Customer Reviews


987 Reviews
5 star:
 (843)
4 star:
 (90)
3 star:
 (29)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (16)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


158 of 165 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pricey but works!
My dog started limping and I took him to the vet. Vet did xrays and whole 9 yards and basically said give the dog supplements and get him more exercise. I refused to use Dasuquin because of the price and opted for the cheapest thing I found at the pet store. My vet visits with xrays etc.. were really expensive and I thought, supplements are supplements. Two months later...
Published on May 22, 2008 by Andrew

versus
144 of 149 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No miracle here
I have a 10.5 year old Rottweiler/German Shepherd mix. He has had some hip issues (that began with a fall on some ice a couple years ago). Because of this, I had him on a regimen of Glucosamine (1500mg) and MSM (1500mg). In addition to this, I give him fish oil capsules (approximately 2 - 6 per day). This helped him significantly (I assume the same sort of dramatic...
Published 16 months ago by H. S


‹ Previous | 1 299 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

144 of 149 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No miracle here, August 20, 2013
This review is from: Nutramax Dasuquin with MSM for Large Dogs - 150 Tablets (Misc.)
I have a 10.5 year old Rottweiler/German Shepherd mix. He has had some hip issues (that began with a fall on some ice a couple years ago). Because of this, I had him on a regimen of Glucosamine (1500mg) and MSM (1500mg). In addition to this, I give him fish oil capsules (approximately 2 - 6 per day). This helped him significantly (I assume the same sort of dramatic results as other reviewers are expressing about this product).

Just recently, I spoke to a new veterinarian who recommended the Dasuquin. It was pretty pricey, but I knew I needed to try it. I did research the ingredients first, and it appears that their "magic" ingredients are; Glucosamine, Chondroitin and Avocado/Soybean Usaponifiables. Well, okay...I guess it added the ASU - and I had not tried that yet, so I decided to go for it. What did I have to lose, except $85?

I have followed the recommended dosage and given this a full 2 months to work. I have noticed absolutely no difference. I wish he could tell me if he feels any different, but by all appearances, he seems the same. I originally tried to taper off of his original regimen to see if the Dasuquin would work better just by itself. He definitely seemed to struggle when I withheld the original Glucosamine that I had him on, so I have simply added the Dasuquin to the mix. He simply went back to the same that he was prior to beginning the Dasuquin. Sadly, I cannot say that the addition of the Dasuquin has changed anything for us.

My point? I am not doubting this product would have given me results - had he not already been on the supplements already. I just believe there is a more cost effective way to get very similar results. If money isn't an issue, or you do not have a membership to Costco or another warehouse, etc., this product might be your best option. However, if you are on a budget, or want to supplement more than one dog, you can purchase Glucosamine, Chondroitin and MSM substantially less than the cost of this product. I purchase Kirkland brand (i.e. COSTCO) "Extra Strength" Glucosamine HCI (1500mg) with the MSM (1500mg) already added to it. These are only pennies each. I also purchase my fish oil through Kirkland. Again, pennies each. (I've also given him Chondroitin in the past, but didn't seem to notice a dramatic difference when eliminating it).

I had also hoped that having a "liver flavored" supplement would eliminate the need to hide the pills in "pill pockets"/hot dogs/other foods. Not with my pooch. He doesn't care for the taste of the Dasuquin (the little stinker!)and immediately spits them out - so I still have to disguise them. :(

All this being said, I cannot give a 5 star rating. I also refuse to give it a 1 star rating, as I believe that it would be helpful to a pet that has not already tried a Glucosamine/Chondroitin/MSM regimen. As for myself, I find it unlikely that I will purchase a second bottle, as I feel that I had already found a cost effective regimen that gives the same results. However, I do promise to update my comment if it seems like his condition worsens when the bottle of Dasuquin runs out.

ON A SIDE NOTE (for those with dogs in significant discomfort): I would definitely steer clear of Rimadyl - as it will trash your dogs liver. I highly suggest adding the Fish Oil capsules (excellent for their joints, heart and hair!), even if you are sticking with the Dasuquin. Ask your vet about the dosage. I am not a vet, but would also suggest if you are nearing the end of your pets life, and simply trying to keep them comfortable - to consider either Tramadol, Meloxicam or both together. I have had good results with both of these on several older dogs. They are usually available at local grocers pharmacies and are very affordable (large bottles on their $6 list!). However, be sure to add some Milk Thistle capsules to your regimen (to help cleanse their livers). Most vets highly recommend the Milk Thistle for this very reason. Yes, it ends up being a lot of supplements, but I believe that the results are worth it.

