Automotive Holiday Deals Up to 50% Off Select Books Shop Men's Athletic Shoes Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Prime Music Sweepstakes egg_2015 All-New Amazon Fire TV Subscribe & Save Gifts for Her Amazon Gift Card Offer cm15 cm15 cm15 $30 Off Amazon Echo $30 Off Fire HD 6 Kindle Cyber Monday Deals AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Outdoor Deals on HTL

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
on February 7, 2009
I use this for my portable DJ set up.I run a Windows based Laptop with Virtual DJ Pro. It separates each virtual decks into a right and left channel that I plug into a mixer via RCA cables. It provides full, clean sound with absolutely no lag. I have used this card for a couple of parties, it's small and runs off the USB port on my computer, so all I have to do plug it in and I am ready to go.
I wish it had XLR outputs though, so I could connect it directly to my JBL IONs without an external mixer. It's still a great value for the price.
44 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
on May 11, 2010
My DJing needs were pretty minimal; I wanted to use PC software to mix outputs via an external source. The DJ I/O filled that need perfectly. This box is relatively inexpensive, it's compact and I found it very easy to install and use with open source mixing software.
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
on December 16, 2011
I bought this based on reading so many awesome reviews! The price was right and it seemed like a good quality sound card. Everything was fine until I plugged it into my Macbook Pro running Lion. All I got was a high pitched screeching sound - I tried everything but I could not get rid of it. So after spending some time googling stuff, I came across this link:


Basically, it's a known issue and the only fix is uninstalling and reinstalling the sound card driver every time you want to use the DJIO. Freakin' ridiculous. And it doesn't seem like Numark is in a hurry to update their drivers.

So, basically if you have a Mac running Lion, DO NOT buy this until they have resolved the driver issue. You can go their site and check the latest drivers they have (it's Snow Leopard now).

I'm sure this is an awesome sound card , in fact the form factor, and the build quality is really good but it is simply paper weight for me at this time.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
16 of 20 people found the following review helpful
on February 7, 2011
I purchased this unit and it was several weeks before I had a chance to use it.

1. The software would not install.
2. I downloaded the newest version of software from Newmark and it installed fine.
3. There is no output from the RCA output jacks.

In order to get tech support from Newmark you fill out an online form and wait 24-72 hours for a response. I have done this 3 times and have not received any response from them.

In the meantime, 30 days have passed and I have lost the opportunity to return the unit.

I called the Newmark online store (you can buy from them, but I did not) and explained the situation. They told me they would put me through to their tech support. I waited on-hold for 25 minutes and every 30 seconds listened to a recorded message saying that I could go to their website for help - www dot ionaudio dot com. Newmark does not even support their own product!

After 25 minutes I talked to a person who said that they don't actually provide support but would take my name and number and have someone call me. I asked what would happen if I was not home when they called - "You will need to call this number back again."

This is nuts.

I called Newmark and talked to a customer service rep, told him about the experience and asked if they could replace the unit. He said they would not. When I asked why not he said, "Because you didn't buy it from us. You gave your money to someone else." I was boiling by this point. I replied, "You don't stand behind your product if it is bought from one of your retailers?" He said, "Of course we do. I can connect you with technical support."

"Will it be the same technical support I was connected to last time, waited on hold for 25 minutes, then told someone would call me back, but if I miss the callback I have to start all over again?"


Make your own decision. I will never ever again consider buying a Newmark product.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on November 23, 2011
I was researching about a good audio interface for my laptop since I'll DJ in small/medium parties. and I'm glad I picked the Numark DJ I/O. is a good quality device and easy to setup with VDJ pro software. All I have to do was to install the CD software for the drivers (Win XP Pro),plug it via usb to my laptop, configure VDJ software, plug it to my speakers and voila! great sound and good performance. Excellent product!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
on September 25, 2008
This product is basically designed as an extension of the Numark Total Control, which lacks a headphone monitor out. Numark has recently remedied this on the follow-up model Omni Control, which includes an internal sound card, but for those of us using the TC to DJ, headphone previewing is a necessity. Just plug this box into the TC, and you have a dedicated 1/4" jack for headphones, a mic thru input, two stereo RCA outs, and a volume control.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on May 18, 2012
I've dropped it, dragged it through hours of rough bus travel, and almost two years latter it still works great. Great sound and very sturdy.

I bought this as a simple and portable way to DJ at clubs, since I often walk/bike/bus to gigs and don't want a big, heavy set of turntables and mixers.

This was the only basic USB DJ I/O Guitar Center had at the time and they let me try it out first (I don't think I even needed the drivers, actually, because I didn't want to open the CD in case it didn't work for me and they had to sell it to another customer) and after buying an adapter I needed at the store it worked great and I bought it that day.

I run Mixxx (free open source DJing software), Windows 7 Home Premium, a Compaq laptop, and MP3s from my hard drive. I had a minor problem with skipping once because my laptop was overheating, so I just keep a bottle of cold water over the hard drive - I'm lucky that it's not under the keyboard!

To use this I/O in the field you'll need an RCA audio cable, the yellow and red kind; headphones and if your's have a 1/8" mini jack you'll need an 1/4" to 1/8" adapter; depending on the speakers you'll hook up to you may need an RCA audio to TRS or TS adapter; if you run a CD player or MP3 player as a back up in case of crashes (recommended!) you can run it through the mic jack, which you'll need a cable for; and DJing soft ware. Another person a link to a chart of compatible soft ware on the review titled Works Good...When It Works.

Since all my sets have been pretty short so I don't know how it holds up to hours of use.

All in all I've really liked it.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on May 28, 2014
The mic input is ONLY routed out to output set 1 - no input into the PC. There is NO routing flexibility, so the headphone outputs are ONLY on the 2nd output group. And unless you access this device through an ASIO capable program, only the first output is available (at least on Win 7) to normal windows programs.

The installation program on the CD failed repeatedly in Win7 x64. Downloading the newest drivers off the Numark web site got a clean install.

Probably works OK with Numark software and specifically for the kind of DJ setup they have in mind, which is documented on the packaging but not in the description here. If you are looking for a more general-purpose multi-output device, look elsewhere. Oh, and the power light is almost invisible even when on.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on October 14, 2013
I had this DJ/IO about 5 months now and after 2 or 3 months I notice that it keeps on powering on and off, plus it freeze the audio sound when I'm Djing and gives off a popping sound. I research Numark website, but they didn't have any answers on there. So I email the question to their support team and after 4 days later someone emails me for my PC info and serial number of my DJ/IO. I reply with this info and I waited for a return email - nothing! here it is a week later after two emails I send them. All I can said is after this I will not be buying their product again. I have their DJ controller plus headset and I will be selling to buy from a company that supports their product. I always feel if you sell cheap product that is okay as long as you support it for your customers.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on October 9, 2012
I bought this specifically to reduce/eliminate the latency that I get from my existing sound card while running Cubase with Sax Brothers Ms. Sax VST. While it does eliminate the latency, which I was pleased with, it cuts out frequently (like it reboots or something). The red light goes out and comes back on each time. I thought this might be a software issue with Sax Brothers, so I tried in with Konteck which they provide. Same problem. With Konteck I do not have latency issues using my existing sound card. However, Konteck does not run Ms. Sax, thus the need for something to eliminate latency. I ran Konteck with my existing sound card with no issues. Basically wasted the money on this because it does not do what I purchased it to do with any level of stability.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 11 answered questions

Customers who viewed this also viewed


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.