Customer Reviews


105 Reviews
5 star:
 (75)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tragedy at 35,000 feet
**This review is on Nova Volume 6, Ep. 10 "Crash of Flight 447"**

On June 1, 2009, Air France Flight 447 fell out of the night sky over the Atlantic Ocean killing all 216 passengers and 12 crew members on board. In this program "Nova: Crash of Flight 447" broadcast on PBS on February 16, 2011, investigators piece together available weather and radar data as...
Published on December 27, 2011 by Big Al

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars cheaper production
I used to be a big fan of the series but I don't know if it's budget related but it seemed like the older episodes were more far reaching tech oriented
Published 2 months ago by zaid aziz


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tragedy at 35,000 feet, December 27, 2011
**This review is on Nova Volume 6, Ep. 10 "Crash of Flight 447"**

On June 1, 2009, Air France Flight 447 fell out of the night sky over the Atlantic Ocean killing all 216 passengers and 12 crew members on board. In this program "Nova: Crash of Flight 447" broadcast on PBS on February 16, 2011, investigators piece together available weather and radar data as well as automatic electronic messages from the airplane transmitted through the airwave, in an effort to reconstruct the tragic event and the possible cause of the crash. It is an aviation detective story. I found the program riveting.

**Spoiler Alert** The rest of this review may contain spoilers.
SYNOPSIS - The crew of Flight 447, with the limited range of the on-board weather radar, apparently flew the airplane into a severe thunderstorm over the Altantic Ocean at 35,000 feet, unable to detect it visually in the pitch darkness of the night. Then the three Thales pitot tubes of the air-speed indicator froze up when the airplane encountered super-cooled water droplets at high altitude, which totally overwhelmed the heaters of the tubes. Without reliable airspeed data, the automatic controls of the highly computerized Airbus A330-200 aircraft shut down one by one in rapid successions. The crew was forced to fly the airplane manually. Standard procedure in the event of an air speed indicator failure is to set the engine thrust at 85% and adjust the pitch of the airplane up 5 degrees. The show suggests that the crew was simply overwhelmed by the event and failed to do so. The plane stalled and fell into the Atlantic Ocean killing everybody on board. It hints that pilots of modern highly computerized airliners are not trained adequately to react to emergencies which require skilled manual control of the aircraft. The show ends with the note that a year later, authorities were still looking for the on-board black box containing vital voice and flight data, which might shed light on the cause of the accident.

Footnote: On May 2011, the flight data recorder and the cockpit voice recorder of Flight 447 were found at 12,000 feet on the ocean floor. An interim report confirms that the pilots had not applied the standard unreliable airspeed procedure. It paints a picture of an aircrew overwhelmed by inconsistent data and warning signals and unable to control the aircraft.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars NOVA is programming we can all be proud of., May 20, 2013
They are not afraid to do a program that is controversial either. There are few programs I can compare NOVA because it is a standard of excellence that I associate with NOVA. I have to laugh when I hear about funding cuts to public broadcasting. NOVA is proof of how programming like this is some of the best way to spend education dollars. If you do not like or agree with an episode in this format skip to a different one that is why on demand works
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Indepth and fascinating, May 14, 2013
There is nothing like NOVA. I grew up with NOVA. Remember Leonard Nimoy? Well, NOVA has evelved since those days. There are those documentaries on The Science Channel but they just don't cover stories quick like NOVA. NOVA has the special touch and dives deeper than any other documentary media source.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love Nova!!, December 28, 2013
This review is from: Nova Volume 6 (Amazon Instant Video)
Love Nova!! Could watch these over and over again. Everything about these shows are spectacular. Can't wait for the next season!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome documentary, April 3, 2013
This documentary was so interesting! I highly recommend to all dog owners and dog lovers. Watch it soon, you'll be glad you did
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nova, always a good and interesting series, April 18, 2014
I enjoy this informative series on science and other subjects, If you haven't seen it , I highly recommend you do.
Always informative and interesting shows
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nova Volume 6, April 16, 2014
By 
Walk Around "Osprey" (los angeles, ca, United States) - See all my reviews
Like all the Nova programs and they are produced so well. Even complicated subjects are presented in a way everyone can understand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another well done Nova program, April 12, 2014
Very well done. I always enjoy Nova programs. Nova programs explain interesting comments in ways that are easy to understand .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another great episode, April 12, 2014
Interesting love at the emotional intelligence of dogs, now when my dog starts crying 5 minutes before I leave I know she really knows
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Space programs, April 10, 2014
I'm still watching this. It is fascinating, I believe every person who is capable should watch it. It changes your opinion of the space program entirely and gives you a perspective on the value of Americas involvement in the exploration of space. I was interested in the space programs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa83b4498)

This product

Only search this product's reviews
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.