Customer Reviews


71 Reviews
5 star:
 (55)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nothing But Great
Robert Cray has never released a bad album. Some are augmented by horn sections or a second guitarist, and some stand apart because of exceptional songs ("Strong Persuader", "Take Your Shoes Off"). But bad, as in boring or tasteless? I don't believe so.

Always consistent, Cray has broken new ground with "Nothin' But Love". 2009's "This Time" brought us a...
Published 22 months ago by r.j. zurek

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Slightly disappointed
As usually Cray exhibits strong talent in his songs, however, I was disappointed in the song selection. It seems to me that soemthing is missing---and for me it was the fact that many of the songs lacked the conviction usually emanating from the words of each song. Do not get it twisted, I will continue to listen to Cray, I just hope better songs are selected for the...
Published 13 months ago by Mongo Slade, Esq.


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nothing But Great, August 29, 2012
By 
r.j. zurek (Cape Coral, FL United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nothin But Love (Audio CD)
Robert Cray has never released a bad album. Some are augmented by horn sections or a second guitarist, and some stand apart because of exceptional songs ("Strong Persuader", "Take Your Shoes Off"). But bad, as in boring or tasteless? I don't believe so.

Always consistent, Cray has broken new ground with "Nothin' But Love". 2009's "This Time" brought us a revitalized band- the return of bassist Richard Cousins and the addition of drummer Tony Braunagel gave Cray needed spark, captured brilliantly on 2010's live "Cookin' In Mobile". On this latest offering, strong songwriting and a great producer make it work. Kevin Shirley has a well deserved reputation with bands like Iron Maiden and Rush, but he actually started producing South African musicians in his native Johannesburg. He earned respect in the blues rock world with Joe Bonamassa's many successes, including "Dust Bowl" and "Live From The Royal Albert Hall". Shirley recorded the band straight from a short tour into a week's worth of rehearsals. His timing, as well as his youthful and eclectic input culminated in one of Cray's most energetic offerings.

"Nothin' But Love" contains some of the strongest songwriting in Robert Cray's canon. Bassist Cousins, along with writing partner Hendrix Ackle wrote the opening track "Won't Be Coming Home". Great jazz inspired guitar on this minor key Blues, which Cray is a master of. Keyboardist Jim Pugh and drummer Braunagel offer "Worry", which is a heartfelt song about a man watching his daughter grow up, and the worry that comes to every man in his position. Pugh also wrote "I'll Always Remember You", and Cray plays well against the horn arrangement.

Cray is as mighty with the pen as he is with the guitar on this disc. "Side Dish" is an uptempo fun R&B number that will guarantee to get you moving. His many shout-out food references are in the best Blues tradition (think "Chicken In The Kitchen" from "This Time"). "I'm Done Cryin' deals with the losses so many have endured in these tough economic times, but the man telling the story will retain his dignity. "Sadder Days"has a beautiful melody, and the lyrics are a clever play on words. The man doesn't want his woman to leave, but leave she does- on a Saturday. When that day of the week comes around, it's a "sadder day".

"Blues Get Off My Shoulder" is a Bobby Parker song first recorded in 1958 with saxophonist Paul Williams.It was Shirley's idea to cover the track, and Cray does justice to the song without copying Parker's licks. The live bonus track, "You Belong To Me" is a great way to end this fine album; both Pugh and Cray get to stretch out on this one. Magic Sam would be proud.

This may be the most diverse collection of songs in Robert Cray's career, at least equal to "Take Your Shoes Off". There are political statements and mature observations, along with some new love-gone-wrong numbers. Cray should be applauded for not falling into the "rock crossover" trap. He has maintained his integrity throughout his career by playing sweet soul blues, and his style owes more to Albert King and Cornell Dupree than Hendrix or SRV. The disc also comes with a booklet describing the making of the music by Henry Yates, with personal quotes from Cray himself. "Nothin' But Love" is nothing but great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very consistent set of Robert's trademark laid-back soul blues, August 28, 2012
By 
This review is from: Nothin But Love (Audio CD)
Robert's new album was produced by Kevin Shirley (Joe Bonamassa, Aerosmith, the Black Crowes) in just two weeks but don't expect either raw blues or heavy rock. Robert does what he has always done, beautifully-crafted, laid-back soul blues but Shirley does add big band accompaniment on "I'll Always Remember You" and even strings to "I'm Done Cryin'". The songs are all written by Robert and the band (including long-time bassist Richard Cousins) except for a really good version of Bobby Parker's "Blues get off my shoulder", which fits right into Robert's style and has some nice piano from Jim Pugh in the background.

