Customer Reviews


168 Reviews
5 star:
 (125)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Strong
With Season 2 of "Nurse Jackie," Jackie Peyton has officially eclipsed Nancy Botwin as the most fascinating and complex lead female character on a current cable show. Before "Weeds" started floundering, the show was about a complicated, more or less ordinary woman with both good intentions and some nasty secrets. Nurse Jackie's character (fleshed out by Edie Falco's...
Published on August 18, 2010 by Douglas King

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not At All What I expected
Not at all what I expected. Extremely boring. All the DVDs are the same. I was very, very, disappointed byDVDs.
Published 18 months ago by GIJoe


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Strong, August 18, 2010
By 
Douglas King (Cincinnati, OH United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nurse Jackie: Season 2 (DVD)
With Season 2 of "Nurse Jackie," Jackie Peyton has officially eclipsed Nancy Botwin as the most fascinating and complex lead female character on a current cable show. Before "Weeds" started floundering, the show was about a complicated, more or less ordinary woman with both good intentions and some nasty secrets. Nurse Jackie's character (fleshed out by Edie Falco's superb, nuanced performance) offers all that and then some.

If the ending of Season 1 had it looking like Jackie's drug abuse and infidelity were going to finally come out in the open, well, not so much. After all, drug addicts are slippery and manipulative people, and in the beginning of the season, Jackie is able to keep leading her double life without disastrous consequences. But as the Season goes on, and Jackie's actions become more and more desperate and reckless, it looks like at least a few of the people around her are, at the very least, onto her.

While Jackie's storyline keep progressing, Season Two did a very good job of making all of the supporting characters much more interesting and fleshed-out. Miss Acolytes, a wasted character in the first season, comes into her own as the hospital's thick-skinned, yet good- hearted, administrator. Nurse MoMo's role as token gay and male nurse has been replaced by two much more interesting characters: Teddy Bear-ish Thor and recovering addict Sam. Idealistic ZoŽ continues to grow professionally, and her romance with a sweet paramedic is probably the most endearing pairing on the show. And Dr. Cooper continues to flail about in his narcissistic, yet strangely endearing, way.

The characters closest to Jackie, husband Kevin, BFF Dr. O'Hara, and lover Eddie, all go down darker and more complicated roads this season. The cracks in Kevin and Jackie's marriage start showing dramatically, and Kevin starts to reveal he's not the doormat he seemed to be in the first season. Eddie's obsession with Jackie leads him to befriend her husband, and insert himself into Jackie's life in a, frankly, creepy way. And Dr. O'Hara, the consummate professional, seems lost in her personal life, dallying with both Nurse Sam and a female journalist, all the while living in a hotel.

In addition to all the drama of the hospital staff, some of the best moments of the series belonged to the guest stars playing patients and family. Although the focus of the series is usually the personal lives of Jackie and those closest to her, the show often works best when it takes time to focus on the kinds of situations intrinsic to working in a hospital ER. Jackie's strong, efficient, and compassionate handling of patients reminds the audience why, despite her many flaws and secrets; she's still a woman worth spending time with.

Overall, a strong second season to a strong series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Season Two Much Better-4 or 4.5 Stars, May 25, 2010
This review is from: Nurse Jackie: Season 2 (DVD)
This time the show is a 4 or a 4.5. With some work on the script regarding Jackie's motivation, it could easily go to a perfect 5.

I still have no inkling why Nurse Jackie is a drug addict. I still view that as a flaw in the script. I think there should be SOME inkling as to why she has gone off the deep end. However, this season is much, much better straight across the board than season one. Even if we don't know the why of her addiction, the show does an excellent job of showing HOW Nurse Jackie's life is coming apart as a result of her drug addiction. She gets trapped in all of her different lies to all the different people in her life. Since drug addiction is progressive, she cannot make it for even a short while now without a fix. Her addiction is also costing her a fortune and she even steals drugs from a guy who is flat out with a seizure, who ends up being a dealer and comes after her.

The series is also quite good at depicting the mess and morass that is our present health care system. By the time you finish watching season two, your most urgent hope will be that you don't get sick and need care.

I really hated Eddie in season one but even Eddie tries to help her this season as she spirals out of control. He even rescues her husband one night. Plus her husband and the woman doctor best friend are forced to get along and get together as Jackie worsens.

If you think Jackie is about to enter rehab, think again. She finds it ludicrous that anyone could even think she is a drug addict. However, things are so serious that if I were her family member, with season three we would be opening in probate court for a commitment hearing for mandatory treatment. Plus no way would I let her near her kids and would get the court's backing to restrain contact with them.

