Customer Reviews


95 Reviews
5 star:
 (81)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Solid compilation
While I'm sure a lot of us are tired of the sheer number of compilations out there, this is nonetheless a very solid one. For anyone who just wants to pick up a lot of Marvin Gaye's best songs in a single compilation, this is great. The song selection is very wonderful, the recordings come across as very smooth and clear, and I thoroughly enjoyed it. If you're...
Published on August 10, 2007 by Vincent Kunshiwa

versus
13 of 54 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars OH GOOD GRIEF!!NOT ANOTHER ONE!!!!
WARNING: This review is not related to the classic music contained within or the mastering quality of the digital media. It was simply intended as my calling attention to the repetitive nature of reissuing and the fact many classic original albums,especially in the case of Motown,are often un-issued to make room for collections of songs that can be heard on any American...
Published on April 16, 2007 by Andre S. Grindle


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Solid compilation, August 10, 2007
By 
Vincent Kunshiwa (Kansas City, MO USA) - See all my reviews
While I'm sure a lot of us are tired of the sheer number of compilations out there, this is nonetheless a very solid one. For anyone who just wants to pick up a lot of Marvin Gaye's best songs in a single compilation, this is great. The song selection is very wonderful, the recordings come across as very smooth and clear, and I thoroughly enjoyed it. If you're interested in something different, like the evolution of the artist, more obscure tunes, or just a genuine album released when Marvin Gaye was still alive, this is not it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marvin's greatest single disc collection, September 13, 2007
This is definitely the compilation I would recommend to newcomers. It's a great way to introduce yourself to some of the very best songs that Marvin Gaye recorded in the 60's and 70's. No filler. Listen and become a fan for life. It's wonderful even for an already converted fan as myself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic, January 25, 2009
if you have to have one Marvin Gaye Compilation then this is the one to get. it has all of his hits and the sound is great.the Genius of Marvin Gaye was his ability to create timeless music and a voice that touches souls. He was one of a kind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ain't Nothing Like The Real Thing, May 11, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Number 1's (MP3 Music)
There's no voice quite like that of Marvin Gaye and this is a great collection of his number one hits and seventeen songs on a single album is a pretty good deal. The sound on all of the songs is very good on the mp3 version which I purchased. I load them onto my iPod and either listen to them with earphones or connect the iPod to my stereo receiver with a cable like this Cables To Go - 03180 - 6ft 3.5mm Stereo Male to RCA Male Y-Cable so I can listen to it over the speakers.

These songs each bring back memories of the times that they were popular and they all stir the soul. This man's music is just as relevant today as it was back then. I love listening to it. I'm glad I added it to my collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the greats!, July 14, 2014
By 
Isaac Brown (RENTON, WASHINGTON, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Number 1's (MP3 Music)
Marvin Gaye's #1 hits! Enough said.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars LOVE this CD, June 16, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Number 1's (MP3 Music)
If you like Motown you will love this CD....it will bring back all the memories for you! It will make your heart happy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Marvin Gaye, May 25, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Number 1's (Audio CD)
I love Marvin Gaye and this album has all of his greatest hits. Marvin's voice is so smooth. What more could you ask for!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nothing but the best, May 6, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Number 1's (Audio CD)
Not only was I happy to find the compilation, it also really cool that the MP3 version was immediately downloadable and included in the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My Man!!!!!!!!!!, April 28, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Number 1's (MP3 Music)
Love every thing he has ever done. A man with class in his music tell the end. Well missed, I tell you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars what?, April 4, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Number 1's (MP3 Music)
this mans a legend......you want more words, well here you go. i like eggs, bacon, toast, and ham salad. oh and juice it taste good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Number 1's
Number 1's by Marvin Gaye
Buy MP3 Album$5.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.