Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Now Is Gone a Must Read for Today's Entrepreneurs and Executives
Geoff Livingston's Now Is Gone is a must read for those business people who want to stay out in front in marketing and communications with their customers. This is a primer that explains the importance and the value of social media. As a business person whose use of social media is responsible for 40% of my business growth in the past year, I urge you to read this book...
Published on November 12, 2007 by Lewis Green

versus
17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Now is not worth buying
Unfortunately Now is gone is not worth buying. It's a book that should have been a pamphlet. The essence of the book is barely a chapter's worth of meaningful material. The book belabors the same point over and over and yet provides little insight into the greater media landscape. I found the book to be a painful read and yet I slogged my way through more out of my own...
Published on May 10, 2008 by S. Naughton


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Now is not worth buying, May 10, 2008
This review is from: Now Is Gone: A Primer on New Media for Executives and Entrepreneurs (Paperback)
Unfortunately Now is gone is not worth buying. It's a book that should have been a pamphlet. The essence of the book is barely a chapter's worth of meaningful material. The book belabors the same point over and over and yet provides little insight into the greater media landscape. I found the book to be a painful read and yet I slogged my way through more out of my own dedication to the topic than the hopes of finding something meaningful. The most interesting part of the book is the last chapter which is a series of interviews with other people. Again, it is from these interview that the author draws much of the material for the book.

If you are truly interested in the topic of social network's impact on media and society check out "Groundswell" published by Harvard Business Press.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Now Is Gone a Must Read for Today's Entrepreneurs and Executives, November 12, 2007
This review is from: Now Is Gone: A Primer on New Media for Executives and Entrepreneurs (Paperback)
Geoff Livingston's Now Is Gone is a must read for those business people who want to stay out in front in marketing and communications with their customers. This is a primer that explains the importance and the value of social media. As a business person whose use of social media is responsible for 40% of my business growth in the past year, I urge you to read this book and to begin to imagine how Social Media can be part of your strategic plan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun, easy, QUICK read!, January 30, 2008
By 
Jake McKee (Austin, TX, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Now Is Gone: A Primer on New Media for Executives and Entrepreneurs (Paperback)
I met Geoff Livingston, author of the new-ish book Now is Gone, at BlogOrlando back in September. He was a great guy, very passionate about his work, so I was excited to read his new book.

The key word here is "quick". This book is a fast, easy read; something most business books don't tend to be. I'm generally a slower reader than most, so the idea of reading a business book cover to cover typically makes my brain hurt. When I started reading this book, however, I was surprised how fast I was making it through. For a book meant to help people understand the basics, this is an admirable trait.

Each chapter in the book is broken up into nice chunks, each with it's own header. This really helps quicker reading, as well as "in and out access" (being able to pick it up, read a few pages between meeting, and put it down again... rinse, repeat). The last 50 pages or so is a collection of interviews with industry interviews that Geoff recycled from his blog. These interviews add a huge amount of credibility and reality to the content you've just read in the rest of the book.

The only real issue I have with this book is that it feels a bit rough in its writing (style and editing). Not so much that it's hard to read, but enough that it might be a hit to credibility to some readers. It's not surprising that this issue exists, considering that the time-to-market of this book was tiny...which means that the content is also extremely fresh and relevant. All in all, I'd far rather see a fresh book than a perfect book.

If you're looking to put a book in front of a client/colleague/executive that helps them understand what this social media space is all about and why they need to pay attention to it, this is a fantastic place to start. Great work, Geoff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Now Is Gone - Helping Companies Leverage Social Media, November 12, 2007
By 
This review is from: Now Is Gone: A Primer on New Media for Executives and Entrepreneurs (Paperback)
Organizations have lost control of the conversation. People increasingly turn to peers for opinions, news and even entertainment. Empowered by powerful new tools and social networks that are not bound by geography, the people formerly known as "the audience" are now in control. Instead of businesses trying to find customers, this time businesses are trying to play catch-up with their customers and that fundamentally changes the Public Relations game. The problem is most organizations don't know how to market through social media. Recognizing that opportunity, Geoff Livingston, a well respected blogger whose PR firm has real world experience applying social media principles to businesses, has taken the time to distill that experience into a set of ideas others can use.

In his new book, now is gone, Livingston discusses the general strategic principles and major aspects of social network marketing, providing executives with a primer to begin their effort.

