Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If it was possible to literally capture dreams on tape...
...the result would sound something like Shpongle.

This wondrous (mostly) instrumental work is allegedly meant to simulate a series of dreams - if there is a theme, it's the random stream of ebbs and flows between one segment and the next, culminating in the gently peaceful guitar that carries "Falling Awake" at the end. But beyond that theme, the music itself...
Published on January 23, 2006 by spiral_mind

versus
3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Shpongle Develops Attention Deficit Disorder
As you've probably noticed by now, Shpongle fans tend to go to extreme lengths to heap praise upon this band. To many, this is more than a band, it's an object of veneration, an incomparable psychedelic experience, a profound spiritual journey, all rolled into one musical package. Being a Shpongle fan myself, I can see where the adoration is coming from - the band's...
Published on April 4, 2007 by Grunt Hog


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If it was possible to literally capture dreams on tape..., January 23, 2006
By 
...the result would sound something like Shpongle.

This wondrous (mostly) instrumental work is allegedly meant to simulate a series of dreams - if there is a theme, it's the random stream of ebbs and flows between one segment and the next, culminating in the gently peaceful guitar that carries "Falling Awake" at the end. But beyond that theme, the music itself actually *feels* like a dream. It's wild. It's vivid. It's colorful. It's trippy. It can probably be good for mind-altering experiences since there's a definite stoner vibe (the samples of Terrence McKenna give that away), but there's so much more. Shpongle is one of the most original musical projects I've ever heard. It would be cheapening to even call it electronic; even if you think you've heard it all in the techno world, you haven't heard anything like this.

I don't even know where to begin. Nothing Lasts... has got elements of ambient, techno/trance, world-beat, dub, Latin music, jazz, prog and psychedelia, but it's much more than any and all of those. It's earthy and inviting enough to love right away. It's trippy and far-fetched enough to suggest a hyperspace warp through the cosmos. It's got some of the best production/engineering I've EVER heard. It's heady and a touch cerebral, but connects with the emotions (and yes, the soul) in an immediate way that few pieces of music are capable of. Simon Posford puts as much impeccable care into the recording & sound mix as a virtuoso does into their instrument, while Raja Ram adds earthy tones and textures that span the globe.. or maybe the universe.

In other words it's utterly unclassifiable. If you've got a good stereo you'll be astounded at the breadth and depth of sounds coming out of this little piece of plastic. When people talk about music being not just sound but an overall experience, this is the kind of thing they mean. "Botanical Dimensions" is the sound of an alien bio-dome garden coming to life. "Schnitzled in the Negev" is the music of the deep subconscious. "Molecular Superstructure" goes from spacey radio waves to shaman techno drums. Basically, the disc is pure imagination brought to life.

If you like any or all of those genres - if you seriously like music at all and enjoy expanding some horizons - you'll enjoy Shpongle. Your ears will never be the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars some of the best trip music in the world, March 13, 2008
This review is from: Nothing Lasts But Nothing Is Lost (Audio CD)
Okay, first of all, before you can understand Shpongle, you have to understand what they represent. They are one of the greatest psychedelic bands in the world. They tour extensively in Asia and Europe, where they have a much stronger following than they could ever develop in America. They are strong proponents of the DMT movement, expansion of consciousness, and psychedelia in general. If you aren't into tripping, you will probably find something ignorantly to complain about when listening to them. This music was written by psychonauts, for psychonauts. It is NOT for everyone. They create vast and complex soundscapes that will only fully make sense to someone who's experienced what they have. Every song is an esoteric masterpiece, and in my opinion they are the very best at what they do. There is not another band in the world that sounds even close to Shpongle. They are one of the few electronic bands that incorporates piano and guitar so often and so beautifully into their music. So if you are into electronic music, and the psychedelic movement at all, you need to hear this album ASAP! It will give you so many ear-gasms you'll be dripping wet and loving it. Listen to this album first, before you hear their others. It is the most diverse and beautiful. HAVE FUN GETTING SHPONGLED!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Much more than a mix, September 5, 2007
By 
This review is from: Nothing Lasts But Nothing Is Lost (Audio CD)
Mind-boggling and delicious, myraid stylistic forms, beauty, grace, smooth transitions. Beyond most anything currently on the electronica market. Listen again and again, you will not get bored. Unrivaled genius with a taste for the unfathomable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars - A Mental Journey -, April 8, 2008
By 
SonneSolaris (Pittsburgh, PA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Nothing Lasts But Nothing Is Lost (Audio CD)
I had obtained this CD a few months ago, and had enjoyed greatly a few songs here and there that reminded me to some extent of older shpongle/posford tunes. BUT, having just listened to this CD all the way though, I felt the need to write something up.

The beauty of this CD comes from listening to it as a whole, not skipping track by track. From beginning to end, it takes you on a mental journey that frankly, is hard to parallel without hallucinogenics.

