Customer Reviews


217 Reviews
5 star:
 (148)
4 star:
 (29)
3 star:
 (17)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


77 of 83 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Awesome show - can't wait for season 2!
Having never watched the Sopranos (heresy, I know), I didn't have any preconceived notions of what type of person Edie Falco should or should not be playing. Many of my friends tell me that the character of Nurse Jackie is a far cry from her Carmelo Soprano alter-ego.

Jackie is a full time nurse in a public hospital in New York City. Like most nurses and...
Published on August 31, 2009 by Storm

versus
8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars meh
Edie Falco is a great actor, without a doubt. But this show is so riddled with shallow stereotypical characters that even she can't break through. The uber perfect husband (who must be 20 years younger than Falco in real life, though ostensibly the characters went to high school together); the witty and materialistic British BFF; the caring gay male nurses; the idiotic...
Published on August 23, 2010 by readaholic


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

77 of 83 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Awesome show - can't wait for season 2!, August 31, 2009
This review is from: Nurse Jackie: Season 1 (DVD)
Having never watched the Sopranos (heresy, I know), I didn't have any preconceived notions of what type of person Edie Falco should or should not be playing. Many of my friends tell me that the character of Nurse Jackie is a far cry from her Carmelo Soprano alter-ego.

Jackie is a full time nurse in a public hospital in New York City. Like most nurses and emergency medical workers, she is overworked and underpaid and trying to make do with what life has handed to her. On the surface, she is hardworking nurse who is a loving mother of two little girls and a devoted wife to Kevin Payton who runs a local bar. Scratch the surface just a little bit and the perfect facade peels away to reveal a drug addicted adulterer who regularly breaks the laws in order to suit her own perceived morals.

Nurse Jackie tackles quite a few heavy subjects during its initial season including assisted suicide, underage children caring for their parents, as well as the rigors of raising children who aren't quite perfect. Medical dramas are a dime a dozen and the comedy versions just always seem to be lacking substance, however the staff writers of Nurse Jackie do a masterful job of mixing the heavy subjects in with very lighthearted, almost slapstick humor.

While the Peyton household hasn't been expanded on very much (honestly you could replace the husband and two little girls with bricks and you probably wouldn't notice much difference), the hospital staff shines in every way. Doctor O'Hara is the archetypal rich doctor as well as the "straight man" for most of Jackie's exploits. While her character was explored a little bit in season one, there wasn't a lot invested yet. Doctor Cooper is the hotshot doctor straight out of Med School looking to make his mark. He's cute and naive and looking to make sure everyone thinks of him as their buddy while trying to become a serious doctor at the same time. Zoey is the nurse counterpart to Cooper; the truly naive nursing student straight from school who hasn't had her spirit crushed by the real world. The rest of the hospital staff, Miss Akalitus, Mo-Mo, and Thor, all play delightful comedic foils throughout the season. The cast list would not be complete without the mention of Eddie, the hospital pharmacist who "supplies" prescription pills to Jackie because he believes he is doing his duty as a good boyfriend. Eddie unfortunately does not know that he is being used by Jackie who has a happy family at home as well as a husband with whom we are led to believe she is still in love with.

Fans of shows like ER will appreciate the drama, however it should be noted that Nurse Jackie is relatively light on the medical science side of the house. While drugs are described, procedures mentioned, there is very little step-by-step-to-recovery type documentation on a per patient level. You'll see gunshot wounds come in, chest tubes inserted, CBC and toxicity reports ordered but not a lot of breakdown into why a doctor orders which test, why they should look at alternatives, etc like in ER. Nurse Jackie was written in order to revolve around the nurse not the doctor, and as such there is a much higher emphasis placed on patient care rather than just medical procedures.

My only gripe with Nurse Jackie is that there is zero conflict resolution throughout the entire season. Season one ended with a cliffhanger and as with all other Showtime/HBO episodic shows, the next season will not premier until sometime in the next year. All of the "will she get caught?" questions that you develop from episode one will still be there after you finish episode twelve (with a few dozen extra questions thrown in by then for good measure). Other than that, Nurse Jackie is a great show, and I suppose that the fact that I want Season Two to start right now! attests to how addicting the series is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


56 of 62 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thumbs up from a nurse.., February 13, 2010
By 
SMM2571 (Rhode Island) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Nurse Jackie: Season 1 (DVD)
As a nurse, I love this show. You'd think I'd hate it, due to the fact that Jackie has a drug problem and she cheats on her husband. But, she is actually a good nurse in spite of her flaws. What I like about this show is that nurses aren't painted as helpmaids to the physicians. My problem with many of the medical shows is that they show doctors doing stuff that nurses do on a daily basis and the nurses are all but invisible.

