Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Three Albums Past the First Classic is Classic
N.E.R.D. has been through a lot since 2001, when their debut album came out of nowhere to be proclaimed a classic amongst their cult fans as well as critics. But they never really took shape in the mainstream. Every album since the first has attempted to get more and more into the pop ranks, with only some success. Their last album, Seeing Sounds, seemed to make the...
Published on November 2, 2010 by Bryan A. Mabe

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as the previous albums
There were barely enough tracks on this album that I liked to encourage me to purchase it and after listening to the whole thing I don't feel it was worth the $10. I can't think of a time when I would listen to 90% of these songs again and not want to turn them off.
Published on March 21, 2011 by cableknit


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Three Albums Past the First Classic is Classic, November 2, 2010
By 
This review is from: Nothing (Audio CD)
N.E.R.D. has been through a lot since 2001, when their debut album came out of nowhere to be proclaimed a classic amongst their cult fans as well as critics. But they never really took shape in the mainstream. Every album since the first has attempted to get more and more into the pop ranks, with only some success. Their last album, Seeing Sounds, seemed to make the most effort in doing so. However, among the cult following and critics alike, Seeing Sounds was said to be their worst effort out of the three. So, Nothing could have either pushed that "pop" sound more or it could have taken from what worked with the first album, In Search of... Luckily for fans new and old, N.E.R.D. decided to take their creativeness to new heights, with polished, yet not over-saturated music. We have a new classic on our hands.

Track by Track

1. Party People f/T.I. 4/5 - This track sets off the record, but does not give it a sense as to where the album's direction will go. It is a feel good, "let go" type of track that gets you moving, but seems more for the dance floor that it is for your headphones. Nevertheless, it is a well put together track. Their second official single added T.I. to add some star power

2. Hypnotize U 4/5 - A very mellow track that comes surprisingly after a fast paced dance track. Hypnotize U tells a story of appreciation toward the females. Pharrell goes all out on his falsetto belts which will remind most of his first solo single "Frontin'" years back. It's a great track with a memorable beat.

3. Help Me 5/5 - Shae and Pharrell were quoted as saying that this record had a lot of influences, one being, The Doors. Help Me is the song they were talking about. It has The Doors dripping off of it. Some might be scared of that idea, but the track comes off very well. It is one of the best on the album. The lyrics will even remind many of Jim Morrison's poetic style. It's something that N.E.R.D. has never really delved into as much as they do on this track.

4. Victory 5/5 - This is an inspiring song that will have almost anybody want to get off the couch and do something with their lives. It will remind some of a track that might eventually make it onto the NBA finals or Superbowl advertising commercials, but don't spoil it for yourself. Take the song for what it is supposed to be and not what it is most likely going to end up. Another lyrical gem for N.E.R.D. Their second album, Fly or Die, is ressurected a bit in the sense of subject matter.

5. Perfect Defect 4/5 - Another uptempo track that's central meaning is the appreciation of a female. The track speeds up and is accentuated by a bridge that leads to a very catchy chorus. Shae comes in towards the end to offer his own contribution the song, which is short, but adds a lot.

6. I've Seen the Light / Inside of Clouds 5/5 - This is a track which is divided into two separate songs. I've Seen the Light is a track which uses a sample that has been used before, but it fits N.E.R.D. like an old favorite T-shirt. The clap in the bass line restrains its potential to be a sappy, slow Jazz song. But again, lyrically, it stands above a lot of other material. Inside of Clouds has been called an instant classic by many fans and critics alike. It reminds me of something straight off of their debut album, along the same sound as Bobby James (a favorite among the cult followers of N.E.R.D.). It has a very nostalgic sound.

7. God Bless Us All 5/5 - N.E.R.D. has been known to "talk to the kids." And this track does it well. It sends a message to the young and lost who might have gone through a lot of negative experiences in their life. Experiences which have lead them to not believe in a higher being or meaning to life. "I bet this song won't make sense to you/with the weight on your shoulders, what can you see?/God blessed us all with the gift to pursue." A very good track. Again, when this could have been a sappy or corny song, N.E.R.D. turns it into a listenable track that can be repeated.

