Winter Driving Best Books of the Month Men's Leather Watches Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Chi-Raq Explore Home Audio All-New Amazon Fire TV Subscribe & Save Valentine's Day Cards Knock snow out cold Amazon Gift Card Offer girls2 girls2 girls2  Amazon Echo All-New Fire Kindle Paperwhite Winter Sports on Amazon.com SnS

Customer Reviews

3.4 out of 5 stars14
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 25, 2012
I bought this as a hard copy back when Matrix Games was selling it in 2010. This is an interesting space 4X game. Basically, there are not many colony spots, so you have to expand and do what you can with the colonies you have. Research is pretty neat. First, you have to construct Buildings on your colonies. Then, with the correct research centers you will automatically generate research points in a given area. There are different areas to research, so having enough centers will eventually research all areas. There are, of course, different buildings to construct, not just research. Space ports are also important, as are happiness structures (for many, but not all, races, as some races do not care about happiness!).

Although strategy is turn based, the combat system is not, it is real time. You will see your fleet from overhead and send the ships to attack certain enemy units. Having a good combined arms set of ships (battleships, missile cruisers, destroyers, carriers, etc) will ensure victory. Usually, you will have one large fleet that roams around attacking the enemy. By the way, there is no ship design, just building.

There are different races. This is where 2526 is kind of neat. Each race receives victory points for different reasons. Some, population size is important. Others, population happiness or event technology is important. In any even, just conquering is not enough - you have to play your race!

The graphics are good, but the music is outstanding! I love the music!

Armada 2526 is not a long game, but it is fun!
0Comment24 of 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 24, 2012
This is a great game. Get the Supernova expansion. It adds a lot to the game. Or get the Gold edition that includes the Supernova expansion. Fun 4X title that is quick to learn. Genuinely challenging. I think it has the best AI of any 4X game I've played.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 30, 2012
If you read some things ( Google it ) about this game and how to get going faster , it is a very fun game . And it was certainly worth the price .
I do believe i would buy the next installment as well .
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 19, 2012
Good strategy game with enough detail to get lost in. Lost in a good way that is. I started playing and noticed I was hungry three hours later. At first I was disappointed because of the limited game play scenarios. Then I discovered that by using the 12 race option the scenarios were almost endless. Simply select the number of races desired for play. 12 is the most but three works just as well. Choose the size of the galaxy or just about any other variable that you want. There is action too in the battle scenes. It isn't first person shooter battle but the player has a lot more control than in any other turn based space game I've played other than Master of Orion, which doesn't work on Win7 or Win8.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 22, 2015
Civ in space. You like Civilization? This is Civilization in space! Unique races. Unique abilities. Unique ships. I don't know how this game did not hit the market as it should? Buy it.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 12, 2012
This is a great turn based space game. It gets progressively more difficult the further you get into it. This game is similar to other games in this genre, but it is still quite unique.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 28, 2013
I spent way too much time with this game and loved every minute of it. Conquering the galaxy with Armada 2526 is great.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 6, 2014
This game lets you set up your own game,TURNBASED GAME PLAY,NEVER THE SAME GAME.PERFECT GAME AT THE COST OF 3.75 DL
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 24, 2012
No user manual included with download (or on armada website). The tutorial does not seem to function when user clicks exactly as instructed in the whopping four tutorial screens (each 1 - 2 paragraphs of text and stills - not videos).
0Comment1 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 4, 2015
Too complicated
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.