows your computer down. Symantec shouldn't get any flack for this since draining system resources just seems to be what antivirus programs do.

Annoying Con: The renewal policy is lazy and difficult to deal with. The software begins to ask you to renew a month before expiration. However, if you do renew early You lose any remaining time you had on the previous subscription. This might not be a deal breaker for anybody but it feels like a scam for a subscription program to act in this way.

Just wanted to make sure that the buyer know that this product does have one obvious drawback and one well hidden drawback.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Complete disappointment, January 14, 2013
This review is from: Norton 360 2013 Premier - 1 User / 3 PC (Software)
Initially, I could not install the product with the enclosed instructions. When I called for assistance, instead of help, what I received was little aid but a lot of sales talk for additional products. The cheapest was $99.00 for a one-time aid. I had been through this marketing scam with Dell and spent $450.00 for various band-aids, afterward wondering what just happened. I fixed my registry with a different Registry Optimizer ($29.95) and was able to get the Norton product installed. My computer's performance deteriorated in speed and showed me messages I had never seen before. One message was "CPU is reaching capacity". The poor performance has been a one-way descent into non-performance. Totally inoperative my PC is now telling me "Windows could not start because the following file is missing or corrupt: <Windows root>\system32\hal.dll. Please re-install a copy of the above file." Huh??
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent upgrade, November 5, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Norton 360 2013 Premier - 1 User / 3 PC (Software)
I been using norton for about 4 years now and i can say from experience its the best virus protection money can buy. Plus on amazon its the cheepest i paid 49.99 and at the store like bb its gonna cost you almost 100.00
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars New storage change is a problem..., January 2, 2013
This review is from: Norton 360 2013 Premier - 1 User / 3 PC (Software)
I've used Norton for years and it's worked quite well for me. Recently they made a change on their storage that's more than annoying. I had set up my backup for the program on both of my computers and it was working fine. Then instantly both of them were telling me I needed more storage with constant warnings. After looking into it, it's asking for me to purchase more storage space for my files. So since it happened on both my computers at the same time without much change, it's apparent that they shortened my backup storage and demanded extra money to keep it updated. So now I gotta pay $40 more if I want to keep it updated when I had already previously paid for the backup service. Definitely gets me questioning my customer loyalty after pulling this move.

So be aware, when they say it has storage, it's now very limited. Almost non-existent unless you're willing to pay extra.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No Online Backup, December 10, 2012
By 
Bruce Paladino (Ormond Beach, FL United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Norton 360 2013 Premier - 1 User / 3 PC (Software)
I've been using Norton 360 for several years now, and have no real complaints. It pretty much does what it says it will do.
I've never used the online backup before, because with only 2 GB of storage, it wouldn't accomplish what I wanted to do. Actually, in the past I haven't used Norton Backup to backup locally on my computer either; I backup my files on my own.
But since the Premier version advertised 25 GB, my subscription was running out, and it was on sale, I went for it.

The installation went fine; no hiccups. But the day after I installed it, I decided to try the online backup. IT WILL NOT WORK. There's a glitch that won't let me even attempt to use ANY backup settings; online is completely out, and if I want to backup locally, it will NOT allow me to configure what files to backup. It will let me backup it's own 'Default set' only (which on my computer relates to 40GB).

So I called Norton's support number. After the normal 15 minute wait, I got someone off-shore who was obviously reading off of a troubleshooting sheet. All she would recommend to do is to uninstall it, then reinstall it. She also assured me that this would work, because NOBODY was calling in with a problem like this. (Are you buying any of this? I wasn't, but figured I'd play the game).

Needless to say, the uninstall/reinstall didn't work. So now it's back to the phone waiting lines I guess.

If and when I get this rectified, I'll update this review.

OK, part 2.
After waiting a few days later in the 'que' for another 15 minutes, I got 'BinWa' or whatever his name was to 'review my case'. Eventually he took over my computer with remote access, played with a few buttons and did who knows what else, and now the backup works.

I still think, however, that the online backup feature is not nearly as 'smooth' as it could be. Norton pretty much demands that you backup your whole computer; if you want to be selective in what gets backed up, you pretty much have to go through your whole computer folder by folder.
I've used other backup programs in the past, and they're much easier to use. Perhaps Norton is trying to get you to back up the whole thing in case of catastrophic hardware failure, but I'm a little uncomfortable putting ALL of my files, especially financials, out into cyberspace somewhere.

Come on Norton, you're better than this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The good and the bad, February 1, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Norton 360 2013 Premier - 1 User / 3 PC (Software)
East to use and inobtrusive. This is my second year, However, aurtomatic renewal is a pain in the butt. They renew well before
your subscription expires cutting short the period actually covered. They also renew at the cover price which is about $30 more than if you purchase from Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 281 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Norton 360 2013 Premier - 1 User / 3 PC
Norton 360 2013 Premier - 1 User / 3 PC by Symantec (Windows 7 / 8 / Vista / XP)
$99.99 $57.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.