Customer Reviews


1,383 Reviews
5 star:
 (729)
4 star:
 (446)
3 star:
 (151)
2 star:
 (33)
1 star:
 (24)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


115 of 121 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved this book!!!
I really enjoyed this book. I was just planning on reading a few pages when I started but it sucks you in quickly to where you just want to keep going. Jack and Jessie are a perfect couple and I love her little boy. Jack falls quickly and Jessie does to a degree but with Jack appearing to fit all of the criteria of a man she doesn't want she holds back. The thing I...
Published on November 14, 2012 by S. Burney

versus
78 of 85 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Writing, But Some Difficult Premises to Overcome
The blurb which describes this book is rather promising. Jessie is a single mom struggling to make ends meet while Jack is a billionaire who is looking for a woman who is interested in him rather than his pocketbook. As the story begins, Jack is dealing with an ex-girlfriend who wants him back because she misses his money, but he has come to a realization that he doesn't...
Published on January 29, 2013 by J. Weaver


‹ Previous | 1 2139 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

115 of 121 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved this book!!!, November 14, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I really enjoyed this book. I was just planning on reading a few pages when I started but it sucks you in quickly to where you just want to keep going. Jack and Jessie are a perfect couple and I love her little boy. Jack falls quickly and Jessie does to a degree but with Jack appearing to fit all of the criteria of a man she doesn't want she holds back. The thing I most enjoyed is how it fits the 'Not Quite' phrase by them continuing to hang out and get to know each other but Jessie saying they are 'Not Quite Dating'. I really enjoyed that this is going to be a series and thus we got introduced to the character for the second series and possibly even third. I love a series of book where you get to follow-up on the characters. You can't go wrong with this book. Catherine Bybee began one of my favorite authors with her Weekday Brides series and now she is an automatic author I buy when new books come out. You will enjoy this book!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


78 of 85 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Writing, But Some Difficult Premises to Overcome, January 29, 2013
This review is from: Not Quite Dating (Not Quite series) (Paperback)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
The blurb which describes this book is rather promising. Jessie is a single mom struggling to make ends meet while Jack is a billionaire who is looking for a woman who is interested in him rather than his pocketbook. As the story begins, Jack is dealing with an ex-girlfriend who wants him back because she misses his money, but he has come to a realization that he doesn't want to be with another fake woman; he wants someone who is down-to-earth and honest. Great start, right?

Unfortunately, when Jack first meets Jessie, he decides she's THE ONE before he knows a single thing about her other than the fact that she's a waitress at Denny's. There's nothing to indicate an immediate soul-deep connection or an overwhelming physical attraction between the two; he simply sees her as a normal girl working as a waitress, and he decides that he's going to make her fall in love with him. Don't get me wrong, everything from the narration and the conversation between the two indicates that Jessie is a nice, attractive girl, but I just didn't see why Jack would decide that she was worth all the time and effort he went to to get to know her after she did nothing but serve him and his friends after they stopped into Denny's one night.

If I could have bought an instant attraction, I could probably have gotten over some of the other roll-my-eyes moments in the book, but I couldn't. There are too many things that happen that fall just shy of being utterly ridiculous. For example, Jack wants to keep his wealth a secret, so what does he do to help Jessie out? He sets up an elaborate party at one of the hotels his family owns, pretends to borrow a dress and shoes from the lost and found at the hotel (which both just happen to be Jessie's exact size), he "calls in a favor" to have her car repaired...he does all these things for someone he hardly knows, never mind the fact that they're "not quite dating." There are other things he does that border on the absurd, but I won't spoil the rest of the story.

I wish an editor or writer's circle or someone had worked with the author to change just a couple of things in the story to bring it more into the realm of the believable, but I can only suspend so much disbelief. The book IS well written (except, of course, for the premise which fell apart for me), and I'll admit to being interested in the next book in this series, but as for this one, there were too many things that I couldn't get over that prevent me from really recommending it to anyone else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sweet Christmas Romance, November 14, 2012
By 
Loves reading (China Grove, NC United States) - See all my reviews
This is a sweet, makes you feel good romance that takes place during the Christmas season. Jessie is working as a waitress, trying to make ends meet in order to support her sister and her 5 year old son. Her mother has frequently told her it is just as easy to love a poor man as a rich man. She is immediately attracted to Jack, but she wants someone established not a dreamer with a dead end job. After an ex girlfriend tells him any girl he marries will be marrying him for his money, Jack decides he wants to be wanted for himself. Jack and Jessie decide to just be friends...They are not quite dating...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More great work by Catherine Bybee!, November 14, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
It's no secret that I am a huge Catherine Bybee fan and this book was no exception. I absolutely adore Not Quite Dating! I literally couldn't put it down and read it in less than a day.

