Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not necessarily aliens, but life form? Yes.
After watching this film, you will be most certain there is life outside of earth. Though there is no direct proof yet, the scientific evidence presented thus far paints a picture you'll be convinced, beyond a reasonable doubt. Way to go, NOVA / PBS does it again!
Published on January 28, 2012 by Dennis Yenn

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Nova:Finding Life Beyound Earth Blu Ray
This was well done but I found it just interesting enough and didn't give me the entire information for now and in the future.
Published 21 days ago by Michael Shapiro


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not necessarily aliens, but life form? Yes., January 28, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nova: Finding Life Beyond Earth [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
After watching this film, you will be most certain there is life outside of earth. Though there is no direct proof yet, the scientific evidence presented thus far paints a picture you'll be convinced, beyond a reasonable doubt. Way to go, NOVA / PBS does it again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Our neighbouring planets and moons are cold, dead places. NOT NECESSARILY!!!, May 12, 2012
By 
XXXXX

"Is the Earth the only planet of its kind in the universe? Or is there somewhere else like this out there? Is there life beyond Earth? The search for alien life is one of humankind's greatest technological challenges. And scientists are seeking new ways to find answers.

Leading the search are sophisticated telescopes that scan the sky and an armada of robotic [space] probes exploring the outer reaches of our solar system, all revealing the planets, moons, asteroids, and comets like never before. The search reveals evidence of strange and unexpected worlds, places with lakes, storms, and rain, violent places driven by powerful forces deep underground. Worlds that may have hidden oceans hundreds of millions of miles from the heat of the sun.

New [space] missions are helping to unlock the mysteries of what makes a planet habitable, raising the question of whether the building blocks of life [called amino acids] are more prevalent than previously imagined, not just in our own solar system but possibly throughout our Galaxy."

The above extract is found is what the narrator says at the beginning of the extraordinary documentary.

This film is made up of two parts. The first part and second part are separated by an "interlude" which occurs about 52 minutes into the program. Here is what the narrator says to introduce this second part:

"Are we alone in the universe? This age-old question is yielding some provocative new answers. Recent discoveries suggest that the conditions for life might be more prevalent than ever imagined.

Missions to our neighbour Mars are revealing evidence that [liquid] water, a key ingredient for life, may be present. And [space] probes are finding the essential chemical building blocks of life [called amino acids] in unexpected places.

But what about the colder, outer reaches of our solar system and beyond? Could life exist out here too? New [space] missions are revealing strange worlds, moons [of Jupiter and Saturn] that could have vast oceans concealed beneath miles of ice. Landscapes littered with hundreds of active volcanoes. And places where jets [of ice] erupt hundreds of miles into space.

And the same epic forces that gave birth to our solar system are at work throughout the universe. Tens of billions of planets are estimated to be orbiting other stars in our own Galaxy alone. Could there be an Earth-like planet among them?"

I want to emphasize that the majority of this documentary deals with possible life in our solar system. It is only the last chapter that deals with possible life beyond our solar system.

Realize that life does not have to be big like elephants but can be small like microbes. Life does not have to be "as we know it." As well, life does not have to be intelligent.

Throughout this documentary brief comments are made by scientists.

The computer graphics are just fantastic. And the actual space-probe images that are shown are revealing and mind-boggling.

Finally, the DVD itself (the one released in 2012) is perfect in picture and audio quality. It has no extras.

In conclusion, after viewing this film, you will be convinced that there must be life in the universe!!!

(2011; 1 hr, 45 min; wide screen; 12 chapters; made for PBS--NOVA)

XXXXX
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Good Update, February 8, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This DVD is a good update from the "Life Beyond Earth" DVD that they put out eleven years ago. They know more now so it is more informative. I highly recommend getting it if you are interested in space, life beyond earth, and the like!:D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Documentary on the unmanned space probes., March 16, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I gave this a four because I had hoped that it would have more information on the latest findings by astronamers in the hunt for habitable planets like the Earth. Instead this is mostly about the robotic science expeditions to the planets and the moons in our solar system. The footage and information presented is first rate and what I expected from PBS. This program ca seem a little long but there is a lot of recent data on the possibility of life in our solar system. I would still recomend this dvd to almost anyone, though the space enthusiast would really enjoy it the most.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another amazing documentary film, March 8, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nova: Finding Life Beyond Earth [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Well, adding Finding Life Beyond Earth (Nova) into the following list:

The Universe (History Channel)
How The Universe Works (Discovery Channnel)
Known Universe (National Geographic)
Journey to the Edge of the Universe (National Geographic)
Into The Universe With Stephen Hawking (Discovery Channel)

They all inspire me such a way that...hmmm...not so easy to explain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Nova:Finding Life Beyound Earth Blu Ray, June 19, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nova: Finding Life Beyond Earth [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This was well done but I found it just interesting enough and didn't give me the entire information for now and in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Put yourself, and earth, in perspective, February 2, 2014
By 
Richard Middleton (Salt Lake City, UT United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nova: Finding Life Beyond Earth [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
It seems almost inevitable, statistically, that somewhere in the universe there will be conditions that allow organisms to develop which we would recognize as living. However, the chances of these life forms being able to communicate with us across space and time, or of us discovering their planets at a time when they were are at a stage of evolution when we could interact, seem vanishingly small. This excellent Nova production makes this clear, and gives us a far better understanding of where we stand in relation to the universe.

After watching the programs on PBS, I first bought this as a DVD, I thought it was a brilliant narrative (with stupendous graphics), and made the mistake of telling a friend about it,; that was the last I saw of the DVD! The Blu-ray, which I bought as a replacement, is even better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Much better than expected, February 2, 2014
This review is from: Nova: Finding Life Beyond Earth [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This documentary is much better than I expected. The scientific step by step approach is accurate and meaningful, and the blu-ray images of the planets, moons & asteroids is breathtaking.

The one item they never address is the importance of a planetary molten core (and therefore magnetic shield). A magnetic shield protects a planet from the solar wind and allows it to maintain an atmosphere along with the protection from cosmic rays that an atmosphere provides. That's an important topic to address when discussing Mars for example (no molten core, no shield).

But that can be forgiven as everything else is as top notch as it gets. This is easily one of the best astronomy docs in my collection. Highly recommended for those interested in a truly scientific approach to this subject, and for those who like to see the latest imagery of the space probes.

Note: there are no Discovery Channel like speculative representations of extra-terrestrial macrobiotic life forms that look like 'platypus/vacuum cleaner' hybrids. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Life Beyond, December 1, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nova: Finding Life Beyond Earth [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
PBS, you did it again...Congrats on a very intrersting Subject about Life Betond our Planet. It makes you wonder sometimes if we are really alone, or is someone else is out there?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible!, August 12, 2012
By 
This was on my local PBS last night (1am-3am) and, though my head was bobbing with sleepiness, I could NOT go to bed until watching the whole program. This is an incredible insight to the progress of our species' search for life elsewhere. I am really looking forward to having my own copy so I can watch this again - and share it with friends who come over!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Nova: Finding Life Beyond Earth [Blu-ray]
$29.99 $13.96
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.