Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Such good stuff!
I started using Chia Seeds after hearing about their cleansing properties (probably from Dr. Mercola, love him!). I put just a tablespoon into water with a little bit of juice and stir, let sit for 15 min and then drink up! Their gelatenous nature is said to help pull toxins from the body and it is high in Omegas, which are so benficial for the body. They are an easy,...
Published on May 17, 2012 by Meggs9290

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not All White...
I have purchased white chia seeds and the whitest are from Australia, these are not white. White chia seeds are comparable to the black ones in nutrition and health benefits. Their main difference is the color especially for certain recipes in which the presence of black seeds would be undesirable. ABC News has posted a video for chia claiming ""Be cautioned, you should...
Published 4 months ago by NYFB


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Such good stuff!, May 17, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nutiva Organic Chia Seeds, White, 12-Ounce (Grocery)
I started using Chia Seeds after hearing about their cleansing properties (probably from Dr. Mercola, love him!). I put just a tablespoon into water with a little bit of juice and stir, let sit for 15 min and then drink up! Their gelatenous nature is said to help pull toxins from the body and it is high in Omegas, which are so benficial for the body. They are an easy, affordable way for me to keep my body healthy! Even my 2 year old likes them!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Very Pleasant Surprise!, November 25, 2012
By 
Adara (Delray Beach, FL, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Do you remember--seems like ages ago---there were TV advertisements for those "chia pets"? I never thought that chia seeds were edible until my nutritionist had highly recommended them to me. I shop for organic products every time. Amazon did not disappoint! I found organic Nutiva Chia Seed here on Amazon and decided to try it. The seeds are delicious yet they cannot be compared with any other flavor. I mix 1 or 2 tablespoons Nutiva organic chia seeds in with 1 (one) cup organic plain Greek yogurt and organic stevia powder (to taste). This is a quick, filling lunch. Organic chia seeds are also yummy on salads. Based upon information on the back of the package I mix 2 tablespoons chia seeds with 3 oz. of hot water. It has a consistency like cooked cereal, and I sometimes eat the seeds this way just to be sure that they are included in my diet. This food is a pleasant surprise, and it is wonderful stuff which I highly recommend! Thanks to Amazon I do not have to go "hither, thither, and yon" to find this excellent organic chia seed by Nutiva. Again, thank you, Amazon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not All White..., June 13, 2014
This review is from: Nutiva Organic Chia Seeds, White, 12-Ounce (Grocery)
I have purchased white chia seeds and the whitest are from Australia, these are not white. White chia seeds are comparable to the black ones in nutrition and health benefits. Their main difference is the color especially for certain recipes in which the presence of black seeds would be undesirable. ABC News has posted a video for chia claiming ""Be cautioned, you should only eat a small amount, maximum one ounce a day."" Let's look at some facts since I like to get the most nutritious foods for the best price available.

WEIGHT: One pound of muscle burns six calories per pound per day. One pound of fat burns two calories per pound per day. That four calorie difference may not sound like much, but for most people, that's the difference between living lean and living obese and even morbidly obese (defined by those who are 100 or more pounds overweight). Cardiovascular exercise will result in weight loss, but it will come at a cost as 60% of the weight loss will be fat (that's good!) while the remaining 40% will come from muscle (that's really, really bad!). After the age of 20, the average person loses one-half to seven-tenths of a pound of muscle a year. That's 5 to 7 pounds a decade. After the age of 70, the average person loses 3 pounds of muscle--per year! As women approach menopause, the rate at which they lose muscle doubles, which is why so many women begin to gain weight right around that time of life. Why is this weight gain happening? It's simple--muscle loss. When you lose muscle, your metabolism is destroyed. Your successful weight loss formula is dieting plus strength training. Period. No food helps you lose weight, it helps you gain weight. The only way to lose weight is to eat fewer calories, period.

CHOLESTEROL: Cholesterol lowering drug, Lipitor with $13 billion plus in annual sales is a top selling drug in the world. Phytosterols which is helpful in lowering cholesterol can be found in many foods like sesame seeds, sunflower seeds, watermelon, onion... no Phytosterols in Chia seeds.

FISH OIL, OMEGA-3(EPA/DHA): Greens, nuts, seeds, fruits and vegetables do not offer any omega-3(EPA/DHA) since it is an animal source. Flaxseeds offer more ALA than chia for $1.99 a pound not $15 a pound, 22.8gr vs. 17.8gr. There are two major types of omega-3 fatty acids in our diets: One type is alpha-linolenic acid (ALA), which is found in plants the other type, eicosapentaenoic acid (EPA) and docosahexaenoic acid (DHA), is found in fatty fish. The body partially converts ALA to EPA and DHA. There is no proof what percent of ALA gets converted by human body to EPA or DHA. You can consume all ALAs that you want and depending to your genes it may never turn any into omega-3(EPA/DHA). Blood test is the only way to see the affects. I get omega-3 from sardines although flaxseed is important part of my diet since flax offers so many different nutrients. But more importantly Omega-3 to Omega-6 ratio for flax is 38.71 but for chia only 3.03.

PROTEIN: No seed or green offers complete protein other than quinoa and soy. Soy is not my choice since soy is processed as soy milk and comes with estrogen. Chia is an incomplete protein since it is missing few amino acids. I get 25gr of complete protein with all amino acids in one scoop of pure isolate or 8gr from one cup of quinoa. Those are excellent amount of protein since after all human body does not digest more than 30gr of protein at a time.

