Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oingo Boingo's best, and a best of the '80s
For a short time in the early '80s, Oingo Boingo was right up there with the premier bands of the time. Their infectious grooves, incredible soundscapes and Danny Elfman's wacky vocal stylings dripped with their unique blend of genres infused with a bit of something nobody will ever be able to put their finger on much less duplicate. There just aren't that many bands...
Published on January 11, 2006 by Kid A

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars
It's a slipped disc, the first songs on both sides didn't work.
Published 7 days ago by vendella mcmillan


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oingo Boingo's best, and a best of the '80s, January 11, 2006
By 
Kid A (Boulder, CO) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Nothing to Fear (Audio CD)
For a short time in the early '80s, Oingo Boingo was right up there with the premier bands of the time. Their infectious grooves, incredible soundscapes and Danny Elfman's wacky vocal stylings dripped with their unique blend of genres infused with a bit of something nobody will ever be able to put their finger on much less duplicate. There just aren't that many bands that can inject so many different sounds into their music without it becoming bloated. With Oingo Boingo, though, every sound has its place and none detract from the overall feel of the music.

If you think you've heard Oingo Boingo but you've never heard this album (or Good For Your Soul), you really haven't heard Oingo Boingo. If you know nothing about Oingo Boingo, start here. This is by and far the best album to start with to get the Oingo Boingo firehose pointed in your face. Good For Your Soul (their next release) is also extremely good, though.

Nothing To Fear is quite possibly one of the best releases of any bands in the 1980s. There just isn't a weak song here. Give it a critical listen. Give it several listens, because it'll be a long time before you get to the point where you listen to it and *don't* hear something you never heard before. It's the gift that keeps on giving; an all-time classic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An 80's masterpiece!, December 4, 2004
By 
This review is from: Nothing to Fear (Audio CD)
This album is incredible from start to finish. Musically and lyrically amazingly ahead of it's time(1982), this album encompasses every crazy emotion that could only be conjured up by one Danny Elfman. The musicianship is top notch. This album grabs you and does'nt let go until the final song is over.It's dancy and funky style of pop-rock is unparalleled. Forget buying a best-of, go out and get this first. You WILL NOT be disappointed. Then go and buy(in my order) "Good For Your Soul", "Dead Man's Party", "Only A Lad" and whatever else you come across. Easily a fave of mine in my 3,000 c.d. collection. My ONLY regret was not seeing them live!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It grows on you, like festering mold., August 12, 2000
This review is from: Nothing to Fear (Audio CD)
This album has three of Boingo's best songs, "Insects", "Private Life" and "Islands," and for those three alone it should be worshipped. There's a little less of the Mystic Knights here than on Only a Lad (the nods to music from the past are less frequent), but it's nearly as addictive and actually touching at times. ("Islands" is such a sad and personal song for early Boingo!) You gotta get it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sarcasm and Wild Sex?, October 14, 2005
This review is from: Nothing to Fear (Audio CD)
I'm afraid so - and it's great fun. However, Elfman becomes slightly overexcited to tear down politics and religion, and it comes out just a little forced when you first listen. But I love it all, so, I don't think I really condone that last statement.

Track 1 "Grey Matter" is a great stepping stone from the first Boingo album "Only a Lad" and decidedly one of the best Boingo songs. And one of the most true to life. In fact, I would say I knew the person Danny Elfman wrote this about if she (or he) hadn't been born five or so years after it was released.

Track 3 "Private Life" is definitely one of the best of Boingo. Musically quite solid, and the style and sound feels very unique. Not to mention the fairly simple universality of the lyrics.

And Track 4 "Wild Sex (in the Working Class)" is possibly my favorite Boingo song. If you really pay attention to Elfman's lyrical style, you will realize that sex is not really the point, although in many of his other songs it is only as basic as that. It resonates with the familiarity of "Private Life" and yet maintains a distance for those who are too shallow to look deeper than the beat and the chorus.

