Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good start for kids
I liked this book because, as my 11 year old son and I were reading it together, I realized how little he actually knew about wages, credit, debt, investing, spending, saving...and they don't really teach this in schools. After a few chapters, he asked me to keep reading because he was truly interested in all these subjects. It has started a long and productive discussion...
Published on November 1, 2010 by Julie A. Capozzoli

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars I'ts Ok
Nothing really special. Purchased for an in-law who really didn't get much out of it, but then he never got much out of anything!
Published 7 months ago by Papa fish


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good start for kids, November 1, 2010
By 
Julie A. Capozzoli (Princeton, New Jersey United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Not Your Parents' Money Book: Making, Saving, and Spending Your Own Money (Paperback)
I liked this book because, as my 11 year old son and I were reading it together, I realized how little he actually knew about wages, credit, debt, investing, spending, saving...and they don't really teach this in schools. After a few chapters, he asked me to keep reading because he was truly interested in all these subjects. It has started a long and productive discussion about money that I'm sure we will continue for many years. I would definitely recommend this to tweens and teens.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rutgers University Project on Economics and Children, November 18, 2010
This review is from: Not Your Parents' Money Book: Making, Saving, and Spending Your Own Money (Paperback)
The financial crisis that dragged the U.S. economy into a deep recession and had spillover effects around the world continues to dominate the headlines. Much debate has focused on finding ways to reduce the damage today and prevent a similar meltdown from happening in the future. Empowering our youth with financial literacy constitutes an important strategy that has begun to receive attention in the media.

In explaining concepts like recession, unemployment, and debt in engaging and clear terms, Not Your Parents' Money Book fills this niche and helps young readers gain more familiarity with their own roles as savers, consumers, and workers. Added to the mix are some humorous vignettes to keep the readers' attention, such as the life span of the germs that pass from people to dollar bills, and the incidence of and punishment for counterfeiting money.

In writing this book, author Jean Chatzky, the financial editor for the Today show and frequent contributor to other talk shows and media sources, drew on her expertise in personal finance as well as research from a series of focus group interviews with middle school students. The result is an easy-to-read crash course in economics and finance that will encourage readers to become savvier consumers and more informed about the economic world around them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Money Short course, September 23, 2010
By 
Erma M. Edwards "EE" (Oskaloosa, IA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Not Your Parents' Money Book: Making, Saving, and Spending Your Own Money (Paperback)
Great information even for adults who have missed out on the financial knowledge that is needed in our current society. Geared for the young teenager, I found the drawings and illustrations likely more acceptable to the 12 yr old than the 17 yr old even through the narrative is appropriate for all. This is a shame as the older teenagers likely missed out and need to read it also.
This could be used as a text for homeschooling and appropriate high school classes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Teens and Money, July 30, 2011
This review is from: Not Your Parents' Money Book: Making, Saving, and Spending Your Own Money (Paperback)
I have read a number of books written by [...]Jean Chatzky and was excited to see she has written a book about money for teenagers, "Not Your Parents' Money Book". Jean is the financial editor for the Today show and frequent contributor to other talk shows and media sourcres.

As part of the research for the book, she met with groups of kids at middle schools across the country and them questions about what they know about money and things they want to know about money. The book is peppered with questions from kids and her answers to their questions. Also included in the book are fun facts and quizzes about money.

There are chapters about earning money, spending money and saving money. She gives ideas of ways to earn money besides the regular babysitting and cutting lawns and discusses the different vehicles for saving the money you earn.

She also discusses and explains investing and ways to invest. Many of the money related words are highlighted in the book and defined in the glossary at the end of the book. So if there are words that you do not understand you can jump to the glossary and look it up. She also discusses the economy and recession, which may be words that kids hear about and may not know what they mean.

Also included in the end of the book are sections on the history of money and how money is made.

The book is concluded by a list of web resources for more information. The websites include informational websites as well as websites that have games and puzzles pertaining to money and finances.

As with other topics it may be easier for kids to learn if they do not think they are actually learning anything, making it fun to learn.

This is a great resource to teach kids about the important subject of dealing with money and finances. It is about 150 pages and a quick and easy read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read for your teen !, January 29, 2011
By 
agnieszka (CT, United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Not Your Parents' Money Book: Making, Saving, and Spending Your Own Money (Paperback)
My daughter laughed at me and didn't want to even touch this book, when I got it. I insisted that she reads every single page of this book.She did and ....right after she finished reading, her very first words were " can I get a job" :)
The book not only educates about the role that money plays in your life ,but also motivates to start earning and saving your money.
I like this book a lot and will recommend it to everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars I'ts Ok, January 31, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Not Your Parents' Money Book: Making, Saving, and Spending Your Own Money (Paperback)
Nothing really special. Purchased for an in-law who really didn't get much out of it, but then he never got much out of anything!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Money tips for Children and Adults, December 28, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Not Your Parents' Money Book: Making, Saving, and Spending Your Own Money (Paperback)
Good aide for lesson planning. Student questions and examples were helpful. I would recommend for a parent or an educator.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars complicated, October 22, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Not Your Parents' Money Book: Making, Saving, and Spending Your Own Money (Paperback)
Understanding money can seem complicated. This book helps folks get to the bottom line and is helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Not Your Parents' Money Book: Making, Saving, and Spending Your Own Money
$12.99 $10.70
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.