Nurses aren't saints..we are professionals who want to be compensated for the work we do. And we're human. Sometimes, we're tired and cranky. Quite often, we're frustrated with a system that is more about the bottom line than actual patients. That's why Nurse Jackie rocks..because Jackie for all her faults and cynicism still gives a crap. She is a good nurse, and her faults can't change that.

I also enjoy the student nurse character..very realistic.LOL, she has that "deer in the headlights" look that we all had starting out..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Perfect Platform for the Brilliance of Edie Falco, February 28, 2010
By 
Mark J. Fowler "Let's Play Two!" (Blytheville, Arkansas (The "the" is silent)) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Nurse Jackie: Season 1 (DVD)
I see some complaints that "Nurse Jackie", as played by Edie Falco, is not a positive role model. They have a point - Jackie cheats on her husband with a pharmacist who thinks he is her main squeeze, so that Jackie can be kept with a steady supply of narcotics.

But like the proverbial onion, Jackie has layers, and like another of my favorite Showtime eponymous characters, Dexter Gordon, Jackie is not by any stretch "all evil" and she is never, ever boring.

Jackie's an adulterous druggie - but she's more. Years of having to literally manhandle patients in the Emergency Room more than twice her size have left Jackie with an aching back, and she could pursue more permanent treatment, but she and her family need this week's paycheck, so she masks her painful back with ill-gotten hard stuff. Merritt Wever plays Zoey, a young nurse who is everything Jackie is not - naÔve, inexperienced, and as likely to want to cuddle her patients as treat them. The interactions between the experienced Jackie and the still-learning Zoey are one of the cornerstones of the show.

Jackie does things on the other side of "ethical", but like Robin Hood, she does them because her heart is in the right place. She knows desperate patients wait for potential donors, so when a brain-dead bicycle courier is brought to her ER, Jackie forges the dying man's signature onto an organ donor card.

If she sees nurses or doctors doing wrong or even not doing as well as they should, Jackie gets in their face. She is not the touchy-feely one in her department. But she is the one the others go to if they're in a tough spot.

Eve Best plays Dr. Eleanor O'Hara, an experienced New York doctor who is as anxious to use her doctor's wages to buy the latest fashions as her doctor's skill to take care of patients. Peter Facinelli plays Dr. Fitch Cooper, a new and inexperienced E.R. doc who finds himself often on the receiving end of Jackie's verbal and physical barbs. Haaz Sleiman is great as Mohammed "Mo-Mo" De La Cruz, another ER RN with a heart of gold who has fought in the trenches with Jackie for years. Paul Schulze plays Eddie the pharmacist boyfriend. Dominic Fumusa plays Jackie's solid gold husband, Kevin. Kevin tends bar and helps raise their girls, and when you see Kevin in action you wonder how in the world Jackie could cheat on him.

But Jackie doesn't live in a world that is black and white. Since the real world has plenty of grey, I'm willing to overlook Jackie's faults in favor of the entertainment of her company.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Medicated Nurse, December 24, 2010
This review is from: Nurse Jackie: Season 1 (DVD)
I love this show! I see Jackie's every time i go into work. They are either addicted to some narcotic due to a back or other injury from work. Or they are royal B!^ches who have worked so long they think they know everything or are just there for a paycheck. I've worked in almost every genre of nursing and they are all the same. Love this show because it is finally showing some of what nurses don't want you to see. Plus there is so much sex going on in real life between coworkers that i have to say that Jackie is actually extremely tame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Carthartic release for my inner evil b**ch, January 7, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nurse Jackie: Season 1 (DVD)
I can't beleive that no one has mentioned this yet, or maybe I am just really a sick, evil person and I should get help now, but for me the appeal of Nurse Jackie is that it is a Seinfeldian Revenge show. Most revenge flicks are epic, when someone completely destroys your life or takes away everything that gave your life meaning, like Count of Monte Cristo or Kill Bill.

But I say Nurse Jackie's revenge is Seinfeldian because we're talking about little daily trials and tribulations that real people are expected to just deal with if you are to remain in civil society. I mean, have you noticed that she is essentially giving us the finger - but with a syringe instead of her middle finger? If not, don't feel bad - it took me longer than I care to admit to see it.

Nurse Jackie's life motto seems to be: Don't Get Mad; Get Even. While that is not really a good way to live, it is entertaining AS HELL to watch a character be on television.

I will use an example and not tell you which patient so as not to spoil, but on the episode that won me over, on her way home she encounters a person that reminds her of her patient that just died. She looks at him very sincerely and says "Be Careful." He looks at her like "Who do you think you are, my mother?" and says "F- you!" She doesn't even blink, just kneels down and does something that pretty much ensures that he will either be having an accident of his own, or just a really rotten evening. I mean she doesn't even think about it!

