Customer Reviews


106 Reviews
5 star:
 (92)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing medicine for our cat's liver health!
Our cat was near death from liver failure (due to an itchy ear medicine she had been given) and after having an ultrasound that showed no organ damage the vet wanted to take a biopsy of her liver to see if she had liver cancer from the medicine and we said no that would be too painful but we said what would you treat her with if she did have cancer the vet said...
Published on May 4, 2011 by dm

versus
25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as effective as S-Adenosyl-100 for our cat
We've used both Denamarin, and now S-Adenosyl (and have purchased both from Amazon) for our kitty who had elevated ALT levels (over 400 originally) and was beginning to show signs of liver disease (drooling and aggressiveness). Originally, we used S-Adenosyl, as prescribed by a University of Minnesota vet who saw her initially. Her ALT level dropped to the low 200s after...
Published on June 13, 2012 by G. Rule


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as effective as S-Adenosyl-100 for our cat, June 13, 2012
By 
G. Rule (Twin Cities, MN) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nutramax Denamarin Tabs for Cats and Small Dogs up to 12 Lbs. - 30 Tablets (Misc.)
We've used both Denamarin, and now S-Adenosyl (and have purchased both from Amazon) for our kitty who had elevated ALT levels (over 400 originally) and was beginning to show signs of liver disease (drooling and aggressiveness). Originally, we used S-Adenosyl, as prescribed by a University of Minnesota vet who saw her initially. Her ALT level dropped to the low 200s after only two weeks. But our local vet (the UoM is a much longer drive), recommended Denamarin instead, and did not stock S-Adenosyl, so we gave that a try. The local vet seemed to feel that the two products were pretty much the same. Sheba's ALT levels went back up to the high 200s/low 300s. Better than they'd been originally, but still too high. So, we researched the actual ingredients list of S-Adenosyl vs Denamarin, and found S-Adenosyl has more active ingredients, and when you google those extra active ingredients, they all are known historically for providing liver support.

So we came to Amazon and bought some S-Adenosyl instead, since the local vet didn't carry it. The local vet was supportive when we told her what we were going to do --she just didn't know that it would make a difference. But she was willing for us to do it given the original (but only two week) S-Adenosyl experience from the University vet. Sheba's been on a daily S-Adenosyl regimen for some months now. Today, her first liver panel since we started the new regime came back. Her ALT is now 106, which our vet tells us is in the "normal" range for the test from the laboratory they use (there can be variations in what is considered "normal" from lab to lab, depending on the test they use --all of the included in this review are "apples to apples", same lab). The previous Denamarin test was 286. Hurrah!

There might be individual differences, but for us and our kitty, S-Adenosyl has definitely out-performed Denamarin. If you're not satisfied with the ALT levels that Denamarin has reduced your fur-child's ALT to, definitely give S-Adenosyl a try --you might be very happy. We are!

In fact, the local vet I talked to today, who gave me the results and discussed them with me, and has been Sheba's primary vet over this time-frame, said that she was going to recommend to the senior vet that runs that practice that they switch the whole practice over to S-Adenosyl as their recommended liver support supplement from now on. That's how impressed she was with what she was seeing, knowing the history of Sheba's treatment.

Denamarin did help, and thus three stars, just not as much as the competition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing medicine for our cat's liver health!, May 4, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nutramax Denamarin Tabs for Cats and Small Dogs up to 12 Lbs. - 30 Tablets (Misc.)
Our cat was near death from liver failure (due to an itchy ear medicine she had been given) and after having an ultrasound that showed no organ damage the vet wanted to take a biopsy of her liver to see if she had liver cancer from the medicine and we said no that would be too painful but we said what would you treat her with if she did have cancer the vet said chemotherapy or Denamarin, probably Denamarin first to see if her function came back. So we said to skip the biopsy and just give her the medicine, which they did. Well long story short she started eating again (bit by bit) and being able to move herself around and her liver values dropped dramatically and at her last blood test her liver values were better then they had been when she was young. So I think this medicine was literally a life saver for our cat :) And she is back to her old grumpy self :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is the real deal!, March 1, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nutramax Denamarin Tabs for Cats and Small Dogs up to 12 Lbs. - 30 Tablets (Misc.)
Our Chihuahua puppy was born with micro liver dysplasia. Her liver was not functioning at all and she would have severe seizures. I am happy to say we give her one of these a day and her liver is functioning normally and her blood work comes back perfect on every check up. This was a life saver for us. She will be 6 years old this year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Life saver, January 4, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nutramax Denamarin Tabs for Cats and Small Dogs up to 12 Lbs. - 30 Tablets (Misc.)
I have a 14 yr. old cat with liver issues. When liver problems first got treated by vet, it was affecting cat's kidneys also. Aggressive treatment by our vet included this pill...one a day with a little water to wash it down on an empty stomach and no food for an hour after dosage--package is for a month and needs to be given until box runs out. Our cat got better and began to thrive again. She had one relapse in a year's time and got her on this medication immediately which saved vet visits and more treatments. This pill has enabled us to have our cat alive and happy when otherwise she would have been dead.
We will have to be very aware of any weight loss going forward, but as long as we get our cat back on this pill as needed she has a quality of life equal to a healthy cat. It enables her liver to repair itself when she has an episode and keeps her kidneys from suffering too much.
This is truely a wonder drug as far as we are concerned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Denamarin for old dogs with liver problems, March 14, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nutramax Denamarin Tabs for Cats and Small Dogs up to 12 Lbs. - 30 Tablets (Misc.)
I have been giving my 15 year old Jack Russel Denamarin for about 2 years. Last blood test indicated a drastic improvement in her liver enzymes. She continues to show signs of her age, but is doing better on this medication.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Price, August 10, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nutramax Denamarin Tabs for Cats and Small Dogs up to 12 Lbs. - 30 Tablets (Misc.)
I have a 2yr.old pug and she was diganosed with a liver disease so the vet started her on this medicine.... It was 40.00 every month and I found it on Amazon a lot cheaper which really helps when you are on a tight budget.... Thanks Amazon for offering it.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Meds for dog with Liver damage, November 8, 2011
By 
June Sinsar (Winter Springs, FL USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nutramax Denamarin Tabs for Cats and Small Dogs up to 12 Lbs. - 30 Tablets (Misc.)
This medication is exactly the same as I received from the vet (same package, vendor, etc), but it's is much less expensive. I have a Pom with liver failure and he is doing well on this medication.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars denamarin tabs for pets, December 8, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nutramax Denamarin Tabs for Cats and Small Dogs up to 12 Lbs. - 30 Tablets (Misc.)
my yorkie has a brain disease & was on 2 different kinds of chemo for years, which destroyed her liver. this mineral has helped her survive for the past 6 years with the disease. i recommend it highly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kickass way to buy Denamarin, November 4, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I've been giving my cat Denamarin for over 2 years because he had a bout of hepatitis and subsequently developed liver cancer. The vet raised the price to $40 for a box of 30 tablets, which along with the other meds my kitty is on, kicked the monthly med tab to over $100. What a pleasant surprise to find it on Amazon for half the price, and to be able to get a great big supply all at once.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Seems to work well for older dogs with digestion issues, December 14, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nutramax Denamarin Tabs for Cats and Small Dogs up to 12 Lbs. - 30 Tablets (Misc.)
Seems to work well for older dogs with digestion issues. It was recommended by our vet. My dog ate better and had better bm's while on this product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.