Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great idea book
As a stained glass artist, this book got my creative juices flowing. The pictures are fairly complex, just like the stained glass of the 1920's era, and made me wish I had crayons or markers that could duplicate the textured, swirled, multicolored glass that was used during this time! It's a great starting point for people who'd like to take on more complex glass projects...
Published on December 28, 2000 by E. Haynes

versus
22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars nice ideas and designs, but....
There are lovely stained glass ideas in this book, but... to use as a coloring exercise, you need to know that you really have to have felt tip pens to make the colours show up. There is a lot of black surrounding the designs and the "transparent" colouring areas are a light gray which cuts down on the brilliancy of any colouring.
Published on April 4, 2007 by wogan


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great idea book, December 28, 2000
By 
E. Haynes "eek35" (Austin, TX United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Art Nouveau Windows Stained Glass Coloring Book (Dover Design Stained Glass Coloring Book) (Paperback)
As a stained glass artist, this book got my creative juices flowing. The pictures are fairly complex, just like the stained glass of the 1920's era, and made me wish I had crayons or markers that could duplicate the textured, swirled, multicolored glass that was used during this time! It's a great starting point for people who'd like to take on more complex glass projects and who want to experiment with color combinations befhorehand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars nice ideas and designs, but...., April 4, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Art Nouveau Windows Stained Glass Coloring Book (Dover Design Stained Glass Coloring Book) (Paperback)
There are lovely stained glass ideas in this book, but... to use as a coloring exercise, you need to know that you really have to have felt tip pens to make the colours show up. There is a lot of black surrounding the designs and the "transparent" colouring areas are a light gray which cuts down on the brilliancy of any colouring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gorgeous!, June 11, 2008
This review is from: Art Nouveau Windows Stained Glass Coloring Book (Dover Design Stained Glass Coloring Book) (Paperback)
Get out your colored pencils, felt tip pens, or whatever you wish and get ready for some of the most satisfying, enjoyable and beautiful images of Art Nouveau Windows to color at your own whim.

This book is just lovely, and the possabilities of adding its pages to other crafts is very enticing.

Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty, April 6, 2013
By 
SkyeNoir (Bay Area, CA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Art Nouveau Windows Stained Glass Coloring Book (Dover Design Stained Glass Coloring Book) (Paperback)
I don't know if when I ordered this I didn't realize it was a stained glass style, meaning the paper is less opaque and light can be seen when put on a window. You cannot use colored pencils on these. You need fine tip markers to properly color these and do justice to the designs. This is not a child's coloring book. It is not made for Crayola markers. It is made more for the likes of Copic pens or even Zig makers or even very fine tip sharpies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautitful Book, January 11, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Art Nouveau Windows Stained Glass Coloring Book (Dover Design Stained Glass Coloring Book) (Paperback)
This is a very beautifully designed book. The images are lovely and it's such a fun, soothing activity to color the pages in. So enjoyable!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not what I expected..., June 13, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Art Nouveau Windows Stained Glass Coloring Book (Dover Design Stained Glass Coloring Book) (Paperback)
It was a great idea but I didn't like the paper that the pages were printed on. I wanted to use colored pencils but they didn't even show up on the almost plastic coated pages. It would be a great idea book for stained glass work but as a coloring book it was disappointing when all I could use on the pages were markers to have any color show up.
And, yes, I am an adult that likes to color! I can't crochet to save my life and cross stitch frustrates the bejeebers out of me. Coloring is a great stress reliever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars love art nouveau?, April 22, 2011
By 
This review is from: Art Nouveau Windows Stained Glass Coloring Book (Dover Design Stained Glass Coloring Book) (Paperback)
If you enjoy art nouveau and art deco like I do then hurry out and buy this book! Truly beautiful patterns. I have had to make copies because I have loved the patterns so much. This book truly captures the era of a gentler time. It has been a fun book to color in, I recommend it without reservations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great renditions of Art Nouveau period stained glass., March 27, 2013
By 
Jules (Medford, Oregon) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Art Nouveau Windows Stained Glass Coloring Book (Dover Design Stained Glass Coloring Book) (Paperback)
16 beautiful bold line illustrations, print on a type of parchment paper that is translucent, and preforated for easy removal. This book has a nice variety of Art Nouveau period illustrations of flowing leaves, and vines, flowers, and birds. These illustrations are based on original color designs of the period between 1890 and 1910. I have a great time coloring these, as they are the most versatile when it comes to the mediums that can be applied. This paper handles both wet and dry, and can be colored on both sides, or not. These books also make great gifts for that colorist in your life. Most appropriate for ages teen and up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Art Nouveau Windows Stained Glass Coloring Book, September 5, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Art Nouveau Windows Stained Glass Coloring Book (Dover Design Stained Glass Coloring Book) (Paperback)
Who says you're too old to play with coloring books? Try this one along with some of the other more really detailed design books. I find coloring these very relaxing and stress relieving. The best part of this particular book is the fact that you CAN remove the colored pages and use them just like you would a piece of stained glass.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great gift idea, July 29, 2009
This review is from: Art Nouveau Windows Stained Glass Coloring Book (Dover Design Stained Glass Coloring Book) (Paperback)
I bought this and other coloring books for my friend. She absolutely loved them. They are a great gift idea for anyone who loves to color and be creative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Art Nouveau Windows Stained Glass Coloring Book (Dover Design Stained Glass Coloring Book)
$6.99
In stock but may require an extra 1-2 days to process.
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.