FIBER: There are two different types of fiber -- soluble and insoluble. Both are important for health, digestion, and preventing diseases.
* Soluble fiber attracts water and turns to gel during digestion. This slows digestion. Soluble fiber is found in oat bran, barley, nuts, seeds, beans, lentils, peas, and some fruits and vegetables. It is also found in psyllium, a common fiber supplement. Some types of soluble fiber may help lower cholesterol, but the effect on heart disease is not known.
* Insoluble fiber is found in foods such as wheat bran, vegetables, and whole grains. It adds bulk to the stool and appears to help food pass more quickly through the stomach and intestines.

If you happen to have certain health issues especially digestion issues then insoluble fiber is what you would reach for but if you want to feel full for a longer period of time then soluble fiber becomes the priority. Fiber is essential for body since fiber absorbs the unwanted liquid in the gut and body has to defecate that blown up fiber which in return lowers cholesterol, blood pressure, etc. and brings comfort and efficiency to human body unlike fat which stays in human body. Chia is the highest fiber but with higher price and less nutrients.

HYDRATION: Ask yourself, wouldn't you just be getting the same amount of water regardless whatever added to that water... Water helps hydration not chia or whatever added to water. Water is the best liquid to drink to hydrate but green tea, coffee and squash are also hydrating. When you drink coffee, your body is retaining much of that fluid - especially for people who are habituated to drinking caffeine, as the body adapts, resulting in a reduced loss of fluids. Chia has nothing to do with hydration and never helped hydration only a marketing tool.

MONOUNSATURATED FATS: 7.5g in 100g serving of flax and only 2.1g for chia. Mono is the same healthy oil as you get in avocado fruit.

Accordingly for 100gr servings size of;
FENNEL__SESAME__FLAX__CHIA__AMARANTH__QUINOA__HEMP__PISTACHIO__ALMOND__CASHEW

CALORIES
345__565__534__490__371__368__567__557__575__553
SAT FAT
0__34__18__16__7__4__17__27__19__39
CALCIUM%
120__99__26__63__16__5__0__11__26__4
MAGNESIUM%
96__89__98__0__62__49__167__30__67__73
POTASSIUM%
48__14__23__5__15__16__167__29__20__19
ZINC%
25__48__29__23__19__21__83__15__21__39
FIBER%
159__47__109__151__8__11__4 __41__49__13
PHYTOSTEROLS (mg)
66__714__0__0__0__0__N/A__214__0__0

CONCLUSION: With a healthy diet of seeds, nuts, fruits and vegetables, the last thing on my mind is FIBER, a fiber with constipation when I can get healthy fiber in many food items for $2 not $10 a lb with chia's unwanted high CALORIES, lack of many micro-nutrients and especially with upset stomach as claimed correctly by ABC NEWS (link provided in comment section). Despite all the claims, chia does NOT even break down that easily in the stomach due to its shape and size just like many other seeds so I ground chia just like I do with all other seeds. Chia is sold for $15 lb in WF bulk section which is 30% more than Amazon while everything else in WF bulk section sells for LESS than anywhere since majority pay attention to marketing not Nutrition Facts... I consume chia for calcium in organic form in very limited amount since as I described, it is very expensive for limited nutrients but I need to get as much calcium as possible from DIFFERENT foods. I consume higher amounts of hemp, fennel, sesame, flax, amaranth, quinoa than chia. For calcium it is acceptable to me but in general chia not on top of my list.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best..., August 1, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nutiva Organic Chia Seeds, White, 12-Ounce (Grocery)
I love Chia Seeds! Wish I'd found out about them sooner, and could have skipped forcing myself to eat ground flax seed for so many years. These are so easy to eat with their neutral taste and pleasing texture... and they work wonders for my digestive system. This brand of white chia seeds are my favorite, and the best value for organic chia that I've found.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, April 8, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nutiva Organic Chia Seeds, White, 12-Ounce (Grocery)
I had never tried chia seed before and after reading reviews here for this brand I decided to orderit and I am completely satisfied
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Bomb!, September 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nutiva Organic Chia Seeds, White, 12-Ounce (Grocery)
Best Price I've seen for this product. Great Quality. Fast Delivery. I have already recommended it to a friend. enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love this stuff!, August 16, 2013
By 
R. Benes (Big Rapids Mi) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nutiva Organic Chia Seeds, White, 12-Ounce (Grocery)
When it gets stuck in your teeth, it isn't as noticeable as the black seeds. This is a great price too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars useful, September 18, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nutiva Organic Chia Seeds, White, 12-Ounce (Grocery)
I like that they when added to a soup or stew made a thickener that was tasty and much like a gravy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, August 21, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nutiva Organic Chia Seeds, White, 12-Ounce (Grocery)
I purchased this product previously and the chia seeds were white with only very few black seeds mixed in. My latest purchase had about 50% black seeds. In addition, the seeds do not "plump up" well with many of the seeds remaining hard as if empty. I will not be purchasing this brand again. Was very disappointed. Plus the packaging was sliced open with the seeds leaking from the bag.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Make Your own Chia Drinks for a lot Cheaper Than Store Bought Drinks, December 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nutiva Organic Chia Seeds, White, 12-Ounce (Grocery)
Good price for these. I mix mine with Poland Spring water, a little organic sour cherry juice and let it sit overnight in the refrigerator. The chia seeds are so good for you and this is a good way to eat/drink them. Similar packaged drinks in the health food store are crazy expensive considering what goes into them and how easy they are to make at home. I make it by the pitcher.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Nutiva Organic Chia Seeds, White, 12-Ounce
$15.99 $9.48
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.