I am looking forward to season three and Edie Falco is a wonderful actress who may well walk away with an Emmy this year.

Visit my blog with link given on my profile page here or use this phonetically given URL (livingasseniors dot blogspot dot com). Friday's entry will always be weekend entertainment recs from my 5 star Amazon reviews in film, tv, books and music. These are very heavy on buried treasures and hidden gems. My blogspot is published on Monday, Wednesday & Friday.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'm addicted to this show, June 8, 2010
By 
Melissa N. (Chicago, IL United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Nurse Jackie: Season 2 (DVD)
I wasn't a big fan of this show after the first season, but "Nurse Jackie" really founds its mojo in Season 2. The series has a better overall rhythm the second time around. I found all of the characters to be much more likable than they were in Season 1, and I also think the show is a heck of a lot funnier now.

Season 2 picks up right where the first season left off. Jackie (brilliantly portrayed by Edie Falco) has to deal with the ramifications of her jealous lover, Eddie (Paul Schulze), discovering her little secret: that she is married with two children. Eddie has a very interesting way of dealing with the situation, which absolutely infuriated Jackie. Meanwhile, Jackie and Kevin's (Dominic Fumusa) oldest daughter, Grace, continues to struggle with her compulsion disorder this year. Over at the hospital, Dr. Cooper becomes "The Face of All Saints" as part of a hilarious advertising campaign. Zoey (Merritt Weaver) faces a pregnancy scare and explores several romantic options. O'Hara (Eve Best) reveals some interesting aspects of her personal life, and a new nurse (Arjun Gupta) clashes with Jackie in the worst possible way.

Overall, Season 2 was fantastic, and the finale was pretty climactic, so I'm very excited for Season 3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worse than season one, but still funny - still nothing resolved, June 10, 2010
This review is from: Nurse Jackie: Season 2 (DVD)
Will there actually ever be any main plots within Nurse Jackie that are actually completed? So far it's looking like the answer to that question is a resounding "No".

At the end of season one (spoiler alert) we are left with Jackie Peyton unconscious on the floor after swallowing enough meds to tranq an elephant. You would think that there *might* be a little bit of fallout from that in the beginning of season two - but you'd be wrong. Not only is Jackie back at work on episode 1 of season 2, but apparently no one noticed the two missing vials of narcotics - or it's attributed to "spillage". While some may argue that it was shown later on that Jackie had access to the other Nurses' PINs for the Pill-o-matic, at the season finale of season one, we clearly saw that she logged into the machine as herself. Continuing on the "zero resolution" train, Dr. O'Hara's loss of her mother is completely glossed over in a single episode, and Eddie has now become the resident creepy stalker type.

Season two also lost Haaz Sleiman (Nurse MoMo) but gained Arjun Gupta (as the recovering drug addict, Nurse Sam); an unfortunate swap in my eyes, as MoMo was a much more interesting character than the one-dimensional Nurse Sam. Luckily Thor, Miss Akalitus, Dr. O'Hara, Dr. Cooper and Nurse Zoey have all stuck around.

The plot and character development in Season Two is all over the place with no apparent focus or relation to Season One. For instance whereas Dr. Cooper in Season One was a bright-faced young rookie of a Doctor who was wanting to make friends with everyone on staff, suddenly in season two he is the snitch, the whiner, and a backstabber. Pharmacist Eddie went from being the nice guy who was suckered by Jackie into a pseudo-stalker/psychopath and 100% jerk. While you felt some twinge of emotion for Eddie being the sucker in season one, in season two he's willing to destroy not only Jackie's life, but her husband and children's lives as well - at which point you wonder if he has any redeeming characteristics left.

By the time the season finale comes around, it once again feels like the entire house of cards is about to come crashing down around Jackie; but even this build up falls short when compared to season one. Unfortunately the "shock and awe" of the suspense looses some of its value when there's zero plot resolution in the storyline. When you're always wondering what's going to happen but never find out, well... it starts feeling like not even the show's producers actually know what's going on or where they want to go.