8. Life As a Fish 3/5 - This is another song that is heavily saturated with meaningful lyrics, but almost too much. It is slower than most of the tracks with no punching bassline that resides in other lyrical tracks. Life As a Fish seems to display Pharrell's (or possibly the band's) feelings about Jesus and God in a Christian sense. Listen yourself to decifer the lyrics. It might just be me. At any rate, the song seems out of place a bit because it is almost too slow for it's own good. It's still a track not to skip however.

9. Nothing On You 5/5 - R&B has been something that N.E.R.D. has dipped into a bit, especially on their last effort (Seeing Sounds), however, this track is probably the closest we will get to R&B. It comes across as a Justin Timberlake track from Justified, in that the tempo is great and the chorus is very effective. One of my favorite (dance tracks) on the album. Shae's verse sticks out to me the most. Single worthy.

10. Hot-N-Fun 4/5 - The first official single off the album that seems to be a bit old now that the official album has arrived. Nelly Furtado offers herself on the chorus and bridge, yet with all due respect, it could have anybody. Most fans would have wished for Kelis, an old N.E.R.D. label mate to have made an appearance on this track. It's a dance record. Lyrically, it doesn't offer anything special. Pharrell sings admittingly, "nobody wants to think anymore/they want to feel/they want to let go."

11. It's In the Air 4/5 - This is the most heavily political track on the album. It starts off with a rant from an unnamed politician at some sort of meeting. It does offer a sort of jazzy/blues feel to it that is appealing. However, the track itself is less entertaining than it is thought provoking. So if you are not in the mood to think, this track is not for you. It's haunting feel showcases the lyrics well.

12. Sacred Temple 5/5 - Another upbeat track that will sound perfect live. The thumping of the bassline is effective. Most fans will hear labelmate Kenna among the chorus and the beat seems something that Kenna would have chose for his own album. Lyrically, again, The Doors seem to be the influence. It's a great track - very infectious.

13. I Wanna Jam 5/5 - This is a track one can hear at any dance party or club. The classic, jump rock that N.E.R.D. has been known before in the past (Fly or Die). This track appeals to the young and energetic that just want to have fun and jam. Pharrell's lyrics "life makes me horny" will stick out the most lyrically. Other than that, this track is not supposed to make you think too much of the lyrics.

14. The Man 4/5 - Another track with political undertones. It's more of a slow talked track, but with a classic Neptunes beat. The chorus suffers slightly to me, due to the repeated "don't it feel good," but it doesn't ruin the song. Weird background sounds (life a horse) is sprinkled throughout, leading it be somewhat of an eccentric track. Shae once again delivers a great verse - something that make up some of the best parts of the album. A great track.

