Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer showtimemulti showtimemulti showtimemulti  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports

Size: Small/Medium Dog (Under 60 lbs)|Unit Count: 150|Change
Price:$73.70 - $201.56
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on August 20, 2013
I have a 10.5 year old Rottweiler/German Shepherd mix. He has had some hip issues (that began with a fall on some ice a couple years ago). Because of this, I had him on a regimen of Glucosamine (1500mg) and MSM (1500mg). In addition to this, I give him fish oil capsules (approximately 2 - 6 per day). This helped him significantly (I assume the same sort of dramatic results as other reviewers are expressing about this product).

Just recently, I spoke to a new veterinarian who recommended the Dasuquin. It was pretty pricey, but I knew I needed to try it. I did research the ingredients first, and it appears that their "magic" ingredients are; Glucosamine, Chondroitin and Avocado/Soybean Usaponifiables. Well, okay...I guess it added the ASU - and I had not tried that yet, so I decided to go for it. What did I have to lose, except $85?

I have followed the recommended dosage and given this a full 2 months to work. I have noticed absolutely no difference. I wish he could tell me if he feels any different, but by all appearances, he seems the same. I originally tried to taper off of his original regimen to see if the Dasuquin would work better just by itself. He definitely seemed to struggle when I withheld the original Glucosamine that I had him on, so I have simply added the Dasuquin to the mix. He simply went back to the same that he was prior to beginning the Dasuquin. Sadly, I cannot say that the addition of the Dasuquin has changed anything for us.

My point? I am not doubting this product would have given me results - had he not already been on the supplements already. I just believe there is a more cost effective way to get very similar results. If money isn't an issue, or you do not have a membership to Costco or another warehouse, etc., this product might be your best option. However, if you are on a budget, or want to supplement more than one dog, you can purchase Glucosamine, Chondroitin and MSM substantially less than the cost of this product. I purchase Kirkland brand (i.e. COSTCO) "Extra Strength" Glucosamine HCI (1500mg) with the MSM (1500mg) already added to it. These are only pennies each. I also purchase my fish oil through Kirkland. Again, pennies each. (I've also given him Chondroitin in the past, but didn't seem to notice a dramatic difference when eliminating it).

I had also hoped that having a "liver flavored" supplement would eliminate the need to hide the pills in "pill pockets"/hot dogs/other foods. Not with my pooch. He doesn't care for the taste of the Dasuquin (the little stinker!)and immediately spits them out - so I still have to disguise them. :(

All this being said, I cannot give a 5 star rating. I also refuse to give it a 1 star rating, as I believe that it would be helpful to a pet that has not already tried a Glucosamine/Chondroitin/MSM regimen. As for myself, I find it unlikely that I will purchase a second bottle, as I feel that I had already found a cost effective regimen that gives the same results. However, I do promise to update my comment if it seems like his condition worsens when the bottle of Dasuquin runs out.

ON A SIDE NOTE (for those with dogs in significant discomfort): I would definitely steer clear of Rimadyl - as it will trash your dogs liver. I highly suggest adding the Fish Oil capsules (excellent for their joints, heart and hair!), even if you are sticking with the Dasuquin. Ask your vet about the dosage. I am not a vet, but would also suggest if you are nearing the end of your pets life, and simply trying to keep them comfortable - to consider either Tramadol, Meloxicam or both together. I have had good results with both of these on several older dogs. They are usually available at local grocers pharmacies and are very affordable (large bottles on their $6 list!). However, be sure to add some Milk Thistle capsules to your regimen (to help cleanse their livers). Most vets highly recommend the Milk Thistle for this very reason. Yes, it ends up being a lot of supplements, but I believe that the results are worth it.

*****Follow up****** I did stop using this product when I ran out. I decided instead that I would try adding the Chondroitin to my dogs supplements. I began adding Kirkland's Glucosamine and Chondroitin. As suspected, I have not noticed any difference in his behavior or comfort level after stopping the Dasuquin. It is disappointing that Dasuquin is charging pet owners $85 a bottle, when I was able to purchase a bottle of 220 "Clinical Strength" Glucosamine/Chondroitin tablets at Costco for $19.99. I am not a vet, and cannot recommend dosages, etc., but if you have a vet worth their salt, they should be able to advise you on the appropriate dosage for your dog. Determine how much Glucosamine and Chondroitin they suggest for their breed/weight and shop around (please be aware that more is NOT better and you can actually increase their pain with too high of a dosage!). I firmly believe that you can custom fit your own comparable supplements for significantly less.
4545 comments| 323 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 24, 2014
They have changed formula (I noticed they are a smooth beige color not grainy or speckled the way they were, they break easier but my dogs won't eat them anymore even if I break them up in their food , they used to chew them up like treats, very disappointed as they are not cheap!
33 comments| 99 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 10, 2013
Lab is 12. Has weak rear. Still very active. I'm going to continue using it because I know it can't hurt him. Glucosamide is controversial as to whether it does any good.
0Comment| 56 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 24, 2015
It is extremely rare that I place a "life changing" tag on anything. I don't live my life in superlatives and consider myself to be very critical when analyzing any products. I do not hand out 5-star reviews on every product I buy.

We have two beagles, now 11 and 13. The younger one started to slow down significantly about 2 years ago. He also became much hairier and was constantly seeking heat. The vet ran some tests and determined he had an underactive thyroid. We put him on thyroid medication and got his levels back to where they should be. Unfortunately, his energy and flexibility only improved slightly. He was still noticeably lethargic, loved laying in the Texas sun (even with the extra hair), and didn't have much motivation for his usual long walks.

