Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent anthology
"Not for Sale" is a highly readable mix of personal stories and more academic essays, all of them eye-opening, informative, and engrossing. I've studied and taught feminist theory and will be including the text on my syllabus if I teach a relevant course again, but I can also report that my boyfriend, who is not an academic and has no background in feminism, picked it up...
Published on June 2, 2005 by Vicki D. Behrens

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good for school
I have to have this book for one of my classes and some of the essays are very enlightening and interesting.
Published 23 months ago by awesome game descent graphics


Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent anthology, June 2, 2005
This review is from: Not for Sale: Feminists Resisting Prostitution and Pornography (Paperback)
"Not for Sale" is a highly readable mix of personal stories and more academic essays, all of them eye-opening, informative, and engrossing. I've studied and taught feminist theory and will be including the text on my syllabus if I teach a relevant course again, but I can also report that my boyfriend, who is not an academic and has no background in feminism, picked it up to glance at it and ended up staying up all night reading. If you want intelligent but accessible analysis of pornography, prostitution, and the connections between them, or if you just want to hear the voices of women who have been personally involved in these abusive industries, check it out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Provocative and important, June 24, 2005
This review is from: Not for Sale: Feminists Resisting Prostitution and Pornography (Paperback)
This book will give you a lot to think about - it is not only meaty and long - well over 400 densely printed pages, but it contains many pieces that are down-to-earth and provocative. There is information about prostitution and its effects on those being exploited and abused in it, and information on the effects of pornography, including the women portrayed in it and the men using it, from first-person perspectives. Many cultural groups and different thinkers are represented. This book is a must-read for anyone wanting to understand current thought on prostitution and pornography, especially points of view from the left. The pro-prostitution "sex radical" point of view is discussed in a substantive, though confrontational, way.

There are some recommendations - Provide more practical resources and assistance for women wanting to escape prostitution and pornography. Tell the truth about the harm to women involved in the sex industry. Some other policy decisions would be informed, but are not clearly delineated, in this book. Anyone wanting to work with others in their community to reduce pornography and prostitution and the harm caused by them could benefit by reading this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the most important books I've ever experienced, March 17, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Not for Sale: Feminists Resisting Prostitution and Pornography (Paperback)
Not For Sale is one of the most important, eye opening, and humane books I've ever read. It's a compilation of essays by activits, women formerly in the sex industry, academics and others. If you are a 20 something year old women like myself who have grown up in a feminist movement which has not properly taken on pornography like some of the older feminist did, I would urge you to read this book. It is a great "consciouness raising" tool.

All the articles are worth reading but several really stood out to me based on my interests and experiences and questions. Gail Dines addresses racism in pornography -- something worth discussing like we would discuss any other media racism. A great speech from Andrea Dworkin is included that will touch the inner core of anyone who has or knows someone who has been abused. Donna Hughes writes about the abuse that the use of new communication technology has been used for. foe example, the exploitation of women and children through online techonology..
DA Clarke writes an article that would be a good one to read if you have an interest in leftists thought. Mary Lucille Sullivan questions about how successful safety codes in Austrailian brothels really are. Christine Stark's Girlz To Boyz article challenges just what is radical about sex radical feminists and is that movement actually harmful to women? Fans of Ariel Levy's Female Chauvinist Pigs might enjoy this chapter especially. Ann Simonton and Carol Smith sit down to discuss "who are the women in pornography", with Carol sharing a very powerful story. This book includes insightful men such as Robert Jenson to also address the men out there who are consuming the women. The book ends with Leslie R Wolfe's powerful speech "Fighting war against sexual trafficking of women and girls." There is so much good stuff......Read it!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I wish more people would take the time to educate themselves about this, September 23, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Not for Sale: Feminists Resisting Prostitution and Pornography (Paperback)
This is such a sore subject, for the general population. Not the fact that pornography has creeped it's way into practically everywhere in society, but the fact that there are people that dare to say it's not okay.

The word "feminist" has become the other four letter word. No one likes to say that they are or may be one. It's even an insult in many social circles. I however, am proud to say that I am one of the dwindling few young women that still respects myself.

I can't even drive to work, turn on the radio, watch T.V. without being reminded constantly about the fact that women are seen as ojects to be bought and sold. This book helps me believe that I am not alone in what I see and hear every single day.

My only hope is that others will start to not only see what is going on, but help in the war against it. It seems to be a losing battle, but I'm willing to stand up and fight, even if I am the only one I know on this side.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good for school, January 25, 2013
I have to have this book for one of my classes and some of the essays are very enlightening and interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential feminism, October 13, 2013
This review is from: Not for Sale: Feminists Resisting Prostitution and Pornography (Paperback)
This is one of the absolute best books I have ever read, period. I found myself underlining, making margin notes, rereading the text so that I would remember the concise points and the perfect framing. It covers a range of voices of experience, and the message is clear -- women matter, girls matter, prostituted and trafficked people matter, and we can create a better world. We need to understand what is, and then work to change it. Incredibly empowering, completely worthwhile read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Not for Sale: Feminists Resisting Prostitution and Pornography
Not for Sale: Feminists Resisting Prostitution and Pornography by Kirsten Anderberg (Paperback - May 1, 2005)
$24.95 $18.87
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.