All in all, there are no skippable tracks on the album. 14 songs that seperate themselves form one another to make the most well rounded N.E.R.D. album that has came out. It is classic N.E.R.D. but adds a new synergy. It perfectly balances between indie rock, pop and hip-hop. It's what Seeing Sounds was supposed to be. A must buy for any fan of creative music that makes you dance and think while appreciating the beat. Incredible music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars curtis mayfield would be proud, January 9, 2011
This review is from: Nothing (Audio CD)
This album felt like a classic as soon as it started playing. Drenched in soul, love, and a constantly simmering anger towards the establishment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as the previous albums, March 21, 2011
By 
This review is from: Nothing (Audio CD)
There were barely enough tracks on this album that I liked to encourage me to purchase it and after listening to the whole thing I don't feel it was worth the $10. I can't think of a time when I would listen to 90% of these songs again and not want to turn them off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beware--Edited Version, June 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nothing (Audio CD)
The album itself is great, but had I known this was the edited version, I might not have bought it. Also, the case on mine was cracked when I received it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Different, but still a great album., July 19, 2012
This review is from: Nothing (Audio CD)
This album is the definition of getting slept on. It's a good one too, if you don't listen to expecting it to be another In Search Of... like most people do. Don't buy this thinking you're going to hear 10-15 [depending on what version you buy] new smash hits produced by The Neptunes, because this is not an album by The Neptunes...this is N*E*R*D. A lot of these songs are influenced by classic rock and funk music and aren't about pleasing the masses who listen to Top 40 radio. If you have an eclectic taste in music then I would without a doubt recommend this album to you. Pay the few extra few bucks and get the Deluxe Version, because the added songs are just as good as the first 10 songs on the album. As long as you go into this knowing this isn't an album by The Neptunes and not comparing it to another N*E*R*D album then listening should be an enjoyable experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars love it, April 6, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nothing (Audio CD)
I live n.e.r.d they can do no wrong in my book! And I got it at a great price awesome
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome CD, March 17, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nothing (Audio CD)
Love love love it! Every song is a winner! Purchased this to see what other songs Pharrell and his band created - was not dissappointed at all! Highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Good but not great, December 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nothing (Audio CD)
Not as good as their first three CDs. The latter part of the CD is better with the exception of the second to last song.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars my favorite band, June 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nothing (Audio CD)
i love N.E.R.D <3 i go to their concert everytime they are in the Boston or New England area. I have all their CDs. I got this for under $5, which includes the immediate Amazon Streaming. i recommend it. Although their first album will always be my favorite. this is one great too. Pharrell is just amazing and talented
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars N.E.R.D. expand their sonic palette on "Nothing", November 3, 2011
This review is from: Nothing (Vinyl)
While the Neptunes have wildly successful as producers, their career as performers haven't been as fortunate. As the trio N.E.R.D., they have made great albums, but remained critical darlings for most of their career. It all started for them in 2001 with their debut "In Search Of..."- an album that was originally based in their trademark sound, but was scrapped and delayed for several months due to them reworking the album to include live instrumentation. They had a couple of modest hits with the singles "Rockstar" and the catchy "Lapdance". A couple of years later they released the sophomore LP- the heavier "Fly Or Die". While the album got good reviews, it suffered from two things: a lack of promotion on behalf of their then-label Virgin Records and a subsequent disbanding. They wanted out of their contract with Virgin, so to bide the time they focused on other projects- namely Pharrell Williams' solo debut "In My Mind" and Chad Hugo producing Kenna's sophomore effort "Make Sure They See My Face". In 2008, they returned with their third album the gargage rock influenced "Seeing Sounds" released on their label Star Trak Entertainment through a new distribution deal with Interscope Records. In 2010, they released their second project on their own label- the experimental fourth album "Nothing".

On this new album they work with a few surprise guests- T.I. on the opening track "Party People", Nelly Furtado on the first single "Hot-N-Fun" and Daft Punk producing the heavily synthesized "Hypnotize U". They channel the psychedelic rock sound on the ballad "Help Me" as well as "I've Seen The Light". They get inspirational on the Queen influenced "Victory" and uplift a woman's self esteem on the dance rocker "Perfect Defect". They offer words of hope on the mariachi influenced "God Bless Us All" and compliment a beautiful woman on "Nothing On You". While the compact disc is listed with ten songs, the vinyl version has four extra songs added in the pressing. The extra tracks listed are the political "It's In The Air"- complete with a jazz influence, "Sacred Temple" with brief N.E.R.D. member Rhea Dummett, "I Wanna Jam" (The first song in which Shae Haley receives a writing credit) and closing out the album with the rock heavy "The Man". Overall, N.E.R.D.'s "Nothing" is a good record, but could have been better if it was more focused in the production area. Still in all, it's listenable record from the Virginia trio in their decade long recording career.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Nothing
Nothing by N.E.R.D. (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.