But seriously, the ups, the downs, the subtle sound bytes, the world music mixed in with sometimes vaguely danceable beats blew my mind. Really, if you own this CD, but don't enjoy it, try listening to it all the way through, just once. If your opinion doesn't change, I would be surprised. If you don't own it, seriously consider it - as a whole it is nothing short of a masterpiece that will take you on a journey that will open your mind's eye.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Creative excellence., September 1, 2007
By 
This review is from: Nothing Lasts But Nothing Is Lost (Audio CD)
Electronic/dance/trance/ambient/psytrance/... these are just labels. What they've created is (again) uniquely Sphongle.

"Nothing Lasts, But Nothing is Lost" is a syncretic blend of traditional and creative styles. It is the product of nothing short of genius.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, thoroughly in Awe of this Album, April 21, 2006
By 
Bill (Phoenix, AZ USA) - See all my reviews
I have the previous two Shpongle Albums, as well as numerous other psytrance albums, and I have NEVER heard anything like this! I don't think there is anything similar even in existence! It really does seem as revoluntionary as Pink Floyd, and I definitely agree with "Dark side of the Moon for the 21st century". After only hearing this album a few times all the way through, I'm confident in putting it right next to "Bible of Dreams" by Juno Reactor, as being the best electronic album of this decade.

I guess the best way I could classify this is as downtempo IDM Psytrance, but that really doesn't begin to do it justice. First, I'll say that this really is a unique sound, even from their last album, "Tales of the Inexpressible", its almost totally different (although still a familiar Shpongle style). It has alot of contrasting layers, not quite as melodic, more punctuated sound effects. I say this seems IDM, because at times it sounds like its wandering into squarepusher country, although not too heavily. (Don't worry, your brain won't rip in half from beeps and screeches)

This album is very emotional, at times playful, certainly spiritual and almost messianic at times; other times high energy with almost like a latin pop riding a flowing current of psytrance. The list keeps going, I recommend checking other reviewers. (very hard to explain)

If you are looking for quite possibly the wierdest and most amazingly put together album put out since Bible of Dreams, here it is!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of THOSE Rare albums..., November 30, 2008
By 
D. Gerry (Los Angeles, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is one of those records, like Art of Noise - In Visible Silence, or Eno/Byrne - My Life...it suggests new possibilities and approaches that have not yet been explored fully. It is also very good music. All in all - a well-composed, manic, psychedelia-tinged global acid-house mashup of epic staying power.
Fantastic acoustic playing and dreamstate vocals collide with custom digital manipulations, and are whipped up together into a luscious storm of sound and groove.
It's not a bunch of great 'songs'. There's plenty of those already. What we have here is a series of intoxicating rhythms and harmonies in complementary modes of energy.
Highly Recommended for the musical adventurer in you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Be Prepared to Have Your Mind BLOWN, November 16, 2008
This review is from: Nothing Lasts But Nothing Is Lost (Audio CD)
Quite simply, this album is the ultimate evolution of psychedelic trance and ambient electronica - an experience akin to an aural "vision quest". Long live Shpongle!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nothing lasts but Simon Posfords brain thankfully., February 7, 2009
By 
This review is from: Nothing Lasts But Nothing Is Lost (Audio CD)
From project to project he continues to surprise me. Shpongle is nothing like Hallucinogen and Younger Brother is nothing like Shpongle. Its unfair someone can skip genre's so... effortlessly.

Anyway, this album is epic. When I bought it I listened to it almost exclusively for a month straight. The sound production is incredible and the flow of the album (it really should be listened to start to finish) takes you on a ride through Simon's brain as well as a trip across the world as he mixes elements from different world styles. At times ambient, other times chaotic, some times it makes you want to dance, others to just meditate all in the course of an hour CD. The transition from Levitation Nation into Periscopes of Perception transports me to the desert charging into battle atop an elephant geared for war and the tones just hit this certain place in my head that causes a shortness of breath, almost like an adrenaline surge.

Another interesting thing about this and all Simon's work is the album's are almost completely different pieces of music depending on volume. When its quiet it makes it nice to fall asleep to, when its midrange it makes good background music when you need to concentrate and when its turned all the way up it takes over your body and starts kicking a series of emotions into overdrive.

Do not buy this expecting an album from Hallucinogen. I wouldn't even really call this trance in the generally accepted ideas of the genre. It has elements of trance, ambient, breaks, a movie score and a video game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So much more than ordinary psytrance, February 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a cut above, moves in interesting directions and dimensions. I love listening to this when i work, when i play, when i relax... it's like taking your mind to some beautiful tropical paradise. I get my music mostly through Rhapsody and various net radio, so when I actually lay down $$ to own a whole album, it's because it's just really that good. And it is, really. that. good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Nothing Lasts But Nothing Is Lost
Nothing Lasts But Nothing Is Lost by Shpongle (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.