Am I a bad person because I thought that was freakin' hilarious? Possibly. But one of the first things she says on the show is a prayer - and I guess it would be the show's motto - "God, make me good; but not yet." It TELLS you that she is in no way supposed to be a role model, or an example of a typical emergency-room nurse. I imagine she is as typical a nurse as Nancy Botwin is a typical suburban single mother.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Edie Falco shines!, February 10, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nurse Jackie: Season 1 (DVD)
We all remember Edie Falco as the subdued matriarch of the Soprano family, now she returns to TV with a brand new slate in "Nurse Jackie".
New York nurse Jackie Peyton is a gritty, headstrong, no-nonsense veteran employee of the All Saints Hospital that is just as aggressive and bustling as the city it's located in. Jackie excels as a caregiver but her personal demon is her drug addiction that is fueled with the help of the pharmacist that she is having a flaming affair (fellow "Sopranos" alumnus Paul Schulze (Father Intintola)). Jackie's only redeemable quality is her willingness to make sacrifices and compromises for her patients by breaking the laws of both the hospital and the system. When Jackie is not on the clock she is a loving wife of a bartender and the mother of two little girls.
On the clock her comrades are her gay co-workers Mohammed or "Mo-Mo" (also her shoulder to cry on and the one she confides in), Thor, and the ditzy intern Chloe. Then there is the airheaded Dr. Cooper (Peter Facinelli) who has just arrived on the hospital scene straight out of med school. Jackie's only doctor friend is the designer clothes sporting Dr. O'Hara from England. Finally, there is Akalytus, the hospital administrator who is hated by all.
I am shocked to see how many bad reviews this show has. I must admit that I started watching this show out of pure boredom and after watching the pilot episode I found myself wanting to watch the next episode and the one after that. I can't wait for the second season to start and I can't wait until the first season arrives in my mailbox.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars No Conflict Resolution Here - And the Better For It!, November 3, 2009
By 
Ben Monaghan (Portland, ME USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nurse Jackie: Season 1 (DVD)
For those looking for conflict resolution or some sort of psychological undressing of Jackie - you have the wrong show. Jackie is too hard for that sort of Oprah candy. She has been hardened by the life she has lived in the Emergency Room. Like a soldier on the frontlines of battle, she is undergoing horrific trauma on a daily basis with no time to process or find healthier ways of coping. Clearly she is spiraling towards some sort of crash, which she is doing her best to stem off with drugs. But it is inevitable. This is what drives the show - how close can the writers take Jackie to the brink but not push her over? (When and if they do push her over that brink and into rehad, the show will lose its momentum - not sure what season two will look like.) I don't think the writers intended her to be some sort of "character" tied up in a neat bow of conflict, conflict resolution - hopefully in the third act. This show is more like The Wire, it intends to show life as it is in certain segments of our society and people, flawed people, doing whatever it takes to deal with it and cope - not always successfully. An Emergency Room in Queens is the belly of this beast that is our healthcare system and society - characters like Jackie are intended to reflect the sickness that is the system.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny, quirky, dark humour---Love It!!!, October 28, 2009
This review is from: Nurse Jackie: Season 1 (DVD)
Aside from United States of Tara, this is one of the best written shows I have seen in a long, long time. Nurse Jackie is so screwed up and yet, she shows such compassion to the patients and staff. This show is a tour de force for sure. The episodes have to be watched at least twice to get all the nuances. It is just edgy enough to be delightful. I love all the characters and they all develop so nicely as the show progresses. Gosh darn it, I have fallen in love with TV again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars meh, August 23, 2010
This review is from: Nurse Jackie: Season 1 (DVD)
Edie Falco is a great actor, without a doubt. But this show is so riddled with shallow stereotypical characters that even she can't break through. The uber perfect husband (who must be 20 years younger than Falco in real life, though ostensibly the characters went to high school together); the witty and materialistic British BFF; the caring gay male nurses; the idiotic rich kid doctor; the idealistic nursing patient...have you gagged yet? And there's Nurse Jackie--a drug addicted ER nurse who competently deals with every medical scenario with perfect calm and grace...even though she's stoned out of her mind. The big question in this show is...why should we care about these people? Alas, I really don't. Another reviewer mentioned the show Breaking Bad. Miles above Nurse Jackie for rich and complicated characters, edge of your seat writing and brilliant acting. Sorry, Mrs. Soprano. Your greatest role seems to be behind you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific series, March 23, 2010
By 
Bruce L. Jones (Southern California Desert) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The off-beat and original series, Nurse Jackie is very fun to watch and the star - Edie Falco - is perfect in the role.I have to add that I'm prejudiced somewhat because I started watching it with my daughter, who is herself an RN in one of the country's largest and busiest hospital emergency rooms. She swears that she's had some identical type conversations herself as depicted in the series between the Nurse Jackie character and Peter Facinelli as one of the Dr's; so it gets an A+ for realism. A great entertainment buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Nurse Jackie: Season 1
Nurse Jackie: Season 1 by Edie Falco (DVD - 2010)
$39.98 $8.84
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.