Customer Reviews
Now


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Like Fine Wine...
Dionne Warwick's voice is finer with age. Beautiful songs sung as they should be in this remarkable retrospective. The new songs are an added treat. I would love to see an album done in collaboration with Ms. Warwick, Al Jarreau, George Benson, George Duke, Stanley Clarke, and Lenny White. But, I'm just dreamin'!
Published 16 months ago by F. Lewis

versus
15 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Just OK
Hats off to Dionne for finally recording some new material. It matters not that her voice is worn. She captivates on Love is still the answer, the album's highpoint. Her voice just floats and breathes like warm air over Bacharach's fluid melody and I can't stop listening to this song. Its addictive. Its also nice to see her revisiting her 72 Dionne album. I Just have to...
Published 20 months ago by bryce


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Like Fine Wine..., February 21, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Now (Audio CD)
Dionne Warwick's voice is finer with age. Beautiful songs sung as they should be in this remarkable retrospective. The new songs are an added treat. I would love to see an album done in collaboration with Ms. Warwick, Al Jarreau, George Benson, George Duke, Stanley Clarke, and Lenny White. But, I'm just dreamin'!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly Good, February 13, 2013
By 
Sidney L. Vaught (Roanoke, VA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Now (Audio CD)
I really didn't know what to expect when I purchased this album. I bought it mainly for nostalgia more than anything else but Dionne Warwick gives a clean, time honored performance on this album.

No one is going to sing the same at 70 years old as they did in their 20's but Dionne Warwick's voice, though now a bit deeper, still has a warm, soothing tonality to it. She can still pull off some high notes. I'm glad she's not retiring and I hope she continues to record as long as Tony Bennett.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Voice All The Time, April 21, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Now (Audio CD)
Miss Dionne Warwick is a excelente singer Always. The voice isn't the same.... is better to sing wonderful songs of wonderful times, I loved all songs in this album, but the best to me is "I just have to breathe"...thanks Miss Dionne, and God bless your voice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very classy and warm and moving album, November 6, 2012
This review is from: Now (Audio CD)
The four Bacharach and David songs she had not recorded before are terrific. I can not stop listening to her takes on Hal's "99 Miles to LA" and "It Was Almost Like A Song".

And her new takes on songs I have never heard her perform live like "I Just Have To Breathe" and "Be Aware" are deeply moving. They become quite something else from the perspective of a mature woman, IJHTB moves me now in a way it has never done before. So does "Make It Easy On Yourself".

All in all this album is a very worthy addition to her incredible catalogue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love Dionne Warwick and love this album., June 4, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Now (Audio CD)
I first heard the songs from this recording on YouTube and knew immediately that I wanted the full album. I listened to Ms. Warwick and loved her music for decades. This is a great production and it is no wonder she was nominated for a grammy for it. She is great and so is the album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Miss Warwick had it Then, Miss Warwick has it Now, September 3, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Now (Audio CD)
What can I say? Miss Warwick is celebrating the fiftieth anniversary of being in the music industry and this album does that milestone and her legend justice. Each track displays her voice as warm and in control as ever. What beautiful orchestration as well. I would say Always Something to Remind me is actually an improvement on the original. Are you there with another girl has a maturity that just makes it seem better. A fresh reteaming with old collaborator Burt Bacharach produced, Love is the Answer and it's worthy of any of their best teamings. Another reteaming with a former collaborator in the form of Hal David, produced a hauntingly beautiful vidid piece that is possibly her best work in many years. The track Be Aware comes a little too close to one of those songs that veers way too close to being on the self righteous, beautifully sung though. Reach Out, I would say is an improvement on the original as well. Is there anybody out there, has many under and overtones to some of Miss Warwick's smoky numbers from the early 1980's, with that rich warm voice and tight phrasing. I just have to breath positively has a palpable feeling of regret of lost loves, relationships and loss. Once again the orchestration is beautiful and she brings every proper emotion to being resigned to a situation that has changed. A tearjerker, but a real winner. The love song It was almost like a song, is one that will hit a chord to anyone who has had a relationship that has ended and it still hurts. One gets the feeling Miss Warwick is singing from experience but of course she is a total pro so who knows? Make it easy on yourself is without a doubt an improvement lacking the overpowering background vocalsof the original. The ethos and the maturity and power she now has in her voice gives the song more substance. The last track is the immortal Bacharach-David, I Say a Little Prayer. Miss Warwick handles it with her usual authority and does it with aplomb. Interestingly it done as a duet with her son David Elliott who is also in the music business. Simply this is Miss Warwick's best album in many years. It's a must have. Some people just get better with time and Dionne is one of them. Go get your copy. Trust me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dionne Now and Forever, May 28, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Now (Audio CD)
Dionne is still in good form. Phil Ramone is a great producer. He keeps the production in the background and let Dionne remain the star. The songs bring back great memories. And remind me how much i will miss the lyrics of Hal David.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring effort by a living legend, November 11, 2012
This review is from: Now (Audio CD)
This is an inspiring 4 star effort by a living legend who continues to have a great career. Dionne Warwick is possibly the most unique POP artist in recording history. Unique for having performed for over 50 yrs in various genres. Gospel, R&B, POP and Jazz. This woman has done it all. She keeps going like the Energizer bunny. "Now" is appropriately entitled. It presents Warwick's current lower and slower vocal register in a tasteful manner. Sure time and tobacco has taxed her pipes but, she still has the "it" factor. Best tracks on this one for me are "Be Aware"(originally recorded 40 yrs ago for her 1972 Warner label debut), her duet with her son David Elliott on the re-tooled, updated "I Say A Little Prayer","Love Is Still The Answer" and her single, "Is There Anybody Out There?". I also like "I Just Have To Breathe" (first recorded on her 1972 Warner LP).
Veteran music producer Phil Ramone and Warwick's musically gifted offspring, Damon Elliott and David Elliott really have done an excellent and contemporary job on this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Now - Dionne Warwick, January 24, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Now (Audio CD)
After being a fan for over 45 years, it's great to see and hear Dionne still has it going on!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dionne Warwick's 'Now', January 23, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Now (Audio CD)
Another of Dionne's excellent recordings...I love it! It's amazing that she is still able to sing as well at 73 as when she was in her early 20's. Her voice is the best in history...but, I'm a huge fan of her, since the early 60's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Now
Now by Dionne Warwick (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.