The introduction (written by Brian Solis) does a great job of educating the reader about the new realities of marketing in the age of the hyper-connected, empowered consumer. Over the following chapters, Livingston discusses the increasing role of new media in consumers' lives and helps the reader understand the basic principles of marketing effectively using social media. What makes this book so useful is that Livingston uses his background in traditional PR to explain these principles using terminology and strategies familiar to traditional marketers. Throughout the book, Livingston uses real world examples to illustrate successes and failures.

now is gone is a great tool for organizations who are ready to start participating in their communities. Are you ready? Chances are your competitors are. What are you waiting for? After all, now really is gone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Now is Gone: The Perfect Gift for Senior Management, December 27, 2007
By 
Jane Quigley (Hoboken, NJ United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Now Is Gone: A Primer on New Media for Executives and Entrepreneurs (Paperback)
Many senior executives feel out of the loop with social marketing - they don't understand its application, have privacy concerns and think that it's addressing a younger demographic. What they aren't listening to is the conversation that their customers are trying to have.

I've been giving copies of Geoff Livingston's "Now Is Gone" away to both clients and my senior management - it educates the reader in a straightforward, non-patronizing way, while giving great insight and direction on navigating this new marketing reality.

As someone who is also creating/executing social media strategies for clients, it has tremendous value to me. I find myself rereading certain sections to help me refocus on the basic principles of community building when I'm caught up in a new project.

Both Geoff Livingston's and Brian Solis's (who wrote Now Is Gone's killer introduction - "Engage of Die" indeed!) blogs are on my daily must-read lists (as well as the other media they both produce) and the value that they offer through their various channels is focused in the writing of this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Overview of Social Media's Impact on Marketing, November 17, 2007
This review is from: Now Is Gone: A Primer on New Media for Executives and Entrepreneurs (Paperback)
By page 2 of the introduction by Brian Solis, I knew I was in for a great read. Geoff Livingston's engaging, authoritative new book provides a comprehensive overview of social media's impact on the marketing landscape, particularly with regard to public relations and advertising.

Drawing upon a mix of expert interviews, well researched posts from the blogosphere and case studies, Geoff traces the evolution of marketing from a top-down, message-controlled medium to one in which participation is marketing. He predicts the rise of a new type of CMO - the Community Management Officer, who will have responsibility for "fostering online communities and conversations with them."

Not long ago I came across some research that claimed most marketers don't read marketing blogs. If that's the case, they're ignoring them at their own professional peril. Read this book and you'll understand why.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If You Have Been Marketing For A Few Years, You Are Probably Out of Touch, February 10, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Now Is Gone: A Primer on New Media for Executives and Entrepreneurs (Paperback)
The world is changing fast.

The marketing principles are the same, but the implementation has got to be different.

For a period of time during the last century, big budgets and mass media gave us the illusion of control, we knew that we couldn't force people to talk about us but hoped they would talk about what we planted in the conversation.

Today, that illusion is gone. Customers have more ways than ever to bury you if you don't treat them right.

The good news is, if you treat them right, join the conversation that they WANT to have with you, you can leverage this free power to more profits.

Read "Now is Gone" and stop hanging on to those illusion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Focus on social media principles, not tactics, June 11, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Now Is Gone: A Primer on New Media for Executives and Entrepreneurs (Paperback)
With the Internet continuing to evolve at a dizzying pace, where six months can feel like six years, most printed books about new media are outdated by the time they hit bookstore shelves. One published back in 2007 should, by all rights, be completely worthless at this point.

That Geoff Livingston's now is gone: A Primer on New Media for Executives and Entrepreneurs still holds up is a testament to his wisely focusing on "social media principles rather than tactics" and offering a practical take on the opportunities and challenges new media technologies have introduced to the marketing mix.

While there is nothing particularly revelatory here that any savvy marketing professional shouldn't already be familiar with, most will appreciate its recognition of social media as a fundamental piece of the marketing mix, part of a long-term strategy tied to a company's core values, and not a short-term tactic tied to the latest new shiny du jour.

now is gone fulfills its stated mission of being a primer on new media for key decision-makers, making it a perfect resource to pass along to executives who simply don't "get" it when it comes to marketing, traditional or social. Livingston never talks down to the reader -- something many new media evangelists are guilty of -- and he keeps things relatively high-level and practical with case studies spotlighting specific initiatives, covering the most important fundamentals in the second and third chapters, "New Media Ready?" and "Building a New Media Effort."

Any executive should appreciate the mix of personal insights complemented by commentary and experiences from the variety of industry professionals quoted and interviewed; that he consistently ties everything back to fundamental strategic planning and return on investment is the real clincher.

A great addition to any business or marketing bookshelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent primer on learning fundamentals of social media marketing., January 8, 2009
By 
Kenneth Yeung (San Francisco, CA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Now Is Gone: A Primer on New Media for Executives and Entrepreneurs (Paperback)
Every business & marketing book that I've read over the past several years have had some different meaning to me and the latest book by Geoff Livingston is no exeception. "now is gone" has been named as a book to read & is widely considered as a primer for executives & entrepeneurs to learn social media marketing.