While my main review thus far has been pretty negative, I have to say that the show is still entertaining at its heart. There were quite a few moments in the series where I was laughing out loud or uttering a "d'oh!' when something particularly bad happened to one of the characters. Also, the mini-plots encapsulated within a single episode are generally enjoyable and well executed (the episode with Harvey Fierstein pulled at your heartstrings and your funnybone just like it was supposed to). I believe that the main problem with season two is that the writers suddenly decided to give everyone a story, but with only 12 episodes in a season, there wasn't enough time to conclude any of them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Riveting Television, March 4, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nurse Jackie: Season 2 (DVD)
Season 2 of "Nurse Jackie" is an excellent 3-DVD set. Edie Falco is an amazing leading actress. The character of Jackie Peyton becomes even more real as we see her wonderful qualities of fighting for the little guy who tries hard vs. her own internal demons. Usually, a character who is an adulterer is hard for me to like. With pathos, when Jackie says, "It is possible to love two people at the same time," it breaks off a piece of my heart. In the episode "Apple Bong," she suggests that a cancer patient try marijuana when no prescription drugs are relieving his pain. Dr. Cooper goes on a great moral crusade against Jackie for the recommendation, who nods and as usual just goes around him, showing him how to smoke from carving an apple. Similarly, in "Caregiver," she is infuriated when an elderly patient shows up and the caregiver who is paid to be with her every day is obviously committing fraud and neglect. As the season comes to an end, we see her husband bring in Dr. O'Hara to confront Jackie's drug addiction that is financially ruining their family. Part of what I take away from the series with each of the characters is how everyone in a position of responsibility is also a person with stresses and demands on them that they at times meet and at times buckle under.

Arjun Gupta plays the nurse Sam who has had a drug problem and in season two freaks out as Dr. Cooper steals his girlfriend. He does an excellent job with so many levels. Peter Fascinelli is amazing when you look at his work in the Twilight series as the serious elder of the vampire clan vs. his lighthearted turn as the emotionally stunted Fitch Cooper. While both characters are doctors, their temperaments are so different that it is a wonder the same actor has such range. Eve Best as Dr. O'Hara is riveting. The DVD extra where she reviews her career from London to New York is fascinating, but her breezy self-involved turn as O'Hara has an amazing range. In season two, we see her brief affair with nurse Sam in the chapel and her love affair with Julia Ormand who plays a television reporter. Merritt Wever as Zoey also keeps smiles on our faces through the most dire of circumstances.

This series is well-written; and Season 2 keeps up the pace. One of the reasons I buy the DVDs is because this show makes me want to watch it again from time to time. The characters tick each other off routinely, but also care about each other. In the end, it is the very fragile but very real humanity that makes this riveting television. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Strong comedy-drama that just gets better each season., August 11, 2011
This review is from: Nurse Jackie: Season 2 (DVD)
After finishing House, MD's entire set of all seasons episodes, I was looking for something with the same crazed attitude. I was quite reluctant to even consider another medical show (after all, what could compare to House?), but I kept hearing great things about Nurse Jackie, and kept seeing Edie Falco at the Emmys! I decided to try one disc from Season One, and was hooed from the get-go. The show is an entire set of real flesh and blood characters with much more humor than House (he frankly scares me at times), and I really care about them much more than I anticipated. The supporting cast is an excellent group of contrasting real life kind of people who I have actually began to really care about, especially the young Nurse Zooey. We have begun watching each disc in it's entirety when it arrives and send it back the next morning. We enjoy watching entire seasons of a show at a few sittings. If you enjoy House, you will liely enjoy Nurse Jackie, but even if House is a bit off-putting for you, give this one a try...I thin you will enjoy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Weird but good, July 28, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
No, the show's not particularly weird. the weird part is seeing the glamorous and beautiful Carmella Soprano playing a decidedly middle class nurse who wears frumpy brown clothes and doesn't wear eye make up. The show is really amusing largely because Falco is so engaging. the other roles were well cast and they work well together. it's not ER, or even MASH or St. Elsewhere but in all it's a pretty engaging show and good for a distraction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nurse Jakcie Season Two, July 26, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nurse Jackie: Season 2 (DVD)
I started watching Nurse Jackie as soon as the First season came on DVD and I've gotten them all so far. I really do enjoy them. Might not be to the liking of many but I find them fun and I laugh a lot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nurse Jackie, June 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nurse Jackie: Season 2 (DVD)
I used a birthday gift card to purchase the whole series as we enjoyed it so much. The DVD was brand new and in perfect
condition. It arrived promptly. Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just as good as the first season, February 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nurse Jackie: Season 2 (DVD)
This show is fantastic. I love that you get to see more of Zoey and Thor plus you get a different view of Akalitus. Now that the husband and the boyfriend are friends new complications arise. Dr Cooper is even more full of himself than usual. This show just keeps getting better. This arrived on time and just as described.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Nurse Jackie: Season 2
Nurse Jackie: Season 2 by Edie Falco (DVD - 2011)
$12.98 $7.28
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.