Customer Reviews


86 Reviews
5 star:
 (55)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great!
My black lab is a very powerful chewer. I've boughten so many different toys for her, and Nylabones seem to be the only toys that actually last a while. Any other toys and she bites pieces off within two minutes.

She really loves this Nylabone! She's had it for about two months now and it's starting to get pretty gross due to her bite marks and the fur and...
Published on June 17, 2011 by L

versus
19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dangerously Shaped Toy!
My dog was pretty fond of chewing this toy until the ring became stuck around her bottom jaw, behind her lower canines. It took my husband and I 30 minutes to get it off her, with her screaming each time it shifted as the "plaque removing" hard plastic spikes dug into her gums. She was left bleeding and terrified but luckily were there to help her otherwise I think she...
Published on April 20, 2012 by Anna S


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dangerously Shaped Toy!, April 20, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nylabone Dura Chew Plus Textured Tug Chew Toy, Medium (Misc.)
My dog was pretty fond of chewing this toy until the ring became stuck around her bottom jaw, behind her lower canines. It took my husband and I 30 minutes to get it off her, with her screaming each time it shifted as the "plaque removing" hard plastic spikes dug into her gums. She was left bleeding and terrified but luckily were there to help her otherwise I think she would have really hurt herself trying to get free.

For the record, she is the appropriate size for this toy, though her snout is a bit on the small side.

Just beware, and maybe opt for a different shape of Nylabone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, June 17, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nylabone Dura Chew Plus Textured Tug Chew Toy, Medium (Misc.)
My black lab is a very powerful chewer. I've boughten so many different toys for her, and Nylabones seem to be the only toys that actually last a while. Any other toys and she bites pieces off within two minutes.

She really loves this Nylabone! She's had it for about two months now and it's starting to get pretty gross due to her bite marks and the fur and everything on the bone, so I think I'm going to buy a replacement one now. But it's very impressive for a dog toy to last for two months with my crazy chewer, so I think we were both very happy with this particular bone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but still "Chewable", February 2, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nylabone Dura Chew Plus Textured Tug Chew Toy, Medium (Misc.)
We have two, one year old retrievers (a Chesapeake and Golden). They both LOVE to chew.

The Nylabone products seem to satisfy their urge to chew, but they are certainly not "chew proof". We bought the Textured Tug Chew Toy along with four other Nylabone designs, as well. They've had them for just over one month, and there are significant portions of all the toys missing.

The message is, powerful chewers will still have their way with these toys, it just takes a little longer. When these are "gone", we will likely replace them with more Nylabone chews, as they do last longer than the other toys we've purchased. It would be nice to have a toy that was truly chew proof, but I guess it would have to be structural steel, or something similar!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This toy is small and for dogs up to 35lbs, July 8, 2011
By 
M. Mallett (Richmond, VA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nylabone Dura Chew Plus Textured Tug Chew Toy, Medium (Misc.)
This would be great for a smaller dog, but I bought it for my 75lb lab/pit and it is tiny. The description did not mention that it was for dogs up to 35lbs. Don't buy this for bigger dogs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT!, August 19, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nylabone Dura Chew Plus Textured Tug Chew Toy, Medium (Misc.)
Our dog loves this chew toy. She is a heavy chewer and it has lasted pretty well. Will be buying more in the future. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dangerous!! Please read!, January 9, 2014
By 
Lauren Beyerl (Gainesville, VA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nylabone Dura Chew Plus Textured Tug Chew Toy, Medium (Misc.)
We had this toy for several months for our puppy. She loved it. However, we just had to take her to the vet to get it removed from her mouth!
The circle part of the toy got locked inside her mouth behind her canine teeth and we could not dislodge it.
Because it was chewed up and sharp on the edges, each position we tried to move it in, just cut into her mouth more and more.
The vet had to totally sedate her and get bolt cutters to cut it off on each side.
I am sure this is rare and it must have been the fact that her mouth was at a perfect angle.
But I wouldn't take the chance on purchasing one if I were you.
It was very traumatic for the whole family and the Bill was $129 to get it removed!
Suggest another nylabone without a small opening!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars DANGEROUS FOR DOGS!!!, January 6, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nylabone Dura Chew Plus Textured Tug Chew Toy, Medium (Misc.)
i buy nylabones for my dogs often. they LOVE them. unfortunatly, this design is very dangerous for dogs. my one pup got the "triangle handle end" lodged under her lower jaw and up through her mouth behind her lower canine teeth. she was in extreme pain and very scared. THANKFULLY after a good bit of trying, i finally removed the bone and threw it straight in the trash. at one point i feared that i was going to have to take her to the emergency vet because i was having such a difficult time removing it. PLEASE STAY AWAY FROM THIS BONE
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Scary Experience, May 15, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nylabone Dura Chew Plus Textured Tug Chew Toy, Medium (Misc.)
Our dog loves chew toys so we like to have a few options around for her to chew. We got home from dinner tonight and she was playing with this toy and thank goodness someone was here to help her because she got her lower jaw stuck inside the today and was shrieking and panicked. We threw the toy away. We use a lot of Nylabone products and have not had any problems besides this particular design.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars not like a nylabone, April 11, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nylabone Dura Chew Plus Textured Tug Chew Toy, Medium (Misc.)
I have two huskies and two aussies.They literally consume most dog chews/toys made. The original nylabone being the exception. These however, for whatever reason, are some weird hard plastic that makes my agressive chewing husky's gums bleed (and he has healthy gums). All four of my dogs have disgarded these toys and I will not buy any more of these.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Hard, March 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nylabone Dura Chew Plus Textured Tug Chew Toy, Medium (Misc.)
My Chihuahua has never touched it. It is extremely hard and she has no interest, It might be good for a larger dog or a puppy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xae693ccc)

This product

Only search this product's reviews
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.