What I've enjoyed reading about this book are the real-life examples of how companies are effectively using social media to help promote their product to their community. And I do mean "community" because the book puts it very succinctly that it is no longer your target audience since marketing isn't about one-way conversations. In the world of social media marketing, it's two-way dialogs and thus must be a community.

The title of the book can be somewhat of a misnomer if you don't think about it, but after reading it, I can say that it's aptly titled. Something that Geoff Livingston mentions is that companies are always trying to control their brand and message. They want to make sure that they control what people are saying. As I said before, it's all about the community now, not the target audience. Livingston writes that the message is no longer controlled by the company. Traditional means aren't effective and if companies think they can influence people through social media the same way as before, they're wrong. Their "now" is gone. It's a whole new ballgame.

As with all good books, now is gone takes you along on a journey through the beginning of how to plan out your social media strategy. It gives you the background of what social media is. Then it helps give you a "checklist" of sorts on whether you're truly ready to dive off the deep end. Next you'll be able to focus on promoting your efforts & products to the community in the right way as opposed to employing traditional tactics - they just don't work anymore in the digital realm. Lastly, now is gone will explore the future of promotion & social media.

Earlier I said this book was considered as a primer, and it's true. I've read a variety of different marketing/web books in the past couple of years, but in retrospect, while they were all well written and some of the best books I would recommend, now is gone takes on an approach of looking at the macro view instead of a micro view. Rather than focusing on blogging & communication or personalities & branding or market research, Geoff Livingston takes it all into perspective and skims the surface on everything. Read this book for great examples, current issues, and what to do. Once you've gained the fundamental insight, then you can build on it and read other books or even move forward with a social media strategy. This is the social media marketing 101 course. Don't you dare try and skip out of this class.

Social Media Club founder Chris Heuer is referred in now is gone as having coined the phrase "participation marketing". Isn't that pretty much what we're all doing online these days? Participating? now is gone will teach you that it's alright to engage your community and chat with them, but don't talk down to them or completely ignore them. There are plenty of case studies that will help illustrate this point & much more tips and information in the appendix. Co-author Brian Solis wrote in the introduction a helpful quote about participation:

By listening, reading, and participating, corporate marketing will become smarter & more approachable than ever before. This is how we humanize brands, create loyalty, and ear customers' business.

That's it...that's what's changing the world of marketing and communications. If you want to reach out to your customers community, then make them feel that they're appreciated. When dealing with the online realm, remember that you no longer have the advantage in the conversation. Your users will have control over your products future. Brian Solis says it best: "Engage or die."

Great book. Highly recommended if you want to learn more about the landscape. You gotta walk before you run & this will give you the foundation to build on when dealing with social media marketing. Give it a go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars On-target, practical and concise, January 9, 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Now Is Gone: A Primer on New Media for Executives and Entrepreneurs (Paperback)
This book is precisely what it claims to be: a practical primer for new media. Moving right to the heart of every topic it covers, Now is Gone is straightforward and on the mark, with a succinct recap of salient points at the end of every chapter.

This is not a tome of theory -- nor should it be. This book is more of a field guide: how to get involved with new media, social media, social networking, how to do it right, how to hopefully avoid certain pitfalls along the way, and to be ready, willing and able to admit culpability in the case of a misstep. Every executive, entrepreneur AND student ought to read this work, because moving forward, the activities and philosophies covered are going to be heart and core of nearly every company out there. New media, especially as covered by this work, is as much, or more, about customer relationship management than it is about PR or marketing; perhaps I should rephrase. PR and marketing, maturing to meet social media as described in this book, are the future of CRM.

Now is Gone returns again and again to the concepts of community, conversation and transparency. Without a doubt these values and practices are becoming, must become, predominant in the culture of any company hoping to succeed and thrive in the evolving, globalizing, always-on business world and consumer community. The people formerly known as the audience are smart, in touch and growing more and more used to getting the "inside story" on the products and services they consume, to having their voices heard, to having their opinions matter. It makes nothing but the best of sense to work with these powerful forces, rather than against them, and Now is Gone offers valuable insights and real world examples relevant to these critical matters without wasting the reader's time with ivory tower nonsense.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Now Is Gone: A Primer on New Media for Executives and Entrepreneurs
Now Is Gone: A Primer on New Media for Executives and Entrepreneurs by Brian Solis (Paperback - November 12, 2007)
$14.95 $11.61
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.