And Track 7 "Nothing to Fear (but Fear Itself)" should be just pure entertainment anyone who likes Boingo. But it is one of Danny Elfman's proselyting songs, so humor him for being opinionated, please. Unless you agree... Then just enjoy it, I guess.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Second Album Phenomenon, September 18, 2001
By 
R. Toomey (Piscataway, NJ United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nothing to Fear (Audio CD)
In my opinion, Danny Elfman ranks up there on my list of the greatest rock songwriters of all time. I'll even go as far as calling him a genius in many ways. This album, their second, is truly amazing. Packed with great songs such as "Grey Matter", "Private Life", "Nothing To Fear", "Whole Day Off", "Wild Sex" and my favorite Oingo Boingo song of all time "Reptiles and Samurai". Everytime I listen to this I vision a party. It's great party music and Oingo Boingo definitely ranks up there with the greatest party bands. This one will not disappoint you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A blast from the past for cheap!, March 26, 2005
This review is from: Nothing to Fear (Audio CD)
I bought this for the unbelievably low price of $6.98...only to now find it for $5.99. Six measly bucks for one great album. If you don't jump on this, consider yourself brain-dead.

Now, that out of the way, it's not all wonderful. Reptiles and Samurai gets on my nerves. Same with Insects. But, the rest of the CD is quite enjoyable.

One of my fondest memories is relaxing to Whole Day Off when I was a wee-lad of 16. And who could resist the adrenaline rush of the title track? Same with Wild Sex, Private Life, and the rest of the album.

So, spend the six bucks, you cheap-skate. You won't be disappointed (and if you are, it's only six bucks).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Almost there. . .but not quite, May 5, 2000
This review is from: Nothing to Fear (Audio CD)
Overall, Oingo Boingo was very successful in there endeavor ofpushing the extremes and norms of the music industry. From Only a Ladto Boingo (their last new album), it is a steady rush of macabre, humorous and sometimes frightening energy. With this album they succeeded in outsoaring their previous albums, with one slight disappointment. The song "Insects" may have pushed too far. Despite its catchy beat and oozing anger, it grows thin by the middle. However, the flaw of this one song is quickly repaired with the rest of the album. "Islands" is a cleverly dark piece, while "Grey Matter" conveys a message in a very light tone. "Running on a Treadmill" and "Why'd We Come" are by far the best songs on the album. They are catchy and dare to be a little "wacky" at the same time. In addition "Why'd We Come" highlights a major theme that Oingo Boingo seemed to run with in their early days: the tension and fear surrounding the Cold War. The title song, "Nothing to Fear," even hints at FDR's famous line and the fear of the unknown. Overall, a must for any Boingo fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars There is a reason this CD was $30-$50 on Ebay..it's Amazing!, February 7, 2005
By 
Ben Peck (simi valley, ca United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nothing to Fear (Audio CD)
Now that you can get it for a minimal amount of cash!!Most true and long time Oingo Boingo fans pick this as the Holy Grail of music from Boingo.Even then,all Boingo fans seen to have a diffrent track as their favorite on "Nothing to Fear".Witch is a testament to the albums solid tracks.Being a Boingo Freak from 1984 (introduced by on of my best friends older brother when I was 13)and having seen them in concert over 20 times I would have to agree.I find myself going back to this CD over and over again.This is even one of No Doubts list of favorite album of all time.That has to count for something!Full of energy and angst! If I was stuck on an island with only 10 CD's this would be one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great original songs, October 6, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nothing to Fear (Audio CD)
This is an excellent release by Oingo Boingo. The songs are catchy, well-crafted, and the songwriting is perfect. The songs are really creative and original. There is not one dumb love song on the entire CD. Danny Elfman is the only songwriter who could create something so cool and inventive as "Reptiles and Samarai." IT also has the big hit: "Private Life."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Most Overlooked Band of the 80's, January 4, 2009
By 
Elsie Kay "Lynnski" (Southern Indiana USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Nothing To Fear (MP3 Music)
This album is full of creative lyrics powerfully sung by Danny Elfman. His voice is reminiscent of Tim Curry - slightly offkey and frustrated.

The music is constantly punctuated by sounds that smack of industrial metal...so VERY far ahead of its time.

I dare you to sit still (and not sing along) while listening to this album!

A MUST BUY.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Nothing to Fear
Nothing to Fear by Oingo Boingo (Audio CD - 1990)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.