The guitar and vocals from Robert are as tasteful and controlled as ever but on the final live track, Magic Sam's "You belong to me", the guitar has a bit more volume and bite and the vocals are rawer and more heartfelt, as on most of his live recordings. I don't really know why Robert can't get this kind of sound on his studio recordings. However, this is a very consistent set of songs (if possibly a bit safe) and I'd probably go for the funky "Fix this" as my favourite track, closely followed by the similar "Side dish" with its nice guitar solo. I also really liked the restrained ballad "Sadder days" which Robert sings beautifully.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great New CD, Fully Reinvigorated RC, September 6, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nothin But Love (Audio CD)
I don't give 5 star reviews, and probably wouldn't here but I don't have a 4 1/2 star option. However, this is as close as modern blues and music these days in general will come to deserving a 5 ***** review. Grammy watch is on. I can't think anyone is going to release a better CD in the "Blues" category in 2012.

None of his last 3 CD's were bad: "This Time", "Twenty" and "Time Will Tell" were all good in there own right, especially "This Time" and each one an improvement over the last. You could feel Robert and his band creeping out from the doldrums of the releases "Shoulda Been Home" and "Take Your Shoes Off" in the early 2000's which, for me anyway, were a low point in a Hall of Fame career. However, you can sense a new energy here, a reinvigorated Robert Cray coming on in an even more confident cool, if that is possible. His ringing, crying and chiming guitar is in great form and his singing is better than ever. I have to think that having Richard Cousins back in the band helps. He is a fantasitc bass player to compliment the virtuosity of Jim Pugh on the keyboards, both of whom contribute to songwriting as they did on "This Time". They even have horns on a few songs,not the Memphis Horns, but great horns. RC's blues flavor occasionally goes great with a side of horns. (see 1986-1996)

Bottom line, BUY THIS CD ! But, GO SEE THEM LIVE ! They are one of the tightest bands you will see touring.

Favorite songs: The whole CD, listened to in it's entirety.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nothin But Love, October 7, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nothin But Love (Audio CD)
Robert Cray never disappoints and his latest CD is no exception. If you're torn between downloading or buying the CD, I highly recommend the CD because it comes with a 10 page mini-biography liner note about the making of the CD. One thing about Cray is there's always one standout song above the rest on every album. This album is no exception and "Won't Be Coming Home" is the standout song on this one. Highly, highly recommended. Like a fine wine, Robert Cray only gets better with time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bob is the Best, January 22, 2014
By 
T. Thuss "Jarhead Gamer" (Beaverton, Oregon United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nothin But Love (Audio CD)
Another hit for Mr Cray. This guy just keeps churnin out the hits, love his music, highly recommend this and any of his CD's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Super smooth Robert Cray! One of the best albums that Robert has made. Period., December 6, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nothin but Love (MP3 Music)
This album can be likened a bit to 1999's terrific "Take Your Shoes Off", just a bit more stripped down. If that album did it for you, no doubt this fine record will too!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love the Robert Cray Band, April 17, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nothin But Love (Audio CD)
Chose this CD because of Robert Cray's guitar playing ability, song writing ability, and his singing ability. We love the great jazzie/blusie sounds!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You can never go wrong with Robert Cray, January 21, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nothin But Love (Audio CD)
This album is great like all his others. I have always been a fan and that isn't going to change.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Craymeister Gold, September 8, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nothin But Love (Audio CD)
Another stellar CD from Robert Cray. I enjoy all kinds of music and still enjoy the "album" as a whole, instead of individual songs or downloads. Robert Cray is perfect just to put all his albums in a playlist, hit shuffle, and lay back. This album is masterful. The guy has never done a bad album, and this one is among the best. Saw him again last year at the Horseshoe. What a show. Pick up this CD and you will not be disappointed. For certain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of his best CD's yet!, April 29, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nothin But Love (Audio CD)
This CD returns some major swank back to Robert's musical catalogue. I loved his recent stuff but this album harkens back to the soul of the Strong Persuader album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Nothin But Love
Nothin But Love by Robert Cray (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.