*****Follow up****** I did stop using this product when I ran out. I decided instead that I would try adding the Chondroitin to my dogs supplements. I began adding Kirkland's Glucosamine and Chondroitin. As suspected, I have not noticed any difference in his behavior or comfort level after stopping the Dasuquin. It is disappointing that Dasuquin is charging pet owners $85 a bottle, when I was able to purchase a bottle of 220 "Clinical Strength" Glucosamine/Chondroitin tablets at Costco for $19.99. I am not a vet, and cannot recommend dosages, etc., but if you have a vet worth their salt, they should be able to advise you on the appropriate dosage for your dog. Determine how much Glucosamine and Chondroitin they suggest for their breed/weight and shop around (please be aware that more is NOT better and you can actually increase their pain with too high of a dosage!). I firmly believe that you can custom fit your own comparable supplements for significantly less.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


158 of 165 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pricey but works!, May 22, 2008
By 
This review is from: Nutramax Dasuquin with MSM for Large Dogs - 150 Tablets (Misc.)
My dog started limping and I took him to the vet. Vet did xrays and whole 9 yards and basically said give the dog supplements and get him more exercise. I refused to use Dasuquin because of the price and opted for the cheapest thing I found at the pet store. My vet visits with xrays etc.. were really expensive and I thought, supplements are supplements. Two months later the dog limping got worst. I went back to the vet and bought these, replacing the old supplements and what do you know- two weeks later, the dog stopped limping and has been fine since. The price is outrageous, but the dogs (started giving them to the old dog now) seem to like them without the need of masking them in food and they seem to work great. I just wish I had opted for these the first time around- and I wish they were more affordable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


77 of 85 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Miracle For My Newfoundland!, June 18, 2009
By 
M. Barnett (Clayton, Ohio) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nutramax Dasuquin with MSM for Large Dogs - 150 Tablets (Misc.)
Our 9 year old Newfoundland started having difficulty going up and down the stairs and would limp around after getting up from lying down on the floor. We took him to our vet and he prescribed Tramadol for his pain and gave us MSM powder to add to his food once a day. He did have some minimal improvement but it just wasn't what he deserved. I spoke with some friends of ours who have an older Newf also and found out that they had been dealing with the same problems with their dog's mobility. They shared some of this product that they had gotten from their vet with us to try. After only 3 days, our Newf was running around like he did when he was two years old! He no longer grunts or whines when he lays down or stands up and he races up and down the stairs. I have cut back on his Tramadol from 125mg per day to just 50 mg per day and I'm beginning to believe that we can probably stop it all together without any problem. I purchased the product through Amazon because my vet said that he didn't have the product for his patients because it was expensive compared to the MSM powder and that the product essentially did the same thing as MSM powder for a lot less money. I beg to differ, but I have seen such a remarkable difference with my dog's ability to get around that I'll pay the $[...] extra bucks a month! My dog's happiness is worth 1,000 times that!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


58 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Small miracle., June 2, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I have a 14 yr old Yellow Lab named Dexter who is still walking on his own because of this product. Three monhts ago a thoughtful friend shared a partially used bottle with me because her dog passed away. Dexter's hips were not working well for him at all. He was slipping when he got up and walking with a lot of difficulty. Now a full bottle into this product and I can see a big improvement in his mobility. I don't expect it to cure his old age but it sure is helping him to deal with it. I'm impressed with the product's results.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


55 of 61 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Miracle Results, December 22, 2011
By 
S. Sprague (Orange County, CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nutramax Dasuquin with MSM for Large Dogs - 150 Tablets (Misc.)
Wow. I would never have believed it if I hadn't seen the results myself. My eleven-year-old Bouvier suffered from extremely painful spine and hip problems. She whined and cried A LOT and was extremely restless because she couldn't get comfortable. It was very upsetting, and we even talked about (but didn't seriously consider) having her euthanized because she seemed to be so miserable. (Doctors did not recommend surgery because of her advanced age and multiple health issues.) She was taking two different pain killers (Tramadol and Gabapentin), prednisone, glucosamine tablets, and Trixsyn, AND having acupuncture once a week. (Needless to say, all of this was outrageously expensive.) But a friend told me that her older dog was practically acting like a puppy again after taking Dasuquin with MSM for only two weeks, so I thought we might as well try it. Well, it's five weeks later and my Bouv is a completely different dog. No more crying and whining and she can lie down for hours without moving. She still limps a bit, but she very obviously feels better. She has even gone back to her mischievous Bouvier ways. We have stopped going to the acupuncturist, quit giving her the cheap glucosamine and Trixsyn, and are starting to wean her off the pain killers. I HIGHLY recommend trying this product! (Note: Our dog has SEVERE allergies to MANY foods, inhalants, fleas, and dust mites. She has NOT had an allergic reaction to this product.) Oh, and, by the way, this review is 100% true; the manufacturer has never contacted me and nobody asked me to write this review; I'm writing to HELP other pet owners who want to help their dogs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars without a doubt..., April 9, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nutramax Dasuquin with MSM for Large Dogs - 150 Tablets (Misc.)
This product is exactly what our Rhodesian Ridgeback needs. She has hereditary hip dysplasia which causes some soreness and stiffness in her right hip. She is still young, so we need maximum protection and prevention. I have done hours of research on this specific topic, and we choose Dasuquin. The reason for the price is this product is one of the only of its kind guaranteed by the FDA to have the exact amounts of nutrients stated. Other brands can be misleading and are not regulated in being forced to provide what is listed. We have been using Dasuquin since the beginning of 2009 and will be indefinitely. We saw immediate positive response and have continued seeing the same quality over the years... no more limping, no more hopping or holding a leg up, no more pain after laying down for a while, nothing. Price, convenience, etc. are not worth such a serious, painful issue with our dog.

