Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


90 of 91 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why I love Notan
The Book Notan is a stimulating journey in to the World of design.Every aspiring designer should own this book. The excercises are sure to help in the devolopment of an understanding of the importance of "negative" space and it's relationship with good design. I would recommend this book to ages 12 and up, for those with an eye for art, or who would like to...
Published on August 4, 2000 by Charles E Morrell

versus
14 of 34 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Recipes for Wallpaper
If you design wallpaper or stove grills or rugs or dinnerware patterns, this book might help you. The writer never bridges the gap between Notan and art. And I don't care what anyone says, there is absolutely nothing interesting about a misshapen abstract version of a pair of scissors. And primative indian art is fine for what it is but attempts to glamorize it to be...
Published on October 14, 2009 by Woodie


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

90 of 91 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why I love Notan, August 4, 2000
By 
Charles E Morrell (Breckenridge, CO. United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Notan: The Dark-Light Principle of Design (Dover Art Instruction) (Paperback)
The Book Notan is a stimulating journey in to the World of design.Every aspiring designer should own this book. The excercises are sure to help in the devolopment of an understanding of the importance of "negative" space and it's relationship with good design. I would recommend this book to ages 12 and up, for those with an eye for art, or who would like to devolop their eye. I find myself returning to this book on a regular basis to refresh my Vision and kick start my creativity. An Exceptional Book!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars design basic for ALL fields of art, August 9, 2007
By 
This review is from: Notan: The Dark-Light Principle of Design (Dover Art Instruction) (Paperback)
This book teaches a basic principle that all artists/teachers should use when thinking/teaching composition whether you are working two-dimensionally or three-dimensionally. Notan is a simple design principle that focuses on positive and negative space. It uses six different exercises that could be used or adapted at any age level and should be a must for the art curriculum. It also offers great historical references. It is one of the best art books you could buy for under $10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clarifies the application of design principles: a valuable reference.:, April 17, 2006
This review is from: Notan: The Dark-Light Principle of Design (Dover Art Instruction) (Paperback)
After reading this book and doing some of the suggested exercises, I became more sensitive to negative space and related design principles and better able to apply them to my art.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Design education, December 9, 2009
By 
Mark Anderson (Liberty, Missouri) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Notan: The Dark-Light Principle of Design (Dover Art Instruction) (Paperback)
I am a design educator. Although I've developed a number of very effective design problems for my advanced students of visual design, I find I'm always looking for new sources of inspiration for my foundations students. The issue I generally confront is that texts tend to fall on one or the other end of a continuum, ranging between incredibly basic to either esoteric or obtuse. Notan: The Dark-Light Principle of Design, I am happy to say, tends to fall at the midpoint of the pendulum swing, providing examples of exercises that are appropriate for introductory learners. With some modification, the principles in this text are applicable to segments of drawing, 2D design, and graphic design curricula, and should make an excellent supplement to a core program of established design exercises.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars seeing in a different way, December 29, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Notan: The Dark-Light Principle of Design (Dover Art Instruction) (Paperback)
from its opening statements about how the "east" and the "west" view positive and negative spaces, it proceeds to show the beauty and value of seeing more than what is presented before you. It is a valuable lesson book in learning to "see" and appreciating the visual balance and harmony that comes with looking at "both sides" of something, something we so often forget to do. It is profound in a very simplistic way. Well worth having on your book shelf whether you are an artist or not. This goes way beyond art!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Notan: The Dark-Light Principle Of Design, August 9, 2007
This review is from: Notan: The Dark-Light Principle of Design (Dover Art Instruction) (Paperback)
Gives a very good idea of the relationships of dark & light in design.
Took a class from Dorr many years ago. Glad to see her book back in print.
I bought this book for my Grand Daughter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars NOTAN, July 25, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Notan: The Dark-Light Principle of Design (Dover Art Instruction) (Paperback)
An excellent book to add to your reference library in the studio. This book has been around a long time & is loaded with solid, solid, information on Design.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Principle of Design, June 14, 2014
By 
Dean Robinson (St. Petersburg, FL, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Notan: The Dark-Light Principle of Design (Dover Art Instruction) (Paperback)
Here is what at first glance is a simple principle of design. But after reading this book, you'll be happily overwhelmed with the artistic possibilities using Notan.

Although this book is 40 years old, it's very relevant still today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Inspire quilt designs, June 11, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Notan: The Dark-Light Principle of Design (Dover Art Instruction) (Paperback)
Inspire your quilt designs with ideas from Notan. I made primitive love bird wall hanging that everyone loves! this book was fantastic for raising ideas for appliqué quilt designs. Every quilter needs this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Notan a must for art teachers, September 14, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Notan: The Dark-Light Principle of Design (Dover Art Instruction) (Paperback)
Terrific book for teaching positive/ negative space! The kids enjoyed the art lessons created from reading this book. Very useful!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Notan: The Dark-Light Principle of Design (Dover Art Instruction)
Notan: The Dark-Light Principle of Design (Dover Art Instruction) by Dorr Bothwell (Paperback - September 19, 1991)
$8.95 $8.06
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.