The vet recommended glucosamine with MSM as some quick physical tests showed stiffening of his joints and tenderness in his back. The vet cautioned that since glucosamine is a supplement, it isn't regulated (read: no clinical trials required). Therefore, some glucosamines are as effective as a placebo. They recommended seeking guidance from a pharmacist or talking to other owners. I saw this as an opportunity to look into the rich reviews from Amazon.com.

I started off with a liquid glucosamine product. It had great reviews. Not only was it messy, but the dogs hated it. Yes, I proactively started giving it to our older dog, too. After the first bottle, I didn't see much of a difference. I tried a popular glucosamine pill after that and again, no difference.

We also tried a milk-based anti-inflammatory supplement as we had read that this may help. It did, but it was short-lived.

We started to wrap our heads around the fact that this might be the beginning of the end. Our dog continued to be lethargic, stiff, and almost depressed. He used to love taking 2+ mile walks and playing in the yard. He did none of this now. It was really depressing to watch.

Again, back to Amazon, I did a lot of research and found Dasuquin with MSM. The reviews were glowing and the price was high. Naturally, I was skeptical that this new generation of joint care would be any different. I committed and started him on the "loading cycle."

After about 7 days, our old dog started to come back. His desire for walks started to return, he would hang out in the yard, and his confidence improved. At about 2-3 weeks (as the loading cycle completed and we moved to the maintenance cycle), his condition improved even more. At one month, he was about peaked. He now is the first one in-line for walks, wants to stay out the longest, will play in the yard all day, and is confident in doing so. It's like having a 2 year old dog again.

Now, after 14 months, we have him and his older brother on a strict maintenance of Dasuquin. Everything is the same as it was at a month in. He is 11 and is doing great. My sense is that as he started to feel better, he became more active. When he was more active, he built up his muscle tone. With increased muscle tone, he was able to be active and flexible and feel good about it. All in all, he is confident, happy, and active.

I really couldn't be happier with this product.

More recently I sold my brother-in-law on it for his 5 year old English Bulldog. His dog developed tender and sore back legs (common) and began to do less exercise due to discomfort. His experience was almost identical. Results at 1 week, improving up to 4 weeks, peaking and continuing for the past 6 months. He is very happy.

Most recently, I turned my mom onto it for her 11 year old German Shepherd with similar joint weakness and discomfort. After just 5 days, she is reporting that her dog has shown a big increase in energy and flexibility. She has been very happy so far and I expect that to continue.

All in all, I am extremely pleased with this product. It is one of the very few products I will sell people on. I believe in it wholeheartedly. It truly changed the life of our dog and we are very grateful to have found it.
0Comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 9, 2015
This works, however, the price is outrageous for something that is no more than glucosamine/chondroitin/msm. I started using Triflexin for our dogs instead. Triflexin - Alleviate Joint Pain and Stiffness. Rebuilds Damaged Cartilage and Connective Tissueswhich Has many more ingredients, more milligrams and is less than half the price. I wont be switching back. Triflexin is definitely a superior product.
66 comments| 60 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 31, 2014
Pills are large, hard, and reek of horrible chemicals, my dog eats most anything but she wouldnt eat that. Not chewable as claimed, very very hard pills that cant be broken by hand.
22 comments| 90 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 7, 2014
I purchased Nutramax Dasuquin for my 5 year old English Mastiff who is having stiff leg muscles and joints, hoping that what the customer reviews I read would prove to be as good as claimed.
After giving my Mastiff only two days doses he became sick and had stomach upset, eventually vomiting after the last dose.
After speaking with my vet I was informed that stomach upset is a problem with this product. Therefore I will continue to give him his regular dosage of Solgar Glucosamine Chondroitin Complex. It seems to work best for him.
0Comment| 69 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 29, 2014
These were prescribed by our vet for our 7 year old Laborador because she's starting to slow down and has arthritis in her hips. The price was shocking, but we were willing to pay it hoping they'd be the magic pill for her. Unfortunately, she vomits them shortly after ingesting them, which seems odd because like most Labs, she has a stomach of steel. We tried cutting them into smaller pieces to see if the large size was the problem, but it didn't help. After doing some research online, it sounds like our experience isn't that rare.
11 comment| 44 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 22, 2013
This pills made such a difference in my 14yr old Golden Retreiver's daily life I can not find the words to even describe it. She would just lay around and be depressed and now she's up playing swimming I can hardly keep up with her.I'm ready to start taking this pills myself. I highly highly recommend this for ALL old dogs.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 18, 2012
Suggested alternative. Why not look for the same ingredients elsewhere. For example, I found another online retailer (Puritans Pride) selling similar ingredient combos (for humans - same ingredients, my Vet approved it)
Price comes about $10 per bottle and has roughly the same effective dose in 90 servings. This is just a thought i wanted to share because these prices for Dasuquin are really pricey. So a little bit of rough math comparing these two products comes out to 53 cents per tab and 11 cents per tab Dasuquin / Puritan respectively (same dosage apx). Thats almost 5 times the cost per tablet.
Consult your veterinarian with suggested alternatives to see if they are safe for your animal!!!
The above quoted price for PP is sell price, normal price looks to be 25 cents per tab.
Cheers and may your pet live the best life possible.
1515 comments| 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 70 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.