As a side note, this vitamin requires one tablet a day for our 90lb dog... whereas many other brands that are 'cheaper' require 5 or 6 tablets a day to get the same doses of nutrients. So, in the end, the price ends up actually quite similar or sometimes even cheaper.

Large Dogs (60lbs and over): Glucosamine 900mg, MSM 800mg (per tablet)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yellow lab is thriving!!, February 23, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nutramax Dasuquin with MSM for Large Dogs - 150 Tablets (Misc.)
We have a yellow lab that is 8 yrs old, has been through not 1, but 2 ACL repairs in the last 3 years, we were devastated on how much her quality of life declined after the surgeries because they were so painful and debilitating for her. She would have difficulty getting up and would intermittently limp..I am an RN and did significant research on supplementation and pain medication for her. I did not want her on long term pain meds and spoke to our orthopedic surgeon and chose to try Dasuquin with MSM for her....i can honestly say this product has done AMAZING things...she has been on it for almost 2 years now and not once has limped or had difficulty getting up or walking, she is playful and thriving on this supplement. I would overwhelmingly recommend this for anyone out there that may be in our situation, it seems pricey but realize that one bottle once you are up to a maintenance dose lasts for 150 days,absolutely do not waste your time on other supplements, we are so convinced this has turned her life around after having 2 ACL repairs, and trust me as an RN, I have done all the research for you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful for older dogs, April 2, 2010
By 
Bouvier trained (Half Moon Bay, CA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nutramax Dasuquin with MSM for Large Dogs - 150 Tablets (Misc.)
The average life span for a Bouvier is between 10 and 12 years. Our grand lady made it to 15. I am convinced that Dasuquin with MSM played major role in keeping her mobile.

We first gave it to her when she was 12. She was moving with great difficulty at the time. For the first 4 weeks we didn't see any change. Then she gradually became more mobile, began to bounce and play a little, and, began to demand her daily walks again. After about a year we forgot the role it played and stopped giving it to her. Within a week we could see the deterioration, and she stopped asking to go on her walks. We resumed the Dasuquin and in two weeks she was back where she had been.

We believe in it so much that we are giving a low dose to our 4 year old Bouvier as a preventative since she has a slight hip dysplasia.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Miracle Product For My Newfoundland!, June 18, 2009
By 
M. Barnett (Clayton, Ohio) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Our 9 year old Newfoundland started having difficulty going up and down the stairs and would limp around after getting up from lying down on the floor. We took him to our vet and he prescribed Tramadol for his pain and gave us MSM powder to add to his food once a day. He did have some minimal improvement but it just wasn't what he deserved. I spoke with some friends of ours who have an older Newf also and found out that they had been dealing with the same problems with their dog's mobility. They shared some of this product that they had gotten from their vet with us to try. After only 3 days, our Newf was running around like he did when he was two years old! He no longer grunts or whines when he lays down or stands up and he races up and down the stairs. I have cut back on his Tramadol from 125mg per day to just 50 mg per day and I'm beginning to believe that we can probably stop it all together without any problem. I purchased the product through Amazon because my vet said that he didn't have the product for his patients because it was expensive compared to the MSM powder and that the product essentially did the same thing as MSM powder for a lot less money. I beg to differ, but I have seen such a remarkable difference with my dog's ability to get around that I'll pay the $70 extra bucks a month! My dog's happiness is worth 1,000 times that!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dasuquin for Dog Arthritis Review, November 24, 2010
This review is from: Nutramax Dasuquin with MSM for Large Dogs - 150 Tablets (Misc.)
Length:: 4:37 Mins

My review on the Dasuquin for Dog Arthritis
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 299 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Nutramax Dasuquin with MSM for Large Dogs - 150 Tablets
$109.99 $75.78
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.