Both Jack and Jessie are dealing with their own issues and things that are missing from their respective lives and little do they know a chance meeting at a diner will change both their lives in numerous ways filling those spaces that neither of them ever thought would be.

Bybee does an amazing job of telling this story in a realistic way, all while bringing out the romance and emotion needed for a top notch comtemporary romance novel. There are highs and lows throughout this book, but throughout you are rooting for both Jack and Jessie and they happy ending you so want them to achieve.

Kudos to Bybee for another fantastic creation. I'm very much looking forward to the next installment in the "Not Quite" series!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hits the spot, November 14, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Not Quite Dating hit the spot after an intensive week of college reading. I was looking for something easy on the mind and the blurb sounded fun. I was immediately sucked into Jessie and Jack's verbal sparring and couldn't put it down until I finished it. My homework just had to wait.

I had never read anything by this author before but I will definitely be checking out other works by this author. I felt she did a splendid job creating fully-fledged characters who took on a life of their own. I especially loved how Bybee explored the facets of why Jessie is intent on marrying a financially secure man. I was especially surprised with the accurate terminology used in the hospital. But my favorite point by far was that Jessie was not just looking for a man to rescue her, she had a plan to better herself so even without Jack she would have gone on to do great things.

If you enjoy romances featuring intelligent characters, I definitely recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Absurd, March 6, 2013
Let me get this straight - Jack is tired of dating women who only want him for his money. So, when he meets Jessie, a waitress at Denny`s, he pretends to be poor. Only Jessie refuses to date him because he's poor. Fortunately for her, Jack is so blinded by her "goodness" that he refuses to take "no" for an answer. Then she discovers that he's rich and they ride off happily into the sunset. Boy, it's a good thing Jack went through all that trouble to end up with a woman who didn't care about his money.

This book is absurd!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sooooooo fricking cute!!, November 20, 2012
The only problem I had was the very descriptive intimate moments. I felt like it was porn that's exceptable........ Too much information for me. But I guess if you're into that sort of thing....
But the story was cute and I loved the characters. It made my heart melt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love Happens When You Least Expect It, December 4, 2012
This review is from: Not Quite Dating (Not Quite series) (Paperback)
Typically, I like my romance reads to be either historical or paranormal, but after I saw that the story was set at Christmastime, I thought I would give it a chance, so I signed up to review Not Quite Dating courtesy of Bewitching Book Tours and Montlake Romance in exchange for my honest review.

Jessie Mann grew up not having much. She works the midnight shift as a waitress, struggling to make a living as she is caring for her son and her younger sister. Her family is the most important thing in her life and she has no time to dwell on a man. That is until Jack Morrison steps into the diner and into her life.

Jack is more than financially stable as he is the heir to the Morrison luxury hotel empire. You would think someone with his money, charms, and good looks would find it easy to find a woman, but he is tired of women wanting him just for his money. Late one night, along with his buddies, Jack goes into the diner and runs into Jessie, whom he is instantly attracted to. Now all that Jessie sees is another Texas with big dreams and she is instantly not attracted to him.

Despite being slightly rejected, Jack befriends Jessie and her family, but he doesn't tell her that his is wealthy. To find out, Jessie really does want to find love, but all the men she meets are never her type. Jack takes it upon himself to help Jessie with her money woes and he eventually plays matchmaker in the hope of finding her the perfect man. But the more time he spends with her, the more he loves everything about her.

I don't read very many contemporary romances as the majority are a little too erotic for my tastes, but I did enjoy reading Not Quite Dating as it was down to earth with a realistic plot. The man characters, Jessie and Jack, were very likeable and the dialogue was sharp. The book was a page turner as I read through the entire book in one night. I can easily picture this as an ABC Family or a Hallmark Christmas movie. I can't wait until the sequel Not Quite Mine comes out next year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not quiet enough, October 22, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The book is actually ridiculous, the author has potential, but, really...a billionaire meets an uneducated waitress, with no real goals...hides who he is, and falls for her because she is the "only one" who doesn't want him for his money, but is trying to help her find someone who has some...to save her instead of her saving herself, and growing as a person. The book could have been much better, if she was allowed to continue on and make it on her own, and then get back with him. The end was so corny, and left you hanging. What age groop reads this?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 34 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars don't waste your time., November 19, 2012
I suspect this book was written by a 13 year old girl who dots the letter "i" with a heart. If there is a formula for run of the mill, unbelievable and quite boring romance books, the author has followed it closely. Woman who was "done wrong", precocious child and misunderstood, sensitive millionaire...wow, we've never seen that plot line before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2139 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Not Quite Dating (Not Quite series)
Not Quite Dating (Not Quite series) by Catherine Bybee (Paperback - November 13, 2012)
$12.95 $9.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.